We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conservation work”

Kosgoda Sea Turtle Conservation Project
Book In Advance
More Info
US$30.00*
and up
Private Day Tour: Coastal Ride to Galle from Colombo
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Kosgoda
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Conservation work”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This place is trying to do the best they can. They are buying off eggs from locals and breed them and also do patrols on the beach to collect the eggs. The turtles can hatch in peace and live after for a few weeks in a tank before getting released to the sea.
They also keep disabled and blind turtles and rescue injured and found turtles.
The tanks seem to be a bit small but they change the water regular and have to work with the donations and voluntary work they get. There is no government funding. They sell some souvenirs and ask for donations but that is all they get really.
We enjoyed our visit and it was great to see turtles hatch and different stages of they life.
I would recommend to go there and don't forget to make a donation!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Viola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    145
    43
    11
    10
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Must-Go”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

they allow you to handle turtles. And the people are very passionate about turtle conservation. They put their hearts in their work and deserve a kudos and all help they can muster

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SRIRAM G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Turtles”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Enthusiastic volunteers. We saw the small turtles getting out of their eggs and for our child it was a good activity in this part of Sri Lanka

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank soalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matara, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“If you a nature lover please pay a visit”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

There a plenty of volunteers around the world who comes and work here to save turtles. You can see turtles all around the year and the helpful guides will explain you each and every thing to you regarding turtles and the service which they provide.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Thilanbuwaneka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,248 reviews
482 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 589 helpful votes
“I didn't feel it was for the turtles benefit”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

As an adult after visiting this place I am sceptical that they are about rescuing the turtles and protecting them from fisherman. If I had children with me, I would accept it as a nice place for kids to enjoy and some hands on with turtles. So in summary for grown ups, a waste of time.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Emanpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kosgoda Sea Turtle Conservation Project also viewed

 

Been to Kosgoda Sea Turtle Conservation Project? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing