We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big Disappointment!!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victoria Palace Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Victoria Palace Hotel & Spa
Ranked #194 of 219 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Big Disappointment!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

This place looks pretty good but what a dump it turned out to be, the rooms were hardly ever cleaned and the food was horrific i mean since when were baked beans actually red kidney beans well in this place they was!. To be truthful the resort was a bit of a dive just a lot of overpriced rubbish and full of dick heads. All anybody here seems to want to do is rip you off every time you bought a drink all you would get from the waitresses asking was do you want your change,just everybody seemed to be on the bum. First time here and last thank god my advice would be stay well away from this hotel and resort!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diner234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VP_GR0, Guest Relation Services at Victoria Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for being our guest at Hotel Victoria Palace, Sunny Beach. We are sorry to hear that you have not been satisfied with your stay, as this hotel is one of the best-selling properties in the resort. However, we appreciate the fact that you like the appearance of our hotel.
With regard to your comment, describing the food as “horrific”, I would like to say that it reflects Bulgarian and Balkan traditions, in terms of dishes, sweets, etc., as well as international foods as pizza, spaghetti, English breakfast choice and pastries. So, we consider that the selection satisfies the taste preferences of many nationalities. We are proud of our cuisine, as other countries around the world are proud of theirs and offer their traditional and local food to visitors.
The rooms are cleaned and refreshed every day. If we know your room No, we could investigate the situation. If the room is not cleaned regularly or some days missed, that is another question, which we always address with the personnel if we receive a signal from a guest. In these cases we do urge guests to approach reception, or better management, to resolve any problems quickly and painlessly.
Once again, we thank you for being our guest, and we wish you all the best in your future holidays.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    183
    185
    199
    429
See reviews for
391
431
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Stay well away from this hotel. Went here for a break need one now that we're back. Very impressive from the outside but thats it once you get to your room it goes down hill. Rooms not cleaned, towels are not changed, bed clothes not changed during our week stay, shower head broken , no water first two mornings. SMELLY and NOISY hotel. Would advice all to AVOID.

Room Tip: No room is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1962ml1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VP_GR0, Guest Relation Services at Victoria Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for being our guest at Hotel Victoria Palace, Sunny Beach. We are sorry to hear that you have not been satisfied with your stay.
Taking into account your review, you were disappointed mainly with the housekeeping service. With regard to this issue, I would like to say that the chambermaids clean and refresh the rooms every day, changing the towels included. The bed clothes are changed once in 3 days. If by any chance, yours were changed not exactly on the third day, that is another question, which we always address with the personnel if we receive a signal from a guest. However, I can assure you that there has not been a case when the linen is not changed for a whole week.
You had also problem in the bathroom. Due to the fact we do not know your room number, we cannot investigate the situation. Whenever a problem occurs and if it is reported to the receptionists, the people responsible are immediately informed who try to cope with the problem as soon as possible.
With regard to the water, yes, there was one morning when within the period 6.30 a.m. until 10.00 a.m. there was no water. We apologize for the caused inconvenience but there was a central damage in Sunny Beach that reflected on the premises of our hotel as well as other ones nearby.
By describing the hotel as noisy, I suppose you meant the music around the pool and in the bars. Yes, Sunny Beach is a noisy resort, designed for people who like bars and night life. Hence hotels reflect this as well to keep customers in a summer mood. There are other resorts where customers can enjoy peace and quiet, as well as being close to nature.
Once again, thank you for your visit and we wish you all the best in your future holidays.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sunny Beach hotels

Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights. Problems started as soon as we arrived to the hotel. We had to wait 5 hours for the room keys which we were counting with because we arrived soon and the rooms should have been ready at 3 pm. BUT we payed for the all inclusive and they didn't even give us the bracelets so we couldn't go to have anything to eat after a long journey. We waited almost 3 hours for them. Well, the rooms were pretty comfortable with clothes dryer, hair dryer, air conditioning and small balcony. Everyday we had new towels but they didn't refill shampoos and soaps (probably you've got pretension just for one a week). The food was nothing extra, they cooked almost the same stuff every day. I would expect something more if they wanted to be a 5* hotel. Then I got a bad stomach problems so I sent my friend to the restaurant during breakfast to got me a piece of bread and the staff didn't even let him. As I said, we payed for the all inclusive and actually he had to go to the shop to got me a bread. Our travel agency told us that we should get a breakfast pack at our checkout because we were leaving very early. The receptionist had the list of guests who were leaving before the breakfast time and when I asked for the package, she told me that i didn't come the day before to order it. I don't get why she got the list, I think it's a obviousness that when we leave before breakfast, we should get the package. So we lost 2 meals, first day the snack and last day the breakfast.

We enjoyed the vacation here as much as we could (and as much as the staff let us) but I would definitely NOT come back here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dendulina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VP_GR0, Guest Relation Services at Victoria Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for being our guest at Hotel Victoria Palace, Sunny Beach. We are sorry to hear that you have not been satisfied with your stay, as this hotel is one of the best-selling properties in the resort.
With regard to your complaint concerning the necessity to wait 5 hours, I would like to clarify that the check – in is after 14 o’clock. The check-out is until 12 and the chambermaids need time to prepare the rooms for the new guests. Having in mind also the peak of the summer season, it was not possible the receptionists to accommodate you earlier. However, I can assure you that if there is an option, meaning that the room is vacated and ready, the receptionists can make an exception. In addition, the all-inclusive service starts after 14 o’clock and the bracelets are given then. The first day of the holiday begins with a snack breakfast at 15 o’clock. On the last day the guests have breakfast and lunch included in their package. All our customers have to be informed about this at the time of making their reservation in order to avoid misunderstanding like in your case.
With reference to the conditions in the rooms, we are glad to hear that you are satisfied with their comfortability. As for the shampoos and shower gels they are provided just once per staying.
You were not quite satisfied also with the food. In response to this, I would like to say that it reflects Bulgarian and Balkan traditions, in terms of dishes, sweets, etc., as well as international foods as pizza, spaghetti, English breakfast choice and pastries. So, we consider that the selection satisfies the taste preferences of many nationalities. We are proud of our cuisine, as other countries around the world are proud of theirs and offer their traditional and local food to visitors.
It is not allowed food to be taken outside the restaurant. However, when there is a reason, especially concerning the health of our customers, exceptions are accepted. In these cases we do urge guests to approach reception, or better management.
Last, but not least, with reference to the breakfast packages, if you did not request them days before the arrival, not necessarily the last but one, you cannot receive them. The other option is the order to be done through your travel agency in advance. Furthermore, the reception staff does not have any information about the departure time of each one of the guests.
Once again, thank you for your visit and we wish you all the best in your future holidays.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

The sea view is all the hotel has to offer, without the view the hotel would be unbearable.

Valets are rude, they told us to park our own car and still wanted a tip.

Mattresses were old, extremely stained.

The bathtub was very high, you have to practically climb in. The shower head sprays at a 90 degree angle and the water goes straight to the floor creating huge puddles in the bathroom. A piece of chewed gum was left on the floor of the bathroom, just a little gift from those who stayed before us.

Needless to say, I would not stay here again and would advise all to avoid.

I stayed one night so it wasn't even worth the hassle of dealing with the front desk to try and get it changed as I imagine all of the rooms were the same.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank KaityC28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VP_GR0, Guest Relation Services at Victoria Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for being our guest at Hotel Victoria Palace. We are sorry to undestand that you are not satisfied with your stay.
The hotel offers to our customers parking places for which it is paid only on the reception. Giving a tip is considered a gesture of good will and it is not a compulsory practice.
With regards to the bathroom, I would like to say that the height is a standard one, being appropriate to be used. However, there are cases when people have problems and are not able to use it without an additional step. That is why, our personnel provide such a step if requested by a guest and relief the problem to some extent.
With reference to the change of a room and having in mind the peak of the season, usually it is very difficult this to be done. However, I can assure you that if there is a reasonable argument, the reception staff is friendly and helpful enough to meet the demands of all our customers.
Once again, thank for your visit and we wish you all the best in your future holidays.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

The Victoria Palace is by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. This hotel looks very impressive from the outside however we were most definitely NOT impressed with our stay:

1) First room we were allocated air con broken and dirty - was moved rooms however other room had toe nail clippings on the floor and again wasn't very clean. Obviously had not been hoovered in a long time.

2) Room was not cleaned every day

3) Food absolutely terrible, couldn't even cook chips!! All cold and cooked thoroughly

4) Sleep Quality - very poor as beds so uncomfortable.

5) Rude and unhelpful staff

6) Pool area full of pigs - one man was blowing his nose into the water and others spitting into it

7) Almost no entertainment

8) Please be aware of people following you, trying to hoax you into their restaurants and trying to get you to hold snakes etc. Shouting abuse at you if you decline

9) Restaurant area not clean at all, very messy. Difficult to get a table. Ice cream tubs were a complete mess.

DO NOT STAY HERE.

Room Tip: Simply do not go
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ktb189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Where do I start .... the hotel looks lovely from outside and in ....if a little tired could do with some maintenance.
Our room was as per the brochure but smelt a bit musty.we paid extra for a balcony with sea view thank god as this and the beach was the best thing about our stay.
We have holidays a lot and this was by far the worst food ever .... it was cold most of the time .. not stored for service properly ie baymaries we often not on and chilled food like cheese and cold meat just put on tables with no chiller .
Often no where to sit and no cutlery .staff didn't speak and had no idea what they should be doing.
A lot of the guest were eastern block ,no interaction with each other let alone us .rude , greedy ,horrible.

Room Tip: As high up as possible ,best views less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VP_GR0, Guest Relation Services at Victoria Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for being our guest at Hotel Victoria Palace, Sunny Beach. We are sorry to hear that you have not been satisfied with your stay, as this hotel is one of the best-selling properties in the resort. However we appreciate the fact that you outlined the appearance of the hotel as lovely.
As it is mentioned in your review, you were disappointed with the food, more specifically its temperature. We understand that people have different preferences with regard to the cuisine but we are proud of it, as other countries around the world are proud of theirs and offer their traditional and local food to visitors. In addition, I can assure you that the temperature of the food entirely meets the standards and this is checked regularly by the hotel management.
Having in mind the peak of the summer season, there are a lot of guests in the hotel. In order to avoid the crowdedness in the restaurant as well as to make the atmosphere during meal times more pleasant for our customers, the hotel management has introduced two sitting times for lunch and dinner and these measures have proven to have positive effect.
If originally your reservation is for a room with a park view, you are right that in order to be moved into a sea view room you have to pay extra. The rooms are cleaned and refreshed everyday by the chambermaids. However, if there was an inappropriate smell in the room, this is an issue that could be addressed to the reception staff who is friendly and helpful enough to inform the chambermaids in order to refresh the room again.
Once again, we thank you for being our guest, and we wish you all the best in your future holidays.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

I'm going to bullet point this to make it easy:

Positives:
Lots of food on offer
Short walk to the main strip
Reception area looked nice.

Negatives:
Staff were incredibly rude and not helpful.
Even though it's all inclusive, you can sit at the pool bar unless you purchase a drink from there.
Our room smelt of damn and was unclean.
You French doors flooded when it rained and socked our room.
The place was heaving with people, many locals who don't stay there but use the facilities.
The lifts were always broken.
The pool water was dirty and pool toilets badly maintained.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KTB2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VP_GR0, Guest Relation Services at Victoria Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for being our guest at Hotel Victoria Palace, Sunny Beach. We are sorry to hear that you have not been satisfied with your stay, as this hotel is one of the best-selling properties in the resort.
Although your impressions were mainly negative, we are glad that you have outlined also the positive sides according to you. Thank you that you have appreciated the food choice, the location of the hotel as well as the reception area’s appearance.
I do not know what made you consider our staff as rude, but I would like to say that the personnel treat all the guests with respect, trying their best to help them and resolve problems when such arise.
Apart from the guests that are on All-Inclusive basis in our hotel, there are others who have paid for both breakfast and dinner or only for breakfast. Therefore, except the two all-inclusive bars the hotel offers one paid pool bar namely for these guests.
There are four elevators in the hotel. In case a problem arises, the company responsible is informed and fixes the problem as soon as possible. However, I can assure you that there has not been a case when all the four elevators were out of order at the same time.
With regard to the housekeeping issue, I would like to inform you that the chambermaids clean and refresh all the rooms every day. If we know your room No, we could investigate the situation. If the room is not cleaned regularly or some days missed, that is another question, which we always address with the personnel if we receive a signal from a guest. In these cases we do urge guests to approach reception, or better management, to resolve any problems quickly and painlessly.
Having in mind the peak of the summer season, it is normal that there are a lot of people in the hotel. However, all they are guests of Victoria Palace. I can assure you that there are no people in the hotel who use the facilities free of charge.
Once again, thank you for your visit and we wish you all the best in your future holidays.


Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Planeta
Hotel Planeta
#101 of 219 in Sunny Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Helena Sands Hotel
Helena Sands Hotel
#7 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.1 mi away
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
#1 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Marvel
Hotel Marvel
#28 of 219 in Sunny Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
2.8 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#59 of 219 in Sunny Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Palace Hotel & Spa

Property: Victoria Palace Hotel & Spa
Address: Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Sunny Beach
#53 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Victoria Palace Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 545
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria Palace Hotel & Spa has been under renovation after listening to customers reviews. Two of our panorama lifts have been completely changed for season 2014 and number of rooms have been renovated. We are under a new management and efforts have been made to improve the product and the services. We are very excited to welcome our guests for season 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Victoria Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Palace Hotel Sunny Beach
Victoria Palace Hotel And Spa
Victoria Palace Bulgaria
Victoria Palace Sunny Beach
Victoria Palace Hotel Bulgaria
Hotel Victoria Palace Bulgaria
Victoria Palace Hotel & Spa Bulgaria/Sunny Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing