We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, perfect location”
Review of Hotel Riu Helios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Helios
Ranked #4 of 220 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, perfect location”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I have stayed at Riu Helios twice (2008,2013) and I enjoyed both times. It's a nice hotel in a great location. It's right in the middle of everything and the beach is in front of the hotel. The food is good and the staff are friendly. They had upgrated the hotel after my first visit and I was pleasantly surprised with the changes.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank LilyMagnolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    287
    79
    43
    14
See reviews for
253
370
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This was our 3rd stay at the hotel and was as great as always. Hotel has been renovated both inside and outside. Pool bar is brand new with exits to both the big and small pool. It is well decorated and it is used for both pool and evening bar. there is also a newly build brunch place just next to the beach exit. You can find late breakfast, lite lunch and afternoon breakfast there. Really convenient. The food is great, different and very well cooked. Animation is OK , different activities everyday and mini disco for the kids. The service is good. There is paid WiFi - this is the only disadvantage. I definitely recommend the place.

Room Tip: with see view or pool view.. If we a street view can be a bit noisy .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank GeorgiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel clean and comfortable, staff could not be more helpful if they tried, good range pool side activities during the day, choice of 2 specialist restaurants and buffet restaurant all serving good food 7/10 evening entertainment could be more suited to adults after kids show, great facilities.
Recommended if going to sunny beach great vfm.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
9 Thank b0b1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We stayed at this Hotel for a week and the cannot fault the helpfulness of the staff. Food was a bit repetitive but good. The only problem was that my son who I had to pay full price for had to sleep on a camp bed which collapsed when he sat on it. After various trips to reception and speaking to holiday rep he eventually had two mattresses on floor to sleep on. I think this is a bit much when you are paying full price. An adult wouldn't have slept on this. The plumbing left a lot to be desired as well. I would not go back again. Also the sunloungers on the beach were really expensive and there was really nothing to do in the evening. The entertainment at Hotel was rubbish!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank marj9939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Spent 2wks here from 16th Sept2013. Weather was excellent until last 2 days when it was impossible to leave hotel due to downpours which apparently is common for the time of year. We had to request a room change on arrival as our balcony overlooked roof tops and we had no view of sea/pool or anything remotely connected with a holiday resort!! There was no problem with our request and the next day(only available on change over) we were given a room with a massive balcony with views to all sides of pool/sea etc. Rooms big and clean and plenty of cupboard/wardrobe space. Rooms made up everyday. We loved the all inclusive food. Lots to choose from and for all tastes and diets. Lots of beds around the very cold pool which we felt that in the high season would be far too close together. However going at the time of year we did it wasn't a problem. Right on the sandy beach with free sunbeds-perhaps they charge in high season because some reviews say you have to pay.The manager was always around the hotel greeting clients at meal times, behind the desk etc which was brilliant if you had a gripe about anything ( we didn't) Free bottles of water were available behind reception on demand although it wasn,t made particularly clear. All in all we had a great time and would definitely return and recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors than reception best and ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mslancashire503927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Good food/drink/ clean great bar staff waiters and the animation team.Reception unfriendly Gergio in the main resturant rude the girl in the shop worse.
The Rui class card they wipe off your points if you do not stay in a rui for two yrs so when you have a late check out as most of the flights are late here they charge you About £60 to keep your room on,so the points we saved for this were wiped out not happy as stayed in many Ruis but not the last to yrs.Try the Iberostar behind people were saying it was the best here. Good position for this hotel anyway 10mins away from blackpool in the sun.Best time to go here would be the first two weeks july and the same in september

Room Tip: pool rooms are good, 1st floor the best bigger balconys.rooms on the back face the street and coach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank glenn1956100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

it was nice and pleasant ! :) The food was surprising delicious ! The meals were great ! The staff were cool :) The only thing is that there were too many bees ! And the hotel's guests were too insolent and put their towels on the lounges in the night before and all day long ! The hotel's manages have to forbid that !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lora A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
#1 of 220 in Sunny Beach
1,347 reviews
1.5 mi away
Helena Sands Hotel
Helena Sands Hotel
#11 of 220 in Sunny Beach
338 reviews
1.6 mi away
Helena Park Hotel
Helena Park Hotel
#3 of 220 in Sunny Beach
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Laguna Park Hotel
Laguna Park Hotel
#12 of 220 in Sunny Beach
1,367 reviews
0.1 mi away
MPM Blue Pearl
MPM Blue Pearl
#38 of 220 in Sunny Beach
106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Sunny Beach Resort
Iberostar Sunny Beach Resort
#6 of 220 in Sunny Beach
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Helios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Helios

Property: Hotel Riu Helios
Address: | on the beachfront, 300 m from centre of Sunny Beach, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sunny Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Sunny Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Helios 4*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* In the Sunny Beach resort area on the Black Sea * 6-story building * Situated on the beach front * 300 m from the center of Sunny Beach * 25 km from Burgas airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Helios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Helios Hotel
Riu Helios Sunny Beach
Hotel Riu Helios Bulgaria/Sunny Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing