We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
71
17
11
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
71
17
11
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews food served at the hotel great hotel self catering minute walk to the beach pool area is small a wonderful stay large supermarket fantastic week recommend this hotel cheap as chips rooms were cleaned daily your doorstep bars restaurants decent size main strip family holiday sun loungers
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

Just came back from the step hotel, and it was great. The staff there are all very friendly, especially Big Todor and Fima who were game for a laugh. They all speak very good English. Food was also very good, not a big selection, but what we had we enjoyed. Rooms are cleaned and towels and sheets changed regularly. Pool area is a little small but very clean. Overall I'd recommend the Step Hotel to any couples who like clean friendly hotels that's value for money.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Keith O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanGeorgievStep, General Manager at Hotel Step, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Dear Keith,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Step hotel. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay. Thanks for all the nice comments, I have passed your kind words to Todor and Fima. We hope to welcome you again as our guests in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

We had a two bedroom apartment, spacious and absolutely spotlessly clean, beds very comfortable and changed a couple of times through the week along with clean towels every other day. The staff at this hotel were very friendly and helpful. Only a 10 minute walk from the beach and lots of restaurants although the food served at the hotel was also very good & very reasonable. We will definitely return to the hotel when we go back to Bulgaria. Bulgaria has certainly changed in the last 10 years great place to stay and very reasonable especially when there is 6 of you!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanGeorgievStep, General Manager at Hotel Step, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Dear Tracy,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Step hotel with the community. We are very glad to read your positive comments about both the hotel and Sunny beach itself. We feel happy that we have contributed to a fantastic holiday and that we have satisfied your expectations of the hotel and the bar. As a Bulgarian, I feel very proud that you appreciate the positive changes in Bulgaria and Sunny beach over the years. Really hope to welcome you and your family again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

I went on holiday with my parents and grandma. As both parents have disabilities, our main priority was how close the hotel was to the centre and the beach. When booking the holiday, Thomas Cook implied that it was only a 15 minute walk to the beach and 10 to the centre. It took 40 minutes! Not only that but the roads are riddled with pot holes and the pavements aren't any better. This resorted to my mum bandaging up her feet for the remainder of the holiday. Despite this, the hotel is great. Spotless, friendly staff and gorgeous rooms. We didn't eat much there but a couple of the breakfasts weren't amazing and the cocktails weren't great either. However no other complaints about the hotel at all. Perfect for people who are fit and healthy but otherwise, i wouldn't recommend staying here. The area in itself wasn't amazing either, we found the people (not all!) to be rude and ignorant. An okay holiday if you enjoy clubbing and drinking, but if going to relax and to talk to waiters and locals, not ideal. Two places to recommend are the Vira Tiki Bar and Las Palmas which both had very friendly staff and good cocktails.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank EmilyHale1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanGeorgievStep, General Manager at Hotel Step, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Dear Emily,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Step hotel. Your comments are invaluable in helping us improve our product for future guests. We are happy to hear that you liked our hotel and were happy with our staff and the hotel rooms. With regards to the walking distance to the centre and the beach, our opinion is that Thomas Cook has described it correctly as 15 minutes walk to the beach and 10 minutes walk to the centre. It is unfortunate that both your parents have disabilities but having in mind that, it is normal that it took you much longer to walk to the centre or the beach. If the distance to the centre and the beach was your main priority, perhaps you should have chosen another property located more centrally and the sales agent should have advised you so. We are sorry to hear that your mother had an issue with her feet, hope it was not something very serious. Unfortunately, we cannot take responsibility for the roads and pavements in resort. We are also unhappy with the infrastructure around the resort, but it is something out of our control. Sunny beach is changing its face every summer, so we hope you will come back some time in the future and you will see a positive change in the resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

wonderful staff and management, rooms are cleaned everyday, good food and cheap drinks (plenty of deals) and Todor the barman does excellent cocktails (happy hour worked out at £2 each).Only 1 minor issue was the pool is cold. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: we stayed in a family room, which has two bedrooms and two shower rooms.
Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jason_jeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanGeorgievStep, General Manager at Hotel Step, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts about your stay at Step hotel. It makes us very happy to hear that you appreciate the efforts of our staff and that you were pleased by the food and drinks we offer. Unfortunately, the pool is not heated and the temperature of the water depends on the weather and the sun, so probably it was not that warm during your stay. We would be very happy to welcome you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

We stayed at Hotel Step from 8th Aug till 15th and it was fantastic. It had everything that we wanted. We wanted a cheap, but great getaway and we certainly got that.

The hotel was very clean and comfortable and the staff were very accommodating. We contacted Stefan a couple of times before we travelled to Bulgaria to ask a few questions and he always replied, almost straightaway!!

We ate/drank at the hotel once and it was very good value and very tasty.

The room was a great size and had everything that we needed. The beds were very comfortable and the air con worked really well. Rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels left for us.

Ok the hotel is around a 15min walk to the strip/main part of the beach, but hey.... after all the calories consumed from the amazing Bulgarian food and very cheap beer, you need this walk, it really helps. It's still very close to some bars/restaurants that are away from the strip and it has a very reaonably priced supermarket right on your doorstep. What more could you want???

The pool is very small but I am a beach person, so I was there everyday and going to the beach certainly helps your tan.

Would I return to Hotel Step?? Of course. This visit to Bulgaria was my first, and it certainly won't be my last. Unfortunately I get married next year and my honeymoon has already been booked. If it hadn't, I would of booked to come back to Bulgaria the day I returned upon leaving.

Thank You Bulgaria and Thank you Hotel step for amazing holiday. A week certainly isn't enough, so when I'm back, I'll be back for longer.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Natalie0981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanGeorgievStep, General Manager at Hotel Step, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear Natalie,

Thank you so much for your detailed review. We are very glad that you had such a positive experience from the hotel and from Sunny beach and Bulgaria in general. Our job is to take care of our guests and to make sure that they leave with wonderful memories and we are very happy when we hear that we have managed to achieve this objective. Congratulations on your upcoming marriage. We wish you an amazing and very memorable honeymoon! Please send my regards to Stephen.

We are looking forward to having you again at Step next year, this time for two weeks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews