We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ENGLISH BEWARE PLEASE READ FOR HONEST REVIEW”
Review of Hotel Avalon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Avalon
Ranked #13 of 58 Sunny Beach B&B and Inns
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“ENGLISH BEWARE PLEASE READ FOR HONEST REVIEW”
Reviewed 28 July 2010

stayed at the avalon hotel sunny beach from the 19th of july to the 27th of july 2010 we arrived at our hotel at 4 am and were shown to our rooms after a 45 minute wait the room was clean and the maid was great thats where the hospitaility stopped.the hotel had a swimming pool which you were unable to use as it was filled with germans and russians who dominated the pool and were there from 6am they were also very rude and arrogant and a few threatened my wife

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tweetiepie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    14
    7
    8
    3
See reviews for
16
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2010

This must be loudest hotel I have ever been in,24 hours pool bar where they have both television and music(?) on all day and all night.When I complainedthey did not seem to understand me.Will NOT be back.

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank faitherdiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sunny Beach hotels

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2009

We stayed at Hotel Avalon for 10 days 7th to 18th August 09. We arrived into the hotel at 5 in the morning and were shown to our room. We were pleasantly surprised to find that the room was very spacious and included a fridge and a cooker and saucepans plates etc ( even though we had not paid for the self catering option ). Our room was on the top floor (6) and looked out to the back of the hotel.

We had a very nice balcony with a table chairs and clothes dryer and while the view was nothing spectacular it was Ok, the plus side was that as it was at the back of the hotel and so was away from the noise of the pool and bar. I would definitely expect that the room round the bar would be very noisy as they did tend to play dance/trance music very loudly at nighttime.

Our room was very clean the bed linen smelled lovely and fresh as did the towels which were changed on a regular basis, and the carpet (in the room not the bathroom) was hovered a few times during our stay.

The staff were very friendly and all the reception staff spoke excellent english and very very helpful and friendly Reila and Gino in particular were great and were happy to give information/ advice when requested and always seemed very smiley and friendly.

The hotel pool was excellent and was situated really well at the front of the hotel beside the bar and it got sun all day right through to about 6- 6.30 in the evening. Sun loungers were plentiful (tho most of them didn't have cushions and the hotel really ought to invest in some more cushions). There was a little tiny heated pool for kids and the larger main pool which was a decent size.

We went bed and breakfast and only bothered going down for breakfast once as it was terrible. There was an ancient toaster that u need to put the toast through forever, to actually toast the bread , there were scrambled eggs which were stone cold and some cold meats and cheese. All in all the breakfast was rubbish and so not worth paying for or getting up for.

We ate at at the hotel restaurant 2 or 3 times and it was nothing much the food was so so and was a bit more expensive than in the rest of the resort and were it not for the fact that we couldn't be bothered going out into the resort we wouldnt have eaten there more than once.

The bar was 24 hours though it definitely didn't need to be, as it seemed that in the later hours it was mainly the local Bulgarians and the bar tenders mates who seemed to drink there.
The drinks were quite a bit more expensive than in the resort and were 4.50 lev (which is about £2 ) for a pint of local beer, This is very expensive as you can easily get a pint for anything from 1 to 2 lev about 50p to £1 out in the resort.
The 2 best local beers are kamenitza which was excellent and zagorka which was also good and these are widely served throughout sunny beach. The more western vodkas like absolut or smirnoff are v expensive about £4 and things like magners etc about £5, however i drank ( a lot) of the local vodka (mainly savoy) and it was excellent and very drinkable. i have quite a sensitive stomach so am quite fussy with cheaper vodka but i had no problems at all withe the Bulgarian stuff.

Have to say on the plus side for Hotel Avalons bar it does great cocktails and generally these are on BOGOF the strawberry daiquiris are too die for - easily the best in the whole of sunny beach and were just under £5 (for 2 when on BOGOF) so this was a definite plus for me.

The hotel guests had very few other english guests and seemed to be mostly russian and dutch/german. The hotel is right on a very busy main road which seems be perpetually busy and can be difficult to get across, however if you go across the road u will come down the side of hotel meridian and this leads into the resort and to the beach. This is only part of the much larger resort, but it does have loads of hotels and bars/restaurants (and more strip joints than I have ever seen outside of Amsterdam) and is very lively. restaurant Mexico is excellent and the food is too die for. We actually preferred thsi part of the resort to the larger main bit as it was just to busy and here was still very lvely and loads of choice just not so bunged with people.

The main part of the resort was about 20 minutes walk from Avalon and was absolutely packed with a million bars and restaurants and tat shops. It was v lively and busy. This area was generally a little more expensive for food and drink that the other area closer to Avalon.

Would absolutely recommend going down to visit Nessebar which was a 20 minute bus ride you can get the bus from outside the hotel and it cost 1 lev - 50p each there. This was a lovely wee place and is set on a causeway and it the traditional old port and has some lovely restaurant right on the sea which are lovely at night time.

We went to a night at khans tent and got picked up about 7.30 in the evening and taken just outside sunny beach. Dinner was served and this was traditional bulgarian food and v nice and u get a bottle og white wine and a fanta orange per person. The wine was awful but u can buy other drinks. Dinner was good and a band played throughout, then there was a show which consisted of dancers an amazing contortionist, a trapeze artist and plate spinner the show was very very good and we enjoyed it immensely. The band then played afterwards in a disco and we picked up again at 11.30. it was a great nice and i would highly recomment this - it cost 59 lev person ( just under £30) but definitely worth it.


All in all having not been sure what to expect from Bulgaria I was pleasantly surprised it was a friendly place and generally the locals seemed a nice bunch and were welcoming to tourists. we felt safe in the resort and liked it and I would recommend Avalon as it was clean pleasant and comfortable with good staff and a great pool, and i have no hesitation in recommending it as a good base. It was close enough to the resort to be easily acessible but not so close that u were disturbed by the noise from it.

Exchange rates are about 1.85 to 2.26 lev to the £ and varies depending on where u get them changed just make sure that u ask how much for example £100 is worth as lots of places advertise the to sell rate as £2.35 and dont mention the to buy rate which is what u get as 1.85, which is a rubbish rate.
We got about £500 changed over here in England and got a good rate about 2.21 here and we also took some money out there and got a decent exchange rate from our bank, the lev is tied to the euro rate as they are apparently trying to get into the euro zone.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bhlinneDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Having read plenty of bad reviews of other hotels in Sunny Beach, we decided to stay at a brand new one where no-one else could colour our views! Our room was very large with fridge and kitchenette as well as a large balcony giving views both over the pool with the sea just visisble beyond and towards the mountains at the back. Having booked half board, meals were taken in the adjacent hotel restaurant with a buffet breakfast which featured a good selection of continental and English options. At dinner, the main course was chosen from the menu (pasta, pizza and meat dishes) with a different salad to start each day and a different sweet. We found the arrangements and the quality more than adequate and excellent value bearing in mind the rate we paid.

The pool, bars and public areas are well up to the standard you would expect from a 4 star hotel but the standout feature was the staff - they were charming and nothing was too much trouble for them.

Its location is close enough to local bars, restaurants and nightlife for them to be easily accessible (5 mins walk) without their noise being a problem while the raucous resort centre is two stops away on the local bus (or a 20 minute walk.) Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone and I look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denmarcjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Aronia Beach
Aronia Beach
#63 of 220 in Sunny Beach
40 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grenada Hotel
Grenada Hotel
#174 of 220 in Sunny Beach
71 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trakia Garden Hotel
Trakia Garden Hotel
#13 of 220 in Sunny Beach
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
MPM Hotel Tarsis
MPM Hotel Tarsis
#175 of 220 in Sunny Beach
53 reviews
0.9 mi away
Yavor Palace
Yavor Palace
#145 of 220 in Sunny Beach
214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Family Hotel Romantic
Family Hotel Romantic
#37 of 220 in Sunny Beach
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avalon

Property: Hotel Avalon
Address: Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Sunny Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Avalon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Avalon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Avalon Bulgaria/Sunny Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing