We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never again”
Review of Hotel Dobrudja

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Dobrudja
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Albena
Ashdod, Israel
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“never again”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

i got good recommendations for this hotel from several people, but all of them was from 5 years ago. well -it's not the case now .bad, really bad. hotel is neglected. dirty. furniture broken. sinks, bath, pluming - in terrible condition and not safe. we had two rooms - for me and my baby and for my parents. they had bath after renovation - not much better. stuff is very indifferent. whatever you ask - will not get. food: every day is the same and not tasty. if you not spoiled - you wouldn't, stay hungry, but that's it.
we had rooms with AC and no balcony. AC very strange - looks new but takes few hours until you feel it and it was not very hot in the and of the august.
the only plus - inside pool for cold days.
one more thing: they say on their website that you have for free for every room at the beach umbrella and two sunbeds. well- beds - lie. you can have very bad umbrella, that's all.
well - it's from 1984 without renovation

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Yuliave73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    11
    13
    11
    21
See reviews for
19
15
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trnava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We love Bulgaria/ Usually we go to Albena, because it has good social structure. last time we stayed in Dobrudja on the 13th floor. We chose a room with the balcony. there were plastic chairs and a table at the balcony, we spent time there with pleasure. You see the sea in its splendour and a lot of swallows. Two floors higher there is a well-known cafeteria with good panorama, but our panorama was even better! Though it an old building, a sort of socialist monument, but there are many lifts there, pleasant personnel and very good breakfasts in the restaurants. We plan to go there again!

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies face the sea and have the shade in the afternoon/
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlorenceBead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Dirty, smelly, small rooms, no AC, horrible services!!!! Old comunist, probably not changed since then, is a pitty to go to albena, which is nice, and stay at dobrudja. Really!! We entered the room stayed about 5 minutes and checked out, was impossible to sleep in such conditions. Amazing part is that TUI recommended thos hotel and was very difficult to take the money back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denisamdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Albena hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Unfriendly and very rude staff, old and not very clean furniture... There was a variety of food, but it was not tasty... One of the worst hotels I have been to. Albena is nice, but don't stay at this hotel!!! At least not until you hear it's been renovated.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Masa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

The hotel is meant to be a 4 star, all I can say is that maybe it was a 4 star hotel in the 1960s or 70s but has not been updated much since so now it's more like a 2 to 3 star hotel. I stayed a month later than markmctaggart, also on the 7th floor too as this other reviewer, there was no smell and the room was clean enough. I am tall and the single bed was adequately comfortably however my main problem was the heat and that none of the rooms have air conditioning. I got the room on a special offer so can't complain. Apart it isn't located right on the beach but a 5 minute walk away and the free use of sunbeds and umbrella on for hotel residents saved quite a bit of money over a few days as I saw they were charging 18 for 2 beds and an umbrella. The breakfast was ok but I needed to tell them virtually every morning that either the orange juice, water or cereals had run out. The coffee could be better too!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varna, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
135 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Came for a 1 night break from Varna where I live to get away for the weekend. I love Albena and its a great place for kids and thought it'd be nice to have an evening meal and a few drinks without worrying about driving home. The room was cheap, especially for July (32 euro) and I had low expections as i'd stayed a few years earlier so I thought I knew what to expect. Anyway, we were on the 7th floor and as soon as the lift door opened the smell of urine hit you. The carpet has been destoryed down the corridors (Not just a little rip but something like a Bulgarian road if you've ever been here) and then we got into the room. The room smelt terrible and had several big chips out of the wall (Not just paint but the whole wall). The bathroom had a low brown sink with loads of burn marks on and the shower/bath reminded me of my backpacking days in Laos and Cambodia. The bedsheets (if you could call them that) are hard to describe, but something like an easywipe kitchen tablecloth, somthing synthetic even a bit plasticy. Maybe its because we booked in as locals as I cant imagine them giving this room or floor to international guests, but it really was unacceptable by any standards. We had a great day in Albena and an early dinner and couldnt bear to go back to the room and checked out without even staying the night. The reception were laughing at us and said that we couldnt get a refund (which I didnt ask for anyway, just wanted to get out of there). Its not worth risking it staying here in my opinion, even if you are on a low budget. Will never stay again!

Room Tip: Stay away from the 7th floor and if you must stay here ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MarkMcT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This hotel needs serious renovation of its rooms. Our room was small and smelled of old, the bathroom was stinky. They have put a baby crib which was wooden and broken and quite dangerous for a 1 year old baby. After my complaint it was changed. There was no remote control for the AC even after i asked for one.
On the other hand, the staff was very friendly and helpful - at the front desk, in the restaurant and in the panorama cafe. The food was also good and there was wide variety of meals. We had free sunbeds and sun umbrella on the beach, the location of the hotel is also great in the center of the resort and 5 min from the beach.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travel_reality_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albena hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kaliopa
Hotel Kaliopa
#11 of 31 in Albena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amelia
Hotel Amelia
#3 of 31 in Albena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.7 mi away
Flamingo Grand
Flamingo Grand
#2 of 31 in Albena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Kaliakra
Hotel Kaliakra
#4 of 31 in Albena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sandy Beach
Hotel Sandy Beach
#12 of 31 in Albena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Orchidea
Hotel Orchidea
#20 of 31 in Albena
3.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dobrudja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dobrudja

Property: Hotel Dobrudja
Address: Albena Resort, Albena 9620, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Dobrich Province > Albena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Albena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dobrudja 3*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dobrudja Hotel is located in the center of Albena, only 300 meters from the beach. The Signature hotel of the resort, with its 18 floors and 240 units, remains the highest building in Albena. Two thirds of the rooms are with sea view. It features several a la carte restaurants offering modern French and Fusion cuisines, an indoor and outdoor pools. On the ground floor of the hotel is located one of the biggest Medi-SPA centers in Bulgaria - Medica Albena - that offers a great variety of medical and SPA treatments performed with the help of our highly-trained and experienced professionals. All rooms feature cable TV, a minibar, and a bathroom. Safety boxes and refrigerators can be rented at the reception. Hotel Dobrudja provides a parking lot and a garage. The bus station is 700 meters away. Free parasols can be provided at the free beach zone. Free Wi-Fi at 1 Mbps is available in all public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dobrudja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dobrudja Hotel Albena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing