We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, friendly and 20 seconds from the beach!”
Review of Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 222 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2010

First of all, I would just like anyone reading this to understand that the poor reviews of this hotel are absolutely pathetic and must come from people who have nothing better to do than moan about petty and insignificant things. Now, on with my review.

We pulled up to the hotel at 1am, local time, and were greeted by smiling and friendly staff (yes, even at that hour). We were stood at reception for a maximum of 1minute, and our room key was ready and we were shown to our room.

Being first time solo travellers, my girlfriend and I stuggled to sort out the lights in our room, I even checked the fuse box above the door, then realised we had to put the key in the lit slot for the electricity to work. Epic fail on OUR part, not the hotels.

The room was spacious, with 2 single beds pushed together, which we were expecting anyway, as the Europeans don't understand the concept of double beds. We were provided with 2 towels, bedding, mini fridge, satelitte tv (which was mostly porn at this hour) and a remote for the air conditioning. We were expecting hotel from hell after reading some reviews, but were pleasently surprised. The balcony was great too, excellent view of the strip and beach just overlooking the enticing pool (more on that later).

The location of the hotel could not have been anymore ideal for us, as we were literally a 20second walk away from the beach and maybe 10mins walk to Flower Street (party central really). A number of bars within spitting distance too, all with happy hours on cocktails, usually BOGOF, the most we paid for cocktails was 9lev, which is ridiculously cheap considering the amount of alcohol that was in them! A personal favourite was the black russian, GET TO KNOW!

There were cleaners everyday, and throughout the day too, cleaning all over the hotel, so it's a super clean place. I felt bad walking in from the pool and wetting the floor they'd just cleaned but they laughed and said not to worry.

Now, the food. We were staying half board so we got breakfast and dinner. The breakfast consisted of the same things everyday; chopped frankfurters, all kinds of cooked eggs (including omlette that looked like pancakes), beans (not as good as a good old british baked beans though haha), a selection of fruit and veg, cereal (with warm milk though) orange juice, blackberry juice, water, tea, coffee, bacon, mushrooms. The highlight of the breakfast buffet was the eggy bread though, I couldn't recommend it enough, its delicious!

Dinner consisted of themed nights throughout the week. We had; Italian (spaghetti, pizza, mozarella balls, pasta, bolognese sauce), English (french fries, liver & onions, mush, peas, sweetcorn, beef sausages), Bulgarian (a selection of cold stews, pork burgers, kebabs), Asian (chilli con carne, sweet & sour chicken spaghetti, rice) Meat & garnish too. The food was fine, just what you'd expect to find with half board, always something for someone to eat, you'll not go hungry at this hotel!

The pool, although quite small compared to some other hotels was sufficient. But be warned, it is FREEZING! It's best to just jump in, not going in gradually. I lost a bet on the Man Utd vs Liverpool game and had to dive straight in, it was delightful! Loungers get taken up quickly, but that's to be expected anywhere, so put a towel down at breakfast, but if not, just walk to the beach.

So, overall, a very good hotel. I would definitely consider going back there, the only thing I would change would be the pool, but having the beach so close, who really needs a big pool?! Not a bad thing to say about his hotel, and I hope this persuades more people to go there, instead of being scared off by over critical reviews on here.

Some excellent ideas for days out include; Kahns tent, Action aquapark, nesebar, mini golf, rent a pedalo for 15lev.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TomElsdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (685)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

569 - 575 of 685 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2010

please dont let anyone put u off going to this hotel it was fantastic.if u are to go i would advise u to try the food if you dont like it then go out to eat its cheap enough.the staff are all very friendly if u make the effort to talk to them, the rooms are just the right size for u to sleep in.your not gonna spend time in your room apart from to get ready to go out and have a sleep so they are ok ,the cleaners work very hard every day all day and do a very good job. and if u want a decent meal like steak or just burger and chips and a cheap pint like 33p a pint u must go on the train that is situated outside the hotel get on it till the last stop which takes about 10 mins get off the train and cross the road to the malina the waiters are very nice again if you take the time to talk to them sunny beach itself for me was and is the best holiday iv ever had,and been at the palace made my holiday u must go here if you want to have a good time.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dawnnandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

I stayed for 1 week in the palace with thomas cook. Flight over from gatwick was delayed by 3 hours, causing slight delay and frustration to the beggining of our holiday, however thomas cook did give us £8 in food vouchers.

On arrival you are met by your rep, ours was Carl, and directed to different buses. We were slightly uneasy then as the man who loaded our bags onto the coach was very rude and agressive. The transfer takes around 30 mins, the palace often being the first drop off. On arrival a very nice bell boy collects your bags, and seemed delighlted when we gave him a small tip in euros. The reception staff were freindly enough. We were in room 412, side sea view, overlooking the palace pool. The room was clean, and the cleaners work really hard to keep the small space tidy. The bathroom is the big let down, i was aware it was tiny, but not prepared for the grottiness of it! A few new tiles and toilet seat would make the world of difference. The minbar in the room isnt a bad price, however we didnt use it. there is a supermarket (zora plaza) up the road, towards the marvel hotel.
The food in the hotel is fine, breakfast ok, toast, cerals, continental, slightly dodgy looking cooked breakfast items. There also self serve coffee, ceylon tea and fruit juice.
Evening meal is better, nice variations, bulgarian, english, italian, asian and meat with garnish night. The waiters can be slow. Just a note - you are allowed to take both your breakfast and evening meal outside, but only to the non tableclothed tables under the canopy. There is also a live musician who plays and sings, which is nice if sitting outside. We took lunch once at the hotel, as they give you 15 % off if you do so. It was a nice meal, with a free slice of toast with tomato before the main course, and a free ice cream each afterwards aswell. However the main course meals were the most expensive we paid all week. For lunch, we definalty reccomend the star inn, just walk down the main street, past the vitosha apartments. The staff were freindly. food came quickly and prices were good.

The beach is lovely, and very clean, there is a free zone where you can lie your towels down, and a pay zone for sunbeds.
Drinks in the hotel are quite expensive, the worst overcharge being 2 lev for a teeny jug of milk for a cup of coffee, which was never itemised on the bill, so think the waitress pocketed this.
The weather was good, two mornings of rain, but always cleared up. Getting sunbeds by the pool was not a problem, however the actual pool was freezing!!

Take the number one bus from the number one bus stop, oppiste the sunny day apartments (left from the supermarket by the marvel) to nessebar. definalty worth doing for a lev each each way. However be prepared to be pestered!
Overall a nice holiday, possibly more a three and a half than a four, but i enjoyed bulgaria and from looking around the resort i know the hotel is better than most.

Any questions, please do not hesitate to ask

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aimee91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

Would not go back to this hotel. The hotel was located at a good place as you only need to cross the road to get to the beach.
When we arrived at the hotel we were put into wrong rooms as we had paid for a sea and beach view and instead got a pool view. When we asked reception if we could get moved into our correct rooms that we had paid for they said in a few days, however our rep said there was no chance of this happening - he was right. Rooms were very basic, bathroom was tiny about a metre squared. Although cleaners did keep it clean, but on 1 occasion she walked into the room and removed furniture without giving any explanation, and we never had them returned to the room.
Food was not very good, things werent proper cooked such as eggs, and meat products were still pink inside. Whilst there alot of other guests complained about the food as it was not at agood standard, and alot of people were ill from it including myself. Ive been on a few hols and tht the 1st time ive ever been that ill, and even wasted about 3days of a 2week hol in bed with sickness.
Also, we had arranged before we left that we would be guarenteed to get an extra night in the hotel as we had a child in the group, and due to flights we would have been out of the room at noon, and would have had to wait in the reception area with bags ( as the hotel didnt have a secure place to keep bags as bags were just left in reception area, where there was not some1 there 24/7 ) til 3am the next morning with a child. However when we went to book the extra night when we arrived the hotel staff said to come back a few days later, and when we returned we kept getting told the same thing. This went on til up to 2 days before we were due to leave , and it resulted in us getting told we could not get an extra night as they were booked up, even after speaking to the manager they offered us another 3 hrs in the room but at an extra 60lev, which wasnt woth it. So we spent our second last day having to wander about the resort finding a hotel for the next day, just to have for 12hours.
Also, with a karaoke in the bar which was attached to the hotel it did make it sometimes hard to get to sleep, which wasnt good with a child who would then be grumpy the next day.
Overall, i wouldnt go back to this hotel, was not worth the money, but i would recommend the resort as there was alot to do, and also your travel rep (if you have 1) can set up lots of trips to do such goin on off road adventures, sunset cruise, and many more.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScotlandKez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

I just got back from my holiday and i want to share with you how good it was. The weather is amazing and the hotel is superb. The rooms are clean, the view is breathtaking , the food is apsolutely delicious and the staff are really kind. The prices are very reasonable for a hotel, about £1 for a pint and £ 1.50 for a coctail. The karaoke bar and the lobby bar is open 24hours. I will be defenetly back next year

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank incs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

stayed in palace on 19 july and it was brilliant. the rooms were clean and towels got changed every day,the food was delicious,the staff very polite and the view was beautiful. I will be defenetly back next year.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dn133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

I recently got back from a week at the Palace Hotel with a friend. I had some reservations before going when I saw some of the complaints about this hotel, but on the whole these turned out to be unfounded.
The Room: Rooms were basic but kept very clean, bathrooms tiny (perhaps expected more from a 2* than a 3* but adequate if you don't mind the bathroom floor being flooded every time you shower). Balcony was a decent size, storage was adequate and we had a partial sea view. I had been a little concerned about the reviews concerning noise and whilst it is true that the walls in this hotel are very thin, we experienced no disturbances after out first night. There was certainly no noise from outside the hotel anyway.

The Restaurant: Mixed reviews here - I am a vegetarian and have to admit I struggled a bit after the first few nights (there's only so often you can eat feta cheese and chips) as even most of the salad dishes contained ham. My friend does eat meat though and found everything to taste excellent, so for meat-eaters you shouldn't struggle to find things you like. They have a different culinary night every evening - Italian, English, Bulgarian - so some variety. The staff were extraordinarily slow in taking and delivering drink orders.

The staff: I have to be honest here and say that I have never experienced more miserable staff on any trip i've ever taken. They can speak very little English which led to several problems when we required information from them that was different from the script they reel off when you check in. Very few would smile and the bell-boys in particular would slouch around looking scruffy. The reception girls were particularly bad, only the pool bar men were ready with a smile or a quick chat.
However, myself and my friend (along with people we talked to at the airports) all seemed to be of the general opinion that the Bulgarians do not seem a particuarly welcoming or friendly nation as a whole. It was rare to find a smile from a local there.

The beach: Excellent. We bought a parasol when we arrived and took our own beach towels rather than pay the 7 levs just for a bed every day. The sea was warm, no jellyfish or stones, and there are plenty of watersports around if you like that kind of thing. Also, lots of beachfront bars to cool down in during the day, all offering an all-day happy hour deal of buy-one-get-one-free on cocktails. The weather was phenomenal all week, on our last day reaching 36 degrees, and stayed warm even in the evenings despite what our rep had told us on arrival.

The resort: No shortage of bars, several good clubs, fairground rides and mini-golf all widely available till the early morning. Sunny Beach is definitely purpose-built, but seemed a little confused whether it is establishing itself as a families resort or an 18-30 resort. There's a wide mix of visitors, but we did feel slightly isolated for the first half of our week when the vast majority of people were Russians. Brits- lose your good manners in this situation, or you'll get walked all over.. Literally.

WORD OF WARNING: If you travel with Thomas Cook and stay here, be prepared for your rep Carl. We and other guests staying in his area all found him to be sub-standard in his welcome meetings (very rushed), and the information he provided us with was scarce to say the least, and sometimes incorrect which resulted in us missing a trip that had cost us 80lev, which he then charged us an admin fee on when we demanded a refund. Also, having talked to some other guests, we felt we had all been misled about the Full Throttle off-roading trip - there is no barbecue, it most certainly does not last all day, the beach ifs hardly "undiscovered" and their 'ranch' is in fact a dirt field with some port-a-loos and an archery board. Be warned.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusieAAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
#2 of 222 in Sunny Beach
1,440 reviews
0.4 mi away
Helena Park Hotel
Helena Park Hotel
#4 of 222 in Sunny Beach
563 reviews
1.2 mi away
Laguna Park Hotel
Laguna Park Hotel
#12 of 222 in Sunny Beach
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ivana Palace Hotel
Ivana Palace Hotel
#19 of 222 in Sunny Beach
519 reviews
1.6 mi away
Trakia Garden Hotel
Trakia Garden Hotel
#13 of 222 in Sunny Beach
292 reviews
1.5 mi away
Trakia Hotel
Trakia Hotel
#133 of 222 in Sunny Beach
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Address: Sunny Beach Promenade, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Sunny Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Beach
#21 Best Value Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range: £37 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! Located at the north part of Sunny Beach Resort is hotel Palace. We have more than 130 double rooms and 11 apartments as well as family rooms, which are connected with doors between them. All rooms have cable TV, telephone, air-conditioner, mini-bar and a balcony with nice sea-view. You will be more than welcome at the summer garden right in front of the hotel to enjoy on our special selection of Bulgarian and British meals, 24 hours open Lobby-bar and outdoor swimming pool with cocktail pool-bar Karaoke. For your convenience we also have: two elevators, exchange desk, safety deposits boxes at the reception, message centre, doctor, room service, 24 hour open shop inside, rent-a-car, laundry and dry cleaning, pool-table, free wi-fi /public areas, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Sunny Beach
Palace Hotel Bulgaria/Sunny Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing