We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Sri Lankan Gem”
Review of SANKAREST Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
SANKAREST Villa
Ranked #2 of 7 Kosgoda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Troon, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“True Sri Lankan Gem”
Reviewed 13 January 2013

My wife, son and I spent Christmas and New Year at Sankarest. We had a wonderful holiday. Koni, Sunita and Sanka were all very friendy and welcoming. Sunita's cooking is absolutely amazing, we stayed for 10 nights and eat in the villa for 5 of those nights, the food was second to none. It meant the nights we went out to eat in the nearby villages just weren't as good! Sunita would cook anything for us, and on our last night produced all our favourites along with a lobster for each of us. Koni and Sunita invited us to join their extended familty celebrations at Christmas and New Year which was lovely. The villa is a very short walk from the most gorgous deserted beach, Koni even supplied us with a beach umbrella so we could stay at the beach longer. We had 2 spacious rooms upstairs and a huge outside lively area to relax in. We'd recommend this place to anyone looking for a quiet escape with delicious food.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FiJim_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
74
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We have just come back with the wife from our travel on Sri Lanka and Maldives. From a large quantity of impressions which we have received one of the first places during our rest has SANKAREST Villa. It is pure spacious number, a huge verandah and the gallery surrounding a country house, a beautiful garden both irreproachable pool and quite house atmosphere on the fine Villa Koni, having to a full relaxation. The special place has magnificent preparation of local dishes and the precautionary relation of the mistress of restaurant Sunita. They have made our stay in Sri Lanka unforgettable and we are grateful to them for it.
Stanislav. Irina.
Russia

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanislav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Our experience can be best described as "just like home". A warm, friendly welcome by Koni & Sunita, huge room with all amentities and the best meals in all of Sri Lanka. To sit on the garden terrace during the morning and take in the beauty of the garden or just laze in the pool. All local attractions are in easy walking distance or just over the hill by tuk tuk. Sankarest Villa is the only place to stay at Kosgoda when you visit the turtles hatcheries.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Australia0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Koni was there to greet us. He called out to Sunita ‘they’ve arrived’! We were served with a cool fruit drink on arrival while Koni and Sunita welcomed us.
Our very clean room with bathroom, huge bed with 'welcome' note, ceiling fan, air con, fridge and TV, was most comfortable; mosquito nets hung from the beds.
The attractive garden and pool area with a variety of shady spots to relax, made you feel as if you were in an oasis. The photos you see online are just as it is.
Sunita’s meals were simply outstanding, with a huge variety of traditional tasty curries for dinner and we absolutely loved the magnificent array of fresh fruits served for breakfast along with the traditional Sri Lankan fare. Try as we did, we could never quite finish all that was put on the table due to the generous quantity. The dining area had a very colonial feel with the table set up in a porch-like area surrounded by the garden, where most plants seem to thrive in mud.
We took the train from Colombo and stood for 1½ hours because the train arrived chock-o-block full. The standing (by the door) journey really wasn’t that unbearable because we were treated to the most wonderful views of the fabulous coast. The locals we stood alongside were friendly and engaged us in conversation wanting to know where we were going. We were advised Ambalamgoda is the closest station because the train didn’t stop at Kosgoda, and take a tuk tuk back. All the locals we met along the way helped us find Sankarest; ‘where are you going? just another 100 metres’ they’d say ‘no need for a tuk tuk', And sure enough, we found it.
We were so charmed with this beautiful villa with its wide, tiled verandahs complete with daybeds to relax on with a glass of wine. Sunita and Koni are wonderfully warm hosts who made our stay very comfortable and no request was too much trouble. Sanka was a mine of information on all subjects from turtle watching to river cruises.
This was a truly wonderful experience. If you are looking for a few days of quiet time, then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: The famly room on the upper level which led out onto the verandah overlooking the pool and garden wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TL_AusTraveller2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koni21, Owner at SANKAREST Villa, responded to this review, 30 September 2012
Thanks for the wonderful review. It was a great pleasure for all of us to meet you. The talks with you were interesting and very entertaining. We wish you many more wonderful travels and adventures!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012 via mobile

Thank you Koni & Sunita for such a
Wonderful stay. We loved
Returning to your piece
Of paradise. This place is a must visit As you must experience the warm friendly welcome the food on offer and the amazing garden

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serenitee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koni21, Owner at SANKAREST Villa, responded to this review, 30 September 2012
It was great to see you and your family again. It was a great pleasure to meet your parents too and see your wonderful kids. All the best and hope to see you once again! All good things happens 3 times!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I don't know where to start. Not one negative word can be said about this place. My friend and I happened upon Sankarest by accident after getting off a bus at Kosgoda beach without having booked any accommodation in advance. We had been travelling for a few months already in Nepal and India, and Sankarest turned out to be the most pleasant stay we had anywhere. I would recommend it to anyone visiting the area as a must, even if you were not planning to go to Kosgoda beach. The beach itself is lovely, with barely another soul around. The turtle hatcheries are worth a visit too, especially to help release the 3 day old baby turtles into the sea in the evening. A great experience. Back to the villa though. Koh Nie, Sanka, Sunita and the other staff were as friendly as people could be. They were so welcoming that it felt like arriving at a relatives house for a visit. They were all full of smiles, conversation, and advice about the area. The villa is beautiful as you can see from the pictures. The room was super clean and comfortable. There was a new bottle of cold drinking water in the fridge in the room each day, they gave us a huge pile of DVDs to watch if we wished and lent us their own guidebook as our own wasn't so great. The garden and pool area are immaculately kept and I spent an entire day there enjoying the surroundings and atmosphere of the place. We were the only guests there, so we had the entire pool to ourselves. Finally, and I've left this until last on purpose...Sunita's cooking. WOW. I hanker after my Gran's amazing cooking since I've been away as it is the best I've tasted in my entire life. However, Sunita's cooking is out of this world. Each night we were presented with an enormous Sri Lankan feast. Each curry had more taste than the last and even though i can pack away my food, I struggled to finish everything we were given. Very rare! The breakfasts were great and plentiful too, with a range of things to eat. Again, they were feasts. If my comments about the people and the place do not convince you to go, then you would be mad if you didn't go because of the the food. It was such a treat for 2 students travelling to find such a great place at such a great price. These people have running a guest house down to absolute perfection. Go!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank swallison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koni21, Owner at SANKAREST Villa, responded to this review, 30 September 2012
Thank you so much for your great review. You made us feel very proud. We enjoyed the days with you and it was a great pleasure to be one stopover on your awesome journey, We wish you all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We spent our first night in SriLanka at Sankarest. We were tired and hot but the trip was worth it from the amazing welcome we got from all the staff.

Sunitas incredible food turned out to be the best food we at on our 3 week trip. We dream about returing for another meal! Our only regret is not having stayed longer. Our two small children loved the walk down the beach to the turtles.

We think of you often
Ali Gary Jamie and Laura from South Africa

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali312578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kosgoda
3.5 mi away
Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure
2.1 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,472 reviews
0.6 mi away
Happy Man Guest House
Happy Man Guest House
#1 of 7 in Kosgoda
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Hambantota Golf Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Kosgoda Beach Resort
Kosgoda Beach Resort
#3 of 5 in Kosgoda
106 reviews
5.0 mi away
Shangri-Lanka Villa
Shangri-Lanka Villa
#1 of 58 in Bentota
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SANKAREST Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SANKAREST Villa

Property: SANKAREST Villa
Address: Paratharakaya, Nape, Kosgoda 5, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Kosgoda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Kosgoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — SANKAREST Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SANKAREST is the place to welcome people who are looking for individual planed tropical holidays. The Spirit of SANKAREST you will feel in every corner, IN EVERY WORD OF THE EVER SMILING PEOPLE and even in the tropical air you are breathing! The Boutique Villa is offering a new experience to individual travelers, participate life like a member of a family. At SANKAREST you will feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your SANKAREST Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing