We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would go again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MPM Hotel Royal Central
Ranked #106 of 220 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“I would go again!”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Royal Central Hotel visited from August 13th til August 24th.

Like everyone on here who had read a review on this hotel prior to departing the country, I was dreading the state of Royal Central.

However, I have to say I disagree with many of the aspects touched upon here. The hotel advertises as a three-star, so as a group we certainly were not expecting the works. On arrival the reception staff were very polite to greet us and a gentleman helped us upstairs with our bags to our designated rooms. I shall break this review down into hotel features, as the quality and reaction from the staff differed as the nights and the various aspects of the hotel were visited.

The Rooms…
My first impression of the bedroom (room 109) was that they provided a lot more space than I originally anticipated. The beds for a double room were two singles pushed together which wasn’t really an issue as it provided enough space and the small gap in the middle was hardly noticeable. The bathroom was good also, a wet room with shower, sink, and toilet. The shower curtain wasn’t the best as the rail did look like it wasn’t as stable as desired. Nevertheless, toilet rolls were replenished daily as were the bed sheets. Your towels have to be left on the bathroom floor in order to be exchanged for clean ones. We made the mistake of drying ours on the balcony for a few days until we realised.
The balcony was spacious with a small table and two chairs and an airer for clothes used at the pool or beach. The view wasn’t bad either. We were located at the back of the hotel, making our balcony opposite the Hotel Kalina (from memory.)
The air conditioning managed to keep us cool on evenings also.
Noise wise in these bedrooms, I didn’t have a disturbed night’s sleep. The music from the hotel bar was non-existent once we entered our rooms.
My main issue with the rooms was the state of the plugs, they were loose from the wall and so you had to be very careful when removing items from the sockets.

Breakfast…
This was disappointing, but expected. I aren’t sure whether it served only Bulgarian cuisine for breakfast or the selection was simply a stab in the dark. As other people have noticed, the scrambled egg is horrendous, as it resembles egg foo-yung yet tastes bland and remains solid. The selection of meats was interesting, with the likes of mini hot dogs, salami, and, pepperoni, which did hold a lot of taste – I just didn’t fancy a cold meat platter for breakfast. The fruit and salad looked okay. The pastry type item that has also been mentioned was tasty, but again not my type of breakfast. Toast and cereal were also provided; with the toast machine not being the hottest and therefore you have to pass the bread through it a few times. Jam, butter, and the usual staple foods were provided. As was juice, coffee and so on.
I would say if it is paid for, the breakfast is worth a go. Even if you end up going down just for a coffee on a morning. The breakfast is served between 8am and 10am.

The Pool…
Whilst we were in Thompson’s booking our holiday and we heard the words ‘pool on the roof’, we were not expecting anything lavish. Yet on day one, we took the lift up to the fourth floor and stepped onto the pool roof. It is very basic, but the pool is large enough for a swim at least and the well needed dip for those afternoon sweats in the thirty-degree heat. There is no lifeguard present ever, so the pool isn’t the best for young children. The roof area gets the sun all day until the pool is closed at 7pm, which is perfect for the relaxing holiday we wanted.
We ventured to Hotel Kuban on a couple of occasions, one out of curiosity (where we did use the slides which I would highly recommend), and second time because our pool had no free loungers.

The Hotel Bar…
This is where we experienced a few problems. Not severe complaining issues, but small matters that were out of plain ignorance. Cocktail happy hour is every evening. Therefore, we used the bar as a meeting place for our party and had a cocktail before venturing out for the night. The price for 2 was 8.90 Lev, which is a very good price, not to mention the amount of alcohol that actually goes into them. Yet when paying, the staff seemed to be very reluctant to hand over change. For example, we would pay with a 10 lev note, yet we would get no change, the staff simply put the note behind the bar and walked off to serve someone else or chat to a member of staff. At first this wasn’t addressed, as it was 1 lev change which equates to about 40pence. Yet if this happens 8 nights, that is practically a round of drinks. So my brother addressed the issue in a joking manor and ever since then, we received our 1.10 lev change.
The staff were also wonderful at making up prices for drinks. 2 Bacardi breezers ’20 lev,’ to which the issue was addressed and the price marked down. This also happened again with pints of beer. 2.50 lev in the menu, yet the man serving us decided that they were 5 lev, until we found a menu to prove him otherwise.
This was the only real issue I had with the hotel, the total ignorance of the bar staff when it is perhaps the most sociable job in the entire hotel. It seems like something bizarre for us to do, but if you visit here, please ask for your change.
And as the review before me has mentioned, there is a dancing lady on a podium. This wasn’t just our hotel however, they were everywhere. Even in the two bars at Hotel Kuban which appeared to be so full of children during the day.

The location of the hotel…
The hotel is not for families with young children. Although, this seems to be a trend running through the entirety of sunny beach, with the surrounding consisting of sex shops, cheap alcohol, fake merchandise, a lot of restaurant workers who are desperate to get you inside. Our party consisted of a 19 year old, a 21 year old, and two 28 year olds. I would definitely go to Sunny Beach again and I would stay at the Hotel Royal Central again. The noise at this hotel is limited because it is just set a-back from the pandemonium of the main strip.
There is a sex shop next door which appears to literally be open all hours, with doors open so ‘all’ eyes can see inside, a supermarket 2 shops down, a pharmacy – which was very well priced and the advice inside was superb, a stationers, an excursion shop, a sex show bar, and then it developed into the clothing shops and bars.

For what it advertised it is a very good hotel which provides the basics you need when travelling on a bed and breakfast basis.
4 stars out of 5, I would have recommended it to everyone if it wasn’t for the bar staff.

Room Tip: There are clubs located at the front of the hotel, so I would suggest trying to locate a room at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    16
    9
    11
    10
See reviews for
16
24
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Where to start, Landed in Bourgas only having to wait 1hr for every body to get on transfer bus including driver that seemed be more laid back and slacker than an holiday maker considering he was actually supposed to be working, this led to what could only be described as what was probably the most dangerous transfer to an hotel in all my life as he thought it was clever to over take every (yes every) driver on the road (people on the mini bus were actually fearing for their lives, and repeating requested he slowed down, but to our disbelief found that he didnt speak a word of english and obviously must of thought we meant faster) so far so good!!!!!!!!!!!! After eventually making it to the hotel in One Piece we were welcomed or met even by a supposed to be night porter that Watched me carry my bags to the room yes you read right. It was about 10.30pm at this point and i popped downstairs to Hire the safe in my room for the duration at 5Lev per day, this seemed reasonable and having brought spend money with us seemeed a practical decission, we popped across to a local resurant for a meal and a few drinks, was thinking everything isn't that bad and will get better, then the turning point of the holiday happened, we tried to get into the safe in the morning but no joy, so had to get master key from desk downstairs to gain entry only to find our money was down 500Lev not knowing who to blame i went to see the desk downstairs to find out what had happened!!!!! ? Nobody spoke very good English and what was a to report money gone missing soon turned into a member of hotel staff trying to explain how the safe works and asking iof i want showing, i couldn't believe it. I never met the rep ontil the last day when she just happened to be in the reception obvioulsy for some other reason other than my, i simply asked what time our dreaded transfer bus would be picking us up to take us to the airport only to be told it's nothing to do with them in a really offensive tone and i would have to speak to the people directly and had to get the reception to call them as they speak bulgarian only, and pay for the call after that Fantastic, We did go B& B but after the first morning never again, im a pretty adventerous eater but even i draw the line at their rendition of breakfast (i'm talking i'm a celebrity get me out of here) rooms werent very well cleaned and pool on roof top was filthy with things floating in it. As mentioned i didnt expect much and booked only for loaction but did expect cleanleness and not to be robbed blind, to top things off we met some nice folks staying at the hotel only to be told we had actually payed doulble what they had payed to stay in a worse room than theirs (fantastic hey???) as mention good location bad hotel.....

Room Tip: Dont book internet unless you know exactly where your going!!! Tour Operators do tend to be that lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roscoe1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sunny Beach hotels

Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We bought this as a last minute break and for 3star wasn't really expecting much. On arrival reception seemed OK the receptionist polite and helpful. We were given our room on the 4th floor, 44A on entering a tad shocked the room was large enough, L shaped and the children's bed was a sofa bed that had seen better days and smelt a bit fusty. Our bed was round the corner and 2 large singles pushed together. The linen and towels were spoltless if a bit passed their best and the bathroom also clean. Fully tiled with a shower, wet room style. We booked b and b the food wasn't great a selection of fruit, cereal, a couple of cold meats and some hot food. The coffee was good as was some dumpling like pastry. We gave up and ate breakfast out in the end. Full English can be found across the road at Condor for 6leve £2.40. We ate dinner here too on a couple of occasions food and staff were lovely. The hotels only bar has very loud music that you can hear in the rooms, we bought ear plugs so the children could sleep. It's also not great for families as they have podium dancers every night. Bit difficult to explain to a 6yr old why a lady in high heels and a swimsuit is dancing on the table!! We spent most of our days at the Cuban, a great family hotel with kids club and pools/ mini aqua park. You pay 5leve for beds, 10 leve for slides and 14 for both. Well worth it and just a 5 min walk from the RC. Sunny Beach seems to be catering for the young drinkers, alcohol unbelievable cheap, lots of clubs, happy hours most of the day, some all day and lots and lots of sex shops and erotic bars. Finally the hotel pool, is more of a plunge pool, not big enough to swim in and certainly not safe for children. It's on the roof and you have to climb steps to get in to it and obviously no ball games as it would end up on the road!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N1NKN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Having read the reviews on Trip Advisor of this hotel before going to Bulgaria I was concerned that we were going to have a ten night stay in some hell hole... Thankfully I was wrong!

Upon arriving we found the hotel staff to be friendly (although a little limited with their English), with working safes, hot water and clean towels.

While the pool may be small and the food a little hit and miss, the central location (5 minutes from the main strip, Flower Street) makes up for it.

The reviews of the hotel paint an overly negative image. If you have ever been to any three star hotel in Greece, this is easily twice as nice with working lifts, satellite TV and aircon.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmoothGuesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

we had a good idea what to expect by the price we payed for the holiday and some of the reviews on here, we only stayed b&b so cant comment too much on the food only to say the breakfast was awful and i gave up after a few mornings as you can get a decent english breakfast all over the resort pretty cheaply, having said that the non english residents were knocking it back like there was no tomorrow. The reception staff were very friendly and helpfull but the maids were bone idle only making the bed, no hoovering was done during our stay neither was the sink cleaned, we left our towels on the bathroom floor every other day and they were replaced with clean ones, the pool as stated in other reviews is just ok for cooling off not swimming but was not cleaned at all in the 2 weeks we were there and the sun loungers were the most uncomfortable i have experiencced. The resort itself is a meeting of the old and new with the 18-30 crowd having plenty of places to go, but for us [early 50's] there was'nt a great deal of entertainment although the local lager was cheap enough[45-80 pence a pint depending on were you go] and the food in the bars and restaurants is pretty good and reasonably priced even if the entertainment is a guy on an organ singing old engleburt humperdink songs, if you are thinking of going to sunny beach i would go in the next two years as i cant see these prices lasting for ever

Room Tip: if you are a non drinker or have young children ask for a room that is'nt facing the night club...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stocktonian21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

rooms are cleaned every day,pool was very clean.staff were extremely polite.approx 800 metres to the beach.great location as right next to the centre.there is a nightclub right opposite that stays open all night so you could experience noise from here luckily i was in the front of the hotel..the breakfast was awful but so cheap to eat in bulgaria we went elsewhere..for meals in the evening we went to the condor restaurant right opposite and the food was amazing the food was cooked to perfection and very cheap..if you want to book trips go to dias travel about 50 metres from the hotel very friendly staff...

Room Tip: ask for a room at the front of hotel when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

when we first arrived we were actually quite impressed after reading reviews i must admitt i was half dreading it our room was spotless! we was on the front so very noisy had to invest in some earplugs as the condor club is loud!!!!! the food really is awfull i am no fussy eater and will eat just about anything but i struggled. on our first day we got there there was some brown fruit so stale bread unapetising looking salad and hard cheese.there was cereal which was soft and the milk was warm and sour. hot food (haha) was scrambled egg which i had and was cold and rubbery (even though he just brought it out whilst i was there) some bulgarian sausage i like those but flies did too and last nights pasta (yes pasta!!!!!) everything was cold. we were half board and ended up eating out everyday! we went up to the pool once lasted 2 minutes its very tiny and unless you get there crack of dawn no hope of a bedand left we ended up going to the hotel kuban everyday its fantastic there they have mini aqua park and we used to pay 5lev each for sunbed-alot cheaper and more pleasent then beach. staff i wouldnt say they were rude but not overly friendly either although they dont speak much english and me much bulgarian so that might have something to do with it. i probably wouldnt stay there again i'd stay at kuban but it wasnt an unenjoyable experience

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Veris
Hotel Veris
#62 of 220 in Sunny Beach
35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Juli
Hotel Juli
#165 of 220 in Sunny Beach
26 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel L&B
Hotel L&B
#18 of 220 in Sunny Beach
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kalofer
Hotel Kalofer
#34 of 220 in Sunny Beach
103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atol
Hotel Atol
#41 of 220 in Sunny Beach
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
MPM Kalina Garden
MPM Kalina Garden
#21 of 220 in Sunny Beach
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MPM Hotel Royal Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MPM Hotel Royal Central

Property: MPM Hotel Royal Central
Address: Sunny Beach resort, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria (Formerly Royal Central Hotel)
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — MPM Hotel Royal Central 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MPM ROYAL CENTRAL is situated in the centre of Sunny Beach, only 150 m from the beach and comprises of 120 spacious and stylishly decorated rooms with balcony.The Hotel features three lifts, a main restaurant, lobby bar with terrace, outdoor swimming pool with children section on the hotel roof, shops, beauty shop and currency exchange. MPM ROYAL CENTRAL operates on a half board basis and among the services included are buffet breakfast and dinner, use of fitness gym, swimming pool, parasol and sun lounge at the swimming pool. The Hotel offers open air parking lot against additional charge, free Wi-Fi internet access in public areas, video games, billiards, massage and SPA treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your MPM Hotel Royal Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MPM Hotel Royal Central Bulgaria/Sunny Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing