We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great family hotel”
Review of Flamingo Grand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Flamingo Grand
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Albena
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We just came home from Bulgaria, and we had a great stay. We traveled with our two children 3,5 year and 3 months.
+ very good room cleaning
+ rooms are big and the kitchen is a big PLUS, microwave was very helpful
+ friendly staff
+ supermarket (there were diapers and baby-food, not cheep but they had)

- the children's pool were often a bit dirty.

Not good or bad
* the breakfast. It was not the best I have had but it was okay
* the bar played the same background-music all nights. Listening to the same song 7 times in one week was a little bit boring :)

Not the best hotel, but in a Bulgarian standard it is a 4 star and that was okay for us :)

Room Tip: Choose a room with kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catz_080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 118 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2012

The rooms were fantastic! The air conditionning was great and the rooms very spacious.
What I liked the most were all the swimming-pools.
We had breakfast in a restaurant, like a buffet, across the street. I do not know if that is the restaurant where all the people who stay in the Flamingo Hotel eat, but there is not a restaurant inside the hotel.
The staff was friendly.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
2  Thank Tinnos2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

So it might be considered a posh place in Albena and I'm ready to believe there isn't a better hotel there, however, the overall impression is not 5 star but a firm 3 star hotel.
Rooms:
Really bad cleaning service, floors were washed twice, bed linen changed once (in a 8 days stay!), shower gel and shampoo replaced once. For first 4 days of our stay the maid only brought new towels and dropped blankets casually onto the bed. We were travelling with a 3 year old kid and although we had to pay half an adult price for him, he never had a separate towel. There were always 2 sets of towels although we stayed in a room meant for 3. I do believe a 3 year old is also a person and deserves a personal towel.
The room itself was fine, spacious, with a balcony (pool-view), third floor, had an army of ants on the balcony :) The room had a kitchenette with an electric stove and a fridge, a dining table with 4 chairs, a sofa, 2 WC-s, a bath and a shower cabin, 2 sinks. For some reason there was an iron and an ironing desk. In general, i do not evaluate rooms by furniture stuffed into it, if I did the room would have been perfect.
The pools - a big shallow pool for kids, a separate pool with water attractions for bigger kids, another deeper pool for swimmers and a smaller pool in the middle of Flamingo bistro (for overeaten diners?).
Food:
we had HB - so I can comment on breakfast, which was OK, the same choice every day but variety big enough to choose different foods if you please.
Dinner is more interesting - Firstly, dinner started at 18:30 and together with it started some idiot kids' programme (mini-disco). The programme itself was in Norwegian (do not know why Norwegian). The thing is that by 18:30 families with small kids were in the restaurant as the kids were hungry. But - what a nuisance - kids immidiately got distracted by that stupid programme and it was quite an ordeal to make our child eat. Why it was importan to spoil children's dinner remained a complete mistery.
Secondly, drinks are charged! You'll have to pay even for a glass of water. On our first night, we ordered juice for our child and had to wait for it for half an hour. Of course, by the time it arrived the kid was already on the dance floor. Fortunately, during the rest of our stay we brought juice ourselves (just bought it from a local shop) but still had to order drinks for ourselves. That was very annoying even though the prices were not very high (1,75 euros for a beer).
Thirdly, if you laid your fork down for a second, the waiters tended to grab away the plate. I have no idea, whteher there was a shortage of plates or they felt I had enough but it was disturbing. So yes, I chased the kid to convince him to swallow a bite while staring at the show and when I returned my wife was fighting the waiter to get my and the kid's plates back. So sometimes we won and sometimes we lost the battle. Anyhow hold your plate tight :)))
Fourthly, there was a great variety of food and a good choice for everyone. Thankfully, lots of plain food like plain pasta, rice, vegetables - for all suspicious and conservative souls (like our kid). Really interesting and worth trying local dishes. In some cases food was a disaster - like on fish night sushi were offered. Although they looked like sushi usually do, the taste was a wreck (horrible rice and tinned tuna).
And finally, outside tables are the smoking area. It's a matter of taste - I personally do not like someone smoking while I'm eating.
Persinnel and Reception - we never had a problem as we could manage in both English and Russian. However, I had a feeling Russian was better understood.
Animation and entertainment - really below average, there were no shows in the evening just someone singing Elvis Presly songs night after night (with all due respect we somehow grew bored). During the day, there was gymnastics and the Norwegian kids had their own animation team.
Taxi: do not be lazy and walk towards the bus station, you'll get the same taxi but for half a price.
So to cut the long story short, it is not that I do not recommend the hotel, just bring back to Earth your expectations.

Room Tip: don't choose a ground floor room with the view on kids' playground :) needless to explain wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Hendrik K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The best hotel in Albena.We stayed in studio Executive on the 9th floor.Room are very spacious, with modern finishes, large bathroom with tub and shower and two toilets.The room is a large, double bed and a sofa that can sleep 2adults smoothly.The hotel is very clean and spa area is magnificent.Breakfast was varied and rich is more than enough.Outdoor pool is quite large and busy.Very Clean swimming pool in large well kept gardens.Beach hotel is 3 min away, is clean and sun beds are free.In Albena there are many terraces and nightclubs but are quite expensive.Until now, everything was perfect, some animation around the pools, pleasant atmosphere but no music.However the most exclusive resort in Albena.

Room Tip: The best rooms in the hotel are on the 9th floor.(VIP floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InspectorBucuresti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Just home from 1 week there and it outstanding, nice and friendly hotel ! Fore me personly, Albena and this hotel as a bit wrong because I was traveling alone this time and like it a bit more lively..but really perfect for those who want things quiet ! :-) Albena shuts down 12.00 - and your of to bed.. Nice rooms with very nice bathroom! Exellent massage ! Free cleam chairs at pool and beach - so hazzel !! Mainly noregian guests. In total just very very nice!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travels A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Okay it is a little expensive but you pay for what you get - modern, comfortable rooms in a great location only minutes from the beach.
Nice food
Large apartment style rooms with good TV channels and spacious balcony
Very Clean swimming pool in large well kept gardens
Choice of bars and entertainment within the hotel
Towns main street and streets for shopping and entertainment just outside.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hiintown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Positive:
Very nice place.
Not a 5 star hotel but 4 stars are worth.
Very good food, clean, very big rooms (studio), coffe and tee in room in the price included.
Ice disposer on floor.
Sun beds by the beach - beach very clean and nice.
Nice fitness area.
Negative:
Very weak internet signal, old towels at pool.
All arround the hotel ist very old and used - not much outside entertainment.

Room Tip: All rooms have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank forgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albena
0.1 mi away
Paradise Blue Hotel
Paradise Blue Hotel
#13 of 31 in Albena
28 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kaliakra
Hotel Kaliakra
#10 of 31 in Albena
103 reviews
0.5 mi away
PrimaSol Ralitsa Superior Aquaclub
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Izvora
Hotel Izvora
#6 of 16 in Kranevo
22 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Borjana
Hotel Borjana
#6 of 31 in Albena
99 reviews
1.7 mi away
Therma Palace Balneohotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Grand

Address: Albena Resort, Albena 9620, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Dobrich Province > Albena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Albena
Price Range: £42 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Flamingo Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the resort, the five stars hotel FLAMINGO GRAND offers spacious accommodation and exceptional services in its 182 luxurious units. Designed with love and deep care for the nature, Flamingo Grand is ideal for those seeking a high standard of accommodation. It is only 150 m from the beach where an umbrella and 2 lounge chairs are available per room. Essentials, the hotel's main restaurant, serves Bulgarian and international cuisine. The restaurant Atrium offers fine cuisine and a wine bar. Bar Bailando and the attractive Night Club Flamingo invite you to enjoy your evening while sipping your favorite drink. The hotel houses the state-of-the-art Elements Spa offering the latest trends in the world of well-being. Rich animation program for adults and children is offered 6 days per week. Free Wi-Fi at 1 Mbps is available in all public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Flamingo Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing