We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“really clean hotel, pool large, rooms basic, no air con, was a big let down.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Slavyanski Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Slavyanski Hotel
Ranked #144 of 219 Hotels in Sunny Beach
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
“really clean hotel, pool large, rooms basic, no air con, was a big let down.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2010

The hygiene in the hotel was second to none, immaculate in fact, however nights were unbearable without any air con! All the staff were really friendly, especially the bar man in the lobby bar, made us feel welcome from day 1. As a young couple it was a bit too distant from all the main nightlife, but right on the beach front, which, by the way, was lovely. The pool was of good clean condition & not too deep. Had to pay 5lev per day for sun loungers, yet the hotel next door, that shared the pool had theirs for free.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marieden1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    52
    33
    12
    20
See reviews for
45
36
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2010

Stayed in the Slavyanski in May for 10 days & would recomend to anybody.:)The staff where very friendly especially the bar man George he would do anything for you.
Would defo go back & will be staying @ the Slavyanski again

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2009

We had a group of 16 on a Twenties Holiday....Hotel was clean, staff very helpful/ friendly. Food was OK, prices were cheaper in supermarket for drinks than out at the pool bar. They could have had a little more entertainment at the pool. Overall very satisfied with everything really, next time I'll be booking a hotel closer to main strip of bars etc, not good working 15mins in high heels!!! Great nightlife!! Very hot!!! I will be returning for sure.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmzBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2009

Hotel Slavyanski
Sunny Beach Bulgaria
15th August 08

Hotel was good, very clean and in a quieter area in the North of the resort (we were in the 3* wing of the hotel). Barman Boris was miserable until we bought him a drink,(whiskey) he then became our best friend for the fortnight.
The promenade was very busy during the early evening, difficult to walk along due to golf carts, disco bikes, beggars, con men trying to get us to help donate money for sick children, they got abusive when we refused, people putting snakes around our necks and taking photos then demanding money, people handing out leaflets for every bar, restaurant and disco (we had thousands of these and it became tiresome). It should take 10 minutes to walk but it usually took us over half an hour.
It is easier to get to the centre of the resort on the little train which gets very busy and sometimes you can't get on it.
Most bars play loud dance music with young girls dancing on the bars to lure you in, it is entertaining once but not every night in the majority of bars. Most bars do 2 for 1 cocktails or have happy hours, drinks vary in price and are more expensive on the main prom, go off the main road to get a quieter and cheaper drink. The Fat Cat is a British themed pub, quiz night, premier football, but the toilets are for about 4 bars and there are long queues. Food is OK and reasonably priced but similar menus in all places.
Toilets in all bars and restaurants are manned and you have to pay to use them.
DON'T use the taxis, they tell you one price and then charge you double or more when you get to your destination. Use the local bus service on the main road which is very cheap and run a regular service to Nessabar and Bourgas, which are the only 2 places to visit.
Medical assistance is everywhere, very good but will give you more treatment than needed and some do not accept insurance, you have to claim it back when you get home. First one i visited at Poseiden hotel, for an acute ear infection was very good I had to visit him 4 times a day for 5 days as it was very bad ,cost 200 euros. Second one at Globus Hotel for mosquito bite allergy charged me the excess even though I had paid extra to waiver this fee. I visited this one 3 times a day for 6 days, very thorough but excessive, insurance paid bill but I received a threatening letter off them in Feb 09 demanding 140 euro or further action was to be taken, my insurance settled this but it was still frightening.
It was very hot there 42 degrees C the first week and down to mid 30's the second week.
I doubt we will visit this resort again, we had been in May/June 07 and it had declined immensley in a year, I can't imagine it getting better. I understand they are there to make money but I felt we were being ripped off whenever they got a chance

Helpful?
3 Thank jayo2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sunny Beach hotels

Aberdeen, Scotland
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2008

Just back from a 2 week stay at the Slavyanski hotel in Sunny beach. Not bad but certainly not fantastic either. Rooms are clean but no air con and so can get really hot at night. Was led to believe that the prices in Sunny Beach were lower than they actually were. Tend to get a lot of hassle when walking down the promenade but this could just be due to it coming to the end of season. Found a few people very rude and unhelpful, we got more smiles from the maids!!! Flight on way home was okay but would have been better if the air hostesses cracked a smile even once!! Would I go back? Not really.

  • Liked — Our room had a sea view
  • Disliked — No air con
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Nalsybabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2008

The hotel was pretty basic. in the new part, the rooms were of a good size and the air con was great and well needed.

the outside of the hotel (looking up from the pool) is in great need of several licks of paint and looks a bit poor & neglected compared to the other hotels in the area.

the locals are friendly, but the language barrier can cause some problems if (and when) you encounter it.

the guy who comes and collects the 5 lev for the sunbeds is a rude, arrogant person and he made be boycott the hotel facilities (poolside bar, shop & sunbeds) in favour of next doors (same pool, different colour sunbeds, friendlier staff.)

food tip: try to avoid the restaurants on the sea front. if they're not charging you excess amounts for poor quality food, they're serving you uncooked chicken and then trying to make you pay for it by pressuring you into paying by bringing over rude managers. A crafty and unfair practise is that if a customer does not pay for a meal, the waitress (who are on a VERY low wage & often work 12 hours + shifts) has to pay for the meal. this is particularly unfair as even if it's the kitchen staffs fault for not cooking the food properly, the waitress still has to pay for it. It's tantamount to emotional blackmail.

The one place i will recommend you eat is at a place called Djanny's Bistro. I cannot emphasise this enough. It is the best place to eat in the entire resort. the food is far superior to anything else you'll be subjected to and at a fraction of the cost.

2 starters, 2 (very big) main meals, 3 cokes, 1 amaretto & coke, and two of the nicest cappucinos you're ever likely to taste, all came to less than £18. i repeat, the food here is EXCELLENT.
It's that good, there's a permanent queue outside (around about 30 minutes to actually get IN), then around 40 minutes before you get your food, but it's well worth it. We ate there 4 times in 2 weeks and would of gone more had we not been lazy and bothered to walk down. it's also 24 hours.

Oh, and it's a bit out of the way, but ask any of the locals and they'll point you in the right direction (EVERYONE knows Djanny's).

To summarise;

Language barrier can cause a few minor problems
pool guy is a bit rude
hotel could do with a lick of paint.
avoid the restaurants on the sea front.
Eat at Djanny's *most important point*

Oh, and it's ram-packed with Germans & scandinavians all on bar crawls. There's only so many chorus's of 'Deutschland, Deutschland, Uber Alles' you can take before it gets annoying.

  • Liked — it had a roof
  • Disliked — the begging children outside the window. nice.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scienceworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2008

Just back from a two week stay in Sunny Beach, Stayed in the Hotel Slavyanski.

A few things I noted about this location:

1. MONEY - Not as cheap as many review sites say. However still very very reasonable (especially compared to the Euro). I spent £700 in the fortnight and that was eating out every night and doing quite a bit of shopping. Rough prices were £3 for a smirnoff icem we also paid over £3 for a bottle of corona, best to stick to non-imported stuff to keep the prices down.

2. FOOD - the food is very very poor. this is definately not a holiday for real foodies. Couldn't really find any traditional Bulgarian food and most food places offered the same menu (Bulgarians ideas of what westerners wanted to eat such as Burgers, pizza, fajitas etc - and not done very well at that). With the odd exception (Carribys bbq) the food was sub-standard. Often we saw chefs cooking while smoking egh! Both myself and friend had bad food poisoning for the second week but couldn't say where from. There is always a McD's and KFC! I did notice however that the pizza slices on sale in the street (around £1.50) were great, although left in the sun for ages uncovered. Feta cheese in Bulgaria was amazing and well worth a try. Also noted a real lack of beef in the area. Meats tended to be Veal steak/burgers, chicken or pork. Fish quality was also quite poor which was a shame.

3. GENERAL ATMOSPHERE - We compared this resort to a cross between 90's benidorm (really cheesy and a bit outdated) and Vegas (a bit over the top and lots of lights and a real energy on the main strip). Lots of the bars play music from the 90's and cater mostly for Eastern Europeans (Brits seem to be a minority in this resort). Performing monkeys, pythons with their fangs removed and aligators with their mouths taped closed is a common site on the streets at night. A few marks of the old communism waays are still evident from stalls selling Nazi merchandise to shops openly selling guns, knives and other WW2 memerobillia. This did feel like a safe resort and there were certainly a lot of families and older couples, bars tended to close around midnight with the exception of a few. Not as pushy as Turkey but still get some hassle. Particularly when you enter a shop you are followed around and everything is pointed out to you, fine at first but not after two weeks! Contrary to some other reviews we found a lot of Bulgarians very rude perhaps as it was coming to the end of the season.

This is definately still a new resort with a lot to learn about tourism. However if your looking for just a few weeks of beach, great weather and a safe atmosphere then Sunny beach is great. Prob wouldn't go back but you never know, I'll see what its like in a few years!

Helpful?
Thank babbyhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bora Bora Hotel
Bora Bora Hotel
#22 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
1.7 mi away
Arda Hotel
Arda Hotel
#110 of 219 in Sunny Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ivana Palace Hotel
Ivana Palace Hotel
#24 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kalofer
Hotel Kalofer
#41 of 219 in Sunny Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
1.9 mi away
Park-Hotel Continental
Park-Hotel Continental
#114 of 219 in Sunny Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slavyanski Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slavyanski Hotel

Property: Slavyanski Hotel
Address: Sunny Beach, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 219 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Slavyanski Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Slavyanski Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slavyanski Hotel Sunny Beach
Slavyanski Hotel Bulgaria/Sunny Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing