We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lifts a disaster!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ivana Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ivana Palace Hotel
Ranked #24 of 219 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lifts a disaster!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Just returned from Ivana Palace. On our first night we got stuck in the lift on the 6th floor...doors would not open and emergency alarm wouldn't work! With a 7yr old I obviously panicked and eventually had to prize the door open to get out! I was obviously raging and reported it immediately to the reception staff. The man on reception just simply laughed at me and said I shouldn't have been on the 6th floor as it was for staff only and that although they were aware of the problem of people being stuck in the lift they were still operating it. I was gobsmacked. We stayed there a week and heard of people being stuck in the same lift on numerous occasions! Apart from this the hotel and staff were fabulous. The cleaners were friendly and the rooms were cleaned to an exceptionally high standard throughout our stay. Danni the pool bar lady was really lovely and friendly. Pool cleaned and spacious and enough sunbeds throughout our stay. Will be visiting again but will not be using the lifts. That was the only disappointment but this needs to be rectified.

Room Tip: We had a pool view room which was lovely, 4th floor. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mags C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    181
    86
    18
    23
See reviews for
132
170
35
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Just back from the ivana palace hotel with my 3 girl friends and we had lovely holiday. The hotel was lovely, very very clean, staff excellent, and bar staff inside and outside were brilliant, really took care of us. The price we paid for a week b&b was amazing value and breakfast was lovely. The happy hour at the bars were fantastic value, we got 4 cocktails for 15 leve, abou £ 7.50, amazing prices and the vodka was really really cheap, 2 doubles for 5 leve, amazing prices. You need to get the bar staff to make strawberry dakari's , they were to die for. Would defo return to this hotel my next time to Bulgaria. The snack menu at bar was very nice and very very cheap, we got 2 toasties on the plate, so just share. The hotel shop was fab also and great prices sp need to shop outside. Hotel is off the busy road so not noisy and couple mins walk from the main strip. We were recommended a brill restaurant on the way to main strip, called Salt & Pepper, we ate their 5 out of 7 nights and worked our way thru their menu, food was amazing, best I have had .

Room Tip: wouldn't recommend the first floor as wee bit noise coming from the bar area at night, because t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angieg67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

I stayed at the Ivana Palace for 2 weeks with my husband and son from August 3rd 2013. It was our first time in Bulgaria and we were thrilled with our hotel. We booked a family room and ended up with what can only be described as a small apartment (Room 12A). There were 2 doors onto our balcony and a very convenient continental airer to dry clothes, always a welcome addition to a balcony in my view as nothing cheapens the look of a hotel more than towels and wet swimming costumes dangling over the balconies. We were really happy with the bright spacious rooms, they were kept clean by a team of ladies who obviously took great pride in their work. Linens and towels were changed regularly. The plug holes had no evidence of previous residents and the shower curtain was spotless. The corridors were well lit and very clean.

There are 3 lifts which are a little slow but you never wait too long. The reception staff are very helpful and are always ready with information. The reception and pool bars are run in a very friendly and efficient manner and the staff are really welcoming, nothing is too much trouble.

The pool area is clean and well maintained, there are lots of sunbeds and we never went without one, you also don't have to get up at the crack of dawn to claim a spot in the sun. The pools are cleaned every morning by a team of 3.

I have left the food until last as, reading through the other reviews, I notice that people are not impressed with standards and choice at this hotel. Let's get one thing straight, what do you normally eat at home for breakfast? Do you have cereal, yogurt, stewed fruit, fresh fruit, cake, biscuits, boiled egg, fried egg, scrambled egg, sausages, 6 different cold meats, russian salad, tomatoes, cucumber, peppers and toast with either honey or strawberry or apricot jam. No? Me neither, but those were the choices every morning at this hotel washed down with coffee, hot chocolate or a choice of 4 different teas. The lunchtime menu was a little limited but everything was tasty and cooked to perfection. All my meals arrived piping hot.

There are lots of really reasonable restaurants locally and as the beach is only about 300 meters from the hotel there is plenty of choice for food and shopping. Be warned that the sea front area is very busy and commercialized but not unpleasant and people don't pester you like they do in Turkey.

On the whole we had a lovely holiday thank you Ivana Palace we will recommend you and come back again.

Room Tip: Go for a family room, not much more expensive and really worth it for the extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamievan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Loving the reviews on here, sounds really positive, myself and my wife are going for one week bnb from 6th of september we can't wait. I'm bringing 1,500 liva, hope its plenty as im hoping to do a lot of water sports, can anyone tell me do the activities on beach shut in september also what are my chances of watching the irish match on the 10th over there its on sky sports thanks in advance

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greenwhiteandorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Just returned from this hotel and would have no hesitation in returning. It's not luxury, but for what you pay, it's brilliant. It's clean, tidy and the staff are friendly. It has a very decent sized pool and its location is within a five minute walk from the beach. There is a bus stop at the end of the road also which will basically take you anywhere in sunny beach and beyond for 40p. The only thing I feel they could improve is the breakfast. It's not really geared up for English people as there is a lot of salad, cold meat and cheeses. However you will find something you like as there is a wide selection. Never worth going half board or all inclusive in Bulgaria as its so cheap to eat out.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

can only echo my thoughts from last year, exceptionally well maintained hotel by the hard working staff.

Is kept very clean, clean towels daily, sheets changed every couple of days, bar staff very friendly and helpful with regards to information and places to visit.

If you want a good place to stay I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forres, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Spent 2 weeks at Ivana Palace(end of June,start of July) and found it to be 'just what we hoped for' Reception staff,pleasant. Porters(required when getting money from safe room) pleasant and polite, Bar staff brill,friendly and good fun.Darina and Dido were great and took time to chat with us all.Breakfast is adequate with enough choice so you wont go hungry.Eat out if you want a full English! We never went to pool area until afternoon but always found spare sunbeds around the good sized pool.Our rooms were at back of hotel therefore in the shade all the time(fine for an old Scotsman!) We only had air con on 3 times but it seemed to work well.Rooms a good size and fridge in room was a bonus.Easy walk to a great beach and not too far from the centre of Sunny Beach.I will finish by saying,we are returning next year,YIPPEE!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
LION Hotel Sunny Beach
LION Hotel Sunny Beach
#12 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel L&B
Hotel L&B
#17 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kalofer
Hotel Kalofer
#41 of 219 in Sunny Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bora Bora Hotel
Bora Bora Hotel
#22 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Flamingo
Hotel Flamingo
#60 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivana Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivana Palace Hotel

Property: Ivana Palace Hotel
Address: Sunny Beach Complex | Чайка, 8240 Слънчев бряг, Sunny Beach, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Sunny Beach
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ivana Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ivana Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ivana Palace
Ivana Palace Hotel Bulgaria/Sunny Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing