We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a family hotel”
Review of Kuban

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kuban
Ranked #176 of 220 Hotels in Sunny Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not a family hotel”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The pool was lovely and the entertainment staff tried their best but this hotel is not for families. It is noisy 24hrs a day, even the supermarket across the road plays music until 4am. It is central for nightlife and essentially could offer a perfect holiday for a young couple etc. the rooms were clean enough and covered the basics. The breakfast offered plenty of choice but was repetitive. All in all we had fun and a nice time but I can see why it's not everyone's cup of tea!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leicester-30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    91
    69
    37
    74
See reviews for
212
61
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

The Kuban hotel is right in the centre of sunny beach next to the clubs and bars. We don't reccomend the food, as the only meal we ate was breakfast and it was the same everyday, with very little on offer for kids. The water park is the best part of this hotel though and is included in the price, it costs 10 Lev each if not resident. The down side is the 1970's style rooms in the tower, newer rooms are in the lower side building. We advise not to stay in the rooms facing the strip, it is noisy, and if possible ask for a higher floor it drowns out the noise.
On the plus side, the maids are fantastic, they do a good job of cleaning and do not touch ur belongings, even money!, security is excellent, and is manned 24 hours a day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new wing before u go, u can email the hotel,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed at the Kuban for the second time this year from 04/08/2013. Nothing much had changed from the first visit really but there were a couple of niggles this time.

We contacted the hotel months in advance to ask for a high floor and a sea view (which was paid for) also 2 rooms next to each other and facing onto Flower Street, they confirmed this had been done and we had rooms on the 13th floor. On arrival we had 1 room on Flower Street side and one overlooking the pool, so they were not nest to each other. We asked about moving as this was not what we had been told we had. we were told to see our rep, so the next day we did, she rang the hotel and we were told it might take a few days to sort out but they would move us. Regretably this did not happen during the fortnight.

As expected the rooms were cleaned every day and there were no complaints about that, also the hotel was as clean as we expected at all times. There always seems to be someone cleaning the floors whatever time of day or night it is. We were B&B and the breakfasts were fine, a good selection of cold and cooked food was available.

The pool was not as clean this year as last. I did not venture into it at all this year because there was a rim of scum and snot all the way round the edge, it was clearly visible and to be fair it just turned my stomach. I know it can happen but it wasn't like that last year so maybe the filter system isn't working as well or something like that but it was disgusting from my point of view.

There was a lot more noise from other guests this year and a lot more younger all male/female groups. We don't have a problem with younger people but the noise was quite bad some nights. We did notice however that the hotel had installed security cameras on every floor this year and the security guy was sat watching them all the time but it didn't stop younger groups sometimes gathering in the corridoors.

Having said all that we still enjoyed our stay and would give the Kuban another go. However if there are going to be more and more younger groups, we may well try somewhere else which would be shame really, as the location and views from the Kuban take some beating. We can stand for hours people watching on Flower Street late at night.

I know a lot of people complain about the noise from the music in Flower Street but for us it isn't that bad and the higher the floor, the quieter it seems to be.

So to sum up, we still think it is a good hotel but they need to be carefull with the younger elements as it could drive some families away and they need to sort out the pool problem.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor (above 8) if you like a view and preferably on the Flower Street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon7685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoevelaken, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

A good hotel for one week, with a very tastte breakfast buffet, we don,t have use the lunch or diner in the hotel but there are a lot of restaurants in the direct neighbourhood for everybody,s taste such als Mexican,Italian,Indonesian and all kind of fastfood
The hotel have also a magnificient swimmingpool like a waterparadise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the 15 th Floor otherwise You hearings the noise of the disco till very late i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stokertje1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Been here a week now, when we checked in we were given no information about the hotel and how to get to our room, or we're the restaurant was, we went to our room, to find it was on the 9 th floor, we had booked a lower floor due to my girlfriend suffering from vertigo, we went back to reception. And asked for a lower room, the receptionist was arrogant and wasn't interested, had a really bad attitude, wasn't interested at all asked to see the manager and he refused to get in touch, had to wait to the next day to see our rep and she sorted it straight away and spoke with the manager who said if we didn't ind waiting till the next day she would have us a room on the 2nd floor in b block, the breakfasts are cold, and no matter how early you get there they never seem to be hot, the pool area is nice, and the slides are great, the pool is bloody cold though, was left without no toilet roll and the cleaner was no we're to be seen, had same sheets and pillow cases on for more than a week without having them changed, they don't do double beds and we had a 2 single beds pushed together, the cleanliness of the hotel is fair, wouldn't come back here again,

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulmitchell473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We have a 14 8 10 year old and we all loved sunny beach and the kuban is the best and really the best hotel for everything kuban is right in the middle. So you have it all. We was on floor 8 and the cleaning lady didn't do much but we when with lots of people n they said they laddies was great. So we just put in with them n didn't tip ours. But over all. Was a great holiday n we have come back a new family that's how good it was going back next year n can't wait :-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lpve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed with friends and kids an grandchildren. Hotel is good with a good choice at breakfast time, great pool area but need to be up early to get sun beds. The hotel was a bit central for us as it is right on the main strip and noisy on a night time, luckily we were on the 16th floor so noise wasn't too bad for us. There is cheap drink to be found in the resort but we didn't find the food in the restaurants to be that cheap, and we were not over impressed with the standard of food on offer.
A word of warning, do not go onto the beach on your own after dark, one of our crowd ended up on her own on the beach late at night and was attacked by an ageing gypsy looking woman who punched her in her stomach and her face and robbed her of all her belongings. We were told the next day to stay away from the beach after dark as there are no cameras covering this area. Fortunately this happened on our last night so didn't spoil our holiday, but was a rush to get report done with the police for insurance purposes, before departing to the airport.
Overall it was an experience but don't know if we would go back again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Ianscrimper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Laguna Park Hotel
Laguna Park Hotel
#12 of 220 in Sunny Beach
1,409 reviews
4.6 mi away
Platinum Casino & Hotel
Platinum Casino & Hotel
#69 of 220 in Sunny Beach
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
MPM Kalina Garden
MPM Kalina Garden
#23 of 220 in Sunny Beach
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alba Hotel
Alba Hotel
#70 of 220 in Sunny Beach
212 reviews
1.2 mi away
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
#2 of 220 in Sunny Beach
1,378 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hrizantema
Hotel Hrizantema
#78 of 220 in Sunny Beach
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuban

Property: Kuban
Address: Nessebar str | Sunny Beach Resort, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria (Formerly Kuban Hotel)
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Sunny Beach
#55 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kuban 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Kuban Resort and Aquapark", the landmark at Sunny Beach, is situated in the very center of the resort on one of the main resort promenades. The hotel is the perfect choice for those who wish to discover and reveal the real character of the resort edging with the best beach (only 100m away) on Black Sea coast. A few steps from the hotel, you can enjoy range of bars, restaurants and clubs or just explore the shopping centers around. "Kuban Resort and Aquapark" offers excellent dining facilities including a main restaurant, lobby bar, poolside bar and snack bar, where you can sample some typical Bulgarian cuisine. Moreover, a stunning waterpark, comprising of slides and three connected swimming pools and a game center, where you and your children could find plenty of entertainment that will enhance your experience to have an incredible holiday. Lastly but not least for your pleasant stay the hotel offers a fitness centre and sauna to relax. At your service is Casino Kuban, open 24 hours, where wide ranges of live games as well as slot with the newest and most sensational games are available. Each guest at "Kuban Resort and Aquapark" is delivered with the best, personalized service from our professional staff. Every member of our attentive team will make you feel comfortable and satisfied at any moment during your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kuban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuban Hotel Sunny Beach
Kuban Bulgaria/Sunny Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing