We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect lazy holiday!”
Review of Hotel Riu Helios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Helios
Ranked #4 of 220 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Perfect lazy holiday!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

After booking our holiday and finding out sunny beach has a party reputation we were apprehensive however the Helios was a fantastic hotel for a lazy holiday. The smaller pool was quieter and we took our own towel and cushion to make the beds more comfortable. Would recommend taking a lilo or ring for the pool, also recommend a flask style cup as saves trips to bar during the day. Gym really quiet so took advantage of this facility too! Would recommend even if partying isn't your thing. The weather in July was great and the locals friendly plus great for people watching all the other Tourists! Some German visitors and Brits but no Russians! Would highly recommend!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MrsZebby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    287
    79
    43
    14
See reviews for
253
370
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We booked this holiday as a second choice as we were supposed to be having a holiday of a lifetime to Kenya but had to cancel as they're busy blowing people up over there. We knew nothing about Sunny Beach and I had only been to Bulgaria once before - skiing in 1988!
When we arrived in the middle of the night we were transported back 20 years to our 18-30 days! Suffice to say Sunny Beach lives up to its party reputation (which we now know about!)
However, we had a wonderful holiday. The hotel was very clean and comfortable and our room was spacious with a great view of the pool and beach.
Food was fab - loads of variety and always being cooked fresh. The Bulgarian and Asian restaurants in the hotel were both excellent too.
No big queues at the bars for drinks and the variety of drinks on the All Inclusive menu was very good. In spite of the fact that the hotel was half families and half young 'party' people, the atmosphere around the main bar was really pleasant - busy but happy. We felt no qualms letting our 13year old go to the bar or walk around the hotel by herself.
The real highlight of the hotel for us was the animation team. Loads of stuff going on all day around the pool area, but they never pressured people to join in. Great bunch of young people who were really friendly and bright, and who provided good entertainment each evening too. The only disappointing times were their day off!
The resort itself is as expected, if you've read anything about it - lots of young people getting drunk and doing what they do - but we wandered down the main strip each evening and never felt it to be threatening...if anything it gave good people watching opportunities!
There weren't many sightseeing opportunities around. We went to Nesebar one day, taking a water taxi there and a land train back (check that you get the right land train for your area of the resort or you'll have a long walk like we did) and that was really lovely, with lots of history, little restaurants and shops. We also went on the trip to Khan's Tent, which was well worth it, and did jet-skiing and parasailing from the beach, but aside that from that you are mainly stuck to the resort itself.
One tip about the hotel - make sure you hand in either your towels or the towel cards on check out or you WILL get charged for missing towels at 30 leva each.
All in all a lovely, relaxing holiday punctuated with some really decent entertainment and fabulous food.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I have been on my fair share of holidays ranging from party to relaxing and fun! This hotel has to be the best by far. The staff were fantastic, playing games around the pool all day, having a laugh and joke with the customers. All was able to speak very good English and other languages. The bar staff had our drinks ready for us as by the time we got to the bar and the all inclusive menu for drinks was pretty much anything. They had a good variety of food and your able to choose from a few restaurants, day time and night time! The entertainers from around the pool also did the evening entertainment. Each night they did shows or games which were really good! After the show they would spend a few hours talking to the customers around the bar/ entertainment room making everyone feel welcomed. On this particular holiday we went to have fun and relax rather than going out drinking, although people we met around the pool had told us the night-life was fantastic and the pubs were only a short walk away! (No noise though don't worry)! hope this has helped. This is the only hotel I would 100% re-visit!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carly e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the Hotel Riu Helios Palace in Sunny Beach for a week from 18th July 2014. Due to the flight times, we arrived at the hotel at 5.45am. Coffee and Biscuits were laid on for us. Our room was so comfy and clean. We had our bed changed daily and the standard was so high. The food was fantastic. What a great choice! Everything piping hot. Drinks were available throughout the day from machines by the pool as well as from the bar and restaurants. Bar staff were excellent! Restaurant staff were excellent! I honestly do not have a bad word to say about our holiday! The rep Sabina was amazing. She was really helpful and was easy to locate in and around the hotel. The flight crew were really good. We were upgraded to extra leg room seats for free! We would definitely return and would recommend to anyone of any age! Fantastic!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jue1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We booked this holiday after being recommended by uniformdating.com for being the best speed dating hotel in Bulgaria, they were not wrong! The shallow end of the pool was particularly good. We had a great reception from the girls in our hotel for our press ups, they were really impressed! overall, the holiday was great apart from a moody couple who acted like the deep end of the pool was a library (luckily we were too hungover to see their boring faces at breakfast in the morning!).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The hotel is fine, room larger than expected, food good especially the Asian Restaurant,, staff very friendly and helpful, service in the bars fast, everywhere spotlessly clean, just what you would expect from a Riu hotel and I have stayed in quite a few in various countries. It is important to have a room facing the beach and pools as rooms at the front of the hotel overlook the street which I feel would be very noisy and not a great outlook. The beach is vast, never seen so many chairs and sun shades so we used it just for strolls and stayed in the pool areas which were very comfortable and quieter. The prom is like walking into a fairground with masses of funfair stalls rides and shops, restaurants, bars and clubs. Lots of groups of guys and girls like stag and hen parties. There were a few of these in the hotel, but mostly families and couples, but no problems. We went with Thomson and went on a trip into country and mountain areas which were worth visiting and a nightclub trip to Khan's Tent overlooking Sunny Beach, where the food was very good, cabaret excellent, and good group to dance to. We caught the bus, dirt cheap, to nearby Nessebar, interesting and historic and caught the boat back. Weather was great about 29c. all week.30th June to 7the July. Would not go back to Sunny Beach as an area, too big and brash, but would return to Bulgaria, but only to a much quieter place. Sunny beach is becoming the new Ibiza for the young, but cheaper. I think we were the oldest people on the flight out by miles.

Room Tip: See description must have a room overlooking pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hypnodymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torsken
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Try the vanilla icecream.
All inclusive is good.
If you want to try something else,
Try the steak on Morris
Try the strawberry dequrry on Luxery.
ORDER the Katamaran trip from Nessebar.
Your vacation will be 100% Sucessfull

The best so far in Sunny Beach.. near to everything.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Knut A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
#1 of 220 in Sunny Beach
1,347 reviews
1.5 mi away
Helena Sands Hotel
Helena Sands Hotel
#11 of 220 in Sunny Beach
338 reviews
1.6 mi away
Helena Park Hotel
Helena Park Hotel
#3 of 220 in Sunny Beach
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Laguna Park Hotel
Laguna Park Hotel
#12 of 220 in Sunny Beach
1,367 reviews
0.1 mi away
MPM Blue Pearl
MPM Blue Pearl
#38 of 220 in Sunny Beach
106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Sunny Beach Resort
Iberostar Sunny Beach Resort
#6 of 220 in Sunny Beach
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Helios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Helios

Property: Hotel Riu Helios
Address: | on the beachfront, 300 m from centre of Sunny Beach, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sunny Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Sunny Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Helios 4*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* In the Sunny Beach resort area on the Black Sea * 6-story building * Situated on the beach front * 300 m from the center of Sunny Beach * 25 km from Burgas airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Riu Helios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Helios Hotel
Riu Helios Sunny Beach
Hotel Riu Helios Bulgaria/Sunny Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing