We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely clean hotel with good facilities”
Review of Helena Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Helena Park Hotel
Ranked #3 of 222 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Stayed at the Helena Park Hotel for 2weeks in August 2011. The hotel was very clean and rooms were immaculate. We were all inclusive so food & drinks were included. Food was very nice, i thought that there was something for everyone. The staff were very friendly & helpful. There were a lot of germans at the hotel but we knew this before going. The location was good, about 15-20 minutes walk to the main part of sunny beach but to be honnest we preferred the bars nearer to the hotel so we only went into the centre a couple of times! There are also free sun loungers on the beach if you are staying at this hotel & you will be able to get towels from the hotel to take to tje pool or beach. We would go back to this hotel again!!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hdownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

396 - 402 of 561 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2011

Arrived in the early hours. was greeted with a glass of bubbly. i thought this is a good first impression. hotel lobby was immaculate always - as was rest of hotel, room was of excellent standard.
Pool area was kept clean and tidy at all times, drinks were plentiful, but getting a sunlounger was fun as there was nowhere near enough.
Food was always a good selection. was wide plentiful and everyones tastes were catered for. only let down was that the chicken be it breast small pieces was always pink and undercooked. all other meat was nice and tasty. wood oven pizzas lovely too.
Good varied clientel, but was mainly for Germans. Families well catered for.
The animation team tried hard and adopted a rather catchy 'choco latte' song as their anthem. their shows were generally ok. but a couple.....white show which was a little heavy all be it entertaining for a family site. and bingo....1 game lasted an hour and a half!!!!!!! good access for disabled . it was our honeymoon and we thouroghly would recommend

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ajd1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

As already mentioned this is a very good hotel.
The cleaners do a brilliant job ( you see them all around the hotel ) they even fish the leaves out of the pool.
All the staff were pleasant especially the staff in the restaurant and our room cleaner.
The entertainment in the evening was very basic with the exception of the magician who was excellent.
The hotels entertainment team are very good ( especially Jenny ).
On the down side some of the meat wasnt cooked as well as we get in England, and the pool was very very cold.
I would recommend it to anyone who wants to chill out for a week but it was difficult to for us to stay 2 weeks as there wasnt enough to do ( although we do recommend Kahns Tent excursion for a good night out )

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek0112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We arrived at 1.30 in the morning and was greeted by smiling porters and a waiter with a tray full of glasses of chapagne. Great first impression!! Our check-in was quick and seamless and our luggage was taken to our room for us and the room...well, yet another great start to the holiday. Clean, bright and spacious.
After a good nights sleep our holiday really started. The restaurant was lovely and the variety of food on offer for breakfast was huge. Everything from cereal and toast to continental breakfast, pancakes and full english. Luches were the same..either pizza, toasted sarnies, salad and fresh fruit from the pool restaurant or a huge variety from the main restaurant. You are allocated a table in the main restaurant for the whole duration of your holiday for the evening meal, so no scrambling for tables. Evening meals in the main restaurant once again huge variety, everyone should be able to find something they like. There are also theme nights available in the pool restaurant.
There are 2 all inclusive bars...one a pool bar and one a main bar overlooking the pool. only crititism would be lack of out door tables and chairs around the bar as it is still warm in the evenings and the pool area looks lovely at night as all the gardens and pool are lit up. The indoor bar is air conditioned tho. The evening entertainment does leave a lot to be desired!! if you get fed up of the local brand beer and spirits, there is a nice bar upstairs with a lovely veranda where you can buy a selection of branded beers and spirits.
All the staff were pleasent and helpful, and the small children loved the animation team who worked very hard all the time.
The hotel was spotlessly clean inside an out at all times...there were always cleaners around cleaning, even sweeping up the leaves on the lawns that came off the surrounding trees. The gardens were lovely, and the view from our room was great..the pool and the sea.
The hotel is at the far north end of the resort so is a fair trek into Sunny Beach itself, but there is a bus stop right outside the hotel that costs just 1 lev each and it is a pleasant walk into the Resort centre.
This is not an all singing all dancing hotel entertainment wise, but if you looking for a chilled, relaxing holiday with the chance to meet new peole, and don't mind a trek to the main resort, you will love this hotel.

Room Tip: Book a superior room its worth it for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FussyLady51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

My friend and I visited this hotel at the start of August for a 1 week holiday all inclusive. We were staying in the Helena Park side of the complex.
On arrival we were greeted with a glass of bubbly and staff were very friendly and helpful and quick to check us in. The room was spacious and clean with comfortable beds and a well stocked bathroom. Our only problem was our balcony looked over the tennis courts and not the pool, but that's the luck of the draw!
The food was nice but quite repetitive with lots of tomatoes and cucumbers! Also the meat could be quite greasy at times, especially the duck. Breakfast was lovely and a good varied choice. We quite often had our lunch from the pool bar which provided pizzas, salad, cakes, stew and toasties.
Staff at the complex were very friendly and always helpful. The room was cleaned everyday to a high standard. We were told though that we were at the posh end of the resort and when we went to the centre of Sunny Beach this was proved to be correct!
The centre of the resort is very tacky and already very commercialised. This quietens down as you walk along the walkway towards this hotel and security was on the front gate.

We went with First Choice and did a couple of excursions. Firstly we did the bar crawl and if you are over the age of 22 I wouldn't recommend it. We thought we'd find some nice bars but actually you can find many bars just walking around the main strip. We also weren't informed that this excursion would join up with the twentys rep. I'm 35!! We got a full refund though!
Secondy we did a trip to Kahn's Tent which was great fun and highly recommended. We also did the catamaran trip, although it isn't luxury, it was lovely and we got to see lots of dolphins. The sea is also lovely and warm to swim in and much warmer than the hotel pool. Although the standard of sun loungers on the beach was disappointing. There is a private area but we only went once and returned to the pool.
We visited the waterpark that was in Nessebar which was great for all ages. However you don't need to book this through the rep as it was exactly the same price, no discount. Minibus transfers are provided by the parks and were regular. Also if you go in the afternoon it is cheaper still.

The weather was lovely for 6 of the 7 days, one day was very cloudy and humid. Also it tended to be cloudy most days, but actually this provided some lovely respite from the hot sun!

One hint is to tip the workers as wages are quite poor.

All in all the only complaints were the sunbeds at the beach and repetitive buffet selection but mostly praise for a lovely place with fantastic helpful staff.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Helen Park is set at the very end of "The Strip" with its own section of beach. It is by far the nicest looking hotel and is in the nicer area of Sunny Beach resort. The hotel was immaculate, in fact I have o say one of the the cleanest hotels we have ever stayed in - and thats a fair few! The cleaners were at it all day. The bedroom was a nice size - plenty big enough for 3 of us, comfy beds, clean towels daily and quiet. Had to pay £25 for the safety deposit box which we thought was steep as usally free in 4*.
Food was nice, plenty of choice and hot, got a bit boring after 2 weeks but this is always the case we find. Drinks were good, cocktails nice. Everything must be pretty watered down though as we drank plenty and were never drunk once! My Husband said the beer was awful (- he is a lager drinker). Beach bar not part of all-inclusive which was a pain, and the only toilets were in the main hotel.
Entertainment was the only let down, the evening entertainment was almost non-existant, the few acts they did had were ok. We ended up going out most evenings.
Sunny Beach was EXTREMELY lively and busy, very over commercialised, and much bigger than we were expecting. A great place for the young and lively, of which there were plenty of all nationalities. It is not a resort for anyone who likes quiet and traditional.
We had heard it was like Blackpool with sun, and we have to agree, other than the amusement arcades, it had casino's instead! Lots of drunk yobs after midnight.
The weather was good although we had 2 cloudy and windy days and a full day of rain which was a shame.
We did a jeep safari which was ok, but no comparison to those in Turkey.
It was more expensive than we were expecting - they have obviously picked up on the fact it was cheap, beer was only about £1 a pint though, cocktails £5 for 2 which was good, shops expensive though for handbags, clothes etc.
Overall a good holiday, fantastic hotel but we won't be going back to Bulgaria due to this resort.

Room Tip: DO NOT have a room overlooking the front of the hotel - noisy due to main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvoLovesHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Nice clean hotel and everything worked in the room except the wifi which was disappointing.
The rooms were clean and functional but having upgraded to a suite I would have at least expected a decent view rather than the one i got of the hotel next door.
Restaurant was busy and despite the all inclusive claim the main bar in the lobby was excluded even for a coffee.
Close to the beach and access was through the sister hotel.
Overall ok, not great for the price.
Sunny beach has become "neon ville" and has been overdeveloped from the beautiful clean and enchanting resort to was just 5 years ago.
Is this really progress?

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willtad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Helena Sands Hotel
Helena Sands Hotel
#11 of 222 in Sunny Beach
370 reviews
0.2 mi away
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
#2 of 222 in Sunny Beach
1,437 reviews
1.6 mi away
Laguna Park Hotel
Laguna Park Hotel
#12 of 222 in Sunny Beach
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Galeon Residence & Spa
Galeon Residence & Spa
#22 of 222 in Sunny Beach
101 reviews
1.1 mi away
Barcelo Royal Beach
Barcelo Royal Beach
#17 of 222 in Sunny Beach
1,076 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Fort Beach Hotel
Premier Fort Beach Hotel
#1 of 222 in Sunny Beach
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helena Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helena Park Hotel

Address: Sonnen Strand | Helena Resort, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sunny Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range: £71 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Helena Park Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* In the Sunny Beach resort area on the Black Sea * 3 to 6-story building * 150 m from the beach * Sun loungers and parasols on the beach (additional charge) * In a 14,500 m2 garden together with the Riu Palace Helena Sands Hotel * 2.5 km from the center of Sunny Beach * 28 km from Burgas airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Helena Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helena Park Hotel Sunny Beach
Helena Park Hotel Bulgaria/Sunny Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing