We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for the money”
Review of Hotel L&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel L&B
Ranked #21 of 222 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Based on how much we paid for this hotel we thought it was good. The hotel was very clean and tidy, rooms spacious. The room had good air con, and the bathroom was clean and not grubby. Had a hairdryer so don't need to pack one of those. We had a fridge in the room which was really useful. We travelled as a family of 3, our little boy was on a sofa bed. The beds weren't the best but again for the money cant complain. The room was cleaned every day and towels changed if you left them on the floor (you can use them for longer if you want). The breakfast as mentioned on previous reviews isn't great, we bought our own cereal and spreads and took them down to breakfast each morning.
The pool is probably about 5ft deep at its shallowest, but there is a little children's section also. We had no trouble getting sunbeds each day, in fact it was fairly quiet and that's in August.
The location of the hotel was really good - close to the beach, restaurants and local bus service but far enough away from the noise.
Staff were really friendly.
First timers to Sunny Beach, not the resort for us bit too concrete and commercialised but we had a good time.
Overall for a budget hotel based on what you paid it was worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EckH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

“Nice hotel

I stayed at the L &B hotel with my daughter and two friends. when we arrived we were greeted by a very polite receptionist who told us where our rooms were and gave us information about breakfast the following morning. We were in a family room on the top floor over looking another hotel.la Which was very nice. Cleaners tbh never seen them but a fresh towel would be place on our bed but no beds were ever made and no sheets were ever changed. Pool very small. Only problem was the sunloungers were position around the small pool you would get soaked when people were in the pool and the sun would shine up the side in the morning leaving the otherside with no sun but by the afternoon vise versa. so no sun all day.
the manager was always around the pool, and as another person said unless you bought you stuff there he was really rude. TBH we all went to the hotel opposite sun village. we just walked in got a bed sunbathed all day bought our food there drinks etc for 150 lev l an b was 300 lev for same drink. We always went for breakfast. The last evening we decided to have a pizza so went down ordered it. and the manager sarcastically said oh this is the dinning room you have not seen this room have you. also the manger saw us going over to the other pool as we were never around l and b pool. funny thing was last day one of the girls went to go over and was stopped by security.. saying the manger from l and b told us you belong to their hotel. and we bought food out side and took it in although there was a sign up saying not to.
no entertainment.There was a poolside bar that we found was dearer than the other hotels.

Breakfast at the hotel was nice, there was a choice of sausages,ham, scrambled/boiled eggs, toast,cereals, cakes and croissants.

The hotel is not close to the beach as it says indeed a good walk.
We all had an enjoyable stay in Bulgaria and couldn't believe how cheap it was! I would definatley return to Bulgaria but probable stay at another hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I stayed at the L &B hotel with my mum and dad. Brother and sister in law and my two nephews who were three and one.Our stay was from 12/8/13 -19/8/13, when we arrived we were greeted by a very polite receptionist who told us where our rooms were and gave us information about breakfast the following morning.We had two rooms a family room and a double room, both rooms were very nice and quite big, the family room was pool facing and had one double bed and 2 single beds we paid extra for the cot, the family room had a sofa and a cchair which was very nice, the family room had no bath but had a walk in shower.The double room was much the same but didnt have a sofa there were 3 single beds in this room, this room had a bath.Both rooms had air conditioning and a fridge, these were ok but because we were only given one card to get in and out of the room which also hadto be used for electricity meant that when you went out the fridge was off and so was the air con! This made it impossible to keep the fridge cold and we found the fridge didnt work at times.

I wouldnt say that this hotel was particulary suitable for small children, the poolside was very dangeous as there is no grids around the pool to drain off the water this in turn made the poolside dangerous , my nephews fell on several occasions.Many people have ritisized the pool size but in my opinion it is adequate.There are plenty of sunbeds around the pool but as normal like any hotel you have to be quick to get these. This hotel has no efacilities for children, no park, or no entertainment.There was a poolside bar which was reasnable but be careful as they kept saying pay later instead of paying as you go, but never seemed to keep a note of what we were having, one day we paid for stuff we hadnt even had!

Breakfast at the hotel was nice, there was a choice of sausages,ham, scrambled/boiled eggs, toast,cereals, cakes and coisants.

When we initially looked at this hotel we read on two travel sites that the beach was 200 meteres away from the hotel, this is infact not true and is more like a 10- 15 minuite walk away! We booked this ghotel on the understanding that it was close to the beach, as i have a walking disability it took quite a while to get there.
We all had an enjoyable stay in bulgaria and ccouldnt believe how cheap it was! I would definatley return to bulgaria and would stay in the L &B hotel again but without children.An additional point think about your flight times as there is no courtessy room in this hotel or washing facilitys, we had to pay 100 lev to keep one of the rooms untill 10pm

Room Tip: pool view rooms if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pete186378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We booked this hotel after looking at the score on here and i can honestly say everything is true. We had a few gripes on the first day but that was mainly due to Hotel Beds promising things then not telling the hotel.
The hotel is clean and tidy, but the cleaners on our floor didn't renew the sheets and towel as they should have and needed chasing up (big deal). You can tell a lot about a hotel by how clean the public toilet is in the reception area and it was always spotless.
The only down side to the hotel was the size of the pool area, we were there in August and had no problem, but i think that was due to folk going to the beach. The sun loungers are packed in to accommodate guests and the pool is just big enough for a couple of lielows and a few folk to cool down.
The hotel is situated close to the strip but far enough away from the noise. The hotel boasts double glazing which makes no end of difference to the room. The air con (in every room) worked well and was on all night!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
The biggest issue with the hotel is that there is no courtesy room available. If your on a late check out and have lost your room at 11 then its tough! and if your friendly with other couples at the hotel and they offer you their room to freshen up, the hotel fines them as you become guests which they dont allow in the rooms!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: We had a triple room which was fine for 3 but some triples accommodate 4 which is tight so ensure yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CCollier2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed for 11 nights after reading on Trip Advisor what a good hotel this is.....

On arrival hotel looked ok seemed to be clean.
Room was small with 3 single beds.
We were a family with one 12 year old child.

I am a bit lost as to why this hotel gets such good reviews on here!!

One reason we went to Bulgaria and stayed at this hotel was the good price we found.
We were on a budget this year...

The room was NOT cleaned the whole 11 nights we were there..

Cleaner left clean towels each day and sort of made the beds....

Bins were emptied sometimes but room has carpet and was not hovered or cleaned once when we were there. Bathroom was also NOT cleaned...

Our beds were a bit lumpy an not that comfortable one small pillow per bed and sheets that were ill fitting.

Another reason I went for this hotel was because rooms had a fridge... But actually this is a waste of time as your room key/swipe card is needed to turn the electric on in the room. So unless you in the room fridge not on all day!!

We were told by a waiter mid week that you are not allowed to consume food/drink around the pool area that has been brought from any where apart from the hotel....
We have travelled all over the world and NEVER had this before... and were not aware this was the case in this hotel. Nothing in the booking information.
From this point on the hotel manager (who always seems to be on site but does VERY little) was very hostile towards us.

The next morning there was A4 notices put up saying about this no food/drink policy but guess what notice was only in English!!

I do think the manger/owner of this hotel are VERY short sited as we did spend money in their hotel its 5 Lev a day for safe and another 5 Lev for internet, 125 for return airport transfers. We had 2 meals in the restaurant on site and it was good food. Got the odd drink daughter had ice creams and we brought tobacco/ cigarettes for friends at home... we would spent more but after they were so unfriendly with us we spent our money else where!!

The pool is tiny and adults and children dive/ bomb in the pool splashing people and their belonging!!

Kids get bored quickly as there is nothing for them to do.

The reception staff are really nice and friendly and helpful if you need any help.

We met some great people also staying in this hotel and it was nice to have a chat each day get recommendations ect for places to go/eat.

At night and all night you can hear people returning from being out as the doors need to be slammed to shut!!

I think this hotel could be 100% better.... would I stay again NOPE but know people say they been going for years...
I think these people probably spend a lot of money on drinks ect so are made to feel welcome by management/staff? If I had wanted to eat/drink in one place I would of gone all inclusive!!

Breakfast wasn't for us. We only went in once as there wasn't a great choice and unless you like toast!!

They need to sort the cleaning of rooms out ASAP and start to be friendlier towards guests and reduce the price of soft drinks as this would encourage people to stay on site more.

Hotel more suitable for couples than families and a week is long enough too!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pepsi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We booked this hotel as it was rated very high on trip advisor.
There are some good things about the hotel for example the air con in the room was very good, the room was an okay size and the beds were comfortable. Any problems you do have the hotel will usually try to solve.
However for me the negatives outweigh the positives on this hotel, the cleaners - if you can call them that, are useless, we had to ask for clean bedding and clean towels, our room was never hoovered, our bathroom was never cleaned, all they did was make the beds and give us a new toilet roll. If you are a family with children this is not the hotel for you, there is nothing for the children to do as even the pool is too small to swim in. Sunny beach is popular for young groups of drinkers so expect a couple of those too. The breakfast is fine if you like toast, if you dont then your stuck really.
If you book a family room ensure that it says family room on your papers as we paid to upgrade to a family room but when our paper work came it said triple room, we were told these were the same thing, they are not.
The hotel has no courtesy room and will want you out of your room at 11 am so if you have a late flight home theres not much you can do but sit around in reception all day, luckily we were able to book our room until the evening at the price of about £40 but this isnt avalible to everyone as the rooms are usually fully booked.
Oh and finally the wifi, you can pay for this at 5 lev a day, about £2.20 but it isnt free and the connection isnt great so you often loose it.


Thanks for reading, i hope this helps, the hotel it great for just a week if you are just a couple but please dont bother if your a family.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms tend to be better, there is very little noise anywhere in the hotel, the aircon is v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jazbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend & I stayed here at the beginning of August. We were very impressed and enjoyed our stay... The staff were extremely friendly & helpful, rooms were spotless (apart from our own mess!) and a good size. Pool area was calm and enjoyable.

Unfortunately upon arrival at the hotel on our first day we realised that we had accidently booked our room for the day before we had arrived - a situation that was completly our fault (and that we have learnt from). The receptionist and manager were very accomodating and told us that they had a room available for that evening, and for the 2nd night we could stay in the hotel across the road, then from the 3rd night onwards they would have a room available for the rest of our trip. We had to pay for an extra night, understandably. We were very happy with how they treated our situation.

Our rooms were spacious, as were the bathroom which was more like a wet room. Although we had 2 single beds pushed together the beds were comfortable. We enjoyed and made good use of the free air conditioning. I was very happy that there was a hairdryer in the bathroom, as there wasnt enough room in our luggage to bring one! The fridge was useful, however when you left the room it would turn off (as would the air con) because the card would no longer be in the electricity slot.
One night the room above us were being very noisy, after 12am so my boyfriend made this known to reception and they sorted this out for us. That put aside we had a good week's rest.

The food and drink was reasonably priced and of good quality. We enjoyed our afternoon snack of yellow cheese and chips, with cheap beer and a lovely cider called Somersby and the occasional cocktail.
We had breakfast included with our booking. Typically it was of European breakfast style, which included: cereals, cold meats, plain pasta?!, toast, sausage, scrambled egg, beans and some other bits & pieces.

The hotel is approximately 15 - 20 minutes walk away from the beach and main strip; made up of many bars, clubs, restaurants and market stalls. Although there are people trying to sell their bars and restaurants, they were friendly and understanding whilst doing this and not pushy like in some resorts. Food prices varied as did the quality, and more expensive didn't necessarily mean it was better. However we had 3 lovely meals, one at an Italian restaurant, a french and spanish restaurant and one that served traditional bulgarian dishes. Apologies as we cannot remember the names of these!!
Many of the bars, restaurants and clubs have 2 for 1 happy hours on cocktails and generally the beer is very cheap wherever you go - you have got to love the exchange rate from the Pound to the Lev!
The hotel is far enough away from the noise, which is pleasant. There are a few small shops close to the hotel.

We went on a few excursions through the tour group Lucky Tours, we went on a Jeep Safari, which was alot of fun and you get to see a traditional and natural side of Bulgaria which is a world away from Sunny Beach! We also went to a Bulgarian Night, where we had traditional food and there was entertainment, which we enjoyed but not as much as the Jeep Safari.
Lazi, at the shop, was incredibly friendly towards us. We also booked our return taxi to the airport through her and we got it cheaped than anywhere else we had looked. However we would highly advise booking transfer from the airport to the hotel whilst booking your flights as we got ripped off on our way to the hotel!

Overall we throughly enjoyed our stay in Sunny Beach and Hotel L & B, we will be returning in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yasmine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Family Hotel Romantic
Family Hotel Romantic
#37 of 222 in Sunny Beach
65 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ivana Palace Hotel
Ivana Palace Hotel
#20 of 222 in Sunny Beach
519 reviews
2 mi away
Julia Family Apartments
Julia Family Apartments
#80 of 222 in Sunny Beach
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Slavyanski Hotel
Slavyanski Hotel
#104 of 222 in Sunny Beach
169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Atol
Hotel Atol
#69 of 222 in Sunny Beach
61 reviews
0.9 mi away
Trakia Hotel
Trakia Hotel
#133 of 222 in Sunny Beach
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L&B

Address: Sunny Beach, Sunny Beach, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Sunny Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range: £16 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel L&B 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel L&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l And b
Hotel L&B Bulgaria/Sunny Beach
l b Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing