We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #57 of 221 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Market Harborough
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

My wife and I are regular travellers abroad (at least twice a year), we have stayed at many establishments and never have I felt such an urge to write a review.
On 1st impressions this looks a nice hotel and looks quite swish in the brochures with impressive looking gazebos around pool and promises of elegent spa, sophisticated piano bar, private beach area..etc.. etc.. all in all sounds like a great place to spend a relaxing hard earned holiday.
How wrong could this be!!! scratch the surface and you will see the real hotel Imperial.
In the cold light of day you notice just how shabby this place is, outside the hotel lobby stand expensive cars and quad bikes that never move(there just to make the place look good!!) then
look up at the missing tiles on the turrets.
Take a look around the lobby bar area, smelly toilets and the sofas and you will find cobwebs dust and rubbish. The maid does her best with the one cloth she seems to have for everything cleaning surfaces & windows.
The rooms were to be fair sizable with a great view and well equiped,but thats where it stops. Shoud you have a shower then be prepared for a paddle as the water pours out from the shower cubicle and floods the bathroom floor. The bed was made every day by room service but during our stay the sheets were never changed. If your having your tea I apologise for the next bit but were talking toilets. As we all know toilets suffer at some point from certain marks as did ours but each and every time the maid "cleaned" the room the said marks were still there. Hmm!!
If you decide not to use the lifts and take excercise by using the stairs be carefull as the stair tiles are broken and cracked and the lights in the stair well don't work, so you walk down to the lobby bar in the dark.
The lobby bar is so small and inadequate there is nowhere to sit and the bar staff have a habit of disappearing. We decided to take our drinks through the open door to the cocktail/piano bar and were promptly thrown out again by some woman who proclaimed that this area was not part of the hotel?? Funny that as the door is direcly behind the reception off the lobby.
We would love to have gone in for a cocktail or two at some point during our hols but this bar was never open!
This also applies to the spa facilities which are available behind the dirty bird mess stained windows next to the pool area.
The pool although small is pleasent but the drum and bass music pumping out from the shed, sorry snack bar is obtrusive and unnecessary.
As for the snack bar, this is accessed past the broken and missing crazy paving, past the pile of seating cushions in a corner against the air conditioner and the shabby dishevelled gazebos.
The snack bar is a real credit to naffness with broken furniture and disgusting dark toilets and equally disgusting coffee.
The music again is a big issue and we struggled to be heard when ordering drinks and I even had to assist an elderly gentleman in getting a drink as he could not make himself heard above the din.
We were never given any information about the hotels so called private beach area with loungers umbrellas & beach bar, indeed there was only one bar on the beach open and we had to pay for drinks and loungers if we wanted that service.
The food in the hotel is just about passable but was never hot only warm and frequently we witnessed people taking up this with staff who just shrugged it off. Out of the three drinks machines, we were lucky if more than one worked each morning and the ONLY so called toaster was useless and would barely warm the bread.
There is not a great deal to do in this hotel of an evening, you could watch the tv in the lobby area under the staircase or do what we did, go out.
There is a nice bar next to hotel (John Smiths Bar) if you fancy some live music and a sing song or you can catch one of the little trains down to the main strip in sunny beach if you fancy, but other than that theres not much around in the hotel area.
The lobby has a plaque at the base of the stairs which reads " When dealing with Imperial deads, As hard as a rock ones heart must be", I can only asume that this is there for staff benefit, but for many of the guests it should read " When dealing with Imperial Dreads, skin as thick as leather one must have"!!
This place needs a major shake up,clean up and a complete review of the luke warm meals, Imperial group hotels take note.
I expect that an "Amazing glowing review" will suddenly appear not long after this, but one has to ask who is writing it, Fred Smith and family from England,in broken english/bulgarian if you know what I mean.
Please choose your hotel carefully as there are far better hotels for a similar price in sunny beach , we know we have stayed in them.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Colin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    63
    53
    32
    25
See reviews for
93
79
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Westcliff-on-Sea, Essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012 via mobile

Date of stay- Friday 14th-21st September 2012
I went on holiday with 2 of my friends, we were on a budget and just wanted all inclusive in the sun somewhere. We researched and checked reviews and were happy with what we read for this '4 star' hotel for the price we got.
Unfortunately it's true that you get what you pay for! On reading the below comments from Wendy J, Nicola S and JoPagett, they've covered most of it.
Unfortunately the weather was terrible during our week and we only had 2 full days of sun, obviously not the hotels fault and my rating is no reflection on this however there wasn't much to do when having to stay indoors and we had to spend a lot of time in our room reading. There were no English tv channels and the poor food and drink meant we stayed away from the bar and restaurant, regularly eating elsewhere which is annoying when you're all inclusive. There seemed to previously be another restaurant on the 1st floor however this room was locked and empty so not sure what their plans are for that.
All the staff however were friendly to us and the barman in the outdoor 'shack' always had already started making our drinks as soon as he saw us on our way! Though they were very strong and we often had to insist on no alcohol in them during the day!
The room was very nice, the bathroom too, however the floor does get soaked and slippery from the shower. The balcony with a pool view was nice although the door out to the balcony squeaked loudly when opened which drove us mad!
The pool area was ok however they should spend some money on upgrading their sun loungers as these were very uncomfortable so we bought lilos to lay on top of them. We spent most of the sunny weather we did get by the sea though as the pool area loses sun in the afternoon due to the size and position of the hotel, and the pool is freezing! Though it didn't stop me getting in!
Overall I wouldn't recommend this hotel at the moment, if they did a bit of maintenance and upgrading then I would and they could get away with putting the price up a bit.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helsbels14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

we arrived at 4.oo in the morning registered and were shown to our room, not even a hello or welcome just an outstretched hand for a tip. the room was a good size and clean but no information file about what the hotel offers, I asked at the desk and was given a smile and a sorry but nothing else. The shower filled the floor with water, the door did not fit and the water came up through the drains, the bathroom was continually a lake. The desk person smiled and I do not think that she understood english (they cater for russians) , I gave up telling them about it and put the towels down to soak up the water. The food was ok but the wine was dreadful, after three days I went down with D&V this lasted for 30 hours and was extremely intense, the only place I had eaten or drunk anything was the hotel 2 days later my husband went down with the same thing, we could also hear the people in the room next door vomiting continually, again I said something to the person behind the desk who smiled and shook her head saying "oh dear" I guess that severe D&V isn't a problem in this hotel. We also had the problem that our transport would arrive at 1.00 am but we had to vacate the room by midday on the previous day, no amount of explaining that the day of departure was the next day, again they smiled a lot but did not help in any way. The weather was good.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank l_rogers310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sunny Beach hotels

Theddingworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Words cannot really express how bad and disappointed we were with this hotel.

When we arrived on Sunday 18th September at 3.00am, the hotel looked quite impressive all lit up and with several large BMW’s standing outside the hotel. How wrong could I be! These are not the cars of the residents!

We checked in and were pointed to the lift and basically left to get on with it and find our rooms. When we did so, on first inspection the rooms didn’t look too bad, although the lighting in the rooms was particularly poor.

The breakfast was the first disappointment. The Tea was like dishwater and only 1 type! Long queues formed at the coffee machines! I don’t expect to queue for coffee at a “4 star” hotel! There weren’t any saucers and the handles on the cups were so small that you couldn’t get your fingers through to carry the cups. Orange juice was non-existent; instead you were offered “weak” full of sugar squash! The hot buffet could only be described as warm/cold, of which the selection was extremely poor. The products selected were of a very low standard, using the cheapest ingredients possible. The “warm” ham (which was offered as bacon) was full of fat. The cold buffet was clearly set up for the German / Russian residents with cold meats and plastic cheese! The cereal selection was also very poor.

Due to the bad weather (I can’t blame that on the hotel), we had to spend more time than expected inside. The level of cleanliness was very poor. I noticed the amount of dirt on the dado rail in the bar area, this looked like it hadn’t been cleaned for weeks. The Bar area was a small corner off the lobby, the tables and chairs were crammed in and the actual bar was filthy with a loose foot rail and a few local spirits behind the bar. It was not a welcoming area where you like to sit and relax. It was unfortunate that we had to experience some of the disgraceful language from the clientele! Let’s just say I was embarrassed to a British Citizen!

When I ordered a drink at the bar a “Vodka & Diet Coke” I was told, we don’t have any Diet Coke. I went to reception to ask to see the “Duty Manager” I was told that the manager wasn’t working and had gone home, so nobody was in charge. Then as if by magic the Manager appeared. I relayed my request to her and was told, we don’t offer Diet Coke, we only have Full Fat Coke. When explaining this wasn’t good enough, the manager preceded to argue and advise that “you won’t find Diet Coke in any Hotel”, at this point I pointed out the 4 stars on the wall behind her and the fact that we were staying “All Inclusive”. The manager then shoved some cash in the hand of one of the Bell Boys (their words) and shouted something at him in Bulgarian and ushered him across the road to the supermarket. From that moment on we had Diet Coke!

The toilets in the bar area were of an equally poor standard, only 2! The lighting was an automatic switch, which is OK, but it would turn off after about 30 seconds so you had to gig about whilst having a wee! These were often dirty and full of excrement! See attached photo!

The food at Lunchtime and Evenings was also of a similar poor standard. It turned out that the Coffee and Tea machines were turned off at Lunch and Evening meal times. This was due to the “Snack Bar” serving Tea and Coffee and you were told to go down there for these types of refreshments, which was across the other side of the hotel. When we did go down there it was basically a Shed! This was in a very poor state of disrepair. The Tea and Coffee was served in flimsy plastic cups, you needed to use about 3 cups to stop them being so flimsy or burning your hands. The Coffee tasted like dishwater, the hot water for Tea was a manky brown colour! Yuck! The toilets were situated to the rear of the “Shack” (as we named it), these didn’t have any lighting and looked like they hadn’t seen a bottle of bleach in years!

The Drum and Base music that was continuosly pumped out from thee broken distorted speakers was unbearable. We had to ask for this to be turned off or a least down to stop our ears from hurting!

The seating area was also very shabby, the “Gazebo” style coverings was missing the roof covering and had torn remnants in the place where this should have been. There were also a number of plastic tables and chairs that had the backs of the chairs missing, a few church pew style seats that were all broken and falling apart. There was a small children’s play area with a slide and climbing frame, which again looked like it needed some TLC. There wasn’t any padded flooring and the equipment was straight on the “Crazy Paved” patio area.

The pool area was reasonable and the pool was cleaned daily, but the loungers looked like they had seen better days and many of them were broken! When coming down to the pool area in the morning the loungers were all over the place, they clearly hadn’t been tidied up from the previous days use. The Pool Bar was closed and abandoned.

At some stage during our stage all 4 of us suffered some form of stomach upset, 2 of us are still quite poorly and this 4 days after returning.

The construction of the Hotel is terrible, as there is little sound proofing, so you could hear everybody’s movements, bathroom habits and noise from each room. On several mornings we had to ask the “Domestic Staff” to stop chatting in the hallway as their conversations travelled down the hall and woke you up! It was also unfortunate that we had some very noisey neighbours! They proceeded to come back at around 4am each morning and switch on the TV and music very loudly, on several occasions I had to call the reception to get somebody to go to their room to ask them to show some respect for fellow residents!

I could continue, but I guess you’re already depressed enough reading this review. In summary, DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL! It’s the pits! Also if you put a negative comment on their Facebook page, they will remove it.

Rude, arrogant, staff with attitude!

Room Tip: Go to a different Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialGroup, Director of Sales at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time and effort to share with us your experience. By sharing your comments we can take notice and continue to improve our service and product.

As you know breakfasts are awlays busy and some queues are possible for the coffee machines. We have taken into considerations this problem, and some other complaints we have received from the restaurants. That is why we are starting major reconstruction through the winter, we are renovating the kitchens and and restaurant.

Hotel hotel always keeps high level of hygiene and it is one of the main pririties of Imperial Group hotels. It is a surprise that you have found non-hygienic spots. We called the housekeeping manager to check and clear this situation.

We actually do not have Diet Coke in our all-inclusive program, if you carefully read the program given by your travel agent you would notice this. However the manager of the hotel Ms. Tomova was kind enough to buy Diet Coke only for you, so you can have it during your stay. We do our best to please the guests.

Imperial Group Hotels are one of the hotels in Sunny Beach that participate active in saving the environment. That is why we have installed energy efficient lightening throughout the whole property, and this is the reason why the light in the public toilets go out automatically. We will have our maintenance run a check and reset the timers.

All the coverings in the outside seating area were removied due to the storm we had these few days. Then they were arranged to dry out, since we cannot put them back immediately.

The hotel is built in 2005 and it is corresponding to all the European standards and regulations. I can assure you that there is no "Domestic Staff" at 4am in the corridors of the hotel.

I would like to extend our apologies if we have created any inconvenience during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

When booking our holiday we spent a while searching for the right hotel. After reading the reviews for the past two months about this hotel we were really looking forward to our stay. We were travelling with a small child (9 months) so we had to be sure about the food, cleanliness etc.
We arrived in the early hours of the morning and the whole reception and lobby area was in complete darkness, it took us a while to figure out how to get in the front doors as we thought we had been dropped off around the side of the hotel with it being so dark. The turned the lights on at reception for us to check in and the lobby looked impressive.
When checking in we were given a list of facilities and opening times of each area. They did not say that the cocktail bar you had to pay for drinks. The all inclusive bars finished at 11pm. Which for us was not a problem because we had the baby but I thought it seemed a bit early. Our drinks were served in small plastic glasses not even half pint. The pool bar closed for business on our third day so we had to use the lobby or snack bar.
We were shown to our room and were impressed with the size and the balcony. Everything looked clean. When taking a shower the whole bathroom (wet room) became soaked as the shower doors did not close properly. There were no mats so was quite dangerous when getting out of the shower. We had to put a towel down each day.
When the maid came in everyday, she changed the towels but the sheets were not changed until we removed them ourselves. I had noticed a mark on my sheet on the second day and it was still there on the fifth.
For the first few days of our stay our restaurant was on the second floor. There was hardly any choices of hot (lukewarm) food and the food that was there was not really good, i.e. the pasta was hard. The salad looked good but I'm always wary of eating salad or peeled fruit when abroad so we steered clear of that. The last two days of our stay we were allowed to use the restaraunt on the ground floor there was much more choice of food but it still was not piping hot even when we went at opening time. The snack bar provided freshly cooked pizza and pancakes but you were limited to two slices of pizza or one pancake. I saw the guy making the pancakes be very rude to one lady and he refused to give her more than one when she asked for another. The ice cream was self serve which was good for the kids and the sweets were left un covered so the flies were having a field day. The resort was cheap enough for us to eat out almost every night, but when you've paid for all inclusive, this shouldn't really happen.
The first time we went down to the beach we went directly opposite our hotel, this was not our private beach so had to pay for drinks. After asking at the reception the next day we found out where our private beach was but when we got there the beach bar was closed. It was open on the third time we went, it was just pot luck I suppose as there was nothing or no one to tell us when it would be open or not. We had to pay for the sunbeds and parasols even thought we were on the hotel's private part of the beach.
We were really looking forward to being in the pool as we take our daughter swimming and she loves it. We tried to use the pool a few times but the water was freezing! Even the indoor pool, we thought might be heated, was also freezing so we couldn't use either.
The staff in the hotel were brilliant with our daughter, most of them very friendly. The entertainment was good for the kids as they seemed to enjoy it but we only saw it one night.
On the day of departure we had to check out by 12pm and lucky for us, our transfers were collecting us two hours later, as they cut off our wristbands and we were no longer entitled to the all inclusive facilities. After arriving in the early hours of Sunday morning I thought out of courtesy they could let you continue use the facilities after checking out the following Saturday because technically we had not had a full week there. Other people had to wait over twelve hours before being picked up for the airport and they had their bands removed.
Overall we came home feeling disappointed with this hotel, it could be a really nice hotel as the location is great but the food was a let down, as were the restrictions on the facilities. I don't beleive the reviews claiming that the food and hotel is 'amazing' are from genuine people as every person we spoke to whilst staying in the hotel, complained about the food and restrictions of facilities.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

on first impressions it looks good but underneath it's a little bit grubby. food typical of bulgarian hotels in general,luke warm &limited choice drinks were plentyful and the bar staff were freindly and chatty i think i would stay again if i could get the right deal

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arnewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

Stayed at this hotel in September 2012 and it has everything that we needed for a good holiday. Rooms spacious with good fixtures and cleaned daily. Food in restaurant really good with plenty of choice. The staff really friendly. The only downside was that the entertainment was not very good even though it may have been fine for families and children. The hotel is situated about a 40 min walk from main sunny beach area and 20 mins from Nessenar, but if you dont fancy the walk the little train runs both ways every 15 mins till midnight.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie123190729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Nobel Hotel
Nobel Hotel
#97 of 221 in Sunny Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.7 mi away
MPM Kalina Garden
MPM Kalina Garden
#22 of 221 in Sunny Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Marvel
Hotel Marvel
#29 of 221 in Sunny Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Planeta
Hotel Planeta
#104 of 221 in Sunny Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Diamant Residence
Hotel & Spa Diamant Residence
#26 of 221 in Sunny Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Galeon Residence & Spa
Galeon Residence & Spa
#19 of 221 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: | P.O. Box 57, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful and modern hotel complex is located in the southern part of Sunny Beach. It is, right next to the preserved by UNESCO dunes, just 150 metres from the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Sunny Beach
Imperial Hotel Bulgaria/Sunny Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing