We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Arabella Beach
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Albena
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

stayed for 2 weeks at the Arabella Hotel the rooms do need modernizing but they are of a good size and cleaned every day with fresh towels. The dining room is quite modern and you have plenty of space to move around and they had a good selection of food and again clean . The reception staff were friendly and helpful along with the bar staff. The pool area is beautiful and large and is again kept clean. Always able to get a sun bed so no getting up a five in the morning. the beach is again clean and free sun beds so win win and is two steps from the pool. The animation team were fab and without been pushy were friendly and welcoming. They were one of the best I've seen and had many people joining in the games and dancing. They also do the shows on an evening and these were entertaining and fun.

Room Tip: Book a pool view the view is great. The forest view rooms didn't have the best outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank family044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    16
    12
    15
    13
See reviews for
41
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I was in this hotel with my family,i wantet to use a security box,15 minutes since i ask at the reception for the key and code my bag was stolen with all my money and id documents.the most intersting thing is that i asked for recorders from security cams but they told me that there are no cams only in the area where i was.staff is complete unresponsible and rude.ill never get there again.horror!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Iva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Albena hotels

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We have been to Albena on four previous occassions before and have just arrived back from a week at Arabella Beach Hotel. This hotel is badly in need of renovation. Whilst the rooms and hotel are kept clean and tidy the furnishings are old and somewhat worn out. Taps, piping and fitments in the bathroom are loose and partially broken. The decking outside is broken and loose and dangerous. Some of the lights are broken and have not been replaced. There was amply choice of food at all times, although it ocassionally needed warming up in the microwave. You have to go to the beach to get some quiet time and cannot get away from the noisey activities and "entertainment" provided by the (dreaded) animation team if you sit by the pool. All the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, with very good service. Balkan Holidays rate this hotel as 4 star, based on other hotels we have stayed at I would be struggling to say it was 3 star. Albena itself is also in need of some renovation work, hotels and buildings look "tatty" andt here are quite a few business premises which have obviouly closed down permanenlty are are in ruins. It all just looks run down I like Albena and would go back but it would not be to the Arabella beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcs1133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

reading other reviews I don't know when others stayed, First time in Bulgaria. Had lovely room older as older hotel but very clean. Towls clean every day. hotel staff very friendly and polite. The poor ladies who mopped reception and cleaned reception windows on doors all day every day. Only problem restaurant food,TOO NICE lots and good menus. There were pizzas every day. We had problem with Balkan ,sold this as Ultra Inclusive but it is not.

Room Tip: over the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Valerie60123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Just returned from 2 weeks at the Hotel Arabella Beach in Albena, Bulgaria, and I shall start my review from when I arrived at the hotel in the early hours of the morning after a 3 hour flight from the UK and a 3½ hour drive from Bourgas airport to the hotel. Having dropped various holidaymakers off at other resorts/hotels my expectations were high but these were soon dashed when we were dropped off at what I thought was the service entrance to the hotel. We checked in and were given a plate that was 'dinner' which had not been refrigerated so didn't even bother opening. We were shown to our room and told by the porter that "you have the best room". Disillusioned and tired we went straight to bed in the hope that when we woke up things would look better in daylight. When we awoke and looked around the room it looked no better. There was loads of storage space but wardrobe doors difficult to open and eventually fell off, the bathroom looked dirty and accessories were very old and insecure, and there was no plug for the sink. There was a problem every day with a supply of water to the room with either no water at all or cold water. The good news was the hairdryer worked.

There was an electric socket hanging off the wall with wires exposed, and the furniture in the room was well worn. Walking out on to the balcony the window above had no latch and rather than repair it serviettes had been stuffed in the grooves to stop the window flapping in the event of a strong wind! Every balcony had numerous house martin nests on with droppings all over the floor, which the hotel had endeavoured to remedy by placing a shelf under the nests but this did not work. We went with friends who had similar issues with their room and on speaking to other guests at the hotel I came to the conclusion that there was probably not a room in the hotel that was not in need of repair/refurbishment.

Choice of food in the restaurant was repetitive but not altogether a disaster, although we did eat out several times partly due to lack of choice in the restaurant and partly due to the fact that we found an excellent restaurant, The Garden Place, who showed Euro 2012 on large screen TV and provided excellent service, choice of menu and entertainment [would recommend hotel puts this restaurant on their 'dine around' list. When food/refreshments ran out at the hotel, restaurant staff were very reluctant/slow to replenish.

On the plus side the pool was excellent and the gardens well kept so congrats to the gardener. However, the decking around the pool and outside eating area very badly laid and very dangerous, with some boards jutting out and screws sticking up, which is a hazard when you have young children running around bare foot and sandals/flip flops being worn.
The hotel's private beach area was excellent - very clean and ample sun beds/umbrellas.

The resort of Albena is lovely but the hotel is in need of major refurbishment to do the resort justice/compete with neighbouring hotels. I would go back to Albena but not to the Arabella. Having previously been to Nessebar where the hotel was of a much higher standard and cheaper do not feel we got a good deal.

My advice to anyone going to this hotel would be look beyond the room and exterior of the hotel and it is possible to have a good holiday.

Room Tip: Can't give any tips as don't believe a good room exists at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I booked this hotel because the one I normally book with Balkan Holidays (Gergana) has been replaced in the brochure with this one.
After several happy holidays staying at Gergana , what a dissapointment.
The hotel is well past it's sell by date, really shabby and grubby, and the food was the worst I have ever had. The rep tried to tell me this is how all inclusive in Bulgaria is, until I explained I have been staying at this resort two or three times a year since 2005. This is the first time I have had to go out to eat because I simply couldn't eat what was there.
As the hotel wasn't ready to be opened on arrival, the snacks for the first few days were at Kaliakra hotel next door, which wasn't too bad, just a nuisance, and the evening entertainment was also there. When the snack bar started at Arabella they may as well not have bothered, it was the leftovers from breakfast or lunch which were inedible firt time round.
There was decking sticking up around the pool which was downright dangerous. And they were giving drinks in glasses not plastic beakers around the pool area. Not a good idea.
The hotel staff at Arabella and the animation team are to be congratulated - you are brilliant!
The hotel staff couldn't do enough for us, but they are limited as they have nothing to work with!
The location is lovely - until the night club along the beach starts up! I book this resort because I like peace and quiet, but this time my peace was shattered.
What a pity they dont spend some money on this hotel, the location is so much better than the 5 star Flamingo Grand, they have amazing staff, and the animation team work so hard in the day time and for the evening shows, but it's all wasted on a 2-3 star hotel which claims in the Balkan holidays brochure to be 4 star - 4 star it is not!
I am so sorry to be so negative when the staff try so hard to please, but I wont stay here again.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sumed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

just returned from 1 weeks hell, at the arabella beach hotel went through balkan brochures which totaly miss guided us. it was stated entertainment in hotel this was not the fact we had to go to the hotel next door no problem only we couldnt get any drinks there. it stated pizza at snack bar never seen one yet. the customer service was none existant even if you have a language barrier a smile or a nod would be nice. the food was appauling it was repetative and totaly under cooked. the chef who barbaqued was standing smoking and on his phone while cooking. the rooms were ok only one day we went in straight after the cleaner had been in and we saw somthing crawling across the floor. it was about 3 inches long with loads of legs i take it was some sort of centerpede i wouldnt mind but we were on the 5th floor i complained to reception as i dont know what it was but the fella behind the desk just laughed at me and said it couldnt be that big. another time we saw the cat who hung round the hotel (lovely friendly thing) only one day it caught a mouse and started playing with it right outside the restraunt in the seating area. i pointed this out to the waiter but he just laughed also. i dont think they know the meaning of hygine. the drinks in this hotel are quite strong but if you dont drink beer whisky or vodka your stuffed i fancied a cocktail as you do so i looked on the menu asked for three different cocktail and they said no they didnt have it. i know it was nearly end of season but if it is on offer you expect them to have stock of it i coulnt even get a straw.
the upside of all this is the location it was lovely albena is a stunning place if i win the lottery i will buy the hotel put the customer service right find a chef that can cook and improve the hygine then it would be a little gold mine i would go back to albena but a different hotel.

Room Tip: fantastic view for see view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrdale2485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albena hotels
0.7 mi away
Flamingo Grand
Flamingo Grand
#2 of 31 in Albena
232 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kaliopa
Hotel Kaliopa
#11 of 31 in Albena
58 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Kaliakra
Hotel Kaliakra
#3 of 31 in Albena
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Laguna Garden
Hotel Laguna Garden
#15 of 31 in Albena
81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Nona
Hotel Nona
#14 of 31 in Albena
53 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Borjana
Hotel Borjana
#5 of 31 in Albena
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arabella Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arabella Beach

Property: Hotel Arabella Beach
Address: Albena Holiday Complex, Albena, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Dobrich Province > Albena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Albena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arabella Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the beach, Arabella Beach is an All Inclusive hotel that consists of 108 rooms, a large outdoor pool and a children's playground. Guests can dine at the spacious air-conditioned restaurant, at the terrace or have a barbecue. There is a lobby bar and a bar serving refreshments by the pool. Hotel Arabella Beach features a beauty salon, massage salon, billiard. Rich animation program is offered in the hotel six days per week. In the vicinity guests can go horseback riding, play Ping-Pong, darts or mini golf, or try water sports. There are 2 tennis courts near the hotel. A sunshade and 2 lounge chairs are available at the beach per room. Free Wi-Fi at 1 Mbps is available in the hotel lobby and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Arabella Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing