We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than other hotels.”
Review of Hotel Kompas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kompas
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Albena
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“better than other hotels.”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

after booking this hotel last minute we paid 280 per person for one week, we were told when booking we were going to varna airport but once our booking conformation had arrived it was infact bourgas airport. Once arriving at bourgas we got on the coach and were told it would take 2 hours to our hotel, with 3 hotel stops before ours, they were also going to have 15 mins break on the way at a shop to allow toilet stop and food and drink, 3 and a half hours later and 9 stops, we finally arrived at our hotel.. The outside of our hotel didn't look the best, we arrived on reception to give our passports and to be told our room, they nearly forgot to give us our wristbands because too busy on his phone, we then had to carry our heavy suitcases up 3 flights of stairs with no help or no lifts, we dumbed our bags and went straight for dinner as we had been travelling all day and hardly any food:( food was not great at dinner and I didn't really enjoy it but always found something to eat. There is a man on his keyboard, with guitar and sitting every dinner time which is thoughtful of the hotel but quite annoying as plays the same songs:L We then had a walk around the hotel and found a few shops on site, very good shops but were always empty as didn't think anyone knew they were there, no signs and everytime we spoke about them people didn't know what we was on about( sign post them for extra business) We wanted to see the beach so walked and had to walk down loads and loads of steps, the steps had bits missing and cracks so walk slowly else you might fall, about 100 steps in total and when you get down them you cannot be bothered to walk all the way back up them, the train costs 3 lev a person and comes every 15 mins roughly takes you to your hotel. Our hotel room was good, except I had a burn mark on my sheet so I rang reception which is free to ring on your room telephones (also ringing other rooms is free too, just dial their room number) and they changed it, the view was crap, unless you like the look of trees.. air condition is amazing! Breakfast was absolutely fantastic! egg, sausage, bread, toast, cheese on toast, waffles with chocolate spread, cereals etc, although kids running around pushing in at all meal times especially for waffles to be cooked in the morning, tell them to get in line! Lunch was exactly the same as dinner so wasn't very good but snacks near the pool were very good, pizza, burgers, chips, icecream etc.. drinks were very good too, bar staff very well spoken English:) the pool is very clean, cold at first but you get use to it after a while, you always get a sunbed no matter that time you go down:D it says free wifi but don't tell you how to get it, you have to ask reception for your ID and password, you only get wifi in the lobby where reception is and half of the pool, but every time you go out of wifi zone it turns off and when you go back into a wifi zone you have to log in again which is long! The cleaners do extemely long hours as when you wake up they are cleaning and when you go bed they are still cleaning, no matter what time you go bed one day we put out 'do not disturb' sign on our door as we were having a nap and didn't want them coming in, the next day we wanted it cleaning so went out for the day and didn't put any sign, when we arrived home it hadnt been cleaned so I went and asked reception for them to clean, the cleaners arrived and kept giving us dodgy looks, we went out on the balcony to get out of their ways so they could clean and they locked the door on us, we knocked the window and they looked and laughed.. they then used our telephone to ring reception, a lady came up let us back in and started having a go at us saying we put the 'do not disturb' sign up, we said we didn't and that was yesterday and she kept going on and basically saying we was lying, after she went we sat on our beds whiles the cleaners cleaned as didn't want to get locked out again, they kept talking their own language, looking and laughing at us, we felt very angry as they could of been saying anything, we felt very wary to lock our belongings away in our cases every day after this incase they stole anything. Albena is very small and hardly anything to do, not many retaurants and the 'new' water park that was meant to be ready in summer 2014 is no where near ready:( shame as was looking forward to it. A majority of other foreign tourists are very rude, never use manners, always pushing in, when you say morning they just look at you all blank with no response but all English people are very kind and you all stick together and say good morning every day:) At the beginning on the holiday we wanted to go on a jeep safari ride so we asked reception for details, the lad just looked at me and said he didn't know so we left it at that, a couple of days later another receptionist was on the desk, I asked her the same question and she was very helpful, gave us lots of folders with prices, times, picture etc but unfortunately we had missed it by then due to the first receptionist:( There is not much entertainment in this hotel but through the white gates across from the hotel next to the steps to the beach, there is children's entertainment at around 8 and adults from 9/9:30:) the anamation team are kind and they try and get you involved in activities during the day such as darts, volley ball etc, a lot of people join in but you don't have too.. The shops are all cheap, fags are like 5 lev for 20 which is about £2.50 on England, basically half the lev for make English and it is a rough price.. restaurant are farly cheap, but we careful to find the meals on the menus! it says for example chicken steak 12 lev but when it comes there is no chips or anything just the chicken steak, make sure all meals you order clearly state chips else there will be none:L drinks in the hotel are nice, providing beer, spirits, cocktails, soda and juice, the outside bar makes sex on the beach cocktails but the inside bar doesn't know what you are on about:L drinks finish at 11 so order as many as you want before that, they allow you to order as many as you want at one time, you are not limited.. they lock the doors to enter the building around 10 ish so you have to walk round but it doesn't take long:) When we left the hotel to get the coach to the airport we were given a lunch box with 2 different sandwiches, a bottle of water and an apple, this was very kind of them:) I hope this very long review has helped people with many questions, this hotel is a good 3* hotel and I enjoyed the holiday very much:) I would return to albena and to this hotel but in the near future when I have had children as it isn't for people with out children if I am honest:)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank charleyriddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    13
    10
    4
    14
See reviews for
21
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
stoke on trent
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

if sampling the cultural delights of cuisine..its fine..dont expect bacon ..or full english..very eastern european..but if like me give it a try..snacks are available during the day..chips and burgers..like spain..the drinks are fine too..nothing special hotel but the staff are very friendly ..if youre on a budget..try it..if not there are loads better..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Since booking this hotel and reading the reviews we were worried about what we had signed up for. After a 3.5 hour flight and a 4 hour transfer we arrived at about 3am to be quickly checked in and shown to our rooms. There was food and water in our rooms incase we were hungry. All though the rooms were cleaned everyday this remained here for 3 days until we asked the maid to take it away. On our 4th night we had a leak coming in both our rooms through the walls and ceilings. The receptionist immediately came down with towels and then rang for an electrician. As the electrics had to be turned off we were happily allowed to stay in reception that night until our new rooms were ready the next day. We were also allowed to use the lobby bar for free even though you are supposed to pay for drinks after 11pm. The next day we were given new rooms after old guests had checked out and the rooms were cleaned. There were 5 of us and we always all had sunbeds, they were never a problem to get. Only problem is the lack of British guests. The food for breakfast was nothing worth getting up for but at tea time there was always something different on. If you're picky you'll starve while here but if you aren't afraid to try new things you will be fine. There was always a snack bar in which did pizza, burgers/sausages and chips/potatoes and salad everyday. Entertainment for adults is none existent but Is good for the kids both day and night. It is only a short walk down 170 steps to the beach with a cocktail bar that do 2-4-1 cocktails and has plenty shops bars and restaurants. All in all if you're expecting the ritz then you'll be disappointed but if you're not you'll be fine. Loved it here

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RachelNx18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow in Furness, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This was a cheap all inclusive holiday for myself and my 2 young children. I went 3 star as I wanted to be away for 2 weeks. I paid for 3 star and that is what I got. It could have been a little cleaner, but the staff were all lovely and helpful and Albena is a beautiful part of the Country. The kids pool was great fun for my 2 and they enjoyed being there very much. As did I. All in all, a good value break. I would recommend for families with kids.

Room Tip: If you want to walk to the beach from the hotel with a buggy, wheelchair or you have poor mobility...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I have been back a week now, after booking a very cheap all inclusive holiday within 3 days of departure. We checked out the reviews below. We actually were terrified but it was too late. However, we arrived at the Hotel at midnight to be greeted by a very helpful receptionist who gave us keys and food for evening. The room was bright and airy with a double and single bed, it was a room to sleep.

Ok this is not the same standard 3* we come to expect with Hotels in UK but this hotel had all the basic amenities and was a very comfortable stay. The food was definitely different each evening but mostly Pork and Rice with some interesting dishes. But if you booked with the right tour operator you get a Dine Around which lets you visit very nice restaurants around the resort for free. Definitely visit the Mexican!! :-)

Overall, the resort was pretty quiet for the more relaxed holiday maker. Lots of things to do don't get me wrong. The beautiful beach is a walk down a lot of steps but once you are there you have 2 sun loungers and umbrella waiting for you and just 1 minutes away from a hotel which you can use for free ice-cream and drinks and afternoon snacks. You can get a train around the resort for 3 lev or a free shuttle bus.

Had a fantastic holiday and definitely would say if you would like a cheap get away in a pleasant resort I'd say get yourself to Albena and try Hotel Kompas.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djdankeshone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I was very wary about going to this hotel after booking because of the bad reviews. But all the staff were really polite and very happy to help, very little English but there was always someone around to translate. The room was very clean and just what I needed, and was cleaned, bed made and fresh towels everyday. The facilities were very clean and the animation team were brilliant and made our stay, they made so much of what little resources they had! The only negative to the holiday was the food, it was awful and the same stuff everyday. However I am a fussy eater but found something to eat at each mealtime. The snack bar wasn't so bad. You get what you pay for really

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bjp92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Mam Dad ( 50ish ) Daughter (18)
We have stayed in Albena previously and enjoyed the location.
On this occasion we decided to try a different hotel same location. BIG MISTAKE.
On arrival, Reception staff need a personality transplant, non welcoming to keep it polite.
Room, ok but dated could do with a re-vamp ( not a botched touch up like rest of hotel).
Public area`s clean, but limited seating,as this is the only wifi area.
Pool area clean and tidy with children entertainment (nothing for adults as in previous )
With food we had wanted to try a variety of different tastes, but:
Breakfast: same crap different day, only variety was some days no beans (never seen a slice of bacon yet.
Lunch: never ate in restaurant,just used pool snack area, again repeatative.
Dinner: Variety available.
Food in general, we struggled to eat as we have yet to taste hot food, always lukewarm. On one occasion a dish was replenished and it was cold, so temp never checked by chef (haha,chef!!!)
Hot water station? (no, lukewarm water stations) so no hot tea/coffee available.
In general:
Cold water stations: in lobby bar area ,always empty never any cups, I asked reception for more water to take medication was told maybe later or water in restaurant, went to restaurant, no water!!
Came back after day out, room had been serviced but no toilet rolls, I asked reception,then 1 hour later I asked again, was told maybe later, I requested Manager bring them and within 2 minutes we had some delivered.
Lobby bar ran out of drinks, ice and plastic glasses, I was asked to bring back plastic glasses to use again, I refused. Our drinks were available in other bars but lobby bar staff did not replenish for remainder 3 days of our stay.
Always told by every request made. MAYBE LATER.
Staff do not like English customers staying,(as customers are mainly German/Russian on one occasion I was overlooked at service, to hear staff comment oh he is English.
Overall: Albena again, maybe,but prices have changed,cheaper in other resorts.
Kompas Hotel : NEVER AGAIN, should change it`s name to the Maybe Later Hotel

Room Tip: no room advise it is pot luck, as you have young familys and teenage groups staying
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flloydmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Albena hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albena hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Orchidea
Hotel Orchidea
#20 of 31 in Albena
63 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amelia
Hotel Amelia
#2 of 31 in Albena
110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Magnolia
Hotel Magnolia
#25 of 31 in Albena
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villas Magnolia
Villas Magnolia
#19 of 31 in Albena
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
.Com Hotel
.Com Hotel
#30 of 31 in Albena
61 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Flamingo
Hotel Flamingo
#13 of 31 in Albena
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kompas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kompas

Property: Hotel Kompas
Address: Albena beach, Albena 9620, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Dobrich Province > Albena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Albena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kompas 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kompas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing