We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great holiday!”
Review of Slavyanski Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Slavyanski Hotel
Ranked #144 of 222 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location, great holiday!”
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Hotel Slavyanski was great and it exceeded our expectations. For the price we payed we got really good quality service. Our reservation was for 2 double superior rooms, but we got an apartment instead, which turned out to be even better. It is in the newly built wing of the hotel, it had air-condition (but we rarely turned it on), there were two separate rooms, each with its own bathroom, a big living-room with TV and refrigerator, a big balcony with a table for four. The bathroom was with an open-shower, but it was nice.
We were pleasantly surprised to have our room cleaned spotlessly and have our towels changed everyday, even if we left them on the rack. I don't know if this applies for the entire hotel, but at least the service was great for the new part of the hotel.
They had free Wi-fi in the lobby, but you could also connect to the wireless at the swimming pool - there was a free hotspot of the other hotel - Bellevue.
The staff was extremely nice, especially the bartender.
Breakfast was pretty good. It was exactly the same everyday, but there was a pretty good variety. They had scrambled eggs, sausages, pasta, two types of bread, different types of cheese, tomatoes, cucumbers, olives, cereals, yoghurt, jam, honey, a lot of fresh fruits, cookies, and of course coffee (from a machine unfortunately), tea, milk.
The location is wonderful. It is almost on the beach, close enough to the centre (we had a pleasant walk every night to the center and back). You have everything you need just next to the hotel, there are supermarkets, bars, shops. At night it is a little noisy, and around 00-01am we couldn't sleep with the window open, but if we closed the window it was perfect.
We had a very nice time here and I would come back to Slavyanski without any hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IoanaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    52
    33
    12
    20
See reviews for
45
36
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2010

The hygiene in the hotel was second to none, immaculate in fact, however nights were unbearable without any air con! All the staff were really friendly, especially the bar man in the lobby bar, made us feel welcome from day 1. As a young couple it was a bit too distant from all the main nightlife, but right on the beach front, which, by the way, was lovely. The pool was of good clean condition & not too deep. Had to pay 5lev per day for sun loungers, yet the hotel next door, that shared the pool had theirs for free.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marieden1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2010

Stayed in the Slavyanski in May for 10 days & would recomend to anybody.:)The staff where very friendly especially the bar man George he would do anything for you.
Would defo go back & will be staying @ the Slavyanski again

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2009

We had a group of 16 on a Twenties Holiday....Hotel was clean, staff very helpful/ friendly. Food was OK, prices were cheaper in supermarket for drinks than out at the pool bar. They could have had a little more entertainment at the pool. Overall very satisfied with everything really, next time I'll be booking a hotel closer to main strip of bars etc, not good working 15mins in high heels!!! Great nightlife!! Very hot!!! I will be returning for sure.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmzBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2009

Hotel Slavyanski
Sunny Beach Bulgaria
15th August 08

Hotel was good, very clean and in a quieter area in the North of the resort (we were in the 3* wing of the hotel). Barman Boris was miserable until we bought him a drink,(whiskey) he then became our best friend for the fortnight.
The promenade was very busy during the early evening, difficult to walk along due to golf carts, disco bikes, beggars, con men trying to get us to help donate money for sick children, they got abusive when we refused, people putting snakes around our necks and taking photos then demanding money, people handing out leaflets for every bar, restaurant and disco (we had thousands of these and it became tiresome). It should take 10 minutes to walk but it usually took us over half an hour.
It is easier to get to the centre of the resort on the little train which gets very busy and sometimes you can't get on it.
Most bars play loud dance music with young girls dancing on the bars to lure you in, it is entertaining once but not every night in the majority of bars. Most bars do 2 for 1 cocktails or have happy hours, drinks vary in price and are more expensive on the main prom, go off the main road to get a quieter and cheaper drink. The Fat Cat is a British themed pub, quiz night, premier football, but the toilets are for about 4 bars and there are long queues. Food is OK and reasonably priced but similar menus in all places.
Toilets in all bars and restaurants are manned and you have to pay to use them.
DON'T use the taxis, they tell you one price and then charge you double or more when you get to your destination. Use the local bus service on the main road which is very cheap and run a regular service to Nessabar and Bourgas, which are the only 2 places to visit.
Medical assistance is everywhere, very good but will give you more treatment than needed and some do not accept insurance, you have to claim it back when you get home. First one i visited at Poseiden hotel, for an acute ear infection was very good I had to visit him 4 times a day for 5 days as it was very bad ,cost 200 euros. Second one at Globus Hotel for mosquito bite allergy charged me the excess even though I had paid extra to waiver this fee. I visited this one 3 times a day for 6 days, very thorough but excessive, insurance paid bill but I received a threatening letter off them in Feb 09 demanding 140 euro or further action was to be taken, my insurance settled this but it was still frightening.
It was very hot there 42 degrees C the first week and down to mid 30's the second week.
I doubt we will visit this resort again, we had been in May/June 07 and it had declined immensley in a year, I can't imagine it getting better. I understand they are there to make money but I felt we were being ripped off whenever they got a chance

Helpful?
3 Thank jayo2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sunny Beach hotels

Aberdeen, Scotland
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2008

Just back from a 2 week stay at the Slavyanski hotel in Sunny beach. Not bad but certainly not fantastic either. Rooms are clean but no air con and so can get really hot at night. Was led to believe that the prices in Sunny Beach were lower than they actually were. Tend to get a lot of hassle when walking down the promenade but this could just be due to it coming to the end of season. Found a few people very rude and unhelpful, we got more smiles from the maids!!! Flight on way home was okay but would have been better if the air hostesses cracked a smile even once!! Would I go back? Not really.

  • Liked — Our room had a sea view
  • Disliked — No air con
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Nalsybabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2008

The hotel was pretty basic. in the new part, the rooms were of a good size and the air con was great and well needed.

the outside of the hotel (looking up from the pool) is in great need of several licks of paint and looks a bit poor & neglected compared to the other hotels in the area.

the locals are friendly, but the language barrier can cause some problems if (and when) you encounter it.

the guy who comes and collects the 5 lev for the sunbeds is a rude, arrogant person and he made be boycott the hotel facilities (poolside bar, shop & sunbeds) in favour of next doors (same pool, different colour sunbeds, friendlier staff.)

food tip: try to avoid the restaurants on the sea front. if they're not charging you excess amounts for poor quality food, they're serving you uncooked chicken and then trying to make you pay for it by pressuring you into paying by bringing over rude managers. A crafty and unfair practise is that if a customer does not pay for a meal, the waitress (who are on a VERY low wage & often work 12 hours + shifts) has to pay for the meal. this is particularly unfair as even if it's the kitchen staffs fault for not cooking the food properly, the waitress still has to pay for it. It's tantamount to emotional blackmail.

The one place i will recommend you eat is at a place called Djanny's Bistro. I cannot emphasise this enough. It is the best place to eat in the entire resort. the food is far superior to anything else you'll be subjected to and at a fraction of the cost.

2 starters, 2 (very big) main meals, 3 cokes, 1 amaretto & coke, and two of the nicest cappucinos you're ever likely to taste, all came to less than £18. i repeat, the food here is EXCELLENT.
It's that good, there's a permanent queue outside (around about 30 minutes to actually get IN), then around 40 minutes before you get your food, but it's well worth it. We ate there 4 times in 2 weeks and would of gone more had we not been lazy and bothered to walk down. it's also 24 hours.

Oh, and it's a bit out of the way, but ask any of the locals and they'll point you in the right direction (EVERYONE knows Djanny's).

To summarise;

Language barrier can cause a few minor problems
pool guy is a bit rude
hotel could do with a lick of paint.
avoid the restaurants on the sea front.
Eat at Djanny's *most important point*

Oh, and it's ram-packed with Germans & scandinavians all on bar crawls. There's only so many chorus's of 'Deutschland, Deutschland, Uber Alles' you can take before it gets annoying.

  • Liked — it had a roof
  • Disliked — the begging children outside the window. nice.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scienceworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 222 in Sunny Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bora Bora Hotel
Bora Bora Hotel
#21 of 222 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ivana Palace Hotel
Ivana Palace Hotel
#23 of 222 in Sunny Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kalofer
Hotel Kalofer
#40 of 222 in Sunny Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
1.9 mi away
Park-Hotel Continental
Park-Hotel Continental
#115 of 222 in Sunny Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel L&B
Hotel L&B
#17 of 222 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slavyanski Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slavyanski Hotel

Property: Slavyanski Hotel
Address: Sunny Beach, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 222 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Slavyanski Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Slavyanski Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slavyanski Hotel Sunny Beach
Slavyanski Hotel Bulgaria/Sunny Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing