We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best option”
Review of Imperial Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Imperial Resort
Ranked #62 of 221 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Tirgu Mures, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not the best option”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We have just returned from a 5 nights stay at Imperial Hotel. The building is impressive and you expect the same services however we were quite dissapointed at times with their services.
First, we made a reservation via Booking for a room with the beach offer and had a preference for a large double bed however we received a room with 2 beds put together though I specifically asked at the reception to make sure she gives us a room with a large bed. The lady at the reception is really arrogant, the other ones from the reception are nice. The shower is a mess and the water from the shower goes all over the bathroom. The room was cleaned every day but the lining was not changed once, just mine from my side of bed at the day of arrival because it was dirty- you would not expect that from a 4 star hotel.
Second, the snack bar close to the pool was quite dirty and was used also by guests from Amfora 3 star hotel, so why worth to pay the extra money if you have the same benefits, right?
Third the beach was not really clean and the sunbeds have no mattress on which is really uncomfortable since they cost the same as sunbeds from the other beaches close by.
Positive aspects: the resort Sunny Beach is really nice, it's our second visit here but we stayed at a different hotel, Nessebar is amazing, location of the hotel is their biggest plus.
The pool is really clean and big enough but the sunbeds are always taken even if no one ever shows up to use them. The food in the restaurant is ok, but didn't like that they didn't serve bananas every day since all fruits were hard. The grill chef is the best, really! So nice and friendly even if he is there from morning to evening. Ivan, the restaurant manager is definitely not a 4 star restaurant manager.
Also the beach boy with the sunbeds us very rude, not helpful at all.
The other staff is ok.
Would recommend this hotel only because of the location. We will probably return to Sunny Beach but will check in to other hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sanziana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    63
    53
    32
    26
See reviews for
93
81
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Back from our holiday, if I can call it a holiday... Hotel Imperial was definitely not a good choice if you book an all inclusive holiday. The room itself was ok, but quite old already - furniture and bed were very used, did not get the cozy feeling at all. There was also a smell ot mould. Lets start with the food. The restaurant (Casablanca I believe) served breakfast, lunch and dinner. Food was absolutely tasteless, low quality and no variety. French fries, french fries, some unknown meat and that is it. There is a snack bar in the yard, but beware no hygiene whatsoever. Everything is in the open air with flies and bees eating from the cold cuts together with us.

Staff of the restaurants and reception were predominantly young people working hard. Especially in the restaurant in the busy hours. Reception was professional.

There is free wifi which is super slow, but you can purchase faster for 10lev per day.

I would not return!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnnieCox61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialGroup, Manager at Imperial Resort, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with the Tripadvisor community. We always appreciate input from people that have stayed at our hotel.

We are sorry to hear that you have had some inconveniences. If you can contact us and share your room number so we could check what exactly is wrong with the room. Also we would like to mention that the chef in the restaurant is following a special all inclusive menu and we have not received complaints about the food. If you had expressed your requests during your stay we would have a look into is and probably try to resolve it on site.

Nice to hear that you have appreciated the service in the restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sunny Beach hotels

Iasi, Romania
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2014

So, let's start!

- First: we made a reservation from booking.com. When we arrived, they gave us a very dirty room with smell of mold - room 616! Our room reserved was with a double bad and we receive one with 2 bads bonded to one another. After we made a complain we received other room with a view to the see. But, we also asked for a quiet room. BUT ALL THE ROOMS WITH THE SEA VIEW are not quiet because the music (a very lout and with a powerfull bass) is going untill 23.00 p.m.

- Second: a lot of food but BAD food, with no taste. And the food is permanently refurbished.

- Third: Is not a hotel for family with kids. They have a small pool, a small park, and the chair for kids ARE VERY VERY DIRTY! They don't have food for kids. The soups has a very BAD TASTE!

Imperial Hotel has his own private beach, but is very dirty! In one week they didn,t clean it! Only the big garbage !

Room Tip: The rooms with no view to the sea are quaiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mirela d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialGroup, Manager at Imperial Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Mirela,

Thank you for your time and effort to share your experience with hotel Imperial. We are sorry to hear that you had some inconvenience. The noise and the loud bass music came from the world famous Cacao Beach where there are parties only on weekends. Sometimes the noise reaches the hotel.

We have checked the menu again and made an investigation in the restaurant about the food. We assure you that the chef is following a special menu that has different variety every day.

We have never received a complaint for the size of the pool before and we will take yours into consideration for next year. There is a brand new children's playground that was installed this year. We have received a lot of positive feedback for it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pitesti, Romania
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2014

+
Nice location
clean rooms
good beds
nice food if you don't mind the bulgarian spice
good staff
THIS HOTEL IS NOT FOR SNOBS

-
slowest internet ever
private beach too far
always a queue for food and drinks (too few personal)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catalin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialGroup, Manager at Imperial Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Catalin,

Thank you for sharing your opinion about hotel Imperial. It is always nice to hear that a guest enjoyed their stay.

There is a high speed internet connection in the hotel for only 10leva per day. Unfortunately the free internet in the lobby might get a bit slow due to the very high usage.

The beach bar is 150m away from the hotel on a paved road (no sand walking) and it is very popular, thus the queues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaunas, Lithuania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Pluses:
Hotel close to dunes and sea
Sea is really nice
Food is good and variety is OK
Air cionditioneers works perfectly.
Nice view to see from one part of hotel
Minuses:
On arrival we didn't received all inclusive bracelet - based on hotels policy they can be obtained only after 2 PM ( we arrrived at 12:00 ). or you can pay 15 Leva ( ~9 EUR) per person to receive bracelet earlier.
Poor english of staff in reception.
Slowest in the world and unstable internet conection in reception. I obtained paid internet (5 EUR per 24 hours), after 1 hour of usage it was unavailable - "because system was broken"...
Bunks and umbrellas on sea are paid and expensive - set of two bunks and umbrella costs 17 EUR per day. Bunks by pool are free of charge but available only until 7:00 AM, after that russians occupies all of them with heir towels and goes somewhere..
Poor animation, oriented to russian tourists
DIRTY DISHES. You must clean them with napkins..
Sinking shower. After request to solve problem it was solved, but only for one day.. Water from shower seeps out through wall into room..
Almost all stuff in hotel is not polite enough and totally different from spanish, greek or even turkish hospitality. Only guy in reception bar is frendly enough.

SO could be really nice hotel in fact, but in reality is very average.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AudriusN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialGroup, Manager at Imperial Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to share your review with the tripadvisor community. We are glad to get feedback directly from guests, which will help us to remove problems.

In the hotel's policies is indicated the time of check-in (after 14:00). This is a worldwide standard in order that there is time for the hotel to prepare the room for the new guest if it was sold the night before. For the convenience of the guests we have created a special early check in service that is extra charge and is totally up to the client if he/she would like to pay. We would never ask for mandatory payment, since it is also a subject of availability.

We offer high speed internet on the territory of the whole resort. We have checked our logs for system errors during your stay and we have seen a 15 minute break due to maintenance.

The set of 2 sunbeds and 1 umbrella cost 15 BGN (or 7.5 EUR), not 17 EUR as you state. Please do not share wrong information.

We have checked the other issus that you had and we promise to take action!

Kind regards,
Online reputation management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

When i and my partner first arrived at this hotel all sounded right in the middle of the night !
As we have bought a flat near by about 3 years ago and never saw it we did choose this Hotel as a precaution and also to have restless holidays .
I never expected to be in the middle of so many Russian and Romanian people actually I didn't see any English individuals apart from us ! We quiet amazed to see how they have NO manners at the restaurant , I felt sick to see how they eat at the table , how they grab all the food possible to their table , how some take bags to get all food possible . My question ...are this people do not have food at home ?? Discussing !
Would like to mention the MANAGER OF THE RESTAURANT CALLED IVAN please be aware of him and AVOID HIM !! He's such an rude and unprofessional person , he does nothing than be around and around the restaurant . He also has NO MANERS and doesn't know how to speak with guests he called my partner a liar and told me to do not speak with he's staff !!
Would like to give a big thank you of appreciation to two of the best members of staff which is Yordanov from the bar outside , he he's fantastic and to the Gardner ! THANK YOU BOTH

Don't forget AVOID IVAN RESTAURANT MANAGER

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialGroup, Manager at Imperial Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Paula,

Thank you for your review, it is always nice to hear feedback from guests. This helps us to take action and create a better guest experience in the future.

We are terribly sorry to hear that you have been annoyed by other guests at the hotel. Unfortunately there is nothing we can do about their manners. We cannot restrict guests from taking as much food as they like from the buffet.

We have met Ivan and his team and asked a written statement about your case. We would like to assure you that measures have been taken and now everything is in order.

Thank you again for your opinion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We had 6 days here in end of july and this is our worst ever hotel. We are group of 20 people, age between 14-45. The food really bad, we can not eat anything, same dishes every day. Never had seafood. Pork and chicken was horrible, cold, tasteless. The salad was not fresh. The fruit was only banana and peach. One or two days in the week, it has water melon but you will never get it because the bulgarian took all of it before you can stand on the queue.
Room was average size but not clean every day. I have to ask for the towels almost everyday. No kettle.
100% not 4 star or 3 star.
Will never come back even it's free. Dispose my holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialGroup, Manager at Imperial Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

We can assure you that the menu in the all inclusive restaurant features 42 different dishes every day and it is on a 10 day cycle basis. This means that there is no possibility to have the same dish everyday. There are always seafood meals at dinner and the temperature is constantly monitored according to HACCP standards.

We have taken care of the salads and the fruits and expanded the variety.

We have asked the housekeeping supervisor to comment on your complaint are she said maids entered your rooms everyday to change towel. Please note that towels that are left on the floor will be changed. This is according to the new standard of the Imperial Group Hotels.

Also in the description of the hotel there is no kettle provided in the rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Nobel Hotel
Nobel Hotel
#96 of 221 in Sunny Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
1.7 mi away
MPM Kalina Garden
MPM Kalina Garden
#22 of 221 in Sunny Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Marvel
Hotel Marvel
#27 of 221 in Sunny Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Planeta
Hotel Planeta
#107 of 221 in Sunny Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Diamant Residence
Hotel & Spa Diamant Residence
#26 of 221 in Sunny Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Galeon Residence & Spa
Galeon Residence & Spa
#19 of 221 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Resort

Property: Imperial Resort
Address: Sunny Beach | P.O. Box 57, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful and modern hotel complex is located in the southern part of Sunny Beach. It is, right next to the preserved by UNESCO dunes, just 150 metres from the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Imperial Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Sunny Beach
Imperial Resort Bulgaria/Sunny Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing