We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not bad for a budget hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pomorie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pomorie Hotel
Ranked #196 of 219 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“not bad for a budget hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

There was 6 in our party,4 adults and 2 kids aged 6 and 4 both girls,first let me say that this is a budget hotel not a 4 or 5 star, yes the food is not great but the kids always found something to eat, the adults on the otherhand were harder to please but its so cheap to dine out that there is no problem. Breakfast was the best meal in this hotel. The rooms were clean and the towels and linen were changed at least 3 times a week. the staff were helpful and tried in everyway to help you, we found that if you were polite to them they were polite back, the girls loved the kids club which was on everyday except thursday the entertainment team worked long hours but always seem to have a smile on there face. The pool bar is not all inclusive and there is a short walk from the pool to the bar but that is not a bad thing. there is only 2 toilets in the lobby which get well used and sometimes there is a queue, The pool is large but you need to get down early to get the sunbeds. Two of us had been to Bulgaria before and this was our third trip having stayed in a 4 and 3 star hotel and the food was much the same but as said before it is cheap to dine out. the weather was great between 29 - 31 degrees cent all the way through our two weeks stay in the first 2 weeks of sept Yes would go back to Bulgaria but perhaps not to this hotel as we like to try others, but if you have kids this hotel is great with them

Room Tip: just ask for a quiet room if available they will move you
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clive e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    149
    235
    164
    381
See reviews for
344
332
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Booking this hotel last minute and quite cheap we weren't expecting it to be the Ritz but we were expecting a bit better than it was. We got to the hotel at around 2 in the morning so was tired and our first impressions were okay.

Room was on the front as was facing the beach but the first thing we noticed was the flashing promoting board outside which was very bright and distracting even through the curtains!

Starting with the worst thing would have to be the food. Being a fussy eater did not particularly help but my partner is normally up for any food and even he did not eat. Every day was the same food. Breakfast was normally eggs, toast, beans, tea coffee etc but this depends on the time you get there. Food normally cold and not presented well. We ate breakfast there once so cannot comment to much. Lunch time and tea time was about the same, food cold, pasta rice chips bread was all I ate every day from the restaurant. Never enough salt for all of the tables. Partner went for the sausage one day which was raw! Dead flies sometimes in the bread. I mean it wasn't inedible but I was sick a few times after eating the food. Ate in the hotel about 4 times over the week luckily food was cheap and nice to eat outside of the hotel but paying all inclusive you expect all inclusive!

Following from all inclusive only 2 places where you could get all inclusive drinks from. 1 being the restaurant during the food times, and the other being the reception area. Considering the hotel is all inclusive the bar around the pool and bar in front of hotel you had to pay for which we found very misleading as in the brochure it states 'pool bar' but not that you have to pay extra for. The reception bar got very busy at times. Snacks available at 10.30 which included ice cream and some pancake type thing, never looked very nice.

The staff.... where do I start. The maids were fantastic always very friendly despite the fact they did not speak English. The bar staff did work long hours and were always friendly. The kitchen staff however and the restaurant staff were very rude and not helpful. Asked for some more coffee cups one day and shrugged and walked away moaning, surely its their job?! The staff were rude to me one day and were laughing behind my back pointing and laughing for no reason at all. If the hotel is going to work then their needs to be better training and new staff! The reception staff were also rude, the shower and television broke in our room, they were very unhelpful and rude to us for asking for them to be fixed. One day the reception staff were arguing with a customer and shouting "[--] off" to them which clearly is not very professional in front of every one else!

Before we went we were reading the reviews and thought " a holiday is what you make of it " we just believed some people like to moan about everything, but really after coming back we have realised this hotel is not good at all. However the resort is lovely and the beach is fantastic, would not advise to come with young children just because the resort is lively and has strip clubs and doesn't seem to have that much entertainment going on. Was not sure if this was because it was near to the end of the season or not but there was never entertainment at night unless you left the hotel. Lots of trips to do we went to a Turkish bath which was lovely and cost around 70 lev so not too expensive for what you get. The pool at the hotel was lovely but very hard to get a sunbed unless you put your towel on. We found it easier to go the beach where their was plenty of room.

Would most likely go the resort again but defiantly not the hotel unless it got took over new staff better food and better everything really!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatyRebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sunny Beach hotels

Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We travelled as a family of 3 and on reading the reviews i must say we were not looking forward to it. We were allocated a room at the front of the hotel which was really spacious and cleaned every day by the maids. The front of the hotel can be quite noisey at night but we were told that reception had no problems moving you if you wished but we closed the balcony doors and it wasn,t a problem for us. We ate at the restaurant every morning for breakfast which was fine eggs, bacon, toast, cereal etc however, we did try the evening meals but they weren,t to our taste and decided to eat out which was extremely cheap. The food is certainly not inedible as some of the previous reviews have stated. The all inclusive from 10:00 am consisted of 4 -5 buffet trays which having experienced different all inclusive holidays before just didn,t really cater properly for the amount of guests. There is a small stall by the pool which serves baked potatoes, hot dogs, pancakes etc but you do have to pay for that. We had a baked potato most days and they were delicious. We managed to get a sunbed by the pool every morning putting the towels down around 7am. The pool area is a nice place to spend the day but be aware that the pool bar is under separate management and you do have to pay for drinks and you are not allowed to sit in that area unless you buy from them. There is only one toilet in the main reception which is where you need to go if you are sitting by the pool and this can get busy. There are two all inclusive bars however only one was open during the day and this could become quite congested. You are only allowed 2 drinks at a time and as we were a party of 3 on one occasion I was only given 2 drinks and told to get to the end of the queue to wait for the 3rd one which I thought was really petty. This wasn,t always the case there was a lovely guy called Vasil who was always gave a smile and was pleasant. We didn,t experience the night entertainment in the hotel or heard any comments so can,t review this. We got a really cheap deal with Balkan Holidays at £330 for the week each so therefore didn,t expect too much and I must say you get what you pay for. We won,t be returning to Sunny Beach as I didn,t feel it was family orientated with lots of sex shops, night clubs and a lap dancing club right outside the hotel. This is not to say its not for everyone just go with an open mind.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool quieter than at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

im doing this review on behalf of my mum and dad they are there now and she has just rang me up telling me how bad the hotel is the food has made them both ill my parents go on cheap holidays at least 8 times a year so they know what to expect but this hotel has brought my mum to tears.i have never heard my mum moan about a hotel in my life she is very easy going thats how bad it is its dirty staff are rude rooms are getting broken into. people are getting mugged it has put my parents off bulgaria has its the first time thay have been there.but there are lots good hotels around there and its a nice location please dont go to this hotel find some where else

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wayne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Just returned on 8/09/13. Food was revolting - certainly the worst I have ever been offered anywhere. The restaurant is more in keeping with a works canteen. Cracked and / or chipped crockery which was sometimes not washed properly. At breakfast on our first day we had to wait for coffee cups which when they eventually arrived had drip stains on the outside and brown rings on the inside which indicates to me a distinct lack of hygeine in the kitchen. Drinks were served in plastic containers which is ideal for the pool areas but certainly not for the inside hotel bars. Complaints to the tour operator (Balkan holidays) were met with disdain. The staff we met were all very friendly and rooms were cleaned regularly. Hotel is in a great location but they will have to up the ante on the food being offered. Anyone choosing to go here should steer clear of the all inclusive option as apart from the disgusting food there was no beer on 2 of our 7 days. Whilst this was true for the 2 all inclusive bars there was plenty if we chose to pay at any of the other bars which I think is a bit of a con.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are supposed to be quieter. We were in rooms facing the beach which were not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Have just come back from 1 week at this hotel and would never ever return, the hotel is unclean and in a desperate situation. The food is the worst I have ever tasted, and the hotel is definitely not all inclusive as stated all the drinks are watered down and flat. The week before we got there, there were 4 muggings, whilst we there, there was 2 muggings and a fight. the resort of Sunny Beach is a disgrace it looks like no one has ever bothered to clean up. The first room they gave us was smelly, stained carpet and when you pull the sheet back the mattress was covered in blood and dead bugs refused to stay there and sat up in reception all night until the reps came in they wanted £220 per person to move us to a different hotel, then they gave us another room instead which wasn't too bad, however they refuse to change the bedsheets for the duration of your stay. PLEASE PLEASE DO NOT EVER GO THERE, wouldn't wish this on me mother in law never mind the enemies.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracey1327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Well we have just came back from our 2 week stay at the pomorie and our experience was very good, there are issues with the food because it is the same things everyday and most of it wasn't very nice but you can eat out cheaply. The staff at the hotel were very nice and friendly unlike some of the guest's that were nothing but rude and cheeky most of the time. The room was clean and tidy and the maids were very good, the rooms were very hot but u could hire a fan.
The animation team were excellent and my 2 girls really enjoyed the kids club, the kiddie disco at night was good fun for them as was the evening entertainment.
People have said that the pool bar should be all inclusive but i disagree as you could imagine the state the pool would get into, The pool itself was really clean but u do have to get up early to put towels down as some people leave them out all night and we even seen people going down about 10pm to put towels down, the lifeguard well what can i say hes a joke most days he was at the bar drinking or he was lying on a sun lounger so god help anyone that got into difficulty in the pool. all that said we had a great holiday and met some really nice people would defo go back..

Room Tip: Our room was at the back facing the fenix hotel as we had asked for quiet rooms due to the kids..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claire29g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunny Beach
8.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Pomorie
Grand Hotel Pomorie
#1 of 13 in Pomorie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Sunset
Hotel Sunset
#170 of 219 in Sunny Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.7 mi away
Diamond Hotel
Diamond Hotel
#124 of 219 in Sunny Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Calypso
Hotel Calypso
#118 of 219 in Sunny Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.9 mi away
Perla Hotel
Perla Hotel
#148 of 219 in Sunny Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park-Hotel Continental
Park-Hotel Continental
#114 of 219 in Sunny Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pomorie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pomorie Hotel

Property: Pomorie Hotel
Address: Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 219 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pomorie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 310
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Pomorie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pomorie Hotel Sunny Beach
Pomorie Hotel Bulgaria/Sunny Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing