We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls holiday”
Review of Hotel Palazzo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sunny Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Palazzo
Ranked #172 of 220 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Girls holiday”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Me and two of my friends recently went on a package holiday with Thomson to the Hotel Palazzo. As it wasn't in the height of season the hotel and resort were relatively quiet, however in our opinion there was a nice amount of people about.
The hotel in itself is beautiful and is definitely a good deal considering the price of it. The room was cleaned everyday and the public areas like the pool and bar were always spotless. We had problems with our sofa bed which was missing springs to hold it in place and had the thinnest mattress so was near impossible to fall asleep on. As there was only 3 of us we all shared the two twin beds, as this didn't particularly bother us we didn't push the hotel to sort it out and although we reported it nothing was done. After talking to other people around the hotel I think it's safe to say that this problem must of just been in our room though as everyone else seemed to find it alright.
We chose to go self catering but did eat at the hotel a few times. We met a few groups who were half board and said that they never made breakfast as it was 8-10. The pizzas and pasta were really tasty but we weren't overly impressed with the burgers. There aren't many restaurants around the hotel, we tried one called 'Siena' and really did not like it, however by the strip there are loads of nice looking ones. We went to an Indian called 'Bombay Grill' at the bottom of the strip which was absolutely delicious, we also tried one called 'Djannys' that was recommended by a local, which had the widest choice of food we'd ever seen and was so good!
As we were with Thomsons we had the option to pay for 2wentys events through the week, we paid for everything other than the boats. After paying we realised what waste of money this was, we paid about 150 lev and pretty much did bar crawls around the same bars every night. There are a lot cheaper ones you can pay for on the strip, or you can please yourself and walk around the bars. We realised on the 2nd last night that groups of girls can pretty much drink for free every night if they go to the right places. A bar called 'Oxygen' for example does a free bar for girls 10-12 every night. By the end of the week ourselves and people we had met decided not to go on any more of the events and ended up having a really good night going it alone.
Overall I would definitely recommend the Hotel Palazzo, we had our problems with the hotel but for the price it is you're getting your money worth and more. If you go expecting 5* service you will be let down, just take it for what it is and if you're up for having fun and meeting a lot of people of a similar age it's worth going to!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kts111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    40
    47
    29
    32
See reviews for
22
38
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

just got back from 7 days at this place, 3 mid 20's lads, very very average/ below average services on everything really. Thompson rep sophie useless as well. They will try fine you on anything and everything, wouldn't recommend eating here either. The receptionists behind the desk speak very little/ poor English and nothing seemed to be working properly for the whole week. On arriving to the palazzo and eagerly entering our room for the next 7 nights we were greeted with no avliable wifi, broken tv cigarette buts on the main bedroom floor as well as sand in one of the beds. A few dead flys floating round the room as well. Dont think the cleaners actually changed anything the whole week however they did give us clean towels but only as we asked. We expected basic as we only paid £200 for a week on the beer but by far the worst hotel ive stopped in and wouldnt fancy it again, please be aware as they will try put a fine on literally anything....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank s87h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sunny Beach hotels

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Last year myself and 4 other girls arrived at the Palazzo hotel. The hotel was clean and tidy on our first opinion. The reps at the hotel are all Thomson reps and I must admit one of the best reps we have ever had to deal with, they are friendly, helpful and very fun! When we went there we booked onto all the excursions which I would highly recommend this way you know you have something planned every night! This worked out about £200 to do something every night, if you don't want to do this I would recommend you do the Beach Party this was the best day of the entire holiday it's a free bar for about 2 hours with lots of good games and amazing music on the beach. The food in the hotel is very nice and cheap we ate there every day and every night good value for money. The hotel NOT in walking distance to the nightlife but when the reps they had a red 'fun bus' which was a total laugh which took you to the center of all the nightlife. We thought the reps and staff of Palazzo were friendly and helpful. We made friends with lots of the groups of people who also went on holiday there. The rooms are clean and tidy & if you want to not spend a lot of money then go to BULGARIA. It's pretty much 70p for a shot and for a pint, mixers and cocktails work out about £3. Very very cheap holiday for a week I don't think you would need more than £400. If you are looking for a fun party hotel I would definitely recommend this hotel .. if you want piece and quiet I would good Palazzo 2 which is opposite and is quieter. Overall this holiday was one of the best I have been on and I have been on a few girls holidays. Only bad thing i would say is that is isn't close to the night life. Hope this helps!

Room Tip: If you can ask for a room with a pool view. We had a street view and wasn't the nicest of views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank katiegoodfellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Average hotel. 5 minute taxi drive from strip which is cheap enough. hotel is basic, nice rooms, wifi at a cheap enough price. food was intolerable. whatever you do you will get fined. went with a group of 15 boistorous lads and we got fined surely around 1000 lev between us by the end of the trip. for making too much noise after a certain time you will hav e a knock on the door from one of the delightful mafia members with your receipt to be paid at reception downstairs, take plenty of money for fines.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Llew93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This is very cheap but the location offsets this as you are required to get a taxi to the main strip every night which gives you quite an accumulative cost. In all fairness it is walking distance from a nice beach which is not bad. The pool area is also fairly substantial and a good way to spend an afternoon or morning. I would also recommend getting food from the bar as most restaurants around the area are horrible. It is conveniently next to two shops which do very cheap beer and nibbles. I would ignore most of the holiday rep offers provided on the first day as they are really not as fun as advertised. Customer service in Bulgaria is not highly regarded by anyone, but the service here was probably better than the Bulgarian average, which isn't saying much.

The rooms are terrible. We booked a room for 4 which had 2 single beds and a very uncomfortable couch-like thing which only fitted one of us. Each of us had to take turns of spending a night on the floor because the sofa-bed was far too small. The "air conditioning" did not work either.

It was a good holiday which was done very cheaply, but you may be better looking for a hotel on the strip.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Xman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guisborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed at the Palazzo in the middle of September for a fortnight. The Palazzo is geared for the 18 - 20 year olds and therefore very basic. Its clean enough with two decent sized pools.
We however found:
* Double beds are two singles put together.
* Bedding and pillowcases are clean but holey and frayed.
* Sinks have plugs that don't fit.
* Cuttlery consists of two knives and forks (even though there were three of us)!
* The sofa bed was too uncomfortable to sleep on!
* The sunbeds were full of flies due to not being cleaned!
* No beach towels are provided and sunbeds don't have covers on.
* The safety deposit box was stupidly expensive and we kept all money and passports with us!
These things probably wouldn't matter to 18 year olds, and the hotel is liveable for a fortnight, but if I was going to Sunny Beach again I would choose a nicer place to stay.

The hotel is a ten minute bus ride to the centre of Sunny Beach and costs 1 Lev (50p). We preferred quieter Nessabar, which is a town that's full of bars and shops and is 15 mins away on the bus (again 1 Lev). Both are walkable in 30 mins. Don't pay more than 10 Lev £5 for a taxi to either!

We found bars with beer for 50p and shorts are cheap too! Every toilet in Sunny Beach charges 1 Lev and most don't even have toilet paper or shut properly!! Sunny Beach is like Blackpool with loads of bars with entertainment on, places to eat, a funfare and shops! The place was starting to close down for the season as we left (20 Sept).

We loved the beach (5 mins walk away). Its the best beach we've seen for ages and great to swim in the sea. The sunbeds however are 8 Lev £4 a day with a further 8 Lev for a parasol! As there were three of us, we brought cheap lilos and sunbathed on them.

To sum it up, I would go back to Bulgaria tomorrow, but stay in a nicer hotel nearer the centre. We enquired about an extra room as the hotel was only 20% full. We were told it charged £60 per night which was more than the cost of the holiday and flights put together!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

staff were very rude and took pleasure in telling u about additional costs eg 10 lev per hour to hold onto room for last day that was the only time they smiled .On our arrival the receptionist was fairly tippsy all the nite staff seemed to be sitting at the bar and the music was so load you had to raise ur voice when checking in at (1.30) in morning. We had to ask to have room cleaned, the rooms are lovely and spacious and the hotel decor is beautiful , but the staff not id never stay there again

Room Tip: rooms on the south are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
Helpful?
4 Thank Jacky625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Jupiter
Hotel Jupiter
#113 of 220 in Sunny Beach
122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rose Village Apartments
Rose Village Apartments
#27 of 220 in Sunny Beach
131 reviews
2.5 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#7 of 220 in Sunny Beach
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fenix Hotel
Fenix Hotel
#143 of 220 in Sunny Beach
562 reviews
2.4 mi away
Apart Hotel Favorit
Apart Hotel Favorit
#81 of 162 in Sunny Beach
9 reviews
2.8 mi away
Poseidon Apartments
Poseidon Apartments
#16 of 162 in Sunny Beach
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo

Property: Hotel Palazzo
Address: Sunny Beach, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 220 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 92
Also Known As:
Palazzo Hotel Sunny Beach
Hotel Palazzo Bulgaria/Sunny Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing