We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Sun is the place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Sun Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This is a great complex with two huge pools, a kids pool, kids mini playground, great value poolside restaurant with great choices, minimarket in complex, relax by the pool - no need to leave complex all day when everything on site. Perla supermarket and Mladost only a few minutes away if you really want to stock up on cheap beers or are cooking in. Bus stop directly outside front of complex for Nessebar, Bourgas & Waterpark pick up point or cross over the road to catch bus to centre of strip for 1 lev (50c). 20-25 mins from Bourgas airport, €30 each way for taxi, can miss it cos its a large well lit up attractive complex on a main road. Across the road from Le Meridien hotel which is popular with Irish tourists, good choice of restaurants & bars between Le Meridien & the beachfront if you dont want the hussle & bustle of the main strip or promenade. Good Karaoke bars with fun for all the family & you can enjoy your evening meal while enjoying the karaoke. Visit Sunny Beach between end of May and end of August as it is very quite at other times.

Room Tip: A room with pool view on a high floor would be my choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Uknowugottahavethem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2011

Myself and my friend came here for a girly holiday and it was uterly amazing. we mingled well with the other tourists here and the staff were very helpful. We went here for the nightlife so the apartments were just walking distance from the strip although you couldnt hear any noise from the apartments. it was mainly family orrientated apartments but there were alot of partiers staying aswel. the staff were extremely strict about the noise after 11pm so nobody was disturbed by the groups landing back at all hours of the morning. if there was the slightest bit if noise the security guards were straight around and they would lay a fine off 100 lev, so everyone kept a low profile. floors and dishes were washed each morning for us and fresh towels and toilet roll were left aswel as the beds being made which i was really pleased about and they wouldnt look for a tip even though they did appreciate it. regardless of what people say the food is really nice and us really cheap. their health standards are really high also. the drink was shockingly cheap which made my holiday and i didnt once get asked for i.d . Buses into tge main part were 1lev and taxis were 5 although this seened to double after 10pm. it isnt safe to flash electronics because there are alot of gypsys but they stand out a mile on the streets. prostitutes are plaging the place at night aswel so beware of those but young girls are completely safe to wonder because they arnt interested. Dont let any if this put you off because it isnt an ussue at all. it was an amazing experience and i would highly recommend it for familys and groups. definately going back next year, nicole & sara from ireland (17 & 18 years old)

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank nicolemacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

The apartments are located at a quieter end of resort which we knew before we travelled, opposite the hotel meridian and arda.


We had a 2 bedroom apartment which was spacious and well equipped. Master bedroom had it's own balcony and ensuite shower room.


The safe deposit boxes are located in reception at 6 levs a day, there are not that many to be honest so i would have your money ready on check in to secure one.


The complex itself has a restaurant and bar, spa and supermarket. The spa was dearer than those on the street for massages but convenient and done out nicely. The supermarket was reasonably priced but there is another one 5 minutes to the left of the complex. where 2.5 litres of lager was 2.69 levs.


We took plastic glasses and drunk these bottles of lager by the pool. There is a 50 euro fine if they catch you with glass.


The hotel also has a quiet policy from 11pm to 8 am, you got one warning and then a 50 euro fine and we did see a group of lads get a fine.


The only downside we could really find were there was not enough parasols around the pool area.


You can also order food and then waiters bring it to your sun lounger which was brilliant and drinks.


The apartments were clean and you put a sign on your door if you wanted your beds made etc. Towels got changed every two to three days.


Just to warn you at certain times of the day it could be quite hard to cross the road just keep your wits about you.


We love the location of this hotel as for us we like to be able to walk to the main strip but also like the bars and restaurants around the hotel.


Particular restaurants include the national, bansko, lotus and the bacardi bar, mexico bar and bar kharma are brilliant to.


Sunny beach itself was as cheap as last year and also managed to get to nessebar this year which was lovely although personally could not spend the whole holiday there.


All in all after staying at the meridian last year and the royal sun this year would definately say Royal sun was better as the pool area was awesome.
We had pizzas, omelettes and burgers around the pool. Breakfasts were 10 levs if you just ordered off menu but when we were there if you arranged it with them you could have it for 8 levs. The pizzas were roughly 10 levs and burger and chips were 8.50 levs. They did evening meals but cannot comment as never ate these. To be honest we had lunches rather than breakfasts due to sunbathing and the heat. As i said before we didnt drink from hotel bar as we took plastic glasses and brought bottles from shop to drink by pool. The bar was 2.50 levs for a big beer and 6 lev for a draft guinness. I will say if your taking children ice creams and lollys are about 3 levs in shops but you can get mr whippy type ice cream from street vendors for 1 lev. Milk for making tea and coffee is called mlyko from supermarkets and is rated in percentages we found the 2 or 3% was better tasting. Worth taking tea and coffee in suitcase quite expensive to buy there.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank toby_4127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We needed a last minute holiday and after many hours searching for an apartment with 2 bedrooms we found Royal Sun Apartments. Before going I could find no reviews of this place so I was not sure what to expect. With all my holidays I always do trip adviser reviews first so this hotel/apartment was a great surprise when arriving. I think most of the apartments are privately owned but through Thomson we mananged to book this deal. There are 2 massive pools and 1 childs pool. Lifegaurds are always on duty. The apartments are clean and big with 2 bathrooms. Only thing missing from the kitchen was a bottle opener! There is air con which can even be left on when you leave your room. The apartments are very secure with a special key sensor ro get through the main door. On site there is a bar with a pool table and TV, music throughout the day that is not too loud. There is also a restaurant perfect for snacks throughout the day and they will serve you whatever you required. Service was a little slow. There is also a spa on site which I hightly recommend. There is no evening entertainment here but the place is always buzzing with people outside their apartments drinking and eating on an evening and the bar is open 24 hours. You can get a bus to Flower Street - the main strip of restaurants and bars for 50p each or a taxi for £10. You can go as many stops as you like on the bus for that price but be warned they cram as many people as possible in. It takes about 10 minutes to get there. On an evening there is something or everyone whether you want to eat, drink, dance or just watch the world go by. Perfect for young people's weekends away or for families. Happy hour appears to be all day and they are very generous with their drinks! A meal for 4 with wine will cost you around £45. There is a beach a 15 minute walk from the hotel that has water sports and plenty of loungers. Considering there are alot of apartments there is never a problem with getting a sun lounger round the pool, even if you head out to the sun at midday. I was very aprehensive about going to Bulgaria but I highly recommend this hotel/apartments.Very good value for money when spending out there but obvouly Thomson charge summer prices for the accomadation.

Room Tip: When booking ask for a pool view. It may be that Thomson only have other rooms though
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank Estelle82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Darina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Если планируете взять машину на прокат, то бронируйте заранее. Иначе все разберут и вам останется ка...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank AlexVintage86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Jeżeli mają Państwo możliwość wyboru apartamentu "na wieży", proszę nie wahać się ani chwi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
2.4 mi away
Green Fort
Green Fort
#63 of 222 in Sunny Beach
33 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trakia Garden Hotel
Trakia Garden Hotel
#13 of 222 in Sunny Beach
291 reviews
1.0 mi away
Galeon Residence & Spa
Galeon Residence & Spa
#22 of 222 in Sunny Beach
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
#2 of 222 in Sunny Beach
1,437 reviews
1.0 mi away
Julia Family Apartments
Julia Family Apartments
#77 of 222 in Sunny Beach
36 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel L&B
Hotel L&B
#20 of 222 in Sunny Beach
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sun Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sun Apartments

Address: Main Road, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 167 Speciality Lodging in Sunny Beach
Price Range: £19 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Sun Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Sun Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Sun Apartments Bulgaria/Sunny Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing