We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A really pleasant holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Helios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Riu Helios
Ranked #5 of 219 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A really pleasant holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

To be honest, we had been given mixed reviews about Bulgaria and Sunny Beach but it was an all inclusive holiday that was much cheaper than most parts of Europe so we thought we would give it a go.
We got there at 3am in the morning and thought that the hotel staff would be on a Skelton crew. However, due to the number of staff, check in only took five minutes and they made us feel extremely welcome.
Our room was exactly what we needed; air conditioning, a fridge, blackout curtains to stop the morning sun waking us up too early and a comfy bed. There was plenty of storage and the bathroom was well equipped with enough towels and toiletries. To be honest the hair dryer had about as much impact as a hamster blowing on you but that was such a minor thing as I had brought out my own.
As for the rest of the hotel, it was always clean and tidy. There were so many staff working to make the place comfortable and they were always friendly and helpful if you required something out of the ordinary.
A tip though: learning a little Bulgarian goes a long way.
The food was fab - such a variety to choose from, the 'animation' staff were so enthusiastic and made us smile every day.

On the whole we had a fantastic time and we would definitely go back there again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    260
    70
    41
    14
See reviews for
229
340
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

The Hotel Riu Helios in Sunny Beach Bulgaria has to be one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. By the time we arrived it was the early hours of the morning. We walked in to a very bright and glamorous reception area where the staff were all smiling and incredibly helpful. Leaving reception we were handed two large bottles of water, we then proceeded to our room and were pleasantly surprised by the size and quality. Our room had a pool and beach view with a nice spacious balcony. All of the sheets on the beds were crisp and immaculate as was all of the linen provided in the bathroom. All of the rooms (that our party occupied at least) had a TV, fridge and a hairdryer and air conditioning.
After an excellent night sleep we proceeded to the dining hall, the choice and quality of the food was second to none. We had a couple of fussy eaters and there was something there to suit everyone. This was the same at every meal we ate. I would really recommend trying the Asian and Bulgarian restaurants. You do have to specifically book these bit they are definitely worth it. Once the main meals times are finished there is also a snack bar where you can get hot and cold food or wrapped sandwiches to take away. Everyone loved being able to just go in and make an ice cream.
The staff in the hotel could not do enough to help, one of the waiters even helped us to learn some basic Bulgarian vocabulary. The animation (entertainment) team work tirelessly and are working from early in the day to very late in the evening. Although we didn't need to use it they run a kids club as well which apparently runs for a couple of hours every morning and then again in the afternoon.
They have a dedicated cleaning staff who are very good at what they do. Everyday our beds were made using the counterpayne to form a pattern, and the sheets were changed completely mid week.
The pools are immaculate and so refreshing and there what ever time of day we were always able to find a lounger around the pool somewhere. There are life guards on duty whenever the pools are open.
You have to checkout from your room by midday (although I believe there is a paid option where you can keep your room until 6pm). However they have a secure room where you can leave your luggage and if you book it early enough you can have the option to book a shower room so you can freshen up before your journey home.
All in all I can not praise highly enough the staff and overall impression of this hotel enough. I would definitely stay in a Riu hotel again.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms are quieter as the streets at the front of the hotel stay busy until very late. Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballynahiach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

This is a first class hotel. Food is excellent. Staff are very friendly and very good at thier job. The rooms are large and modern . The hotel is clean The animation team are very funny and are very good at what they do. The hotel is on the beach which is 8km long with warm water. The hotel is central. Cant wait to goo back

Room Tip: You get a better exchange rate if you use bank of England notes
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daveqw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Just returned from Bulgaria staying at the Rui Helios for 1 week it was fantastic, from arriving the staff were very friendly and pleasant and always willing to help. The hotel and the rooms are very clean, our room was cleaned daily to an excellent standard. The animation team work exceptionally hard especially Bobbi and have a variety of different activities to take part in, as well as the evening entertainment. There are 3 restaurants we only tried the main and the Chinese restaurant and they were both excellent with a range of food for everyone that was always very tasty, there is also a Bulgarian restaurant but we did not have time to try this. The drinks were Pepsi etc for the soft drinks along with orange and other juices, the alcoholic drinks were local but again were excellent you had very little wait at the bars to get served and could get multiple drinks at once if required.
The hotel is in the centre close to the bars but don't let this put you off as we found it very quiet and is just far enough away from the main strip to walk there in a few minutes but not be bothered by the music.
The only negative I would say is the safety deposit boxes are very small and will not fit iPads etc , they said we left these out in the room and had no bother at all.

An excellent hotel with excellent staff would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

The hotel facilities and food were very good, however during the first part of the holiday we were subjected to groups of people being drunk around the pool, not able to stand falling onto beds and into the pool nearly missing young children. One was sick all over his sun bed he got up staggered to the pool then disappeared. It was left to a holiday maker to call one of the hotel staff to cleAn it up, very reluctantly. On another occasion 2 couples came and rigged up their I pad with a speaker and had it so loud you could not hear anyone speak. The worse for wear they got the louder it became then they started to dance suggestively on their sun beds in front of several young children. The pool staff seemed oblivious to want was going on.
Their is also a Bar on the beach which plays loud music all day, they play the same music over and over again. Apparently there are no restrictions as to when loud music can be played, If you want a quiet hotel then this is definately not one.

We were very disappointed with our holiday,we have stayed in several Riu Hotels and this has been the worse to date.

Room Tip: Have pool side room, ones on the front are subjected to a lot of noise through the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Travelled with Thomson from Edinburgh and travel times to resort were very good, arriving at hotel a little after 5pm. This gave us time to check in, look around the resort and try the buffet dinner at reasonable times.

Travelled with 2 teenage/adults who had plenty to do during the day and in the evenings within the hotel itself, however the location was perfect for browsing shops during the day and in the evening and well placed for a variety of bars and restaurants. We went out on the Strip to the Tikki Bar a few times for a great selection of cocktails and Daks Irish Bar where my husband drank Guinness, it also stocked most well know UK brands like Strongbow and Smirnoff Ice for anyone hankering their usual tipple.

Back at the hotel there are 2 pools, one slightly larger which gets the sun for slightly longer in the day but does fill up with towels earlier also – people do put towels out at 7am but we always managed to get 4 together at the smaller pool provided we didn’t go out after 8.30.

I would definitely recommend going to Khans Tent which is a popular attraction bookable via your travel company. The evening starts by getting everyone seated at their tables and a live band plays music. A 4 course meal is then served followed by several entertaining acts with a bit of time to dance to the live music again till the end of the evening.

Defiantly book the Bulgarian and Asian restaurants at the hotel. They are both buffet style but make a change from the regular buffet. However, having said that we always enjoyed the main buffet restaurant as it offered a good variety of food each evening with a few regular items like pastas and a good selection of breads every evening. We tended to use the Snack restaurant at lunch time for a change and although it offered less of a variety from day to day, that was why we used it – because it was food we enjoy at lunch time – pizza, toasties, pasta, chicken nuggets and a choice of ready made rolls and sandwiches. Always with a selection of fruit, bread and desserts.

The Lobby Bar was always quick to get served during the day and into the evening and the staff are good to remember what drinks you normally have. They do serve everything in plastic cups until 6pm for Health and Safety reasons – the pool closes at 6pm. Sometimes though I went there to sit after 5pm, no longer in pool wear and with intentions of staying at the bar and would have liked a glass but hey, its health and safety and tastes the same.

As we had no younger children with us we didn’t really use the entertainment but it looked popular. To their credit the Animation team did come round to encourage people to take part but would speak to you socially, no pressure then move on if you didn’t want to take part it that particular activity.

I would recommend this hotel and yes Id recommend Sunny Beach. It is a young persons resort but only really in the evening and having said that its one of those places that doesn’t exclude older people, they can still do their thing. And it would have been possible to stay in the hotel the whole week as it had everything we needed but a bit of exploring tops off the holiday.

Room Tip: Entertainment goes on till midnight but we were on top floor and it wasnt so loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine66UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
150 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

After booking our holiday and finding out sunny beach has a party reputation we were apprehensive however the Helios was a fantastic hotel for a lazy holiday. The smaller pool was quieter and we took our own towel and cushion to make the beds more comfortable. Would recommend taking a lilo or ring for the pool, also recommend a flask style cup as saves trips to bar during the day. Gym really quiet so took advantage of this facility too! Would recommend even if partying isn't your thing. The weather in July was great and the locals friendly plus great for people watching all the other Tourists! Some German visitors and Brits but no Russians! Would highly recommend!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MrsZebby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
1.4 mi away
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
#1 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
0.4 mi away
Laguna Park Hotel
Laguna Park Hotel
#11 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
1.5 mi away
Helena Sands Hotel
Helena Sands Hotel
#7 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Helena Park Hotel
Helena Park Hotel
#9 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.4 mi away
Iberostar Sunny Beach Resort
Iberostar Sunny Beach Resort
#2 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Royal Beach
Barcelo Royal Beach
#12 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Helios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Helios

Property: Hotel Riu Helios
Address: Sunny Beach | Bulgaria, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Sunny Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Helios 4*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* In the Sunny Beach resort area on the Black Sea * 5-story building * Situated on the beach front * 300 m from the center of Sunny Beach * 25 km from Burgas airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Riu Helios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Helios Hotel
Riu Helios Sunny Beach
Hotel Riu Helios Bulgaria/Sunny Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing