We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”
Review of Pomorie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pomorie Hotel
Ranked #195 of 221 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Birkenshaw, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This hotel isn't great but it wasn't quite as bad as we were expecting. First the bad points.....the food really is dire, the menu only changed from a lunch menu to a tea one, the same food for lunch EVERY day and then the same food at tea time but this meal went on a 2 day rota I.e it was the same every other day! The drinks were not watered down but the beer is probably equivalent to Asda smart price lager, you could drink all day and stay sober!. The cleaner only ever straightened our pillows, we had the same sheets for 2 weeks ( pink nail varnish on them, that's how we could tell) our towels were changed only 3 times and when we asked for clean ones they brought us them....with poo on! Clean? Really? Our drains in the toilet were sending stagnant water all over the floor which we kept asking the cleaner to sort, they poured disinfectant down ONCE but it needed mopping every day which they didn't do ( I put a piece of toilet paper on the floor in view of everyone on day 3, it was still there on day 14 when we came home! This isn't the hotels fault though, it's the lazy, miserable cleaners who don't even know how to smile, if you say hello they look at you in disgust! It's the first time I've ever been away and not left a tip! The rooms are very very hot too due to the lack of air conditioning so you do need a fan.Now the good points.....reception staff were very friendly and helpful...my mum asked to be moved rooms twice (only to be closer to our room) both times they did this without a fuss and were very nice about it. The guys at the all inclusive bars were very friendly and polite. The security are very strict and do not stand for any nonsense, the patrol the corridors day and night and stop any trouble immediately, if you leave your door open while you are in your room, they knock and ask you to keep it closed. We felt very safe. Now for the thieving.....we did hear of one or two break ins but we kept all our things in safety deposit boxes, you have your own key but also need a master key from reception to get in them, they are situated right at the side of reception so your belongings are totally safe. The pool is lovely and we never had a problem getting loungers (we were a family of 16). I would probably stay here again and go all inclusive because the price difference isn't that great from self catering so it's worth it if you have kids who want pop and ice cream all the time!

Room Tip: We had a pool view apartment which was quite loud fun till midnight and then again from 7.30am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    149
    235
    165
    382
See reviews for
344
334
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

For the money, Pomorie is good value. Rooms are on the smaller side. I wouldn't say too small but smaller than other hotels I have visited. The space between the end of bed and the dressing table chair is very narrow so if someone was sitting at dressing table, another person couldn't pass. In other words, the chair blocks the passageway. There is a small fridge which is handy for storing and keeping drinks chilled. The veranda is roomy though and has two plastic chairs to sit on, a table would have been nice though.
The bed is very spacious and comfortable and sheets clean and neatly folded by maid each day. The main problem with room was lack of airconditioning, the heat was unbearable, especially for sleeping in. I resorted to sleeping with a wet towel over me to stay cool. We hardly use the room all day, only to get dressed and showered but it was unpleasantly hot.
The pool bar which our room overlooked blasted out music from 8am to midnight so expect to have a wake-up call every morning! Breakfast is only on until 10 so the wakeup call was handy for us, plus I was still able to sleep til 9 despite music.
There wasn't a bath or hairdryer but it was very cheap so I guess that is why.
Breakfast was fairly basic. I enjoyed the toast, scrambled eggs and beans but didn't enjoy the cereals or yoghurt, perhaps just not used to the Bulgarian varieties on offer. Also there were unusual choices of Cucumber, pasta, feta cheese and olives. Maybe traditional Bulgarian breakfast? Tea, coffee a day juices available. Dining room looked clean and Lady that greets you when you enter the dining room "Maria" is so welcoming and cheery. The dining room wasn't air conditioned either so that affected my appetite and affected the length of time I lingered there.
Benny from the Entertainment team was excellent. She was very enthusiastic and went around the pool every day enthuising guests to take part in activities, there were darts, water polo, volleyball and my favourite 'Morning Gym' which was a small stretching and toning session to music that involved some dance.
The reps Boris and Steve were always at hand to offer advice and information. Steve gave a great talk the first morning of our holiday to tell us about the resort and excursions. It was very interesting and helpful and his style of presenting was clear and pleasant.. English language also fluent.
The hotel couldn't be closer to beach, u can practically reach out and touch the sand. The wee train also stops outside the hotel and takes you to "the strip" for 3 lev one way. It comes every 10 minutes. There is an erotic show lounge directly across from the hotel so this may bother more prudish guests but these shows and shops are all over Sunny Beach. There is lots of restaurants, bars, food stalls etc around hotel so plenty going on, as well as a ferris wheel directly across the road. The restaurants and bars are more family orientated around the hotel than nearer the strip.
The pool is excellent. A great size for swimmers and splashers alike. The partly emerged pool bar seats in the water are a great feature and a feature you'd be more likely to see in a higher rated hotel. It is lovely to be able to swim to the bar for a drink and keep cool with the bottom part of your body in the water while you have a drink. The drinks are very reasonable.The draft beer is very pleasant too. The cocktails were far too strong for my liking. And it is two for one on all Cocktails all day, but all or most bars have this same promo on their Cocktails.
Overall a good value hotel and a great Base for all of Sunny Beachs' attractions especially the beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rusticrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This Hotel should be knocked down to a 1 star! the food was diabolical,we only got one good nights sleep the full week we were there due to the lunatics slammimg banging and fighting!
The receptionist was a waste of time.The only good thing i can say about this Hotel is that our room was cleaned every day and we met some lovely people .Personally i wouldnt recommend the Pomorie to any of my friends or family,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Liza P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sunny Beach hotels

newcastle upon tyne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

NOT A FAMILY HOTEL SO DONT STAY IF YOU HAVE KIDS AND WANT TO SLEEP AT NIGHT

jst got back on Friday from a weeks all incl
hotel was ok during day very loud at night receptionist was a monster ( no help at all)
all inclusive was a waste of money coz the food looks like piss water and its the same everyday

nice and cheap place to stay but no air con makes it hard to sleep at night drinks what are included will not get you drunk coz you get less than a 2 ml shot of vodka or rum or gin but if your Russian you get a 45ml shot (lots of Russians stay here )

barman are miserable unless you tip them then they become your best pal!!
a lot of poolside robberies reported when we were there but we never lost nothing


good point about hotel

it has a bed and a toilet and a door that locks (good points done)


they have a real life walt Disney character working in reception called Quasimodo
if you still end up going here you will see who I mean????

to sum up


if you want a cheap holiday to a lovely part of Bulgaria and you can put up with loud 18-25yr olds then stay here BUT IF YOU WANT A FAMILY HOLIDAY go somewhere else

REMEMBER !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
NO air con
NO Wi-Fi
NO sleep
NO alcohol in drinks
NO nice staff



apart from that enjoy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: if you are staying here ask to be in main building high up !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank miller20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darlaston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Just had a week in the pomorie. From the 6-to the 13 July 14 We only had room only so I can't comment on the food. Our room was clean and tidy little cupboard space a fridge not very big and the sheets were changed regularly towels every day. But there was no air-conditioning and it got very hot and the room held the heat .We rented a fan from there supermarket witch did help .We got a cheap deal so for what we paid we can't complain .I would recommend to any one who want's a quieter holiday not to go in July or August .This is teenagers on the booze time. And there were hundreds of them although we never had any problems with them there were a few who could not put a sentence together without the F.B. or C. Words .The resort is vast and quite cheap .There are loads of restaurants to eat in .You are spoilt for choice. The hotel as seen better days .But like I said for what we paid we can't complain also there supermarket is a bit of a rip-off. There tins of bear And other items are twice the price than other supermarkets. If you go room only and want a cup of tea or coffee in the morning take a travel kettle .A coffee at the pool bar is about £ 1.50 and not that good. In some bars you can get a pint for 40p but on average it's about a £1.Don't expect to much from this hotel and you will not be disappointed . And now for the finally. Yes I would go back to this hotel .Have fun if you do go to sunny beach visit a little place called nessybar it is beautiful You can get there by water taxi or noddy train or buss it's not far. Have a great time.

Room Tip: The rooms over looking the pool get the sun and get very hot .The rooms at the front get the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terryfender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Me and my partner just returned yesterday from this hotel never stayed in a hotel so bad in all my trips abroad, we booked a double room on arrival there were two single beds so we had to change the room ourselfs! the receptionist with short red hair was so rude and called me a liar, we had an indecent involving the cleaners taking our silver electric key out off the slot in the room when i asked the cleaner if she had taken it my mistake she didnt understand so i went to speak to reception i was the told to go with the porter would didnt speak any english and made to feel very uncomfortable we went up and down the stairs atleast 5 times to get this sorted then the receptionist had the cheek to say i must off lost it because a cleaner had not been in our room yet, well i must off been seeing things because when we returned to the room the cleaner was in there so we waited on our balcony till she had finished i was told i would have to pay 50LV for a new electric key or have no electric key i did not pay this and ordered to speak to a manager who gave me a replacement free of charge the next day on returning to our room the 'lost' key was under our door! DO NOT EAT at this hotel it is vial gave us both upset stomachs we ate out for the rest of our holiday restaurants are lovely especially Billy's Bistro just 5 minutes down the road, rooms at night are like saunas so didnt sleep very well no air con ended up paying 5lv per night for a fan. we asked complained about the rooms opposite us a couple off times but nothing was done about it, despite there becoming posters about a strict no noise policy after midnight. we where woken around 2.30-3.00am everyday by people shouting screaming kicking doors! we where told there was entertainment every night at 9.30pm but there never was!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I didn't expect much as I only paid £400 each for a week all inclusive, pool bar was the best part but it wasn't included in the price, pool was absolutely freezing as it was heated by the sun but we could both get a lounger.
The hotel food was vile and we ended up eating out everyday and there wasn't a wide selection of drinks available at the inclusive bar.
Room was cheap and cheerful and clean only problem was we were on the top floor and they shut the lifts as it was the end of the season so we had to drag our cases down all the stairs, not ideal , then again I wasn't expecting much for what I paid. I would visit Bulgaria again but just not in this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emo999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunny Beach
9.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Pomorie
Grand Hotel Pomorie
#1 of 14 in Pomorie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.7 mi away
Diamond Hotel
Diamond Hotel
#70 of 221 in Sunny Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park-Hotel Continental
Park-Hotel Continental
#115 of 221 in Sunny Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bohemi Hotel
Bohemi Hotel
#158 of 221 in Sunny Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fenix Hotel
Fenix Hotel
#110 of 221 in Sunny Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.5 mi away
MPM Kalina Garden
MPM Kalina Garden
#22 of 221 in Sunny Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pomorie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pomorie Hotel

Property: Pomorie Hotel
Address: Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 221 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pomorie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 310
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pomorie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pomorie Hotel Sunny Beach
Pomorie Hotel Bulgaria/Sunny Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing