We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“first class in all aspects” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Glarus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Glarus
Ranked #69 of 219 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“first class in all aspects”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

we booked this hotel at the last minute before looking at T.A. and were a bit concerned when we had a look and saw some of the reviews. I can honestly say that in 30 plus years of package holidays that this is the best hotel we have ever been allocated. Was a very comfortable room and linen was changed daily. Both the bathroom and bedroom were very spacious and modern no slack tiles or rusty shower heads here !!. We were on B&B and the breakfasts were excellent albeit of a continental style but plenty of choice and welll presented. The air con was free and there was a fridge in the room which was a huge bonus. On arrival I noticed that the fridge wasn't working properly and thought " here we go" but no , I went down to reception and within 5 minutes a porter came up with a brand new fridge.
From the back of the hotel the beach was only about 30 seconds away with bars , restuarants ,shops etc within the same distance.

. We had never been to Bugaria before but found no faults at all ,even the canvassers outside the restuarants were pleasant and not pushy at all. We ate in various restuarants and all were of excellent quality with the average cost per head for 3 courses being around £10 -£15. We ate in Billy's a couple of times , they have a hog roast outside and it was fantastic !!. We also took in the various excursions on offer including vip cruise , jeep safari and malls and markets tour.The highlight however was the Bulgarian night at Khans restuarant which included galls of wine on arrival and an excellent bottle per person at the table and a lovely 4 course meal followed by a professional cabaret which was of TV quality

Room Tip: we were at the back of the hotel and it was very quiet ,potentially a room at the front might have b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blairbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    95
    59
    32
    27
See reviews for
82
109
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Got back last week, surprised after reading some reviews before going. The hotel was spotless, cleaners were brill and clean towels daily. Breakfast was fine, loads of choices. Only complaint was the amount of sunbeds available, they were all taken before breakfast. Location was amazing right opposite the beach and loads of shops and bars all around. Would definitely go back there and have recommended it to others already.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel are quieter and have the afternoon/evening sun, but not such good views as the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

back today from a week at the glarus this was our sixth trip to bulgaria and was the best hotel we have stayed in after reading all the negative feedback we were very surprised the cleaners came in every day towels changed daily all the staff were pleasant especially the reception we stayed b&b a party of eight and always found something to eat eg cheese on toast / beans / eggs / sausage / cereals/ fruits/ cold meats / the pool area was spotless you did have to get up early for a sunbed but apart from that couldnt fault the hotel will return to this hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyk6666n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

I'd like to start by asking some the previous reviewers if they stayed at the same Glarus hotel as I did?! I stayed there with Mum and we had the nicest time on a bed and breakfast holiday! Our room was spacious, bright and very clean with a fantastic sea view. It was a little noisy at night with the bars opposite but we did have a laugh at some of the 'singing' coming from a nearby karaoke bar but once you close the balcony door your ears should stop bleeding! The room was cleaned, beds made and had clean towels on a daily basis. The beds sheets were changed twice in our weeks stay, I'd like to ask how often some of our previous reviewers change their bed sheets at home..?! The cleaners were polite and friendly and made swan figures out of our towels which was a lovely touch! The hotel staff were friendly and polite although there was the language barrier with some of the staff but there was always someone else to help out! Breakfast - very tasty! The hot food was hot, the chilled food was chilled, there were a variety of foods to suit all tastes although i didn't quite fancy vegetables for breakfast but Mum was over the moon to have broccoli with her scrambled eggs! The pool was immaculate, cleaned daily but very cold, not a bad thing if you fancy a refreshing dip! The sun loungers were 'reserved' with towels as early as 6am by our German friends but you know what they say, 'When in Bulgaria, do as the Germans do..' we had a sun lounger every day. Not fair perhaps but if you saw that a sun lounger had been 'reserved' with towels and not being used, you could have asked the lifeguard to remove those towels to make space for yourself! There were always sun loungers available in the afternoons when some of our fellow holiday makers usually got up out of bed! The beach was a dream! Very well looked after and cleaned daily which is where the beach charge came in. Its 8 Levs per sun lounger and 8 Levs for an umbrella, there is a free zone for those who don't fancy paying or prefer to lay on their towel on the sand. (I actually overheard a fellow Brit complaining that the beach was too sandy and asked the rep to go and get a refund from the beach manager!) The local bars and restaurants were great. I would highly recommend the Hawaii bar and restaurant opposite the hotel. You get what you pay for, the staff are friendly and its owned by a lovely Irish chap who made us feel at home! We ate there most evenings and not once on this holiday did we get Bulgarian Belly from eating either in the hotel or out and about. You do get hassled by staff along the walkway by the beach, trying to entice you into their establishment with free drinks etc but I suppose you get that anywhere you go on holiday. The water and ice are safe to drink. All in all, this was a great holiday with a mix of all ages and nationalities, the only downside was that we only stayed for a week and not two! Happy travelling!

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are a little noisier as they also overlook the walkway by the beach but the views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dotski_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Just back 1 week in this hotel will never set foot in it again food was not hot at breakfast rooms just basic very little drawerspace, towels only changed 2 times in a week bed was not even made twice maybe if we had been German we would been able to do what we want, as they were able to bring their own drink and take up all the sunbeds we never got a sunbed one day as towels were put on them at 6am even there was a notice saying they would be removed which they were not,if you want to have a good holiday stay well clear of this dump,the only thing this place has going for it is the view which most people go for, this was a was a birthday gift from my husband a letdown or what.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank summerbelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sunny Beach hotels

Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

we just came back from Bulgaria loved the place but hated the hotel worst hotel I have ever stayed in staff are rude and never want to do anything to help you look at u down reception staff are very rude food is vile waitress don't give you time to finish your food before taking your plate when we booked we payed adult price for my two children so we could have a inter connecting room so we wouldn't have our children on there own in a room Thomson emailed the hotel three times so we could have that room when we got there they gave us two separate rooms when we complained they just said theres nothing we can do didn't even try to help us in anyway so we ended up all five of us in one room in two beds the only good thing about the hotel is its clean and cleaners are lovely people

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank louise l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

Having read other reviews I wonder if I expect less or they expect too much; I found Glarus Hotel offered just what I went to Sunny Beach for: the sun; the beach; a pool; a clean hotel; good food and plenty of it; and a place to shut off from routine. What I didn't expect was the friendly local welcome; the scenery of the nearby mountains and the excellence of Nessebar. The breakfast offered a fun mix of British, continental and Bulgarian foods but it was always tasty and filling. The rooms were large, clean, bright and comfortable. The pool was immaculate, seagull shaped and refreshingly cold. The guests were a mixture of ages (couples young to very old; parents and younger children; groups of older teens/twentysomethings) and nationalities (mostly German, Scots and Irish). The staff were unfailingly polite.
I wouldn't advise using the hotel's money change service, (there are a number of cash machines within a short walk of the hotel) or the local taxis (unless you're very clear about an agreed price (covering all passengers) before you set off; and the bus is much cheaper). There was a lot of Skegness about the place but it was warmer, cleaner and much cheaper (having lived in Skeggie for 25 years I feel safe saying that); I've never been to the Spanish resorts but I'm told Sunny Beach is similar to them 20 years ago.
I'll be going back to meet again the locals who have become friends and enjoy the peace, calm and dolphins :)

Room Tip: The rooms in the block at the front (back if you're looking from the beach) don't get quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SKP64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sea Breeze
Hotel Sea Breeze
#71 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dune Hotel
Dune Hotel
#20 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Klisura
Hotel Klisura
#45 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Sunny Beach
Grand Hotel Sunny Beach
#18 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kiparisite Hotel
Kiparisite Hotel
#107 of 219 in Sunny Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Glarus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Glarus

Property: Hotel Glarus
Address: Sunny Beach, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Beach
#33 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Glarus 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Glarus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glarus Hotel Sunny Beach
Hotel Glarus Bulgaria/Sunny Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing