We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great choice of hotel for a family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Sunny Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 222 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This was our first trip to Bulgaria for a family holiday with our three year old daughter. First ompressions were great. Arrived at 3.00am and they kindly provided food for those who were peckish. Room was clean and spacious (small family room) with pool balcony. Choice of food was great with something for all tastes. Staff in ALL departments were attentive, kind and genuinely went the extra mile. Special thanks to the animation team who had a programme of events for the children in the morning, afternoon and show in the evening. Other acts were brought in to provide family entertainment in the evenings. All inclusive services were OK. Local drinks alcoholic and wide range of soft drinks again for all tastes. Pool was bloody freezing (due to cool ambient temperature) but a choice of 4 pools. Location was great ideal for the beach and local bars etc. We would defintely use this hotel again if we return to Bulgaria.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dalewaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

608 - 614 of 1,452 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

Just got back from a weeks holiday the hotel is first class could not fault anything there is plenty of choices to choose from to eat even for the fussiest of eaters all the staff were helpful and they work very hard the animator s never stop there is something for everyone to take part in if you wish to on an evening before the show for adults lolly and pop entertain the children not forgetting smiley who my grandaughter loved everything is so clean the cleaners never stop the room was gorgeous and very spacious this hotel is suitable for any age group i would recommend this hotel to everyone would not stop in any other even 2minutes to the beach thanks to all the staff for making our holiday fantastic will be back the Steele family

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sunnybeac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Just got back from a 12 day break at this hotel. We were a family of three, mum (me) dad and our 3 year old son.Distance from the airport is approx. 30 mins so that was great. Hotel itself was maintained to a very high standard with rooms cleaned daily and some fantastic towel arrangements by the maids such as elephants, crocodiles etc which my 3 year old loved but wouldn't let us break up to use them!. We got an upgraded room in block A on the 6th floor, which we were very happy with over looking the sea, a really good size room, more than adequate for our needs and all the carpets throughout the hotel have been replaced/cleaned so it's spotless. The food is plentiful with lots of choice, the salad bar is amazing, after the first week it can feel a little repetative, but locally it is very cheap to eat out so we had a couple of meals locally which were very cheap and tasty and within 5 minutes walking distance. Food is pretty much available all day in various parts of the hotel. Drinks wise, its local wines, spirits, cocktails (which we enjoyed alot). Coffee, Beer, wine & soft drinks are available on tap and you can help yourself. The staff in the restaurant, reception, bars are all so friendly and cant do enough for you. The only down side is as the holiday progressed and the hotel got busier,getting a table was a challenge in the restaurant as was getting to the food ...hence why we eat out a few times,It would be better if they had an early meal time slot for families but that is just a minor thing. We went in May so I can see in the height of the season this could be a bit of a nightmare. The pool area is great, lots of different pools to chose from, the seagulls are plentiful though so watch your food if you leave it unattended for even a second! There are activities all day if that's what you want. The mini club girls Moni and Radi are just wonderful with the children as are the entire animation team. Siso who sings like an angel was just fabulous with us and our little boy. They all work so hard and try to get round everyone, always happy and smiling. There is night time entertainment every night, in May it was inside, during the height of the summer it moves to the outside stage. The shows were great every night. Could not fault the place to be honest, I would take a kettle though if you want a cup of tea in the morning, although there is a coffee machine within staggering distance to your room.(cups are provided in your room). Overall, the hotel and staff were just fantastic and we enjoyed our stay. The resort itself, when we went in mid May the weather was very hit and miss, so if we were to go again we would go in June when it rains less! The hotel was within minutes of the beach so a great location and the beach is beautiful. The surrounding area was pretty much shut when we arrived as it was out of season but things started opening up as the holiday progressed. Holiday season gets going from 1st June. The nightlife, we didnt get to experience that much with having a small child (although we did hit the karaoke with the animation team on a couple of occassions) my impressions of the possible nighlife (not everything had opened) werent too good as there are many bars,night clubs,sex shops, which In high season would not be a place that we would look to go to but I can see this would suit young people as the booze is so cheap. On saying that, the hotel has enough to offer families so you wouldnt really need to venture out but it was lovely to go out for an early evening meal before all the nightlife gets going. It depends what you are looking for...would I and my family recommend this hotel?...absolutely...will we go again?...yes...but not in July/August.

Room Tip: Others have said go for a pool view which I can see would be lovely when the pool is lit up at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jackie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed at the Iberostar Sunny Beach from 9th of May for one week . We have stayed in 5 other hotels in this resort and can honestly say this is the best. Clean,comfortable with excellent choice of food prepared to a high standard. The staff were plentiful, courteous and friendly.
The customer care was the best we have seen in Bulgaria. We can recommend the the all inclusive package - our first experience of this and we were very satisfied.
We would certainly use this hotel again . The sea view is worth the extra and is away from the entertainment area so quieter if like an early night. The lifts were all working quiet and efficient.
There was a coffee/hot milk/hot chocolate dispenser on each floor with cups in each room. TV provided a wide arrange of channels with BBC/RT/DW and CNN in English.
The hotel is centrally located in the resort and although not directly on the sea shore is very near.

Room Tip: We had a room 1735 which had a good view of the sea which I would recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dewipoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Sunny Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our IBEROSTAR Sunny Beach Resort hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your expectations.

Moreover we thank you for pointing out the cleanliness throughout our hotel, the quality of our buffets as well as our location, fronting the sea and with a wide array of leisure and dining options on the doorstep.

Our staff strives to welcome each guest with the IBEROSTAR spirit and assist in any way possible to ensure everyone has a pleasant stay. Thank you for highlighting their genuine kindness and professionalism, we will not fail to let them know how they made such a positive impact on your stay.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Sunny Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here in May and thoroughly enjoyed our time here. The hotel was bright and clean and a very warm welcome from hotel staff. We had a junior suite which was quite big just for the two us - but very cosy, very clean and a huge bed. we stayed all inclusive for a week and we both felt the quiality and choice of food was brilliant. OK, it's a foreign country and they're not always going to hit everything 100% all the time but if you're prepared to try other foods - you may be surprised. I too do get a little annoyed when you go all inclusive and then have to pay for certain drinks, but the range of inclusive drinks was quite good. The hotels location was good - close but not too close to the main part of the resort and a short walk from the beach. I'll close this part of the review by saying that both myself and my wife thought the hotel staff were great - yes it's their job to look after you, but they were great - they couldn't do enough for you and always with a smile on their face. Special mention to the animation team who kept us busy during the day and entertained us at night.

After seeing a recent 'documentary' about Sunny Beach I was a bit wary of going to the place, but I needn't have worried. We got there the 2nd week in May so the resort was only about 50% open. By the time we left a week later I'd say it was about 90% open and more 'kids' were hitting the bars. Obviously as the season opens up more it will get busier and busier. The area itself was great - loads of bars and restaurants and if you want to play Crazy Golf, there's a site almost every 100 yards!! There's cheap beer to be found in town if you go to the outskirts of the resort (found one bar where it was 40p for a pint!) but you do get what you pay for. On the main drag and in the centre, the prices go up a bit - but still around the £1.50 mark for a local beer. The beach and surrounding areas were clean and the locals friendly. The stall holders didn't pester you too much, one polite 'No Thanks' and they left you alone - not at all like Turkey where they pester you all the way down the street.

It's not all about beaches and beer though and I'd recommend a short local bus journey to Nessebar. It cost us 1Lev on local transport from just outside the hotel into Nessebar about a fifteen minute bus ride away. It's a World Heritage Site and absolutely gorgeous. It's not a whole day 'day trip' even walking around and through the town - but well worth the effort.

In a nutshell would we go back to Iberostar & Sunny Beach - YES!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brasside27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed in a few iberostar hotel mainly in the Caribbean and they were amazing, this hotel is 3* at the very best never ate here a lot and the AI selection was ok drinks were local, If I'm all inclusive I want everything for the price I paid,not have to pay for a certain drink. Outside the hotel was ok parts were seedy ! Had my 6yr old question what's a sex shop ,! Lots of nice places to eat and some good bargains ! Never gonna rush back !!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cagz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Sunny Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our IBEROSTAR Sunny Beach Resort for your holidays in Bulgaria and for the time you took out of your day to review your holiday experience.

We lament reading that apparently you were not properly informed about your All Inclusive basis at our hotel and would like to point out that full description of all boards is thoroughly reported on our website; as you can see, the extra charge for Premium liquors is duly reported and applies to Champagne, Cognac , Whiskies, etc..

We strongly encourage you for future occasions to visit our website or contact our call center from where we can offer you a personalized booking guidance and help you choose the destination, hotel type and services that best meet your holiday needs and wishes.

Thank you again for your visit and the courtesy of your time; hopefully we can fulfill your expectations in the near future, and remain at your entire disposal for any request you might have regarding coming vacations to make sure that you book an IBEROSTAR hotel that can make all your wishes come true.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Sunny Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I expected more from an Iberostar Hotel, at least where food and drinks are concerned. Rooms were ok: large, bright, music in the bathroom, not very comfortable beds and worst pillows I had to sleep on in a hotel. But food and drinks....Food was varied but you barely could pick 2-3 types of food that really tasted well (besides salads), breakfast buffet was always the same, and the drinks were totally undrinkable: wine, beer, juices (at least they called it juices) all made of powder.
Overall our stay was enjoyable as we were a big group of persons and we had fun, but I'm not sure I would pick Iberostar if I'd wanted to spend the summer vacation with my family.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with pool view, otherwise you pretty much won't use your balcony, as there's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Sunny Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Elena,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our IBEROSTAR Sunny Beach Resort for your holidays as well as for the time you spent to write and share a review with your personal impressions for us to be able to take your vision into consideration for the continued improvement of our services.

We are sorry to hear that you didn´t find your bed comfortable and will try to find out what failed to correct that situation and lament not being informed about this during your stay as we would have looked for a solution; guaranteeing a satisfying night rest to our guests is one of our top priorities.

At IBEROSTAR we have a true passion for gastronomy and are fully aware that meals are an aspect of primary importance for our guests to enjoy their holidays abroad, this is why our expert team of chefs strives to surprise our guests with high quality culinary delights both local and international, so as be able to savor many different flavors at every single meal and make it one of the best added values to their holiday among us

On the other hand, we are glad to read your satisfaction with the room we accommodated you in, since they are designed to offer maximum comfort to our guests.

Once more, thank you for making us your choice hotel and for the courtesy of your time; we remain at your entire disposal for any request you might have regarding coming vacations and encourage you to contact our call center to help you choose your next IBEROSTAR holiday among a wide range of beautiful destinations worldwide.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Sunny Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
1.4 mi away
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
#2 of 222 in Sunny Beach
1,433 reviews
1.8 mi away
Green Fort
Green Fort
#63 of 222 in Sunny Beach
33 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laguna Park Hotel
Laguna Park Hotel
#12 of 222 in Sunny Beach
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Galeon Residence & Spa
Galeon Residence & Spa
#22 of 222 in Sunny Beach
99 reviews
0.4 mi away
Trakia Garden Hotel
Trakia Garden Hotel
#13 of 222 in Sunny Beach
289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Royal Beach
Barcelo Royal Beach
#17 of 222 in Sunny Beach
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Sunny Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Sunny Beach Resort

Address: Sunny Beach, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sunny Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Sunny Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Sunny Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range: £74 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — IBEROSTAR Sunny Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 630
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Sunny Beach is a hotel that’s full of facilities and services to guarantee the holiday of your dreams next to one of the best beaches on the Black Sea. It features a spa area with a sauna, hammam and Turkish baths, free Wi-Fi, beauty salon and hairdressers, fitness room, Miniclub (ages 4 to 7), Maxiclub (ages 8 to 12), and Teenieclub (ages 13 to 17), tennis courts, water sports, children’s playground, workshops for children, and entertainment for all guests. What’s more, there are seven pools to choose from, one of them with a fun blue octopus that shoots out jets of water. Rest is guaranteed at the Sunny Beach hotel. Its 630 rooms and suites are spacious and perfectly equipped to enjoy the comfort you’re looking for while on holiday, both for couples and families with children. And, finally, the gastronomy is another of its main attractions. The Sunny Beach hotel will allow you to sample Bulgarian, Mexican and international cuisine at its three restaurants and you can try all kinds of drinks at its four bars. One of them is the Wiener Cafe Amadeus which has the ambiance of the most exclusive coffee shops in Vienna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Iberostar, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your IBEROSTAR Sunny Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Sunny Beach Hotel Sunny Beach
IBEROSTAR Sunny Beach Resort Bulgaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing