We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Riu Helios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Riu Helios
Ranked #4 of 221 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Sofia, Bulgaria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

it was nice and pleasant ! :) The food was surprising delicious ! The meals were great ! The staff were cool :) The only thing is that there were too many bees ! And the hotel's guests were too insolent and put their towels on the lounges in the night before and all day long ! The hotel's manages have to forbid that !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lora A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    261
    70
    41
    14
See reviews for
229
341
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St.Petersburg
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

If you are going to make a career of model or just want to lose weight, it is not your place. But if you enjoy life, like delicious food and wine, sea, sun, good company, you are very welcome to the best hotel at Sunny Beach. The hotel personnel will make your stay very pleasant.
Tips: 1. The best rooms are with sea/pool view. The rooms facing the streets could be noisy. Definitely avoid those with a door between the rooms, you will hear every word of your neighbors.
2. There are 2 thematic restaurants: Bulgarian and Asian. Make your reservation very much in advance as they are always busy.
3. Nessebar is a must-see. Take any bus with a sign Nessebar ( # 1, 5, 8) and in 15 minutes you will enjoy one of the best place in Bulgaria. One-way ticket costs 1 lev (half a euro).
4. If you go to Istanbul, take 2-days trip, one day is not enough for the city. Remember that the Sultan’s palace is closed on Tuesdays.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank IrinaStPetersburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

hotel was really lovely had a lovely break BUT when we arrived 9pm the bar was open but nothing to eat was just givin water the bar was open for drinks but no food we had to go out for food which was the last thing we wanted to do would of been happy with sandwich think they need to inprove this !!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yvonne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

My wife and I went to the Riu Helios, Sunny beach between 9th and 17th September...It was our 2nd visit to the hotel having went there in 2011. Difference being this time we took our 18month old boy. The main reason for returning was the last time it was such a fantastic experience we had to return.

In 2011 we had the most amazing pool view room. You looked out onto the main pool and could see the beach in the distance. We booked this holiday 15 months in advance and requested a pool room...so hoped to get a similar room. We were very excited when we got the lift to the same floor, down the same corridor, but instead we had a room overlooking the street. We were above the delivery entrance of the hotel, also above the hotel generators. I went down to the reception to ask to move rooms and was informed to speak the manager at the welcome meeting.

As I explained the situation to Jess, the Thomson rep she dismissed me in an instance. Wasn't even willing to enquire, consult the manager...nothing!! She just said hotel is completely full and no chance of a move. I spoke to the manager, and found her to be rude and dismissive also. Her reply was "not possible" and if I wanted to move I could do it on the Sunday (but we were going home Monday)

Had a couple more problems with the room, door lock broken and a large hole in the balcony (big enough for my boy to fit both his feet down??) but informing reception these were fixed relatively quickly...

I had also had to ask the question at reception about the room doors. The door had a lock on it, now when locked surely it would make sense that from the inside it should lock?? NO, it simply stops people from the outside using a room card to get in. So having an adventurous little boy he could simply pull down the handle,(with the lock on) and the door would click open...Very disappointing!!

Now that's my moans over and overall this is an impressive hotel. What they have done in the last 2 years is exceptional. Extending the main restaurant and modernising the pool bar, both with modern glass sliding windows. The restaurant is fantastic, plenty of food to choose from!!

The animation team is fantastic, always trying to involve you but not too pushy. They work such long hours but everyone has a laugh with them. Great bunch of people...

The bar salon and evening entertainment is poor.. On a final note if I had to be critical the pools are freezing. I would have expected some warm water to be pumped through the kids pool at least...

At the start of the week the way I felt about the Thomson rep, the managers attitude, the room type I would have give this hotel 2 stars. But thank the lord this hotel has been improved, great bar staff, restaurant staff, animation team and the maids keeping the rooms clean has bumped my opinion to 4 stars...

I would go back but anything within 10 years would be too soon...

Room Tip: Just pray that if you request a pool view you get one...Is booking 15 months in advance not early en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smitt06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 16th-23rd sept. 1st time in bulgaria but met several people who were returning not only to bulgaria, but also this hotel.
Airport is small and not that clean on arrival. When departing it seems to be much nicer with 2 outdoor areas to sit and watch the planes from.
Transfer took about 30mins on a nicely air conditioned coach. First impressions were that bulgaria is still not too developed which is great though you definitely see much work being undertaken to build more hotels etc.
From the second we reached the hotel we were met with friendly staff and other guests who were lovely. The staff on reception will give advice on local attractions etc.
Thomson rep jess was great. Always there with a smile and so helpful.
Rooms were clean and carpeted so nothing dropped got broken - good bonus after a tipple too many! Beds were amazingly comfy though pillows looked like they'd seen better days.
Plenty of sunbeds and once the morning french boules are finished the quiet pool is nice and peaceful.I would've loved the pool to be slightly warmer though as we all struggled with it being icy cold in there...the sea was a few degrees warmer though there are jelly fish so be careful.
Now the food...some say not much choice...breakfast lunch and dinner always had the firm favourites but also they added a few different things each day....you just have to look around. Some mentions on here of fisty cuffs at mealtimes...we ate with 45mins of restaurant opening and never had more than 1 person in front of us and everyone was so polite.
Remzi in the restaurant was lovely and a very hard worker...he never stopped but always kept his smile despite long days!
The asian restaurant is stunning. A great environment and very romantic.
We didnt try the bulgarian but those that did thought it was amazing. The main restaurant had a theme of bulgaria one evening to give a taster - my fussy other half loved it!
Entertainment was a bit like butlins but it was ok...the riu animation team tried hard and gave it their all - the bar staff and the other guests also helped.
Theres no kettle cups etc in rooms but the fridge is ok and tv has some good channels.
I really cant fault the hotel other than the cold pool...its lovely and relaxing!
Nessebar is a must too its stunning! Sunny beach is ok...you dont get mithered at all just left to do what you want...perfection!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vix8231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

There where 6 of us aged 62 to 70.Arrived 13/09/13 for 10 days.
Rooms clean well laid out, maid changed towels dayly bedlinen alternate dates. 1large buffet well staffed,tables had cloths unusual for buffet type Restaurant ,1day snack type buffet during day at nighy Bulgarian themed. 1 asian themed.Great and varied choice of food in Buffet at all times. Bars well maned and altogether very competent.Entertainment staff although they worked there socks of,abit lacking in the quality department.The Hotel was spotless and staff whether in the restaurant,bars and pools cleared away efficiently and always politely.We all agreed if we choose to return to sunny beach the Helios would be our choice as it would be hard to find better and actually The Helios is a major factor in wanting to return to sunny beach.

Room Tip: Transfers from airport a cattle run,try to do a deal and transfer via hotel taxis
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We have just returned from one of the best holidays we have had abroad, you can nearly always find something to fault in a hotel of this size but the only thing we could fault was that the swimming pool was too cold what a great Hotel !!, everything was really clean the staff even though it was the end of the season were very friendly and helpful, The food in the main Restaurant was varied there was a large choice of salads main courses and desserts and some very tasty Ice creams that pleased the wife. I recommend that the Asian Restaurant and the Bulgarian Restaurant are tried during a holiday as both are extremely good we booked 2 excursions while there from the tourist office on the opposite corner from the main entrance of the hotel as they were quite a lot cheaper than booking through the Thomson Rep. Khans Tent was a fantastic night very enjoyable, we also booked the 4x4 jeep safari but we were not so keen on this as we felt it could have been organised better and at times they stopped the jeeps and it seemed like they were just filling time. Back to the Hotel The animation staff were brilliant during the day getting people involved in the activities but without being too pushy bearing in mind that they could not use the pool for games as it was too cold the evening entertainment could sometimes be a bit average. The hotel is situated close too the beach just go out the back gates across the strip and you are on the beach.

Room Tip: Try for a pool view or a sea view although the sea.view rooms cost a little more
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
#1 of 221 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
1.6 mi away
Helena Park Hotel
Helena Park Hotel
#9 of 221 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laguna Park Hotel
Laguna Park Hotel
#11 of 221 in Sunny Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Helena Sands Hotel
Helena Sands Hotel
#7 of 221 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
1.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 221 in Sunny Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Sunny Beach Resort
Iberostar Sunny Beach Resort
#2 of 221 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Helios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Helios

Property: Hotel Riu Helios
Address: Sunny Beach | Bulgaria, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sunny Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Helios 4*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* In the Sunny Beach resort area on the Black Sea * 5-story building * Situated on the beach front * 300 m from the center of Sunny Beach * 25 km from Burgas airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Helios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Helios Hotel
Riu Helios Sunny Beach
Hotel Riu Helios Bulgaria/Sunny Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing