We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
smartline Meridian Hotel
Ranked #65 of 222 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We have just returned from our 5th visit to this hotel and again had a fantastic holiday! Yes the lifts are crap and the food isn't british but if thses are the things that ruin your holiday then i feel for you! Breakfast is ok but not full english (if you want this the corner pub is great), we only went half board so didnt have lunch but it looked fine and speaking to other people i heard no complaints, dinner was hit and miss but when they get it right they get it right! (remember if you want english food stay in england!). Rooms as always were cleaned daily by friendly staff, showers do leak but you just have to put a towel down and be careful. On a whole i found all the staff friendly and will respond to you based on how you speak to them ( thier first language isn't english but it doesnt mean they are deaf! no need to shout at them to get your point across).

The corner pub is fantastic whether you have kids or not. Staff are great and will make you feel special. The food is good and entertainmant is great, with James and Daz making a great night out for all.

In short the bulgairans love kids and are great with them, food isn't english but still good, lifts are crap but staff are friendly and helpful, this is your holiday and you make it what it is. Hope you enjoy it as much as we do and were booking again for next year.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Grace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (660)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 660 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2012

This was certainly a different experience to holidays I have had before, but I loved it. I stayed bed and breakfast, and I would recommend that breakfast is bought elsewhere as it was mediocre in the hotel to say the least. The good thing is that everything is so cheap that it is no hardship to get your breakfast at one of the numerous restaurants nearby. I loved the sign outside one establishment saying they served 'real HP sauce bought from British ASDA'. I got my breakfast at the adjacent 'corner bar' and was served black pudding with it every morning. The hotel itself was clean and impressive to look at, but didn't live up to it's modern appearance. The lifts were an interesting experience, and if you are able bodied I would recommend you take the stairs. I did see people having to crawl out of the lifts as they were stuck between floors.
I was awoken by security at 2.30am one morning to be told that my room was on fire. I assured him it wasn't and after he came in and took several deep sniffs of the air, he agreed that it wasn't and said that the fire alarm panel at the front desk must be dodgy.
The staff were actually very pleasant, helpful and very attractive, which is always a bonus.
The resort itself was brilliant. I loved the refreshing lack of health and safety. One evening, after several drinks, I was able to fire a loaded weapon at a target, in the middle of a busy thoroughfare. No bystanders were hurt, and I loved the way the women running the stand just ducked under the rifles whilst they were being fired, in order to serve other customers.
I fully intend to go back as soon as possible, and I would stay in the same hotel.
In my view, it was all part of the charm of staying somewhere a bit different, and nothing was so bad that it would put me off, I really did love it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gavin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Just back from a week at the Meridian b & b.
I'd like to address some of the issues raised by other here.

Lifts - yes there is a bit of waiting. But sure you wait in hotels at home too. If you are on the bottom few floors, use the stairs going down.

Rooms - small but comfortable. Bathroom was grand, free air con was great. Balcony great to dry towels after a day outside.

Food - you are in Bulgaria, not at home!! Most of the guests seem to be from Russia, Germany, Holland or elsewhere. Expect different foods. We only had breakfast in the hotel, but I never left hungry. Fruit, eggs, bacon, sausages, crepes, salads, coffee, juices all included. plenty of tables, with views out over the whole resort. Go up early (before 9am) and the place is deserted.

Our loungers were included in the price and the fella who runs the pool deck was very friendly, kept the place clean but it is very hard to stop people being rde and obnoxious.
My advice, if not all inclusive, is to buy beer in the local shop and drink it pool side. They really don't mind once you're not littering the place or causing hassle.

Location - superb. 5 minutes walk to the beautiful beach. 2 loungers and parasol costs 24 lev for the day (€12). Loads of space around the loungers. No hawkers on the beach trying to seell you stuff. Loverly safe water with lifeguards on duty.

Local food. Portion sizes can be miserable - that Mexican place across the road was the worst. The Corner Pub serves ok food. The Harp put on a good enough meal. Local beer is only €2.50 a pint. Most pubs have happy hours - buy one cocktail, get one free. However, I suspect the alcoholic content of them isn't the highest!

There are very lively pubs and clubs down along the beach prom, loads of rides and attractions for families and kids.

It was 35 degrees.

I'd go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank GAA_obsessed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We have arrived back this week after 2 weeks all inclusive in the meridian. I felt the need to write a review as we cringed with anxiety before going after reading some reviews on here!

let me tie up a few concerns we had

1. All inclusive includes all meals,drinks,Ice cream and sun loungers at no further cost. There is always a bar for inclusive drinks open 11am-11pm. The lower bar is open 11am-6pm and serves lunch 12.30-3pm and is 10metres from the pool, the upper bar then opens top floor upstairs at the restaurant from 6-11pm - drinks include coke,diet coke, fanta,sprite,wine and all spirits ( measures as big as you wish!)- only bad bit was the beer was 2% which i suppose if you drink it all day by the pool you are being saved from a hangover!

2. Lifts, yes there are 4 lifts which at peak time (dinner time) you can be waiting 5 mins to catch one, but hell I’m sure most hotels have the same issue as there are a large number of high rise hotels in the district.

3. Rooms and hotel are very clean, always friendly maids about and the restaurant staff are extremely hardworking and efficient. Air con was free and we had no issues with it. Staff are trustworthy I left money, passports, jewellery etc openly in view in the room and never had an issue.

4. (At no fault of the hotel) there are some very bad mannered foreign guests that need to learn manners and techniques on how to queue! always stock piling chips and ice cream, had to stand behind a German child filling a pint cup of ice cream! Don’t be afraid to put them in their place - we embarrassed a fair few on the holiday for how they behaved.

5. Location was great for us, right at one end of sunny beach away from most loud night clubs and 10 minutes walk to the beach, it was a good spot as we had a 1.5yr old with us.

6. Food - yes there are some peculiar dishes available (‘pig oddiment risotto’ was one) the food was generally ok - always something you could pick to eat whether it was chicken or lasagne etc. You can eat as much as you wish so its not all bad. Meals are good value in the local restaurants (mains around 12-15levs 6£) so if we were to go again I would weigh up the cost of AI each day against eating out but as we got a good deal on AI and wanted to not have to worry about money it was good for us.

To sum it up I thought the hotel was better than I expected, I would rate it 3* instead of 4* and I wouldn’t hesitate to come back as I’m sure picking another safe bet hotel in Bulgaria could be very difficult.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cjvbrowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Came back last Sat 21/07/12 after a fortnight at this hotel. I dont bother about cracks on tiles etc etc, but I must admit this hotel, although clean is just not worth the money.
Our room was at the back of the hotel so were looking over other pools our air con did not work and, even after complaining twice and having workmen just walk into room at 8 in the morning the room was stiffling hot. As my boyfriend has asthma this was not good. Not only that your room key worked the aircon so when you went out the electric went off. (tesco clubcard came in useful here just make sure maid has been before using it)
The rooms were cleaned everyday, clean towels every day and the staff were very friendly even with the security being tight walking round with guards with guns did make you feel secure after the suicide bomber on the wednesday at the airport.
Now being British I was disgusted by the other guests from other countries at the restaurant, pushing in, piling their plates full of everything with no regard to other guests. The food was ok but on one night both my boyfriend and myself were extremely ill after having a mixed meat soup and did eat out after this.
The lifts are an absolute joke. Four lifts for an 11 floor hotel which hold a maximum of four people at a time, when they worked!!! Somewhere else I found other europeans extremely rude and not caring whether you had been waiting longer.
As for Sunny Beach I would go back in a flash.
Heads up to the Mexico bar across from the hotel the people were lovely all the time we were there unlike a lot of the other bar/restaurants that as soon as they had your custom a couple of times you were ignored i.e the Harp and the monotony of the same guitarist every night playin the same set (good once but once is enough)
We only went to Flower Street once as we seemed to have went in 2 of the hottest weeks in history and never went at night as that isnt really our scene.
All in all we had a great time but next time would go self catering as it is so cheap and only for 7 days.
Oh and if you do stay at the Meridian the kebab shop outside it does THE best chicken kebabs, say hi to Taho from Prada for me and let me know if anyone actually uses the phone in the toilet ??????
Oh and another thing if you are going with kids there is a free extreme porn channel on the tv after a certain time of night be warned......my boyfriends kebab went everywhere lol
Have fun x

Room Tip: rooms at back of hotel get the sun at night and the air con is very poor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ruthmotherwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We have just got back from an amazing holiday at the Meridian. We also stayed there for a week last June and loved it so much we decided to go back for 2 weeks this year.

We were half board and have no complaints. There's a wide range of things to have for breakfast. Yes they serve salad as I have seen some people write but they also serve pancakes, omlettes, cereal, fruit, yogurt, bacon, sausages, tomatoes, fried and scrambled eggs. If you can't find anything to eat then I would say its your problem and not theirs. I agree they could do with another toaster as some peoples manners leave a lot to be desired for when it comes to queuing and I did take my own tea bags this time as i didn't like theirs last year. However, I think that's just my personal taste as everybody else seemed to be drinking it. We only ate in the restaurant once in the evening and the food was fine. We just decided to eat out the rest of the time as it was so cheap and we enjoyed going out.

There is a 5 lev charge per sun lounger per day but I think this is a great idea and should be widely introduced. You don't have to get up a 6am to make sure you can get one and if you want to out in the morning you know when you come back there will be available loungers as idiots haven't left their towels on them all day while visiting the beach "just in case" they want to come back.

Rooms were cleaned EVERY day, we had fresh towels EVERY day and the rooms were a nice size.

The lifts were a bit rubbish and unreliable but having to walk up a few flights of stairs didn't ruin my holiday.

Reception staff were a bit miserable but the hospitality elsewhere in the hotel (especially the pool man) and the locals far outweighed them.

We no doubt return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Four of us stayed here in early June for 10 days
WE booked it because it was central to where we wanted to be in the sresort and it was at a really goo value price
We could have been put off by some of the reviews on Trip Advisor, but as most hotels had good and bad reviews we took a chance and were not dissappointed in any way
The reception staff on arrival were very pleasant and helpful and processed our passports etc very quickly - we then went to our rooms and were very pleasently surprised at the size and facilities we had
The rooms were very spacious with good views from the balconies - the beds were large with nice clean bedding and the bathrooms were also very large and very clean
The rooms were cleaned daily and we were also given fresh towels daily and the bedding was changed every couple of days
The restaurant on the top floor had great views from the surrounding terraces
We only booked room and breakfast which we ate in the hotel every day as it was so good - a really great choice for everyone
Ceareals and fresh / preserved fruits, yoghurt etc - a counter with cold meats and cheeses - another with salads - one with scrambled eggs / fried eggs - a hotplate with bacon, sausages , mushrooms , tomatoes and a guy cooking omlettes and fresh pancakes - add to this fruit juices - tea - coffees, bread rools , toasts etc it was great
The waiting staff were super efficient and friendly, so much that if you left you plate for a second they were there to clear it away
All in all this is a super hotel and I fail to see why it gets any adverse reviews at all - maybe it's just the Britsih who are not too used to foreign hotels and foreign food

Room Tip: we booked a superior class doulble room which was only a couple of £££'s more than a standard ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevincat99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Regatta Palace
Hotel Regatta Palace
#158 of 222 in Sunny Beach
118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trakia Garden Hotel
Trakia Garden Hotel
#13 of 222 in Sunny Beach
291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Planeta
Hotel Planeta
#138 of 222 in Sunny Beach
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Balaton Hotel
Balaton Hotel
#162 of 222 in Sunny Beach
66 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kuban
Kuban
#127 of 222 in Sunny Beach
392 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sea Breeze
Hotel Sea Breeze
#93 of 222 in Sunny Beach
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to smartline Meridian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about smartline Meridian Hotel

Address: Sunny Beach, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range: £34 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — smartline Meridian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
smartline Meridian is a nice and modernly designed hotel located a stone's throw from the long fine sandy Sunny Beach. The hotel is perfect for those who want to stay close to the beach but not want miss out on the nightlife. If you want an extra convenient holiday, you can add All Inclusive to your booking. smartline Meridian feature a pool area with a pool bar, and the hotel's main restaurant offers breath-taking views of Sunny Beach. Lively nightlife and numerous restaurants and shops is awaiting around the corner from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your smartline Meridian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridian Hotel Sunny Beach
Smartline Meridian Hotel Bulgaria/Sunny Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing