We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, not so good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Palazzo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sunny Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Palazzo
Ranked #168 of 221 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good hotel, not so good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Last year myself and 4 other girls arrived at the Palazzo hotel. The hotel was clean and tidy on our first opinion. The reps at the hotel are all Thomson reps and I must admit one of the best reps we have ever had to deal with, they are friendly, helpful and very fun! When we went there we booked onto all the excursions which I would highly recommend this way you know you have something planned every night! This worked out about £200 to do something every night, if you don't want to do this I would recommend you do the Beach Party this was the best day of the entire holiday it's a free bar for about 2 hours with lots of good games and amazing music on the beach. The food in the hotel is very nice and cheap we ate there every day and every night good value for money. The hotel NOT in walking distance to the nightlife but when the reps they had a red 'fun bus' which was a total laugh which took you to the center of all the nightlife. We thought the reps and staff of Palazzo were friendly and helpful. We made friends with lots of the groups of people who also went on holiday there. The rooms are clean and tidy & if you want to not spend a lot of money then go to BULGARIA. It's pretty much 70p for a shot and for a pint, mixers and cocktails work out about £3. Very very cheap holiday for a week I don't think you would need more than £400. If you are looking for a fun party hotel I would definitely recommend this hotel .. if you want piece and quiet I would good Palazzo 2 which is opposite and is quieter. Overall this holiday was one of the best I have been on and I have been on a few girls holidays. Only bad thing i would say is that is isn't close to the night life. Hope this helps!

Room Tip: If you can ask for a room with a pool view. We had a street view and wasn't the nicest of views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank katiegoodfellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    38
    42
    27
    26
See reviews for
19
32
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Average hotel. 5 minute taxi drive from strip which is cheap enough. hotel is basic, nice rooms, wifi at a cheap enough price. food was intolerable. whatever you do you will get fined. went with a group of 15 boistorous lads and we got fined surely around 1000 lev between us by the end of the trip. for making too much noise after a certain time you will hav e a knock on the door from one of the delightful mafia members with your receipt to be paid at reception downstairs, take plenty of money for fines.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Llew93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

This is very cheap but the location offsets this as you are required to get a taxi to the main strip every night which gives you quite an accumulative cost. In all fairness it is walking distance from a nice beach which is not bad. The pool area is also fairly substantial and a good way to spend an afternoon or morning. I would also recommend getting food from the bar as most restaurants around the area are horrible. It is conveniently next to two shops which do very cheap beer and nibbles. I would ignore most of the holiday rep offers provided on the first day as they are really not as fun as advertised. Customer service in Bulgaria is not highly regarded by anyone, but the service here was probably better than the Bulgarian average, which isn't saying much.

The rooms are terrible. We booked a room for 4 which had 2 single beds and a very uncomfortable couch-like thing which only fitted one of us. Each of us had to take turns of spending a night on the floor because the sofa-bed was far too small. The "air conditioning" did not work either.

It was a good holiday which was done very cheaply, but you may be better looking for a hotel on the strip.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Xman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guisborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed at the Palazzo in the middle of September for a fortnight. The Palazzo is geared for the 18 - 20 year olds and therefore very basic. Its clean enough with two decent sized pools.
We however found:
* Double beds are two singles put together.
* Bedding and pillowcases are clean but holey and frayed.
* Sinks have plugs that don't fit.
* Cuttlery consists of two knives and forks (even though there were three of us)!
* The sofa bed was too uncomfortable to sleep on!
* The sunbeds were full of flies due to not being cleaned!
* No beach towels are provided and sunbeds don't have covers on.
* The safety deposit box was stupidly expensive and we kept all money and passports with us!
These things probably wouldn't matter to 18 year olds, and the hotel is liveable for a fortnight, but if I was going to Sunny Beach again I would choose a nicer place to stay.

The hotel is a ten minute bus ride to the centre of Sunny Beach and costs 1 Lev (50p). We preferred quieter Nessabar, which is a town that's full of bars and shops and is 15 mins away on the bus (again 1 Lev). Both are walkable in 30 mins. Don't pay more than 10 Lev £5 for a taxi to either!

We found bars with beer for 50p and shorts are cheap too! Every toilet in Sunny Beach charges 1 Lev and most don't even have toilet paper or shut properly!! Sunny Beach is like Blackpool with loads of bars with entertainment on, places to eat, a funfare and shops! The place was starting to close down for the season as we left (20 Sept).

We loved the beach (5 mins walk away). Its the best beach we've seen for ages and great to swim in the sea. The sunbeds however are 8 Lev £4 a day with a further 8 Lev for a parasol! As there were three of us, we brought cheap lilos and sunbathed on them.

To sum it up, I would go back to Bulgaria tomorrow, but stay in a nicer hotel nearer the centre. We enquired about an extra room as the hotel was only 20% full. We were told it charged £60 per night which was more than the cost of the holiday and flights put together!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sunny Beach hotels

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

staff were very rude and took pleasure in telling u about additional costs eg 10 lev per hour to hold onto room for last day that was the only time they smiled .On our arrival the receptionist was fairly tippsy all the nite staff seemed to be sitting at the bar and the music was so load you had to raise ur voice when checking in at (1.30) in morning. We had to ask to have room cleaned, the rooms are lovely and spacious and the hotel decor is beautiful , but the staff not id never stay there again

Room Tip: rooms on the south are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
Helpful?
4 Thank Jacky625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

I stayed here with 3 other girls from the 29th July until the 13th of August 2013. Was such a good holiday for young people.
On arrival we checked in, paid the 200 lev deposit for the room which you get back at the end of your stay as long as theres no damage to the room. Also handed a form to fill out and hand in the next morning with any damages to the room therefore you don't get charged. Passports were taken off us on arrival but had no problem getting them back the very next day. Palazzo 1 pool we found was a lot easier to get a sunlounger at as well and was the quieter side. We ended up with a room on this side and were kind of glad. Check out was fine as well we got our 200 lev back and we had a glass missing as it had broke the night previous. Only downside was check out was at 12 and out transfer to the airport wasn't until midnight. There is a locked room to keep cases in when we went out through the day and when we got back at about 9pm we just took our cases and sat beside the pool.

The hotel itself is very good for a twentys/18-30's type hotel. It's clean and has everything you need. Towels were replaced every second day for us sometimes everyday same with the bed sheets, however if you are still in your room when the maids come round they wont replace anything apart from toilet rolls. 24hr bar is handy also, and they usually have deals on for certain days of the week i.e. Tuesday was 3 sex on the beach for 10 lev which works out 5 pounds. Only down side to the hotel is the distance from the main strip, however you can either get a bus for 1 lev or a taxi for 15 to 20 lev. Worth going to the welcome meeting and buying the package as you save a lot of money. The reception staff weren't to helpful and spoke broken English sometimes making it quite hard to communicate with them. There is fines for behaviours around the pool however I never saw one person being fined. One tip would be don't get on the wrong side of the security as they are massive and take no nonsence as we discovered, apart from that they are fine.

Wifi is available at a charge, its worth getting the 24hrs wifi for 20 lev as when you sign out it means it isn't being used and you can sign back in so don't loose the piece of paper your given with password etc on it!!

Nightlife was good as there is a wide variety of places to go. You'll find a lot of the time walking up the strip you'll be stopped every 2 minutes with club/bar promoters trying to get you into their place, we just found out what deals were on offer and went with the best. Would recommend doing the bar crawls as well as they also give you a good idea on the places to go.

Taxis- when getting taxis watch and make sure you are getting them from taxi ranks as there are a lot going about that aren't legit, people we met at the hotel and became friendly with for the rest of the hotel told us they were on the way home one night and were offered cocaine and ectasy, so just bare this in mind. There was another occasion where one of our drivers was smoking a joint while driving, however overall they are fine! don't let them charge you more than 20 lev for a taxi to the strip or home however when your desperate and drunk you'll pay anything.

The locals are alright although we were on a night out and a friend we had met on holiday decided he would do the toilet up a quiet ally to then be confronted by 5 huge bouncers demanding 50 lev off him to which he never had. They took it down to 20 as he had no money on him but one of us paid and the bouncers left him alone.

Hope you found this useful!!

Room Tip: Get a room on palazzo 1 and as for floor 1 and up as ground floor rooms don't have balconies. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kirsty w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stayed at the Palazzo between 22nd-29th of July as a group of 8 lads, as we checked in we knew we had to pay 200 lev per room which was not a problem, we got a sheet at the reception asking us if there was any damages to note them down so we were not charged for them. The next day we handed the sheet back and got our passports back no bother. Rooms were clean, only got fresh towels twice during the week but I'm not one for complaining. Never bothered with the welcome meeting as we knew it was just going to be a sales pitch. The 24 hour bar is perfect if you want to come back from a night out around 5 or 6 in the morning and fancy having a few before your bed.

At the Palazzo you're a fair bit away from the main strip but get a taxi from the hotel for 15 lev, the guy with the glasses in an animal on the road. Nightlife is excellent, I would definitely recommend the party crew bar crawl, can't remember how much we paid but it was an excellent first night. Drinks are extremely cheap, you could get 2 double vodkas for 7 lev from the Irish bar across from Iceberg which is around £3, you'd struggle to find a single vodka for that price in the UK these days.

The locals are extremely nice and always up for a laugh and a photo, although we did run into some bother with a couple of big bouncers but that's because a friend broke their daft punching machine, gave the guy 50 lev not to kick our head in and he was sound with that. Beware of the fruit sellers though, my friend took one off a guy and we both got the whole contents of our wallets stolen.

At checkout we got our full deposit back even though we had broken a few glasses and plates, the reception staff were fine with us paying the fine for breaking them instead of taking the full 200 lev from us. Checkout was 12 in the afternoon and as we had a 4am flight this was a nightmare, we left our cases in a locked room and went into the centre for a few drinks, came back around 9pm and paid 20 lev for 2 hours so we could have a shower and have a little nap.

Only seen two people get fined, one on arrival as a boy had been sick all over himself and a girl for jumping in the pool as we were getting on our coach to leave.

All in all, great holiday, we'll be returning to Sunny Beach next year but probably a different hotel closer to the strip.

Room Tip: Give the bar staff a 2 or 3 lev tip and they'll be your best mate the whole holiday!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theboldcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Fenix Hotel
Fenix Hotel
#116 of 221 in Sunny Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Jupiter
Hotel Jupiter
#65 of 221 in Sunny Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
2.5 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 221 in Sunny Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ivana Palace Hotel
Ivana Palace Hotel
#25 of 221 in Sunny Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel L&B
Hotel L&B
#17 of 221 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
2.8 mi away
Poseidon Apartments
Poseidon Apartments
#17 of 150 in Sunny Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo

Property: Hotel Palazzo
Address: Sunny Beach, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 221 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 92
Also Known As:
Palazzo Hotel Sunny Beach
Hotel Palazzo Bulgaria/Sunny Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing