We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“let down at the Palace.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Victoria Palace Hotel & Spa
Ranked #194 of 221 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“let down at the Palace.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I am mindful of a friend who said trip adviser was full of complainers, so i try to give a fair review,
but sorry this hotels service was terrible, its 5 star rating is a joke.
i picked because it was rated 5 star and it certainly looks the part, it is by the beach and has a great pool.
But now the rest, the only bar during the day serving all inclusive drinks is by the pool and is 20 feet diameter in size and manned by two people, to serve coffee and drinks to over a thousand people. WELL expect to queue up all holiday for drinks and you wont be drinking a lot, there is another bar that is empty, but the catch is you have to pay, after you have paid for all inc.
AT NIGHT again only one bar serving the free drinks manned again by only two people.
The room we received was big but our lamp was broken and the outside light hanging off, i complaine but they wre in no hurry to fix anything. AFTER THE FIRST NIGHT OUR BEDS WERE NEVER MADE AGAIN, the following day we put our towels in a pile to be changed, the cleaner took six towels and left us one bath towel. we complained and they said it would be done by the end of the day, it wasnt. The following day she came in and cleaned a couple of things and again did not even take the one dirty towel and we were left with no toilet roll.
this went on for three days and several complaints and promises, till finally a manager got us towels, but nothing else was done, i was making the bed myself before sleeping.
There were two huge dining areas, but to save money only one was open, so every meal time was a nightmare scrum, they could not cope and could not clear the tables fast enough, they were constantly running out of cups coffee and basics like knives and forks.

I swear this was the worst hotel i have ever stayed at, and now i have seen other reviews dating back years they say the same thing. TAKE MY ADVICE PLEASE DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL.

YOU WOULD BE BETTER OFF IN A THREE STAR.
Even the Russian and other Eastern block guests were complaining.

Room Tip: do not book this hotel, please read the reviews and look elsewhere, ther are some lovely 4 star hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank christopher s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Lazarov, Guest Relation Services at Victoria Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you for being our guest at Hotel Victoria Palace, Sunny Beach. We are sorry to hear that you have not been satisfied with your stay, as this hotel is one of the best-selling properties in the resort. Nevertheless, we are glad to hear that you appreciate the location of the hotel.
You have right, that during the day until 17.00h there is only one all-inclusive bar for the guests and two people work there. The same applies in the evening when the Irish Pub is open. It is normal at the peak of the summer season that there are a lot of people which leads to the conclusion that Victoria Palace is a preferred place to spend the holiday. Therefore, it is possible sometimes a queue to be formed. However, our staff tries their best to serve all the guests as soon as possible. Furthermore, due to the fact that not all our guests are on All Inclusive basis, there have to be a bar at their convenience, as well. That is why the hotel offers a paid bar for these people.
With regard to the cleanliness of the rooms, the chambermaids clean all the rooms every day until 17.00h and change the towels. If we know your room No, we could investigate the situation. If the room is not cleaned regularly or some days missed, that is another question, which we always address with the personnel if we receive a signal from a guest. In these cases we do urge guests to approach reception, or better management, to resolve any problems quickly and painlessly. The same applies when a problem like a broken lamp arises. The maintainers in the hotel are informed immediately after the problem is reported to the reception and deal with the situation as quickly as possible.
Last, but not least, with regard to your unpleasant experience in the restaurant concerning the crowdedness, I would like to point out the fact that in order to avoid such kind of problems, the hotel management has introduced two sittings at lunch and dinner time. In this way the guests feel more comfortable and the atmosphere in the restaurant is quite calm and pleasant. I could assure you that the measures taken have its positive effects, as it is obvious that no long queues are formed. In addition, it is easier for the staff to do its job more efficiently.
Once again, thank you for your visit and we wish you all the best in your future holidays.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    184
    185
    199
    430
See reviews for
393
431
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed here for 2 weeks, first visit to bulgaria. first impressions very nice to look at and good location....... BUT the hotel for me was a big letdown, i don't really take note of the reviews as they are peoples opinions but some of them are spot on. Firstly the rooms are very dated and grubby, cleaning very basic, eg - i am in the habit of making my own bed all i did was put the quilt straight therefore maids didn't touch it. We were left without toilet paper and it took 4 calls to reception to get this, then we were left with no towels when the room was cleaned, these were 2 separate occasions, but generally very basic cleaning bed sheets hardly changed. Food for me was good, good selection always found something to eat but because of the fact it was busy we found ourselves having to go in early to each meal, as you get allocated times if not it was chaos, we changed are time to pick first pick due to chaos people clearly had no manners. There is a big issue with sun beds as most hotels, people were putting towels on as early as 6 in the morning, and not going out there till pm, by 9am beds were gone, but for me this was the worst i have come across. We would visit Bulgaria again off the main strip and would look at smaller hotels and take reviews on board. Also we did visit the beach but be careful as the beds even though states Victoria palace they are not free, for 2 beds and umbrella 24 lev a time and with the sun bed issue we found that we had to go to the beach more. All in all very poor visit, i would class as 2 star. Lastly we didn't see the benefit of complaining as we saw others complain but nothing changed.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Amos21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VP_GR0, Guest Relation Services at Victoria Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for being our guest at Hotel Victoria Palace, Sunny Beach. We are sorry to hear that you have not been satisfied with your stay.
However, we appreciate the fact that you pointed out also the positive impressions gained during your holiday. We are glad to hear that the outlook and the location of our hotel grabbed your attention. Moreover, we are happy with the fact that you were satisfied with the quality and variety of the food. It reflects Bulgarian and Balkan traditions, in terms of dishes, sweets, etc., as well as international foods as pizza, spaghetti, English breakfast choice and pastries. In this way, we endeavor to satisfy many different tastes.
Nevertheless, you mentioned that you have experienced problems concerning the meal times. The hotel management has introduced this policy in order to provide convenience and more pleasant atmosphere for its guests by avoiding the crowdedness in the restaurant.
How you have already mentioned in your review, the problem connected to the reservation of sun beds is a common one. During the high season, it is possible not to have free sun beds for all our guests. In order to avoid complaints concerning this issue, it is not advertised in the websites or in the travel agencies that there is a sun bed provided for each one of the guests. In addition, it is not permitted people to reserve chairs and the staff take care this policy to be followed, so more guests can enjoy that option.
Last, but not least, you left with bad impressions concerning the cleanliness in the rooms. In this line of thoughts, I would like to inform you that all the rooms have been renovated just before the beginning of the season. In addition, I can assure you that whenever a complaint is reported to the reception, we investigate the situation and try to cope with it as soon as possible.
Once again, thank you for your visit and we wish you all the best in your future holidays.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sunny Beach hotels

Hannover
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

I'm excited of Victoria palace. The hotel is one of the biggest and most beautiful in the area. The location is perfect. 100 m to the beach. Everything is in the neighbourhood. Beach bars, restaurants, souvenirs shops, supermarktes and the discos. At the pool is very good animation with very good music and drinks. The hotel is very clean and the employee was very friendly. I can not wait one year to com again that's why I com again this year.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vitalij1504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Lazarov, Guest Relation Services at Victoria Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for being our guest at Hotel Victoria Palace, Sunny Beach.
We are glad to hear that you are satisfied with your stay. We appreciate the fact that you expressed your good impressions about the hotel design and location. Moreover, we are proud to receive your positive opinion about our personnel” efforts.
We are looking forward to visiting us again. We hope that we will justify your impressions and make them even better.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

after looking at recent reviews was a bit put of but booked anyway as iv stayed in faaarrr worse and still enjoyed myself as im not fussy at all. Also the price was brilliant for 5 star all inclusive. Hotel was right at the end of the strip so was about 15 min walking distance, very good for young people as still get a good night sleep and god for families as its far enough away from the young night life but close enough for trips and things to do. a stone throw away from the beach, shops and things. Food well i enjoyed it especially the breakfast! evening meals wasnt always to my liking but always found something to eat. more than enough to choose from, fresh fruit, salad, rolls warm meals, soup and small pasteries and icecreams. you have to be verrryyy fussy not to find something to eat. went out twice for meals just for a change which was also very nice. The hotel also provided pizza, pasteries and icecream also all through the day. the cleaners were very nice and cleaned are room every day, even on the odd occation were was to hung over and left at 1pm. fresh towles everyday and made beds, they even folded our clothes and tidied our shoes. staff were friendly enough. main problem was foreign people getting up stupid early and reserving all sun beds and not useing them until lunch when there are signs saying not to ! but the life guard and staff said its fine to move them and if they complained they were reminded of the signs so we did so every day even though we upset a few people lol. All in all was very fun and pleasant stay would definatly stay again and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: all rooms in the hotel were quiet and never had a problem with ours. preferably one nearer bottem fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kelly_icmeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Lazarov, Guest Relation Services at Victoria Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Madam,
Thank you for being our guest at Hotel Victoria Palace, Sunny Beach.
We are really proud to understand that you enjoyed your stay and that you decided to share your impressions in Trip Advisor. In this way you will help a thousand of people to make their choice about their summer holiday.
We are glad to hear that you appreciate our effort to satisfy all our customers and make their stay an unforgettable one.
We hope that next summer you will choose Hotel Victoria Palace as a preferred place to spend your holiday. We are looking forward to visiting us again.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgas, Bulgaria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

The building is attractive, but you'll meet terrible atmosphere and service inside. One day you can find missing towels in your bath without possibility to get new:) +tons of bad impressions. Never seen any Animation activity. wifi is extremely expensive and very bad (slow).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Konstantin687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

A very nice hotel but deteriorated quite quickly. A beautiful entrance, a Lobby with plenty of nice furniture and decoration, spacious rooms with balconies. Well located to the beach if you do not want to stay at the hotel pool.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EliVal2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Recently stayed here with family and friends, the hotel is beautiful to look at but the staff are shocking!! The food is terrible, all so bland! My daughters phone was stolen!! Drink selection zero!!!

Room Tip: Chose a lower level as lift was often out of service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BB102014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Planeta
Hotel Planeta
#103 of 221 in Sunny Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Helena Sands Hotel
Helena Sands Hotel
#7 of 221 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.1 mi away
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
#1 of 221 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#57 of 221 in Sunny Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marvel
Hotel Marvel
#29 of 221 in Sunny Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 221 in Sunny Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Palace Hotel & Spa

Property: Victoria Palace Hotel & Spa
Address: Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Sunny Beach
#55 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Victoria Palace Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 545
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria Palace Hotel & Spa has been under renovation after listening to customers reviews. Two of our panorama lifts have been completely changed for season 2014 and number of rooms have been renovated. We are under a new management and efforts have been made to improve the product and the services. We are very excited to welcome our guests for season 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Victoria Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Palace Hotel Sunny Beach
Victoria Palace Hotel And Spa
Victoria Palace Bulgaria
Victoria Palace Sunny Beach
Victoria Palace Hotel Bulgaria
Hotel Victoria Palace Bulgaria
Victoria Palace Hotel & Spa Bulgaria/Sunny Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing