We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Honest impartial review”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunrise Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunrise Club Hotel
Ranked #184 of 221 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Leeds
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An Honest impartial review”
Reviewed 7 September 2009

I have just got back from 2 weeks at the Sunrise and after reading the reviews left by others, I thought I would leave an accurate and impartial review/description of the hotel.

The hotel has many good points and has just as many bad points. What you think of this hotel will depend entirely on what you are expecting from the place. We used the hotel entirely as a base (somewhere to sleep) and it served this purpose superbly, as it was cheap and cheerful.

I am not going to list good and bad points, as what is good for me may be bad for you and vice versa. I will simply give an honest description of the main points of the hotel:

The Room - The rooms were very basic but were cleaned daily, the aircon was free and you were provided with a fridge and TV. We saw NO bugs in the room and the entire bathroom had been converted into a fabulous shower room (instead of a cubicle).

The Breakfast - Pretty much what you would expect of a low cost hotel in Bulgaria. You had the option of hot or cold food, which included things like Bacon, Eggs, Sausage, cheeses, hams, fruit, melon, grapes, 4 types of cereal, Spaghetti (what was that about?), toast, coffee, tea, juice, croissants.....etc etc

Staff - We found the staff to be ok on the whole. The lady in charge of breakfast was utterly miserable but was replaced for the second week by a cheerful and very friendly young chap. Everyone else was always willing to help if asked. Things like getting access to the safe boxes out of hours were never a problem.

Pool - Well, it was basically like jumping into an arctic penguin enclosure. The pool area is a very nice and well maintained area. No loose bricks, sharp edges etc that I have witnessed at other budget hotels I have stayed in. I felt totally comfortable letting my 2 year old do what he wanted in the pool area. The pool itself is absolutely freezing and I think this contributed to it being empty most of the time. My kids loved it though for exactly that reason. It was nice and quiet and never overcrowded, which made keeping an eye on the kids a lot easier. You could also take your pick of the sun beds.

Pool Bar – The bar was rarely open to be honest. It seemed to open at about noon and closed at about 6 pm, but even when open was not usually staffed. When you could get drink from the bar, the prices were good.

Entertainment – Simply put, there was none, nada, zero, zilch, nothing.

Location – It is set right at the north end of Sunny Beach. The beach is about 200 yards away (across a busy road and through a ginnel). There are two buses that you can catch into Sunny Beach Centre, but we tended to walk along the promenade, which is filled with shops, bars & restaurants. The promenade is very long, but it starts within about a five minute walk from the hotel so it is up to you how far up the promenade you go. We regularly walked all the way into the centre and I weigh 21 stone, which should tell you how difficult a walk it is.

Other visitors – Don’t believe the brochure when it says it is exclusive to UK visitors. This is untrue. While we were there, there were a group of Serbs staying, but they were generally well behaved and did not bother us. We actually got quite friendly with one or two of them despite the language barrier.

The Birds – Ah yes, the birds. We found them quite endearing to be honest. It could get a bit like a clip from the famous Hitchcock movie the odd time, but I can’t say the bird poo was a big problem (if at all). The staff seemed to keep it in check pretty well to be honest.

The Resort – We loved it. The food at the restaurants is very good and reasonably priced. Sunny beach is not as cheap as we were led to believe, but we were a group of seven and the most expensive meal we had was 130 Leva (about £60) and this included three rounds of drinks, so hardly expensive. The excursions are not cheap. A jeep safari will set you back about £40 per person. Most other things are about on a par with the UK but the shop keepers are usually willing to barter so try at least. Pretty much EVERY bar has a happy hour (which seems to run all day in some) when cocktails are two for one. All in all, plenty of places to eat, plenty of places to drink and plenty of places to shop. There are also casinos in the centre of town so plenty of places to loose your holiday spend. Despite all the above, there were not large groups of yobs all over the place. The population of the resort was very mixed. A wide range of nationalities, including German, Serb, Swedish, Irish, American, Scottish etc, etc. If you want somewhere with only English people about, go to Cleethorpes.

The Beach – Fantastic…. Fine white sand, lovely warm sea, parasailing, jet skiing, banana boating, volley ball, beach bars, Massage…… The beds cost 3 Leva each and 3 Leva for an umbrella (about £1.50). The beach has pretty much everything you would want for a beach and is also staffed with lifeguards and vendors bringing round fresh fruit for purchase etc.

My Summary
All in all, I would recommend the Sunrise for anyone wanting a cheap and clean base.

Don’t stay here if you are looking for a hotel that can cater for you all day and provide entertainment.

Do stay here if (like us) you generally spend little time in your hotel and want a cheap, clean base that is within walking distance of the main resort.

In the general Hotel bracket, the Sunrise would probably rate about 2-3 stars. In the Budget Hotel bracket, I would say it is one of the better ones I have come across.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sir_Quej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    6
    11
    11
    9
See reviews for
19
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
South Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2009

Just come back from Hotel Sunrise it was appalling had to ask for bedding to be changed and towels on 4th day no mini bar as stated in brochure no entertainment and pool bar was closed at around 5 then it was all closed up.
The pool is bloody freezin even the kids pool was freezin the sea was warmer. Says in brochure exclusive to uk residents no its not the place was over run by serbs that took over the place they changed the music when they wanted helped themselves to beer and were drunk in afternoon and very loud not good when you have kids with you when i spoke to Balkan holidays rep about all this he didnt care less .
And as for Sunny Beach itself its a dive the people treat us like dirt and they say there is no money in Bulgaria dont believe a word of it they drive very damn good cars to say they have no money but mind you they rip us english off enough to be able to afford the cars.
Would not recommend this place to my worst enemy its a complete dive and not as cheap as the brochure says.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mclarenno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sunny Beach hotels

Newcastle, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2009

The hotel had its good and bad points, however i would not like to revisit it. The rooms were immaculate, apart from fluff under the bed but maybe im just being pinickity, Ours was cleaned nearly every day and the cleaning staff were friendly. Our lock to our room was broken and the cleaners couldnt use their key so if we were out of the room they came looking around the pool for us to get our key. The beed sheets were only changed once during the 2 weeks so were minging!

Our Balcony had 6 SWALLOWS NESTS!! so you can imagine the amount of bird poo. We had to bring the clothes airer into the room and couldnt use the balcony at all. The poo was cleaned up every day but was soon back.( the chicks were quite endearing tho!). Apparently the nests were not allowed to be removed.

The breakfast was appauling, if you werent there for 8 am, you got the scraps and leftovers, we stopped going for it by the end. There is 3 kinds of eggs but you soon get sick of the sight of bloody eggs! The lady who works in the restaurant was utterly miserable. We were scared to ask her for anything.
They do meals aswell but these were disgusting also.

The pool and pool bar were nice apart from the bird poo, and the bar staff were friendly enough. Music played all through the day.

The hotel had no entertainment whatsoever and no friendly atmosphere. It reminded me of a YMCA hostel.

Also in the Balkan Holiday brochure they specified that hotel sunrise was exclusive to uk tourists. LIES!!!! Apart from ourselves there were only about 6 other British tourists all the rest were Bulgarian and German.

The hotel is also situated miles from the main strip 'Flower Street'. It cost us 20 lev to get a taxi one night one way. Its quicker if you go by the beach however crossing the road outside the hotel to get to the beach is like going on a suicide mission.

There is a lovely little restaurant opposite the hotel set back a little that is cheap and nice.

The staff in the supermarket down the road were ignorant.

All in all if your British, Bulgaria is not the most friendly of places to visit. It caters for Germans of which there were millions. Hardly any Brits at all and the Bulgarians werent tolerant of us Brits.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jossabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

im just reading through all these reviews and i find them rather funny because all the english people seem to want to do is complain. hotel sunrise was a lovely clean place and the food was very nice. there was always a good meal laid out in the mornings so you could choose between having a fry, cereal or fruit or cake.. or if you wanted you could have it all! there is a problem with the birds as their nests are on the balcanys ad there can be bird droppings but it is cleaned each morning by the maids from the balconys & in the pool a few times a day by staff. i really dont know what all the complaining is about?? there was of course one sour bake receptionist who never smiled but apart from that everything was fine. AND JUST TO SUM UP.. the group we met at the hotel gat quite drunk on their last night so they accidentally dropped their glass into the pool which was the BROKEN GLASS IN THE POOL. once this loud group went, the hotel went completly DEAD!! this was cleaned up immedietly the next morning !! As for the germans, they were quite loud and overpowering but what do you expect.. your not going to a 5* resort, so get over it !! would recommend to any type of person, very clean hotel and lovely staff exect for that recepitonst !! haha .. dont listen to any of these bad reviews until you have been to this hotel :)

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AislingdDerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunderland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2009

just got back from 2 weeks in this faulty towers hotel,broken glass in swimming pool,bird droppings all over the place,full of germans who shout rather than talk,jumping in pool and making it not safe for young childern to go in,hotel staff to scared to do any thing about it,doors slamming till all hours of the early moring,bed sheets never changed whilst there,breakfast always cold and same things,would not recommend this to anyone,this hotel is now more for 18 to 30 and not family as stated in brochure.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brownbear_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2009

having recently returned from our holiday i must say that it was not pleasant. they are infested with swallows in all of the balconies in this hotel. you cannot sit on your balcony as the birds are flying in and out all of the time. there are bird droppings on the balcony floor, table and chairs. The swimming pool has bird droppings in it all the time - we would not use the pool at all it was not healthy. Also all the pool area and sun loungers were covered in bird droppings - and if you stayed there long enough the same happened to you.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unhappyWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2009

stayed for 1 week,my little boy received a electric shock from bedroom light,manager not interested tryed to ignore us,wolud never go back to this hotl,been to a lot of hotels,but never seen such a bad hotel in my life,reminds me of faulty towers!food also very poor.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ted069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Riva Hotel
Riva Hotel
#51 of 221 in Sunny Beach
61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Oasis
Grand Hotel Oasis
#193 of 221 in Sunny Beach
76 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yunona
Yunona
#157 of 221 in Sunny Beach
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bohemi Hotel
Bohemi Hotel
#159 of 221 in Sunny Beach
74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Orel Hotel
Orel Hotel
#120 of 221 in Sunny Beach
11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Marvel
Hotel Marvel
#29 of 221 in Sunny Beach
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Club Hotel

Property: Sunrise Club Hotel
Address: Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #184 of 221 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Club Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Sunrise Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Hotel Sunny Beach
Sunrise Club Hotel Bulgaria/Sunny Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing