We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't know what everyone is complaining about!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Victoria Palace Hotel & Spa
Ranked #190 of 220 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Grantham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't know what everyone is complaining about!!!!”
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We arrived back yesterday after a 10 day stay.Firstly we went bed and breakfast not all inclusive and I think this is advisable. The breakfast was good, can be a bit busy at certain times and you may need to queue. As for the hotel, our room was clean and had everything we needed with a fantastic pool and beach view. It was cleaned every day and we had fresh towels and toilet rolls everyday. The staff were friendly and helpful and we were impressed that you could find cleaners until the early hours cleaning the reception and bar areas. I do agree that getting a sunbed was not easy but you can walk 1 minute and get a sunbed on the beach for 5 lv (2.50) for the day. The pool was immaculate and was cleaned every day. I would highly reccomend this hotel and that it deserves a 4/5*. I really don't understand what all the complaints are about.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess3784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    190
    189
    208
    446
See reviews for
419
445
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2011

What a dump, beds and pillows heavily stained with god knows what room never cleaned had to steal fresh towels and bedding from the trolley which was left in the hallway broken furniture mold in the bathroom, food terrible broken tiles and steps at the poolside what a waste of money. Was fobbed off with the same line " 15 Minutes sir 15 Minutes " rather have two weeks in the jail

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacks147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sunny Beach hotels

Shildon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

just come back from victoria palace 17th sept 2011 worst holiday ever arrived 3.45am took one and a half hours to get our room matteress was still warm off the previous guest. sunbeds getting reserved by 7am couldnt get near one till turned 5pm only 2 people working the bar so getting served was a nightmare only 1 inclusive bar open at any1 time on a evening the bar stools were actually being reserved for 2 german men all week .drinks not very strong but refreshing.food was disgusting no towels or toilet rolls unless you went looking for them . reception staff couldnt be bothered bar staff friendly but over worked.eating out is good try the filopollo cant go wrong

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishwake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

we went to victoiria palace spa on a half board 1 week holiday for our anniversary and it was terrible . the resort was good ,people were nice but hotel was bad. its nice to look at when you arrive but when you get to your room its just basic.if like me you are on the short side the bath is very hard to get into the reps idea of help was to say they could put a brezze block with a towel over it to help me our anyone to get into it but i thought that this was dangerous so im afaid i would not do that with a bit of a struggle i did get into it .the food was disgusting i dont go on holiday to eat british food as we like to try the food of the country we are in but in the victoria palace the food was really bad we are just glad that we went half board and had enough money with us to buy our food out side but what about the folk who think going half board that the money the have with them will be just for their enjoyment outside of their hotel..so i would advise if you must go to this hotel just go self catering as there is plenty of choice out side of the hotel to get good bulgarian food or even british if that is what you want. the vicoria palace is suppose to be 4-5 star hotel but it struggles to be 1-2 star

Room Tip: sorry cant help there as i just think the rooms no matter what side on are the same its not to noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anng1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2011

First Time at victoria palace,the hotel look very impressive at first glance but that's it, the food was vile,the staff were rude,surly faced and unpleasent. Again as long you do not eat,drink or sunbath you will be fine. I have NEVER wrote anything like this before, but feel I must warn you SAVE YOUR MONEY. This hotel is a rip off.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janice b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

As a true believer that your holiday is what YOU make of it, i decided not to worry about all the b ad reviews untill i had been and expirienced the hotel for myself.

We arrived at 5.30am and bags were snatched from us by the porter and carried the bags to our room and stood in the room for 5 miknutes untill we rifelled through out cases to give him a tip and would not leave untill we handed over the 10lev as this was all we had and didnt have any less. (The same cheeky man asked us to change 10 english pound coins to a note on our way home as the exchange shop would not take coins to change to levs which he could get more than double in levs for haaaa no ta mate)

The hotel and pool area was absoultely gorgeous and room was amazing but thats about it. The pool did have sand in and didnt seem to be cleaned out but this sort of thing doesnt ruin your holiday come on people!!

The maids come into our room everyday to empty the bin and give us more toilet roll, they always changed th towels, however, they only changed the bedding once in 2 week, but u dont change your bedding everyday at home so why do people go mad if they dont do it on holiday?!

We were half board and had to go in the half board resaurant for the fiorst 3 days which was disgusting and the staff were even worse than the food, as we did not have enough money to tip the waiter for the drinks, we never got a drink for the rest of the two week. After 3 days we were all moved into the all inclusive restaurant, i could not believe the difference! the food was actually warm, the staff were slightly more polite and there was more to choose from! i said it seemed like we were 3rd class citizens and only got to go in that restaurant as it was the end of the season and put every1 together.


we had been told that the owner of victoria palace paid a fortune to make the hotel but thats where it ends, they buy the cheapest food (SLOP) they can find and obviously are getting away ith it as the hotel is always fully booked but we have also been told that next year the hotel is being down graded to a 3* so that will pee on their bonfire as they wont get as many bookings!

i would go back to bulgaria again, and would stay here gain if the waiters/waitresses were all changed and trained to provide good customer service an the food was sorted out! oh and there was no entertainemnt whatso ever apart from a woman playin piano every night!!


i really went to this hotel with an open mind after reading the reviews and said that i would write a true review when i got home and this hotel is far from as bad as most people make out but some things are true like i have mentioned and such as not getting sun loungers but in 2 weeks there wa 1 day we couldnt get them, and a kind ENGLISH bloke offred us one of the two that him and his partner had. Most of the foreign people in the hotel are very rude but as i also noticed, even the english started to adopt these rude manners after while which is no good for setting an example.

If you do go to bulgaria, make sure you visit salt and pepper bar at the side of the palace hotel, its a great bar and the staff are amazing and so kind. Also jamboree kareoke bar owned by the same bloke as salt and pepper is a great bar and always full of people. Also go on the full throttle jeep safari AMAZING day out.

I would say go nd expirience it for yourself, because none of these slight complaints ruined our holiday, just ticked us off abit such as the food. We still had an amazing time :-D !!!

Room Tip: Definately do not go if you use a wheelchair, not accessible at all. And do not let the porter take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susieJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed at the palace end of august for 2 weeks all inclusive.. well the hotel is very grand and in a great location bit of a walk from mayor nightlife but plenty of bars within crawling distance..... basically the food is the only gripe i can have weve been on many 3/4* all inc resorts and the drinks are top quality but can go over the top with measures but not complaining... the breakfast is edible after 3/4 days cereal and nutella seemed the safest bet.. pancakes are very good but are like golddust to get 1 unless ur willing to wait for the russians to finish... the lunch was ok but maybe a bbq wudnt go a miss just bassicaly same as dinner without the meats... now the evening meal was great some nights and very poor others but chips and spaggetti to eat atleast.. the cleaning and towel issue people talk about on here were not existent for us fresh towels everyday and tidied room to good standard daily now we was on floor 2 and it seems a group of cleaners per floor.. the sunbeds are a problem same as everywhere though.. just baught a big lilo to use and cost about 5quid with a drinks holder :) i would go back to this hotel maybe self catering but dont worry. if ur laid back ul enjoy it here verymuch. P.s so cheap to eat out about 20 quid for 2 people 3 corse 4pints 4 cocktails..so advise eat out say every 3 days...

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wigggganers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Planeta
Hotel Planeta
#117 of 220 in Sunny Beach
188 reviews
0.1 mi away
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
#2 of 220 in Sunny Beach
1,372 reviews
2.8 mi away
Imperial Resort
Imperial Resort
#65 of 220 in Sunny Beach
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Helena Sands Hotel
Helena Sands Hotel
#10 of 220 in Sunny Beach
347 reviews
2.7 mi away
Galeon Residence & Spa
Galeon Residence & Spa
#25 of 220 in Sunny Beach
78 reviews
0.2 mi away
Helena Park Hotel
Helena Park Hotel
#3 of 220 in Sunny Beach
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Palace Hotel & Spa

Property: Victoria Palace Hotel & Spa
Address: Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Sunny Beach
#57 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Victoria Palace Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 545
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria Palace Hotel & Spa has been under renovation after listening to customers reviews. Two of our panorama lifts have been completely changed for season 2014 and number of rooms have been renovated. We are under a new management and efforts have been made to improve the product and the services. We are very excited to welcome our guests for season 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Victoria Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Palace Hotel Sunny Beach
Victoria Palace Hotel And Spa
Victoria Palace Bulgaria
Victoria Palace Sunny Beach
Victoria Palace Hotel Bulgaria
Hotel Victoria Palace Bulgaria
Victoria Palace Hotel & Spa Bulgaria/Sunny Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing