We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but room for much improvement”
Review of Helena Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Helena Park Hotel
Ranked #4 of 222 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2013

First off the Hotel is spotlessly clean! and staff were first class. The let down bits for me were the 1AM check in and only one person checking us in (3 coaches arrived at the same time) so it was slow, no offer of drinks or food on arrival, yet day time arrivals got champagne. Food was good but repetative - this is the same for most AI hotels these days so not a deal breaker for me. The pool was really cold even for me! so only ventured in once, then straight to my room for a hot bath. The Thompson / First Choice brochures show the pool from Helena Sands Hotel its in front of the Helena Park Hotel and we (Helena Park) guests are not allowed to use the pool at the Sands Hotel and vice a versa! we were allowed to use the indoor pool and gym though as part of our AI. There is a beach bar but it is not part of the AI the snack bar had fantastic ice creams, but the snacks were not always hot, but to be fair it was not that busy I think in peak times there would be more turn over of foods. Upstairs bar was part of AI bit not spirits as these were branded but down stairs you could get cocktails etc on AI but it lacked atmosphere. I have no idea about night time entertainmaent as we were in bed by 9pm every night, as we like to get up early in the morning. We only saw the animation team once and that was on our first day, I think they were either paid off or had been eaten? but they did vanish!

Oh back to the beach it was clean enough, but is rubbish for snorkling, you can go out a long way and its still not deed, you need to be aware though that there are big jelly fish on some days.

Would I go back? no. I enjoyed my stay but think as Ellie said its like Blackpool, not that its a bad thing but Blackpool is not my kind of holiday. Do visit Nessebar if you go but be aware that its full of touristy shops looking for your lev

Room Tip: rooms are allocated on arrival so not much chance of bagging a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kcurrie1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 562 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

If you want to visit this quieter area of Sunny Beach then the Hotel is Good and the Staff are Great.
The season was coming to a close when we visited and things had started to close down.
Room was good and clean, Reception, Bar & Restaurant Staff very friendly and helpfull. Good Choice of food. Thomson/ First Choice Rep was Helpfull

Down Points :-
Mini bar is not refilled without a charge (Supermarket opposite hotel entrance)
No tea and coffee making facilities in the room.
No ironing board & iron in the room
If you are after entertainment then you will be dissapointed. There were 2 shows on in the hotel during our stay but these were chargable at between 20 - 30 L per person. These professional shows were not part of the ALL inclusive package.
In the bar near the restaurant there was a quiz and a comedy sketch performed by the entertainment staff but this was very poor. This bar didnt have a comfortable seating area inside.
The lobby bar, ran out of Beer and Coke when we were there. All spirits are chargable in this bar so be aware. Seating on sofas is much better here.
Specialised Meals were served in the Pool Snack Bar and not worth booking.
Shape of the hotel means that the Sea View Rooms, you can just see the sea in the distance as the Helens Sands Hotel has been built in front of the Helena Park Hotel. You can use their pool and Spa but this is not All inclusive and you must pay for everything you have here.
The beach area for the hotel was Ok but could do with a litter picker.

We booked the VIP lounge at the airport at a charge of 138 L per person.
DON'T BOOK IT !!
No food only crisps nuts and buscuits available. Soft drinks also available. No beer. Dont be friendly and chat to the staff.
When we boarded the plane after 3 hours and 20 minutes in the VIP lounge we were told we were not allowed any alcolohic beverages as we had had too much to drink in the departure lounge!!! (2 Fanta Oranges and a packet of buscuits)
Thomson air crew wouldnt check with the VIP lounge and we think they had us mistaken with some other couple. All we wanted was some food and a beer or a couple of glasses of wine!

This spoilt our holiday !

Sunny Beach is a 6 mile streach of beach. In the centre there is the "Magaluf Area" Cheap drinks, people hasseling you, ticket touts bar crawls etc etc so if you dont want this then dont go there!

At the other end of the Bay is Nesebar, nice area but not so nice hotels.
Pick a 5* hotel and expect 4*

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DianeBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Arrived in early hours,first impression was what a lovely hotel.In daylight it was spotless and the grounds were lovely.The staff were always busy cleaning etc.The restaurant was staffed by very attentive staff who were willing to do anything to help. As for the food if you could not find something to eat at every meal then you had a problem. The food was plentiful, very varied and displayed beautifully.We were not quite so keen in the snack bar as the food although good was sometimes cold.
Now for the bad bit!.We had a BIG problem with our room.The smell of sewage was awful to the point that we could not stay in the room. For three days in a row we complained to both the rep and the reception staff. We were given various excuses from the rain to eventually being told by the rep that at the end of the season they would have to dig the floor up.!On the third day we were offered another room but it was over a car park and facing a road. When we said no we were told that if we had gone back earlier in the day we could of had a different room.We did say we had been back first thing but we ended up in the room another night.We then moved to another room which was lovely and clean and no smell.Sadly this did put a damper on the holiday especially as we did not even receive an apology from the management at any stage.I also asked for our wedding anniversary to be catered for and that did not happen.Maybe they just took a dislike to us?!!
The beach and promenade were clean and flat The sea was cold as was the swimming pool.
We met some fantastic people and had a great number of laughs.The jellyfish is still asleep!
If you want a beach holiday with good food and a nice beach then this is the place for you.But if you want to experience Bulgaria then it is not the place to go.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nannabruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel at the quieter end of sunny beach. But still within a short walk from the shops and bars of the main strip. Food was lovely. Did get a bit repetitive in the last few days. But what all inclusive resort doesnt. The hotel is constantly being cleaned and all staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. Ellie the first choice rep wad fantastic and is an asset to both the hotel and first choice! She was so helpful, knowledgeable and approachable. My only couple of criticisms: the check in at the hotel at 1am after a long day took ages with only obe receptionist on at night despite the hotel obviouly knowing how many people they were expecting. Secondly the swimming pool was freezing and should be looked at. This would stop me coming back here just because the pool is unusable. Other 5 star hotels in sunny beach probably come with a warmer pool that you can make use of. We spent the whole two weekd as did nearly all the other guests not stepping foot in the freezing pool! Apart from that a lovely hotel that I would consider going back to if they sort the pool out!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank sharon_byrne2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We really enjoyed our 2 weeks stay at Helena Park in May / June 2013.So much that we have rebooked for 2014. Looking forward to our holiday.
Lovely Hotel & surroundings, set in beautiful gardens. Great staff lovely rooms & great food..

Room Tip: Great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lillian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My Husband and Myself have just returned from a week at the Helena Park Resort and were
NOT looking forward to coming home this year.

We arrived in the early hours of the morning and with just one person on the front desk, it
was a very long process checking everyone in, we were indeed all very tired after travelling
and this is something that does need to be improved upon.

Our room itself was lovely, very modern and bright with king size bed, flat screen tv
and lots of storage space for clothes.
The Wardrobe contained a safe that had instructions on how to use, but this was free, also
we had a fridge that was stocked with beers, fruit juices and water on arrival, free again but
anything after that would be chargeable.
Large bottles of water were available from reception again free and the fridge was
very handy to keep these chilled.
The Bathroom was amazing with powerful overbath shower, hairdryer and towels that were
replenished daily. An assortment of shower gels, shampoo, soap, shower cap, shoe shine
and even needle and thread were welcomed, not to mention the inset box of paper tissues in the wall.

Our Balcony was nice, very private, complete with wicker table and chairs and overlooked the pool area and Helena Sands building opposite

Air Con was also free and could be used whenever needed.

All this was kept spotlessly clean by the most dedicated cleaners ever, who would also
make shapes with the towels and sometimes even incorporate a fresh flower or two.

The dining room was first class, the staff were all very professional and nothing was ever
too much trouble, we could sit anywhere at breakfast and lunch, but a table/sitting was
allocated for the evening meal on our first day.

All the meals were buffet style with the added touch of fresh coffee being served at breakfast as
soon as we were seated, as was a drink of choice served at both lunch and evening meal.

The choice of foods was never ending and how anyone can complain amazes me.
I am vegetarian but never went hungry.

The snack bar was also a nice option if you wanted a change and this is where fresh
pizza was also cooked throughout the day, again loads to choose from.

The Pool area was lovely, probably too cold to get in as we gathered, but nice to lay around
and catch the sun on the sunbeds and mattresses provided.
Pool towels were provided via a card that was issued and then swapped for a fresh towel each day, these could also be taken to the beach where again there was a free section
of sunbeds and parasols for Helena residents.
Never had a problem getting a sunbed around the pool or on the beach, but it was at the end of the season.

Drinks were plentiful whether alcoholic or soft drinks as were the automatic
coffee/tea machines throughout.

The Beach was a few minutes walk away having to pass through the grounds of the
Helena Sands, but it also gave the chance to stand and admire the lovely
dome that was always illuminated by night.
We were lucky enough to be around one evening to watch the water being turned on and
cascading down, that was an added bonus.

The hotel is situated at the quiet end of the beach, but only a five minute walk and you
are surrounded with bars, restaurants, and an array of shops that sell all the usual
souvenirs plus very good fake bags, purses and clothing etc.

There is a small train that runs along the strip into the main shopping area, at a charge
of 3 lev each way, but it is good fun.

The Indoor pool is also available to use at the Helena Sands, did not actually look
around it until last day but will take advantage next year.

Had to vacate room at 12.00pm but booked a courtesy room slot for 30mins later in the day to
have a shower (towels provided)

All in all a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thelma d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Our first time in Bulgaria, and when we pulled up at the hotel our immediate reaction was overwhelmingly positive! This was only reinforced when morning came round and we explored the hotel properly. The food at all three main meal sittings is superb, a huge amount of choice of freshly prepared food every day, as one of us is a Vegetarian this was a worry before we travelled, but absolutely no problems on that front! Everywhere is spotlessly clean and well presented, from the Chefs rearranging and re-filling the food during meals to the maids seeming to endlessly clean every surface within the grounds. The waiting staff will get to know you, and remember what drinks you like before you've even asked for them.
As other people have commented, the outdoor pool is extremely cold when you first get in it, however it is nice enough to sit around and catch the sun. If you really want a swim, we recommend using the indoor pool in the Helena Sands, which is smaller, but warmer and much more private; with showers and toilets within the building so you don't have to trek back to your room.
The Animation Team were ever-present, they really work long hours and put on a variety of games during the day and evening entertainment. Some of it wasn't to our taste, but they have to cater for quite a wide audience, and mainly seem to hit the mark.
The beach is a very short walk away, with a great mini golf course just down from the gate. 62 to beat now, but we'll be back to improve soon! Others on here have detailed the difficulty with actually obtaining a free sunbed, so I won't, but we took beach mats and towels, and they more than did the job.
The walk along the strip is well worth doing, but get used to telling people that no you don't want something to eat or drink. It is definitely an area that would get very lively at night, but that is all located further down the strip and the noise levels at night didn't get to the hotel as far as we noticed.
We stayed in a Superior room, and had an excellent view of the pool and the Lion Bridge across to the Helena Sands. It was spacious and kept spotlessly clean regardless of what time of day we left the room.
Our Rep Ellie was fantastic, always available when she had said she would be, willing to help with every enquiry, and her office was always open with a 'swap shop' of books and toiletries and even a couple of lilos!
Go, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Room 2331 had a lovely view and is close to the lifts and stairs without being noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stacie105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
#2 of 222 in Sunny Beach
1,440 reviews
0.1 mi away
Helena Sands Hotel
Helena Sands Hotel
#11 of 222 in Sunny Beach
371 reviews
1.6 mi away
Laguna Park Hotel
Laguna Park Hotel
#12 of 222 in Sunny Beach
1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 222 in Sunny Beach
685 reviews
1.8 mi away
Trakia Hotel
Trakia Hotel
#133 of 222 in Sunny Beach
37 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Fort Beach Hotel
Premier Fort Beach Hotel
#1 of 222 in Sunny Beach
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helena Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helena Park Hotel

Address: Sonnen Strand | Helena Resort, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Sunny Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Sunny Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range: £75 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Helena Park Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* In the Sunny Beach resort area on the Black Sea * 3 to 6-story building * 150 m from the beach * Sun loungers and parasols on the beach (additional charge) * In a 14,500 m2 garden together with the Riu Palace Helena Sands Hotel * 2.5 km from the center of Sunny Beach * 28 km from Burgas airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Helena Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helena Park Hotel Sunny Beach
Helena Park Hotel Bulgaria/Sunny Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing