We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst holiday ever.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Victoria Palace Hotel & Spa
Ranked #189 of 222 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I'm going to bullet point this to make it easy:

Positives:
Lots of food on offer
Short walk to the main strip
Reception area looked nice.

Negatives:
Staff were incredibly rude and not helpful.
Even though it's all inclusive, you can sit at the pool bar unless you purchase a drink from there.
Our room smelt of damn and was unclean.
You French doors flooded when it rained and socked our room.
The place was heaving with people, many locals who don't stay there but use the facilities.
The lifts were always broken.
The pool water was dirty and pool toilets badly maintained.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank KTB2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VP_GR0, Guest Relation Services at Victoria Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for being our guest at Hotel Victoria Palace, Sunny Beach. We are sorry to hear that you have not been satisfied with your stay, as this hotel is one of the best-selling properties in the resort.
Although your impressions were mainly negative, we are glad that you have outlined also the positive sides according to you. Thank you that you have appreciated the food choice, the location of the hotel as well as the reception area’s appearance.
I do not know what made you consider our staff as rude, but I would like to say that the personnel treat all the guests with respect, trying their best to help them and resolve problems when such arise.
Apart from the guests that are on All-Inclusive basis in our hotel, there are others who have paid for both breakfast and dinner or only for breakfast. Therefore, except the two all-inclusive bars the hotel offers one paid pool bar namely for these guests.
There are four elevators in the hotel. In case a problem arises, the company responsible is informed and fixes the problem as soon as possible. However, I can assure you that there has not been a case when all the four elevators were out of order at the same time.
With regard to the housekeeping issue, I would like to inform you that the chambermaids clean and refresh all the rooms every day. If we know your room No, we could investigate the situation. If the room is not cleaned regularly or some days missed, that is another question, which we always address with the personnel if we receive a signal from a guest. In these cases we do urge guests to approach reception, or better management, to resolve any problems quickly and painlessly.
Having in mind the peak of the summer season, it is normal that there are a lot of people in the hotel. However, all they are guests of Victoria Palace. I can assure you that there are no people in the hotel who use the facilities free of charge.
Once again, thank you for your visit and we wish you all the best in your future holidays.


Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 1,232 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

I've been here from 2nd till 12th of august 2014, and what i can say is that firstly the food was terrible, we never eat there eventhough we paid for that. At 18:00 the pool was closed and we had to go. The Service is terrible. We paid for internet and the internet was not working in our rooms, and they did not give money back. The room was cleaned only 3 times for 10 days. The lift on C side was not working good, first it goes to the 8th floor then goes back down. The pool security was so nervous all the time, everytime he was screaming and shouting to young and old people. Animation team had only a few small activies ( compares with other hotels is nothing ) .
I would rate this hotel maximum 3 stars.
I will never go back again to Victoria Palace.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Guesttttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VP_GR0, Guest Relation Services at Victoria Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for being our guest at Hotel Victoria Palace, Sunny Beach. We are sorry to hear that you have been disappointed with your stay.
We are proud of our cuisine, as other countries around the world are proud of theirs and offer their traditional and local food to visitors. It reflects Bulgarian and Balkan traditions, in terms of dishes, sweets, etc., as well as international foods as pizza, spaghetti, English breakfast choice and pastries. So, we consider that the selection satisfies the taste preferences of many nationalities.
With regard to the closing time of the swimming pool, you are right that it is 18 o’clock. It is for our customers’ safety not to swim in the water after that time because the pool is under the lifeguard’s responsibility from 9a.m. to 6p.m. After that time the pool is not a guarded area. However, there is no problem the guests to lie on the sunbeds.
With reference to the cleanliness of the rooms, the chambermaids clean all the rooms every day until 17.00h and change the towels. If we know your room No, we could investigate the situation. If the room is not cleaned regularly or some days missed, that is another question, which we always address with the personnel if we receive a signal from a guest. In these cases we do urge guests to approach reception, or better management, to resolve any problems quickly and painlessly. However, I can assure you that we have no cases where a room has not been cleaned for 10 days.
With regard to the Internet in the rooms, often the guests do not erase the user name and password properly. We cannot be sure what the situation with your voucher was. However, I can assure you that whenever there is a problem with the Internet, the company responsible is informed by the receptionists. As a result, the customers are provided with new password and user name.
Once again, thank you for your visit and we wish you all the best in your future holidays.

Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Just retuned from Victoria Palace, it was the most disappointing holiday we have every been on and I suggest you read my review before you even consider this hotel. Many times I have read trip adviser and thought everyone to their own opinions but this hotel was such a let down we were counting the days to come home. Originally we were suppose to be staying at their sister hotel Chaika Resort also sunny beach but was moved immediately due to a not so nice experience there but that's another issue. The hotel looked grand and impressive when we arrived and the room was spacious but the whole experience of the hotel was awful. This is certainly not a five star as stated, the food was disgusting there was no variety and very limited choice, was much of the same every day, it was cold and the meat a lot of the time uncooked. We had to chase around for cutlery and plates and a clean table. Waiters and Waitresses had no character and no knowledge of English and would work in unclean sweaty clothes. Their was no service to bring drinks to the table it was all help service so having a drink with your meal was an issue. If you got a drink first then went to get your dinner your drinks were taken and table taken. We gave up in the end we needed nourishing food and decided to eat out which had an impact on our limited spending money as it all went on food and drinks which meant no luxuries like excursions, gifts, spa treatments etc. Even the hot drinks were awful so going fully inclusive I don't advise was a pure waste of money. There were so many other issues. No kettle or free drinks in room, most guests and staff rude and ignorant, smoking in lifts, no entertainment, pool bar was a paid bar (who carries money in a pool) terrace bar inside and out closed for the whole two weeks, glasses in room were never replaced clean, had the same glasses the whole two weeks, duvet cover covered in blood, duvet and sheets too small so end up sleeping on the mattress which is unhygienic, pools side and bar constantly smelled of sick, again the whole two weeks we were there, A la carte restaurant only had two menus much of the same from the main restaurant, all drinks free but you have to buy a bottle of wine even if you don't drink it, Young boy urinating up the pine tree near the pool, safe price expensive 98 lev for 2 weeks and no deposit back, fountains not working in pool, guests with dogs on site, no outside wc have to walk through reception area (health and safety issue), rooms not cleaned properly, all drinks watered down had tummy cramps and diarrhoea the whole of the holiday, one guest was in hospital for 3 days, In amazement me and my partner saw a man on the second top balcony whilst we were in the pool pointing a riffle. The children's pool had a gap from railings missing leading into the adult pool, it also took them 3 days to fix the hair dryer in our room. The only good thing I can say about the hotel is they remove towels of the sun beds in the mornings to prevent reserving. The animation team are friendly and helpful but more activities are needed. The country in itself is beautiful and it must be a visit to Nessebar and the Marina at St Vlas. Aw and if you wish to walk down the strip beware there are lots of people carrying snakes and please be aware of being followed, we were but managed to lose him, one couple had pepper spray in their eyes for £20.00. On the whole our experience was stressful and disappointing, this was no holiday at all, we spent most of the time round the smelly pool or our room as cash was low. We have no intention returning but I would advise if you wish to go Bulgaria the Majestic Hotel is the best we are told so please look on the reviews for that.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Samanthaavery14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VP_GR0, Guest Relation Services at Victoria Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Madam,

Thank you for being our guest at Hotel Victoria Palace, Sunny Beach. We are sorry to hear that you have been disappointed with your stay.
First of all, thank you that you have appreciated the hotel design and the room. We are also glad to understand that you have approved our measures against reserving sunbeds early in the morning.
You have been disappointed with the food both in the main restaurant and in the Italian one. With regard to this, I would like to say that the food reflects Bulgarian and Balkan traditions, in terms of dishes, sweets, etc., as well as international foods as pizza, spaghetti, English breakfast choice and pastries – all served at an appropriate for consuming temperature. So, we consider that the selection satisfies the taste preferences of many nationalities. We are proud of our cuisine, as other countries around the world are proud of theirs and offer their traditional and local food to visitors. In addition, the menu in the Italian restaurant is completely different from that in the main one, the meal being separately and specially prepared.
You are right that in the rooms there is no minibar offered for our customers. With regard to our paid bar, yes, a part of it is in the water and makes the atmosphere pleasant during the hot summer days. However, there is an entrance inside the hotel, where you can pay for your drinks or the other alternative is the bill to be transferred to your room account and pay on the reception on check-out, for example.
The terrace on the restaurant as well as this in the Irish Bar is open since the beginning of the summer season.
With regard to your complaints about the room, the bed underwear is according to the size of the beds and they totally cover it. The chambermaids clean, refresh the rooms every day and change the towels. I can assure you that whenever a problem is reported to the reception staff, the person responsible are informed and the problem is fixed as soon as possible. Since we do not know your room number, we cannot investigate the issue concerning the hair dryer.
Once again, thank you for your visit and we wish you all the best in your future vacations.

Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Just got back from a 2 week holiday, worst hotel we have ever stayed in, staff are rude, impolite, beds weren't changed, (don't lift sheets to look at matteress) only got clean towels every couple of days, had to grab some off cleaners trolley in corridor, rooms weren't cleaned properly, cleaner mopped from front door to back door, forgot about other side of room, pool was filthy and only cleaned once, the baby's travel cot was broken and we ask them to change it and they said they would be back to fix it and never did we had to put it against the wall for his safety, we were bed and breakfast and tried it once and that was enough, ate out every morning instead, feel sorry for people that booked all inclusive, shower was broke which made it a nightmare, wouldn't stay In 1 place, had to use soap as a plug as they couldn't provide us with one, whole place is run down and needs a revamp, wouldn't even call it 1 3 star hotel, only good thing is hotel location

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Geordietandorie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Hi, I understand we are all different but come on what do some people want???. I love Bulgaria and this was our 5th visit to Sunny Beach. It was our 1st visit to Victoria Palace and we were definitely not disappointed. The pool area is fab, loads of sunbeds, clean pools, cleaners there all day. The hotel is fab, lovely decor, clean and tidy. The food is very nice, lots of choice and not repeatative, best to go early as near the end of bfast/dinner you have to wait for things to be cleaned. Rooms well cleaned, polite cleaners,bed changed and fresh towels. DEFINITELY would return. My only niggle would be the 2 bar staff at the all inclusive pool bar, they don't seem to keen on the British and will serve anyone else before they serve you if you have a British accent... Shame really, a Customer Care course may be needed lol :-) x

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Joanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 August 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for being our guest at Hotel Victoria Palace, Sunny Beach. We are really proud to understand that you are satisfied with your stay here. We appreciate the fact that you have decided to share your positive opinion on such a world-famous website as TripAdvisor, helping thousands of people to choose a destination for their holiday. Your good impressions about the hotel design, the food, the cleaning service, etc. are of great importance to us.
With regard to your only remark, we are sorry to hear that you have felt a different behaviour towards the British citizens.In this line of thoughts, I can assure you that there is not any kind of discriminatory manners towards our customers. The staff tries its best to treat all the clients on equal basis.
Once again, thank you for your visit. We hope that you will choose Hotel Victoria Palace as a preferred place to spend your next vacation.

Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

To whom it may concern

Where do I start ? I booked via teletext holidays for a weeks all inclusive to a 5* hotel in a Sunny Beach Bulgaria ..
My husband and I travel all inclusive at least 3 times a year . Unfortunately this was our first time with teletext holidays. The hotel was advertised as a 5* hotel all inclusive holiday . We were sure we could not go wrong. However it was clear from day one that things were not quite right.
Only one bar is open in the day offered all inclusive drinks & the same In The evening. Both all inclusive bars were not exactly clean or welcoming . The one bar that was appealing was only open to paying customers and the swim up bar as advertised only accepted cash ( in a swim up bar ) ???
The meals were appalling and were actually inedible ,The one evening meal we had in the hotel was Chicken Nuggets & very dry pot wedges. There was no air conditioning in the restaurant so lunch time was unbearable .
We asked to book into al a carte restaurant as advertised . The restaurant was not open when ever we went or if it was open there were no staff .
We ate in total ; 2 breakfasts , 2 lunches , 1 evening meal.
It is fair to say we ate out every day and basically lived on Backed Pot & garlic butter.
The swimming pool was only cleaned once in 7 days and it was closed one day . Various holiday reps walking round testing pool water with test tubes.
Our hotel room was only cleaned 2 times and we were allocated 4 clean bath towels & 2 clean hand towels in room our whole stay . For 2 days we had no toilet roll .
The air conditioning did not work in our room and having no balcony made it unbearable.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank S88lmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

I'm still in the hotel and I fell sick because of the food! It is true that the dishes form part of the Bulgarian tradition, but the are NOT fresh at all!! Tonight for dinner there was some of the meal remanding from lunch! The receptionists and some of the waiters are really nice! The problem are: the animators, that instead of working we're staying by the pool bar drinking and smoking after making start the stereo (5 songs repeating all day long) and the "lifeguard" that was just shouting at the guests , probably because he don't know how to work( the pool is not so clean) and finally the cleaners: the room was good, but the rest of the hotel is not. The hotel itself is really beautiful and in a perfect location, but working like this it will let him lose a lot of guests!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Guest0005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VP_GR0, Guest Relation Services at Victoria Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

I have read your comment about the hotel and the service. You have mentioned that you are still in the hotel and according to your review you are not satisfied with your stay. Why do not address your complaints to the hotel management first instead of expressing your negative opinion on Trip Advisor?
I will be glad to meet you on the reception at your earliest convenience and discuss the complaints you have.

Kindest Regards,
Milena Mandadzhieva
Guest Relation Agent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
#2 of 222 in Sunny Beach
1,438 reviews
0.2 mi away
Helena Sands Hotel
Helena Sands Hotel
#11 of 222 in Sunny Beach
370 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Victoria Hotel
Grand Victoria Hotel
#86 of 222 in Sunny Beach
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Planeta
Hotel Planeta
#137 of 222 in Sunny Beach
201 reviews
2.7 mi away
Galeon Residence & Spa
Galeon Residence & Spa
#22 of 222 in Sunny Beach
101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Helena Park Hotel
Helena Park Hotel
#4 of 222 in Sunny Beach
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Palace Hotel & Spa

Address: Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Sunny Beach
#59 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range: £36 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Victoria Palace Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 545
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria Palace Hotel & Spa has been under renovation after listening to customers reviews. Two of our panorama lifts have been completely changed for season 2014 and number of rooms have been renovated. We are under a new management and efforts have been made to improve the product and the services. We are very excited to welcome our guests for season 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Victoria Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Palace Hotel Sunny Beach
Victoria Palace Hotel And Spa
Victoria Palace Bulgaria
Victoria Palace Sunny Beach
Victoria Palace Hotel Bulgaria
Hotel Victoria Palace Bulgaria
Victoria Palace Hotel & Spa Bulgaria/Sunny Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing