We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Helena Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Helena Park Hotel
Ranked #6 of 222 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Our second visit to this hotel and it was even better than last year. We were also delighted that several of the people we met last year also loved it enough to go back there too. Just can't find a single fault with this beautiful hotel, the staff are very helpful and polite, the standard of cleanliness is very high (rooms cleaned and fresh towels every day).
Food is amazing with something for everyone's tastes, (the cakes and desserts are worth the trip alone). Food is always fresh and cooked as it is required and the restaurant is bright airy and air conditioned. (The reviewer who was missing a hand sanitiser may have failed to see the actual hand washing facilities with hot water, soap and towels near to the restaurant entrance).
We can't think of a single reason not to go back to Helena Park in 2015, we had a wonderful relaxing holiday with absolutely nothing to criticise.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful but those ending with an "odd" digit are on the quieter side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandrahamelnumber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

This was our first time to Bulgaria and we only came home yesterday :(. We arrived at Helena Park at 2.30 in the morning and having read the reviews that check in was slow we expected a long wait, but there were 2 other couples checking in as well so the receptionist explained everything to us all together and then checked us in seperately and we where in our room in about 15 minutes after arrival, the bell boy brought our bags to our room. As it was late the resturant was closed but we had cold meats, cheese and bread left for us which was grand if the people before us would have recovered them after they used them as some of the meat had dried up round the edges and some of the bread was hard again after being left open. Our room 2411 was on the 4th floor and overlooked the pool and Helena Sands Hotel (sister hotel on the same complex) and was clean and fresh. We had no problems with any of the food and you could have cereal, cold meats, fried or fruit for breakfast every morning. For lunch again we had no problems plenty of salad and meats as well as pork, chicken and fish and fruit. Dinner again in the evening has also a good selection from salads, pizza, chicken, fish, pork and beef dishes plus chips rice and mashed and roast potatotes and different vegetables, also different fruits and desserts. On your first day you get a choice of where you want to sit for dinner either inside or out on the terrace, we chose the terrace and it was cool and not as noisy as the resturant (you can sit anywhere you want at breakfast and lunch). There are 2 sittings for dinner and you choose which you want and again that is your time all holiday unless you which to change it the sittings are 18.00 - 19.30 and 20.00 - 21.30. The waiter staff will serve drinks to your table. We went out for dinner on 2 nights and for lunch a couple of days as we had made plans and it was easier than heading back to the hotel. Our room was cleaned everyday and towels where replaced everyday also. You are supplied towels for swimming and these can be changed at the pool everyday also. We didnt see anything of the entertainment as we prepared to head out into Sunny Beach after dinner but we spoke to them during the day and they are all lovely kids. Our Thomson rep was lovely also and very friendly and we chatted with her a few days. All in all we couldnt fault this hotel, however wifi didnt work in our room at all and only worked on the balcony early in the morning or late in the evening, you can get perfect wifi in the lobby bar upstairs and also in Helena Sands hotel and at the beach bar but if you are going to be sitting on wifi all day you would be better off staying at home. Check out is 12pm on the day you leave and to keep your room on is 15 lev per hour after 12 noon, we kept ours until 8pm and it cost us 120 lev, the room keys can be a bit of a nightmare and we had to go to reception on at least 5 occassions over our stay to get them to reactivate the keys as we couldnt get into our room. Our bus to the airport wasnt coming until 11.20pm but the receptionist asked us for our bands when we left our room at 8pm after a bit of decussion it was agreed we could hold onto them until we where leaving which meant we could have a bite to eat and a drink while waiting for the bus but we had met people who had checked out a few days before us and had a late flight and there was no issue with there bands they where allowed food and drinks all day, so maybe thats something the hotel could be clearer on especially if you have children and have a late flight at least you can have a meal and some drinks. Over all we enjoyed our holiday but not sure if we would return to Sunny Beach but we would definately choose this hotel if we did.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karenmoore06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Our first holiday to Helena Park Hotel, Sunny Beach Bulgaria, was in May 2013.
We had such a good holiday, when we got home, we decided to book again for June 2014.
Both times we stayed at the Helena Park Hotel.
Such a lovely setting, in a quiet part of Sunny Beach.
Excellent staff, great food, lovely rooms. The hotel is set in beautiful well kept gardens.
It also has it's own stretch of beach, just outside the back gate, with courtesy beach towels
We will definitely be going back & look forward to staying at Helena Park once again, in 2015.
Mrs L Fisher / England

Room Tip: The Helena Park is a All Inclusive Hotel. Plenty of great food choice, at all times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Lillian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Check In:-

We arrived about 3am and checked in which was a very slow process. And a bell boy took our bags however got the wrong room and when we rang reception to ask where the bags had gone she went don't know and put the phone down. The receptionist said that there's food available for us in the restaurant. Pieces of ham and salami and stale bread.

Hotel Room:-

The hotel room was very clean. The beds were very uncomfortable and for the 6ft lad of the group his feet dangled over the bed. The room was small. The shower wasn't the best. But got fresh towels daily. In the mini bar there's beer and water. Free although top ups cost.

The staff:-

If your English expect plenty of "no understand". They literally didn't understand anything. They was rude, unhelpful, they didn't have conversations with you. You could tell they really hated their job. I asked a member of staff where the nearest toilet was and they had no idea what I meant.

The food:-

oh waw! The food was disgusting. Uncooked meat. Salad, fruit and vegetables were not fresh. And the day after they reheat the meet from the night before for lunch.

The Drink: -

wasn't the best alcohol. Very watered down. Didn't taste night and feel very bloated. The soft drink is vile. Rola cola, 19p lemonade.

The entertainment:-

The animation team mithered all day long to get involved and when you say no they spit their dummies out. What they put on is boring anyway. No music through the day or night anywhere other than Elton John on repeat in the lobby.

The Pool :-

The pool isn't actually that cold and everyone was in it near enough all though everyone was cramped in and you couldn't move. You could here everyone's conversations because they was that close.
Very clean though.

Useful information :-

A) you can't use the sister hotels pool or bars

B) wifi is free and you can get it everywhere

C) bar shuts at midnight

D) its 2 minutes walk to the beach.

E) free safe deposit box

F) late check outs.

Hope this helps. questions welcome.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Shaun G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Probably one of the best hotels in Sunny beach. Located in a quite place it has a big and beautiful territory. Just few meters away from the beach. The hotel is absolutely wheelchair friendly, the rooms have all necessary equipment. Special thanks for the management for their support and responsiveness!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank advbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Absolutely brilliant first class hotel. Food was great couldn't complain about anything. Hotel staff were very helpful in every aspect. Tour rep was great,very helpful and especially the animation team. Even on the wet days they found entertainment for us. They even waited to see us off when we were leaving. Thanks guys especially zara. Clean beach towels everyday. Rooms cleaned everyday as well. Well done to everyone who works in the hotel. It was the best holiday I've had in a long time. Will definitely be coming back to the hotel xx

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Michelle727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

First time here at Helena park, all i can say is that it has been the best holiday ever. The staff have been so helpful they have all had smiles on there faces. The entertainment has been outstanding, especially the animation team they have everyone in laughter and entertain. Thanks to Zara,Chris,Ivan,Niki,Ira,Desi,Stefan,Kito. One of the best places i have ever been to. Definitely a place to come back too.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kirstie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
#2 of 222 in Sunny Beach
1,443 reviews
0.1 mi away
Helena Sands Hotel
Helena Sands Hotel
#11 of 222 in Sunny Beach
372 reviews
1.6 mi away
Laguna Park Hotel
Laguna Park Hotel
#12 of 222 in Sunny Beach
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#10 of 222 in Sunny Beach
685 reviews
2.9 mi away
Galeon Residence & Spa
Galeon Residence & Spa
#22 of 222 in Sunny Beach
102 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Fort Beach Hotel
Premier Fort Beach Hotel
#1 of 222 in Sunny Beach
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helena Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helena Park Hotel

Address: Sonnen Strand | Helena Resort, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Sunny Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Sunny Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range: £73 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Helena Park Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* In the Sunny Beach resort area on the Black Sea * 3 to 6-story building * 150 m from the beach * Sun loungers and parasols on the beach (additional charge) * In a 14,500 m2 garden together with the Riu Palace Helena Sands Hotel * 2.5 km from the center of Sunny Beach * 28 km from Burgas airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, LoveHolidays and Hotels.com so you can book your Helena Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helena Park Hotel Sunny Beach
Helena Park Hotel Bulgaria/Sunny Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing