We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills at hotel rila”
Review of Rila Hotel

Rila Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rila Hotel
Ranked #186 of 222 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Hotel is basic and quite tired overall when compared to others but you get what you pay for. Staff generally friendly and room cleaned daily. Made mistake of not going for hotel with air con. Heat was mid 20's at night and tricky leaving balcony door open as quite a lot of noise from pool bar music and revellers heading back to hotels late at night/ early morning. Nice pool which is shared with next door hotel and was able to get sun chairs every day so no bun fight for those. Beach is very short distance away and often had a swim in sea with kids then straight back to pool. Breakfast not that good and ended going to the Star Inn each day for breakfast. Oh, there is also an old looking funfair directly behind the hotel of around 8/9 different rides. This can be your view depending on your room. Resort is very busy and whilst Rila is about 20 mins from centre it is still quite busy and noisy at night.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

The Rila hotel is right next to sunny beach,Hotel is basic with no aircon,But staff friendly gave us a fan for room,No hairdryer you need to take your own.Rooms just like pictures online.Maid every day clean and basic.The location good would go back as clean B&B Also so cheap to eat out.Breakfast basic toast scrambled eggs,Jams cold meats cheese eg.

Room Tip: Pool View Good pictures of beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katrina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

The Rila hotel is basic but good enough for the price.
The bad thing is hotel management. As we arrived the manager didn't want to give our group the rooms although we paid and had vouchers with us, and she expecting to pay more, as I understood Bulgarian, and trying to double cross us, giving us double room instead apartment. At the and, after one hour everything was settled with our agency representative and hotel and our group, 15 of us, moved in our rooms.

But luckily, after the bad welcoming, everything concerning hotel was fine.
The rooms are big enough, cleaned daily with fresh towels. The pool is big and clean, and you can use sunbeds and umbrellas for free. The kids loved the pool. Breakfast is same every day but good, offering eggs, salami, chees, frankfurter, salads, beans fruits and cereals, coffee and toast.
The sea is really near just across the promenade, the weather was fine, but three last days of our vacation the sea was dirty from green algae, so we only used hotel pool.
By the way hotel Rila has the same pool as former Vithosa hotel (it is now Platinum casino hotel) and it was never too crowded.
The staff in the hotel is pleasant and English speaking.

The fast food on the street was not our favorite since it tasted similar. The food in the restaurants is better and not too expensive .
The prices on the beach shops of everything were twice and some time three times expensive than in some streets little bit further.
It was my first time in Sunny beach and third on Bulgaria coast and by my opinion this is not a place for families and kids, because it is too crowded and loud in the evening.
It is probably ideal for young people since there is lot of clubs at the beach and discothèques.

And at the end be aware that the exchange rate is not the same everywhere. We changed our money in the one that did not have the fee and before changing we checked how much money we will get…

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JelenaMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

My husband and myself have just returned from this holel after staying for 2 weeks. The location is ideal as it is almost on the beach. The hotel was clean inside but was very tired and in need of an upagrade on the outside. The breakfast area was very uneven underfoot and some of the staff tripped up. Our room was large and we were the only ones who had air conditioning. If that had not been there it would have been unbearable for hubby to sleep at night. The maid service was exceptional and our towels were changed daily if required which you don't even get in many of the 5* hotels we have been in. The maid even left the linen and towels in fancy shapes which was a nice touch. Now onto breakfast which I can only describe as disgusting and inadequate. The only thing hubby could eat all fortnight was egg,beans or toast. The scrambled egg was not mixed properly before cooking and it resembled a cross between boiled and scrambled so he had to pick the best bits out of it. None of the food was covered so was open to flies. I managed the cereal which was ok. The cold section was more for Europeans who like cold meat, cheese, salad,gerkins and the like at breakfast, NO THANKS! They need to cater for all guests. Breakfast was on til 10am but if you came down at half 9 and some of the food was finished then too bad, they were not prepared to make any more.
The staff were not all friendly and some did not even answer when we said 'hello'.
The pool started off very clean but by the middle of the 1st week everyone and their granny was using the pool either for their own photo shoot (their pool must have been rubbish) or coming off the beach covered in sand and using our pool to get clean before going back to their own hotel. Nothing was said to anyone although the lifeguard (hotel staff) just sat there watching. The pool was only half-heartedly cleaned using the net but he did not go round the whole pool. Only once did we see them cleaning the bottom of the pool but even then they missed most of it. This stopped a lot of guests, ourselves included, from going in the pool.
The lift was tempremental and was out of order 3 times during our stay including when we arrived and we were on the 5th floor so we had to carry our cases up the stairs. None of the staff offered to help. Beware if you have kids as there is NO internal door on the lift just a passing internal wall. As soon as you press the button for your floor the lift just starts moving very fast.
We would go back to Sunny Beach but certainly NOT to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room 53A thats the one with the air conditioning that we were in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FineDinerAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

my husband and i came back from holiday to bulgaria and stayed at hotel rila we both loved the hotel and were made very welcome everyone of the staff made our holiday as pleasent as they could .we are glad we tried this hotel as we been to bulgaria about 12 times now and this was our first time in this hotel we recomend it to everybody rooms were cleaned every day and we had fresh towels daily , we were treated with respect nothing was too much trouble and we booked bed and breakfast and there was a good selection of cereals and a hot breakfast all help yourself plus 2 toasters for making toast we look forward to going back next year 2 very satisfied guests we went 16 june till 23 of june 2012

Room Tip: we had a corner room it was large and sunny also we had 2 balconies so if it was too hot on one we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank bingosally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2008

Rila hotel is in excellent position. Best thing about it isthe staff - Reception were very helpful, friendly and efficient. Problems were sorted out immediately. Hotel is basic but clean. Would have liked at least a kettle in room! Breakfast OK but same every day. Swimming pool rather cold but lovely. Restaurants all very similar offering huge choice. We particularly liked Billy's and Brothers. Fat Cat a good laugh at night. Watch out for pickpockets and being short-changed in some places. The beach is fabulous. Nessebar worth a visit - you can walk it if you're fairly fit or take bus for 1 lev each way.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mgtrott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2008

Me and my boyfriend stayed at the Rila beach hotel for 1 week in June/July this year. The hotel is in an excellent location right in the centre of evertything and the beach is just across the road. The pool is lovely very big and cleaned every day with a nice little pool bar selling drinks and ice creams. The sunbeds are free unless you want a matress in which case it is 1lev for the day (about 90p!) There were always plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas while we were staying there and you dont have to get up in the middle of the night to secure 1 as only hotel guests can use the pool. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel but we heard reports from other guests that it wasnt very good, although I cannot comment. On arrival we were given a complimentary upgrade froma standard room to a superior room. We had plenty of room and a spacious balcony but the room was very basic. The room was cleaned everyday and the maids are very friendly. There are no self catering facilities i.e. plates or cutlery if you wanted to make a sandwich. However there was a small sort of kitchenette area which was a bit strange when you were not provided with even a kettle? The rooms are not air conditioned and get very hot if you have to go out and close the doors. You can rent a fan from the reception desk but we opted to sleep with the door open as we were on a high floor. However if you have young children it is quite noisy with the door open not really from the bars but just from the people on the promenade below in the restraunts, shops and at the childrens funfair. We rented a safe which was in the reception area so we wre not worried aout sleeping with the door open as all our valuable were locked away, I believe it is about 4Lev a day for the safe but well worth it in my opinion. The reception staff and porters are all friendly and do speak english. This was the 1st time we had been to Sunny beach and we would definatly go back. The beach is beautiful very clean and again plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas (about 12lev for 2 beds and a brolly). The sea was clean, clear and warmer than our pool! We were told before we went that the area was notorious for prostitiutes hanging around which worried me but we did not see anything like that and unusually for a tourist spot there were no time share people, people begging or people hassling you to buy whatever they are selling. Just a warning do not take fruit from the locals selling it in the street they will follow you and try to get you to buy it and you can get cheaper fresher fruit from the street stalls, if you walk by and say no thankyou they tend to stop asking. We found that everything was very cheap much more so than spain or greece. We ate out quite a lot and I would definatley reccomend carriby steak house restraunt. the restraunts there are a bit bizarre and sell everyting under 1 roof (steak, pizza, chinese, mexican, italian, idian!!) However carriby was really nice we ate there twice. they roast their chicken and pork over an open fire which is on display! Mamacitas mexiacn restraunt is nice if you like hot food, really big potions here aswell so skip the starter. The little stalls in the street selling freshly cooked pizza are lovely and also very cheap for a lunchtime snack. night life caters for all really. Wouldnt reccomend for a group of young girls or blokes as not particularly lively enough. ideal for young couples (like us) relaxed beach bars selling nice cockatails, lots of bars with bands and live music or more chilled out cafes selling cake coffee and cocktails. skip the english brekkie out here has not caught up with the costa del sol in terms of "Britishness" quite yet (although i think its getting there). All in all a nice cheap break for couples of any age really or families. Hotel basic but perfectly acceptable and clean as we personally do not spend much time at our hotel. Some of the other beach front hotels look far more impressive (lots of talk about the majestic and victoria palace) look gorgous from outside but cannot say what they are like inside. Did have some power cuts at our hotel which got quite annoying (3 in a week is quite a lot!) apart from that cannot grumble about hotel. Hope this helps

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank sheffield2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Royal Beach
Barcelo Royal Beach
#16 of 222 in Sunny Beach
1,082 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunny Bay Aparthotel
Sunny Bay Aparthotel
#70 of 167 in Sunny Beach
16 reviews
0.7 mi away
Family Hotel Romantic
Family Hotel Romantic
#36 of 222 in Sunny Beach
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday and Orchid Fort Garden
Holiday and Orchid Fort Garden
#47 of 222 in Sunny Beach
47 reviews
0.5 mi away
Iberostar Sunny Beach Resort
Iberostar Sunny Beach Resort
#6 of 222 in Sunny Beach
1,460 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Fort Beach Hotel
Premier Fort Beach Hotel
#1 of 222 in Sunny Beach
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rila Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rila Hotel

Address: Sunny Beach, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 222 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Price Range: £40 - £437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rila Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Rila Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rila Hotel Bulgaria/Sunny Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing