We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“helena park”
Review of Helena Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Helena Park Hotel
Ranked #4 of 222 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2013

my wife and I, have just returned from 14 days at the Helena park hotel Bulgaria, we arrived at 5.30, am , and were really pleased by the outside view of the hotel, on entering we were met by very pleasant lady on reception, and a really friendly valet, named angel, who was great he showed us to our room, how to use the safe, and air conditioning, was a bit disappointed, after travelling through the night, to find no coffee making facilities, he did say he could get us these for an extra £55.00 for the fourteen days, the room itself was really nice spacious, big bed, and very clean, bathroom was nicely done good shower, and full size bath, only thing that let it down was the balcony, bit of a harsh word balcony, more like a brick outhouse, with a gap of about 2feet deep to see over, all we could see was the very top khans tent on a hill, and a large crane.all the staff were very pleasant and helpful our cleaner was really nice, kept our room tidy, even fresh towels every day made some really good sculptures with them. grounds of the hotel were lovely well kept some nice places to sit and chill,there is a nice stream runs through the grounds with fish in it , the main restaurant was really nicely set with wide selection of salads , cold meats hot food , and plenty of garnishes, and yes did find a bit repetitive after a week, but no point moaning plenty of places to eat outside of hotel,most nights we were there we either, went down to the beach bar or along the strip, beach bar was great relaxing, the strip was quite lively plenty of places to get a drink, if you don't like to much noise stick to the part nearer the hotel, all in all had a really great time, and the weather was fantastic, a little tip if you want a sun lounger that gets the sun all day, set your alarm, because towel mice are up and about getting the best loungers, even though it says not to .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank conkerhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 562 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

As one in a group of 4, we arrived quite late on a Friday night. We were greeted with a glass of bubbly as we checked in, and told that there was a small selection still available from the restaurant. Considering we arrived 2 hours after the restaurant closed, this was very welcome.

The rooms were spotless (cleaned every morning), spacious, and the complimentary mini bar could be used if you needed to store extra drinks/aftersun, which came in handy. (I'd recommend the beer). Even though we hadn't a pool view, we still got the sun in the evening.

The grounds of the hotel were lovely and very well kept. It was nice that the hotel, while on the main strip, was actually set back from the beach. The other big hotels didn't seem to have the same privacy as the Helena.

The staff were friendly and helpful, even setting up the table at dinner a little differently because one of our party were celebrating their birthday. The added bubbly and birthday cake were very impressive, considering we hadn't actually mentioned that there was a birthday taking place. The staff even mentioned the birthday girl by name when serving her, which was a nice touch.

The food (although slightly repetitive after 6 days) was delicious, I cant understand how anyone could complain that they couldn't mind anything they didn't like to eat. The actual selection was very impressive; something for everyone, including a kids section.

The only niggle we may have had was the entertainment. Although, I'm sure at peak season it's very good (especially with families and children), when we were there the hotel was occupied with a slightly older crowd. Perhaps the entertainment could have been altered to suit the current audience.

In a word: Fantastic! I'd recommend it, and I would visit again.

Tip:: The pool is freezing cold! Really! Also, if sunbathing by the pool, nab a sun lounger (early!) from the area directly opposite the Blue Lagoon snack bar - it gets the most sun during the day.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are lovely to look at.... but the roadside rooms have sun in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dazz469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Wow! From the moment we arrived at this incredible hotel we knew we were in for a fabulous week. A lovely glass of bubbly whilst we were checking in & bell boy service to the room with our luggage.

The room was huge! Lovely and spacious & clean - rooms were cleaned every day with bedding & towels replaced. Everywhere you look there is someone cleaning or attending the stunning gardens. Beds & pillows were comfy & a stocked mini bar on arrival.

All members of staff were polite, friendly and made us feel very welcome.

The food was amazing from breakfast to the snack bar & evening meals, plenty of choice, always hot & very very tasty! I love the mini kebabs in the snack bar! The drinks were in my opinion had not been watered down - measures however were plentiful! The animations team work so so hard to ensure everyone has an amazing time every evening.

We loved this hotel so much & I'm hoping there is still availability for next year!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FJ10ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Just got back from this extravagant hotel we have ever stayed in. The room was very spacious with a mini bar aswell. We couldn't falt the cleanliness in the room everyday it was clean with towels replaced. The food in restaurant and snack bar was hot fresh and very tasty with a good selection for all the pizzas were the best we tasted. The animation team are very good - special mention to RUSSI and the 2 STEPHANS they were really funny in the comedy show on the saturday night
Also a special mention to our rep who was very helpful throughout our stay here anf also tp the hotel manager and her staff on reception who were good . Have already booked for next year and can't wait see u all soon

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Transf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

We arrived quite late,was very gratefull that they had left us some food although restaurant was closed.Hotel is immaculate and a constant flow of cleaners kept it that way.The room we had was brilliant with view of the pool and to the left view of the sea to the right view of sunny beach,great room!!!.The staff were very friendly and always willing to help.The pool area was clean but overcrowded with sun beds and the pool was clean but extreamly cold,so cold we only used it once!!!!,luckily the beach was only a stones throw away as we spent our days there.Overall,fab hotel,fab staff,plenty of good food,under used pool due to the temp. :)))

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spider04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

So we were expecting a platinum 5 star hotel...this hotel whilst had lots of good aspects it wasn't as good as other hotels we have stayed in of the same rating. Our room was a superioir room and was of a good standard, very spacious, good clean standard and nice blacony with pool and sea view.
Never saw the evening entertainment. The daytime stuff we saw was not our thing. They did have daily volley ball games on the beach. The AI pool was very cold and therefore was not well used, although fairly busy sunbathing area. One thing we didn't like was the coffee and tea was from a machine and served in plastic cups in all the bars.

The food generally was of a good standard. The breakfasts had various choices you might expect. Excellent salad bar at lunch and in the evenings, choice of soups etc. There was also a good selection of hot food.

There was a free sunbed area on the beach for guests, but this is not clear. The attendant for the payable sunbeds wait for the free ones to fill up before collecting his money and often guests would take these beds and then there were none of the free ones left.

The boat to nessebar is worth getting from the pier and there are some nice bars and restaurants. We walked back along the beach (rep said it would take 3hours but we did this in half that time) get the tram from nessebar to there last stop and you can do the rest in an hour and a half.

The resort itself had lots of shops selling the same things...cheap copies of clothes and perfume etc. The beach was 8km long and clean.

Room Tip: Room 2421 was a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jetsetters8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed at the Helena Park hotel September 6th to 17th. Ignore all the bad reviews it was wonderful, I am a fussy eater and can not eat alot of things, I did not go hungry food was well prepared and a very good selection. Hotel was fantastic, staff could not do enough to make your stay a good one, even the bottled water was free from reception, rooms clean and comfortable. Ellie our rep was always around when she said she would be and was attentive and professional. One of the best holidays we have had in nearly 30 years of traveling. Would go back tomorrow if I could. Do not change a thing a star in Bulgaria's crown

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Judith13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
#2 of 222 in Sunny Beach
1,440 reviews
0.1 mi away
Helena Sands Hotel
Helena Sands Hotel
#11 of 222 in Sunny Beach
371 reviews
1.6 mi away
Laguna Park Hotel
Laguna Park Hotel
#12 of 222 in Sunny Beach
1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 222 in Sunny Beach
685 reviews
1.8 mi away
Trakia Hotel
Trakia Hotel
#133 of 222 in Sunny Beach
37 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Fort Beach Hotel
Premier Fort Beach Hotel
#1 of 222 in Sunny Beach
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helena Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helena Park Hotel

Address: Sonnen Strand | Helena Resort, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Sunny Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Sunny Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range: £75 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Helena Park Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* In the Sunny Beach resort area on the Black Sea * 3 to 6-story building * 150 m from the beach * Sun loungers and parasols on the beach (additional charge) * In a 14,500 m2 garden together with the Riu Palace Helena Sands Hotel * 2.5 km from the center of Sunny Beach * 28 km from Burgas airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Helena Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helena Park Hotel Sunny Beach
Helena Park Hotel Bulgaria/Sunny Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing