We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for more.”
Review of Hotel Sunset

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sunset
Ranked #177 of 222 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed at hotel Sunset in sunny beach for a week from 15th September 2013 and had a great time.
On arrival the receptionist was very cheery and helpful, explaining the all inclusive times etc and showing us how to set up the safe(going into the bathroom while I set the pin). Everyone that we came across on reception, night or day, were extremely polite and couldn't do more when asked for any help.
Our room was very spacious and clean, the beds very comfortable and we got a partial seaview at no extra charge. The room also had a fridge which we found very handy as the hotel wasn't too keen on you taking drinks from the bar to your room.
The barman was fab! Always friendly and more then willing to go out of his way, often staying open way past closing. There is an outside pool bar, this closed after a few days as the other barman had left to return to his studies but it was an extra 30 seconds to walk inside from the pool.
The pool was always clean and sunbeds were plentiful and comfy.
The food was ok but could have been a little warmer however always edible. There was always a choice of fish, chicken and another meat, often pork with rice, chips and veg. A large salad buffet and plenty of fresh fruit. Breakfast was everything you'd expect from full English to continental. No issues at all with food.

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel and visit in future. The beach was a 5 minute walk away, as was the strip, 3 supermarkets within a few minutes and the centre of sunny beach a nice 10-15 stroll away. Bus stops were also just outside the main entrance, which were very easy to work out and cheap. Great family run hotel and would happily stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Rhian01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

Just spent a week bed & breakfast here and and in all honesty we really cant complain. Good location set back from the beach and start of the the main strip. There was always a choice for breakfast wether u want hot food or cereal. We paid to go all inclusive for a day as it was a good day to spend around the pool and the food at night wasn't a'la carte but again a choice of salads and hot food was enough to fill a hole but would probably get a bit monotonous if eating there every night. The pool area is clean but the beds could do with new covers and the sunshines all day on the pool area. The staff were friendly. The rooms were clean enough, typical bulgarian decor, a bit dated, except our shower leaked all over the floor every time. On the morning of our departure we were picked up at 5am for flight home and given our breakfast (well a packed lunch) away with us which was a nice thought and again it was edible. All in all, our first stay in Bulgaria at this hotel was adequate for the last minute deal we got. Dont let other reviews put you off unless you're looking for 5star.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nataliemcdougall1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I'm still only half way through my stay at he Sunset Hotel and felt compelled to write a review after listening to English people complaining to our rep (very rudely I hasten to add). I would say that this hotel is a very good 3 star. We arrived at ridiculous o'clock and were given a sandwich a piece of fruit and a bottle of water. I have stayed in 4 and 5 star and never had his. The room is spacious and clean, the bed is a little soft but short of stocking various mattresses to suit everyone what can a hotel do? The food for breakfast is good, just right for eating not piping hot but that has been the case everywhere we have been. We haven't struggled to eat at all, the bacon is like gammon and the sausages are like frankfurters but we aren't in Blackpool! The staff are friendly and courteous, and the beer is cheap. The hotel is about 45 mins walk from sunny beach flower street but the bus stop is right across the road (catch number 5 or 8 for 2 lev). We are having a wonderful time, it's just that some people go on holiday looking for things to complain about .... To those people .... Stay at home!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ClaireKgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed at the sunset from 16-23 August 2013, on arrival at reception we were greeted and shown to the lift by a young man, no room for 4 of us in the lift, by the time we got to the 3rd floor he was waiting for us to help with the cases and showed us to our room. Room was a nice size, clean, carpets and wallpaper, unusual we thought but nice, also a small fridge (come to that in a sec) at no extra cost, decent size bathroom, with shower, toilet, sink and my wife's fave.... hairdryer. We stayed B&B, but did eat lunch on a couple of occasions, and was around £2.80 for kids and £6.00 for adults, which was good value for what you could get. Pool area was decent size, and very clean, no fighting for sunbeds. Breakfast was really well stocked, plenty to choose from, bread, with a toaster, orange juice, cereals, bacon, sausage, eggs fried and scrambled, fresh fruit, and plenty of hams etc, if you want a full English breakfast, simple...stay in the UK. Tried many places to eat and by far the best place was the Palace...the place with the gazebo's, service slow but food was amazing, staff were really friendly, kept our table for us every night. Met a couple who suggested the Steak House & Friends....................we looked at this the night before and thought not for me, and went back to the palace, excellent meal (as usual), next night went to this steak house, as was recommended, possibly the worst meal (and most expensive) I have ever had, my daughter complained of feeling ill within an hour, my wife was really ill later on that night, I had to show off and ended up in hospital when got back to the UK with severe food poisioning, basically STAY AWAY!!! Right up until this point we had a fantastic holiday, but this might have put me off of going back. The resort itself is really nice, the Kebabs, jacket potatoes and pancakes on the beach front are amazing, cooked properly and really tasty, perfect for lunch. The price of the beers fluctuate, depending wether you are eating or not in the local bars, back to the fridge, when you take your key out the fridge goes off, so do what the wife did and improvise, staff don't stop you from bringing in your own drinks to put in the fridge, when leaving was given a bottle of water a sandwich and a banana, point to make, drink the water as security at the airport will take it off you, in a whole was an enjoyable holiday apart from the end result, only 1 other point, resort is really windy, and can get quite cold on a night, so take a long sleeve top (or buy one)

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be nice, east facing rooms have a big tree to block your view, but can watch the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Clive C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I have just returned from a 10 night stay bed and breakfast (23rd Aug - 2nd sept) and I have to say after 10 years of going abroad this was my worst holiday by far! ARRIVAL we were given a key pointed to the lift and left to go to our room, other guests were shown to there room ad there luggage taken for them I feel we were treated differently because we were British.
ROOM the beds were soft they dipped in middle the mattress cover was just a sheet placed over the mattress it was to small for the bed, the pillows were shocking to say the least they were lumpy and old. the mold in the shower was disgusting and it smelled pretty bad the shower was never cleaned our whole stay, the balcony was small and the furniture was questionable. The curtains was ripped and having to pay 50 Lev for the safety deposit box was just unbelievable.
BREAKFAST the selection of food was random cold fried eggs hot dogs as sausages and what I can only guess was some sort of chopped up bacon, my boyfriend and had toast for 10 days not great!! Fruit was brown lots of it looked unpleasant. `English breakfast` sorry there was no such thing. The hotel did not cater for British. The staff were not in uniform and were constantly on the mobile phones nobody was professional at all. And having to clear your own plates? Really??
POOL beds were broken and looked disgusting well worn and didn't look clean at all and the music was so loud we had to go to the beach everyday.

We contacted our rep about these issues and we were shown two other rooms but they all had the same problems

All I expected from this hotel was to have good basic standard, unfortunately this was not the case!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nic25kev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Sunset from the 18 - 25 August 2013, this was our first hotel holiday abroad so was unsure what to expect and we had decided to go all inclusive. When shown to our room on arrival we realised there had been a mistake as we had paid an extra supplement for a family room which on Balkern's website it states that this means a separate bedroom and lounge, we had a room with a very small put out sofa bed for my very tall son! We took this up with reception and after she recommended speaking to our rep (who was in the hotel every day at 6 apart from Wednesdays) and straight away this was sorted out, we ended up with a room that had a mezzanine level which was huge!! not sure if this was their 'family' room but either way we were very pleased! We didnt eat out on any nights that we were there as it seemed pointless when the food in the hotel was excellent! For the first couple of nights we would go down to dinner when it first started as we had seen how some of the guests would clear trays of food (specially at sweety time!) but we soon realised that the staff would continue to bring out dishes/cakes so you didnt feel like you had missed out. The breakfast had a good choice from toast and cereal to english breakfast and cold meats. I always felt that there was plenty to choose from at lunch time and dinner, if you dont like something then just dont eat it!!! I felt that trying to learn a few bulgarian words seem to go down well with the staff even though it probably sounded funny to them (cant roll my rrs like they do!) I could go on but the jist of it is that if you want stay in a small hotel with a personal touch from lovely staff then you have just got to go here. Felt like ive left many friends behind cant wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We are a family of four (boys aged 13 & 10) from Kinross in Scotlaqnd and we were delighted with the service and hospitality we received from all the staff and management at Hotel Sunset - (special mention to Valeria, George, Pawel and Ventislaw).

We stayed for 10 nights (19-29 July 2013) bed and breakfast - breakfast selection would cater for all tastes i.e. traditional british(bacon egg etc,), cereals, cold salad & cheese, pastries and pancakes.

Rooms were cleaned daily and were always presentable - air conditioning was a welcome respite from the heat at poolside.

We ate out most nights (recommend the windmill -about 200 yds away) but had two fantastic meals at the Sunset (from restaurant menu - as we weren't all inclusive) Food was really good, plentiful and the attention of the staff was faultless.

It was my wife's birthday on the 28th and during our meal Valeria presented us with a bottle of champagne for the table and a bouquet of flowers for my wife.

To sum up - Lovely people and great location - will be back

P.S. I have noticed some comments regarding rudeness of staff (or Bulgarians generally) - this may be due to the Bulgarian custom of head movements for 'yes' & 'no' - i.e. shake means yes and nod means no - honestly.

Gerry, Kirsten, Sean and Charlie

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gerrykeegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
1.6 mi away
MPM Hotel Boomerang
MPM Hotel Boomerang
#104 of 222 in Sunny Beach
186 reviews
1.3 mi away
Yavor Palace
Yavor Palace
#136 of 222 in Sunny Beach
226 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Dunav
Hotel Dunav
#47 of 222 in Sunny Beach
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Forum Hotel
Forum Hotel
#119 of 222 in Sunny Beach
159 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fenix Hotel
Fenix Hotel
#145 of 222 in Sunny Beach
610 reviews
1.1 mi away
Globus Hotel
Globus Hotel
#134 of 222 in Sunny Beach
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunset

Address: Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 222 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Price Range: £105 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sunset Bulgaria/Sunny Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing