We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bulgaria Holiday”
Review of Hotel Glarus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Glarus
Ranked #149 of 221 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Well where to start....our 2nd visit to Bulgaria with some 6 years apart. We stayed in the Glarus from 19th May for2 weeks. The hotel is amazing, very clean and impressive. The staff however let it down. There was a really good reception staff that booked us in on our late arrival, and these same two staff. Were always lovely as was the barmaid in the lobby bar(night time) however the rest of the reception staff were terrible, they simply were not interested in any query we may have had. We wanted to book a late checkout room and no way would they accommodate us before 9am the morning we were due to leave.The staff also tend to prefer other European guests rather than the Brits and this was apparent if queueing because the Brit would always be served last behind the Germans. The food left a lot to be desired, with chicken and chips EVERY night and very little other choices but it's so cheap to eat out in Sunny Beach this didn't cause a problem although in future i would book B&B only.
The rooms are cleaned daily,with the sheets changed every few days however because we folded up the sofa bed every morning to give more room the maids never opened it to change the bedding. Also watch the sofa bed I cut my elbow badly the first night on a sharp metal frame, the blood stained sheets remained on it for over a week until we realised why! Towels are changed daily if needed but they can be a bit tight on the loo roll!
The shower is NEVER HOT no matter what time I had a shower it was freezing cold,if you turned the temperature up the water stopped but the basin had plenty hot water.
Lots of mosquitoes so would advise to take a plug in to zap them.Hotel is in a good location on beach front within easy walking distance of many bars and eateries,would recommend Fat Cat and Red Lion for food and Hawaii and La Banana for a welcome bar,we didn't rate the food in Hawaii though.
Views from sea view rooms are amazing and well worth requesting. have a great holiday if visiting here but I would advise an open mind and B&B.

Room Tip: Room 600 to 630 even numbers are top floor with sea view
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank haynesStakefordUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Glarus
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

This hotel is good value, rooms and outdoor and food is average, but it's not expensive. The hotel is the last one in Goldens sands resort, but you can easily walk in 15-20 minutes or go with small train. Also I recommend to rent a car and travel a bit to Plovdiv, Rila etc, it's a long journey but it's nice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EMINDAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

as a couple we recently stayed at this hotel but would not recommend it. Customer service is poor and certainly not on their list of priorities, the hotel manager was unfriendly and unhelpful. We went all/inc and originally booked at another hotel 3 miles away but after it was booked the travel company changed us to this hotel as the original choice was not yet open for the season. We were greeted by two dry sandwiches which a 5 yr old could have made with no effort, an apple and a bottle of water as supper finishes at 20.00 hrs.
Breakfast was 07.30-10.00 and it was the same choice each morning, this was also the only time you could get coffee.The lunch and dinner was slightly better but basically the same choices each day. Any other time you had to buy it and then one morning there was no milk so you had to drink it with a couple of small creams. The alcohol choices for al/inc were very limited and of poor quality. Ice cream was only available between 15.00-17.00 hrs.
If you wanted coffee at the pool it was served in a normal plastic cup which you couldn't then stand down as the heat bowed the base of the cup.
It was advertised free internet but this could only be accessed in the lobby area.
Drinks at he lobby bar were not all/inc but the prices seemed to be very hit and miss, one evening a jack daniels and small bottle of coke was 7 lev, yet a double jack daniels with the same small bottle of coke was 17 lev??
One evening the outside al/inc bar was closed due to rain and they had run out of Vodka inside but was unable to provide a bottle from the outside bar?
The manager was unfriendly and had no people skills and didn't even say good morning.
The only good thing was the rooms were very spacious and all had sea views.
Entertainment was fine for small children but appeared to be very limited or non existent for adults although it was just coming into season. Not sure what age group this hotel suited but definatley not advised for young families or middle aged couples.
overall I would rate this hotel a 2 star.

Room Tip: all rooms have a good sea view
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I wrote a fairly positive review of this venue in 2012 and based on that stay we booked up again with Glarus for the same week in June, 2013. Based on suggestions from another reviewer I emailed a few times well in advance asking for one of those rooms that the British never get (main building, sea view) - never got it.

Instead we were put in a main building, high floor back room. In all honesty, after initial disappointment I realised this was much better - we got the evening sun, so while we were showering and getting ready for a night out we could top up our tans.

We never tried the paid-for breakfast, knowing it would be the same waste of time as 2012 - based on opinions of other Brits at the hotel we had the right idea.

Overall, the same standard of ignorance from the staff on reception (although one made a great attempt at being friendly with the Brits and she spoke much better English), but we loved the by-the-pool service from the pool bar staff and the cleaning was again superb. Fantastic weather except one brilliant day of thunderstorms - we noticed a significant rise in 18-25 year olds looking to party, which didn't bother us but pretty much horrified some families we saw in Sunny Beach.

This time around we focused on staying by the Glarus pool, which was a great place to be, with plenty of beds to be had after midday - perfect for us. Cocktails by the pool were gorgeous and evening service was enjoyable - one waiter from the Glarus outdoor bar did his utmost hardest to have a conversation with us and was lovely.

Why I gave 2 stars? The medical service / doctors they deal with are a rip-off. Having discovered a rash which pretty much covered me I was concerned and eventually gave into seeking medical advice - the doctor was on site and rushed me to the local clinic fearing some life-in-danger situation. It was a common infection that children have which required no medical attention or medication - I paid £200 in medication that did nothing for it and was told I was in too much danger / it was too long for the guy to travel to take me to the EHIC-card accepting hospital in Sofia. The female doctor (which was at the Evrika Beach Club Hotel) was irate, unhelpful and the nurse punctured one of my veins when taking blood - which was unnecessary. We also wasted 3 days in back and forth trips to different clinics and doctors (the "specialist opinion" of one which was also charged for).

As a final opinion - we never had a horrific experience of this hotel specifically, but I'd advise don't waste your money on such minimum standard service, there are much better hotels to be staying at on the beach front. with evening entertainment / better food / friendlier front-of-house staff. I noticed last year most of the big high street tour operators were no longer advertising Glarus - it's not hard to see why...

Room Tip: Don't go... Or email requesting main building, sea view, high floor for daytime sun - or back of...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah20x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We were in this hotel with my daughters last summer and it was really nice experience. The location is absolutely perfect, only a few steps from the sea! The staff was helpful and friendly, especially in the hotel restaurant. It was great that there was a playground for kids and kids
swimming pool (although the water in the pool was very cold).

Room Tip: We had a family room on the 6th floor - two connected rooms - great for 4 people
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I stayed at the Glarus Hotel with my boyfriend in July for a week and absolutely loved the hotel. Its in a perfect location, right next to the beach, in the middle of all the nightlife but at the same time just the right distance away from the main strip.

The pool is massive and was always clean, however the children's pool was quite small and there is never enough sunbeds around the pool, because it was right next to the beach people would save loungers by the pool and go to the beach for the day only coming back for drinks! SUPER ANNOYING.

The scenery of the hotel was well managed, there are grassy areas for kids to play safety and a little playground. If you go right to the top floor of the hotel there is a massive veranda, that looks out across Sunny Beach with amazing views and somewhere to chill out.

The reception staff didn't seem to be too friendly but this didn't bovver us (they were probably exhausted!). There is a place to keep luggage safe while your waiting for your transfer however it is not locked and someone threw our case to the back!

The rooms were massive! the double bed was huge and so comfy, the sofa bed was not so inviting but we didn't need to use it. The TV had lots of channels and good music channels. The wardrobe had plenty of hanging space and shelves. The bathroom was kept clean, however our shower curtain rail fell down, but this was soon noticed by the maids and fixed the same day! The bathroom is more like a wet room though so be careful on the wet slippery floors, especially with young kids. I loved the carpeted floors! (which were hovered everyday). The balconies are a nice size too with good views! I was in a back room so only got the sun in the evening which is nice. The rooms include a hairdryer, however ladies with long hair take your own! its useless.

The Maids we had were friendly, always smiled, we had clean towels everyday, fresh sheets every other day and they always made our bed, washed our glasses, took out the bins and did a good job despite us not leaving until midday everyday!

The meals in the hotel were disgusting! We were B&B but only ate breakfast there twice as the Hotel caters more for Germans than English people as more Germans go there, so its the usual ham and cheeses and lots of cake! HOWEVER as its so cheap in Sunny Beach we ate a full English breakfast across from the hotel at "Hawaii" These do amazing breakfasts! big portions and good value for money only 8Lv (£4) with a drink!

The Location of Sunny Beach is more for adults, I would never take my kids there. Too much drinking and not enough kids/family entertainment. However for a young couple this destination is perfect long sandy beaches and plenty of nightlife and VERY VERY CHEAP!. :)

Room Tip: rooms at the front of the hotel get more sun in the evening.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

See a lot of mixed reviews here. We stayed here in June 2012 and had such a good time we went back this year 2013 in September avoiding the high heat in peak season. The hotel is spotless and lived up the the excellent time we had the year before - always a bit of a worry when you go back. Yes there is some noise at night time as you are positioned right on the strip but the air con works fine so we just shut the double glazed doors/windows. We got a room at the back the second time but were moved after 48 hours to a room at the front. We only went half board so that we could get out and eat in the local restaurants of which there are many. The breakfast in the hotel was very good indeed. You can also pay to eat in on the odd evening should you wish to. There's a conservatory/sitting area on the top (7th I think) floor which has great views all around. Staff were friendly and helpful. There is a Crown exchange in the foyer of the hotel where you can change your currency. We found that the conversion rate there was much better than back home so the second time we went we took sterling and changed it there. We were advised to only use Crown exchanges and saw an incident in Nessebar where a tourist had been ripped off using a different one (he wasn't a happy bunny and was demanding his money back!). There are security boxes that you can hire for the duration to store your money, passports and valuables. Pool is excellent although cold but as another reviewer said, they always are! The sea is very warm though. The hotel is right on the beach - literally 20 yards and plenty of places to eat and shop right outside. Our favourite bar to eat in was almost opposite and called Hawaii - excellent staff and food.

Room Tip: If you get a room at the rear it would be worth getting on further up as those on the second floor a...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sea Breeze
Hotel Sea Breeze
#88 of 221 in Sunny Beach
32 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Sunny Beach
Grand Hotel Sunny Beach
#15 of 221 in Sunny Beach
524 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Marvel
Hotel Marvel
#89 of 221 in Sunny Beach
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dune Hotel
Dune Hotel
#32 of 221 in Sunny Beach
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rila Hotel
Rila Hotel
#184 of 221 in Sunny Beach
18 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fiesta Beach Hotel
Fiesta Beach Hotel
#198 of 221 in Sunny Beach
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Glarus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Glarus

Address: Golden Sands Resort, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Beach
#50 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range: £21 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Glarus 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Glarus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glarus Hotel Sunny Beach
Hotel Glarus Bulgaria/Sunny Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing