We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 220 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We have just spent 2 weeks in this hotel and it is the best hotel we have stayed in. It was spotless with friendly staff and a great food selection in the restaurant. The location is is ideal for beach lovers and far enough from the area where all the pub crawls happen.The only thing I would say is that if anyone is going and you like to have coffee or tea when you get up in the morning is to take a kettle with you as there is no tea or coffee making facilities in the room unless you are in a studio.

Room Tip: I would recommend getting a pool/sea view as the other rooms look onto other hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    854
    368
    114
    22
    14
See reviews for
503
581
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

It was a bit of a gamble going to Bulgaria for this year's holiday but it was cheaper than most holidays and the hotel looked pretty good. Tried to be fair writing a review as it rained for 6 days out of 11, floods, thunderstorms.They said it was unusually wet for the beginning of June. However, after the 3rd day i wanted to come home, i hated it all there!

This HUGE hotel, I don't think i liked the scale of it, too many people.

There were always a lot of staff cleaning around the hotel, even in the rain, hoovering/brushing up the water from the hotel entrance steps.

The rooms are average layouts, very clean and fresh towels/toilet rolls every day. Definitely worth paying the extra for a balcony with sea view!

No free wifi but you can pay for a card, a bit expensive than others i've been to.

It is a huge hotel so if you can't walk very well the entrance may be difficult, lots of steps.

There can be a bit of a language problem in the hotel and resort as they only know really basic English and even though i'm used to communicating in pigeon English/playing charades etc. to help, most people seemed not to want to bother to understand. Has to be the worst place for that!

I felt like English people didn't really belong in this resort/country really. We are so different. It seems very robotic, matter of fact, careless, rude. I tried to learn how to say please/thankyou etc. but it doesn't seem there are any nice gestures where you'd need it! I felt invisible!

The tv had a few American programmes and music but the other channels were Bulgarian. (I only say this as it rained most of our holiday so we did find ourselves watching tv).

The tennis court is good, payable of about £7. Crazy golf but cheaper down the road, not that i normally play but this resort has some sort of fixation on crazy golf, loads, every few yards. (In between numerous kebab/pizza stalls).

Very good, professional massages, in the hotel, by the pool or at the beach. They were however a bit expensive for me. Cheapest being about £25 for reflexology, going up to over £100.

The restaurant/buffet was very large with an amazing choice of foods, even for vegetarians. They labelled the vegetarian dishes but didn't put what was in them. The salad bar had everything you could think of plus every type of dressing, herbs, sprinkle things. The breakfast even had 5 types of scrambled eggs, although they weren't cooked as well as i'd of liked. There were even weird choices like Brussel sprouts and cauliflower, even Gateaux!..For breakfast! lol. Some people had plate loads! There were yoghurts, cereals, cooked breakfasts, cheeses, toasts, fruits. For evening meal, they had pizza, pasta, cannelloni, meat dishes, chips, potatoes, salads, fruits, cheeses etc. The desserts were really lovely, lots of choices! The bread all over is not very nice bread. Also, the cheeses are tasteless processed kinds. There are 2 other (bookable) restaurants in the hotel which are Italian and Bulgarian but to be honest, the charged more for the same sort of food they were serving in the main buffet hall. The buffet room is like a free for all scrum, dodging people, fending off the Dutch/Germans from shoving themselves right in front of you whilst you're trying to dish up your meal, after YOU'VE queued!

Lunch outside the hotel was a bit poor, only a few choices, crepes/salad/kebabs/pizza. Same across the road though, more kebabs than you can shake a stick at!

I have to say, there weren't many English tourists in this hotel or resort, it seemed mainly Dutch and Germans, who ruled the roost. I found that because of the massive scale of them i felt a very rude/ignorant/unfriendly atmosphere everywhere! Even the Bulgarians had nothing about them. I am 49 and have travelled a lot but this was by far the rudest place i've ever been to. All of the sunbeds (of which there are many) were "Reserved" by towels from as early as 5am! Then they don't appear til 6PM! If you have a larger party/family then you'll find it difficult to sit together without arguing with whoever's towel you'd removed! The pool was freezing when we arrived due to the bad weather but i'm sure it warms up.

There was some entertainment..Around the pool there was water aerobics, water polo, volleyball on the beach, games at pool side. Table tennis, tennis. Karaoke. The evenings seemed more for children and families, or traditional dancing (a bit like Austrian costumes), a bit naff for me. We did play our own games like "Spot the Mullet" (not the fish kind)!

Location..The hotel is at the best side of the resort (which stretches for 8km), it gets more like Benidorm or Blackpool the further down you go, quite rough and lots of really drunk young people. (If you like that sort of thing, you'll love it, it's so cheap)! The beach is just across the road, loads of sunbeds, water sports, massage, nice sand. The sea was freezing when we went (2/6/10), also loads and loads of harmless jellyfish which weren't very nice to swim with. An easy incline into the water. Nothing much to see snorkelling wise and not many boat trips as the borders are close so they can't go far. (This was awful for me as i like to do swimming/sunbathing boat trips normally). There's some nice mixed fruit that's sold by people walking up and down the beach.

Restaurants in resorts weren't much cop. There's no where really nice. Most serve the same processed food, pizza (which seemed to look the same at every place), frozen chips, burgers type meals. Not like a Mediterranean holiday with fresh food :( Very cheap though)!

Change your money when you get here, cheaper in the many "Crown" exchange places not far along.

Loads of cheap tat on the many many stalls along the resort. There is a large shopping mall in Burgas, an expensive 20 min taxi ride away, selling named branded clothing etc. but it's mostly Eurotrash type designs. I asked the taxi driver if there were any towns etc. and he said no.

There is not much else to go and visit here. We went to Nessebar on the bus (40p) but there wasn't much there, nor did it have anything appealing about it. Even people selling trips weren't that enthusiastic about them, seemed like they had to try and scrape up SOMETHING to see! There's no other villages/towns/resorts nearby really. Coming over on the plane i could see the landscape was bland, just hundreds of salt flats where they get salt from. Didn't see any wild flowers at all!

There isn't any wildlife here either really, apart from Seagulls. I saw one cat and one dog, who were looked after. Someone trying to get you to have your photo taken with a baby Alligator, tortoise, snake and parrot.

At the end of writing this i'm thinking "Why"? I'm never going to go back as it was probably the worst place i've ever been but i had to try and save you from a possibly bad holiday. The only smiles i saw the whole time were the people on the coach going back to the airport! Even if it hadn't rained it still would of been bad! So, hotel nice, resort awful! I didn't even take many photos which is unusual for me. To me it was a very nothingy place!

Eastern European Benidorm..(If you like Benidorm, kebabs, rubbish food, rudeness, dodgy weather, busy resorts, you'll love it here)!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view balcony. Plenty of lifts but you have to wait quite a while for them to ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank julietandcleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Yet another excellent week at the Majestic. Great location, beach across a small road. Food great, yes the dining room was a bit hectic at times but it is the height of the season. Choice of two sittings - the 8pm seems less busy. Fresh food and too many options to list but three or four different meat options plus fish and vegetarian option every night. Salads are incredible. Finished off with dessert of sweet cakes, icecream, fruit, cheese and biscuits. Only draw back of the hotel was the sunbeds (as everywhere) none left after 8.30am. Rooms very spacious, we had a park view which does overlook another close hotel but scenery in the long distance - didnt spend our holiday in the room/balcony so wasnt a problem and got the evening sunshine on this side. This is our second visit and will go again.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are excellent of course but if you dont want to pay the extra go for a front view on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We have only just landed at Manchester and making our way back to Scotland so while it's still fresh I'd thoroughly recommend this hotel. All the staff are lovely. I will be forever greatful to the Bulgarian only cleaner who looked after my hysterical daughter after she locked herself in the toilets by the pool! I don't know how th entertainment team keep up their energy, they are so on all the time. I'd recommend the aerobics, zumba, water gymnastics and the hotels own little gym. All of it makes you feel a bit less lazy on your holiday.

The breakfast and dinners were good. I don't eat the cooked breakfast but there was always plenty toast, bread, cereal, croissants and fruit. There were a couple of days where the dinner was manic, it just seemed over crowded and you were queueing ten minutes to put food on your plate. This wouldn't have been so bad but we were taking it in turns to go up so not to leave kids to mischief. But even on those couple of nights your options were still all available and topped up.

The rooms were immaculate and ours felt huge. The sea views if you get one are amazing. The hotel even provide pool towels if you need them (or want to save space in your case), these can be exchanged every day for new ones.

Enjoy your trip here, it's pretty much guaranteed x

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Lori D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We have just spent a week at the Majestic Hotel in Sunny Beach. It was one of the cleanest hotels we have ever stayed in, from the room, the public areas, the toilets....everywhere was spotless.
We booked a sea view which was definitely worth it. The staff we're friendly and always happy to help.
Our restaurant experience was indeed a good one. There was a good selection of food at both breakfast and supper and it was of a high standard.
We felt that we had good value for money and would definitely stay here again and recommend :)

Room Tip: Definitely book sea view, worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Philip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The hotel had everything, great location, fantastic facilities, great food selection, friendly helpful staff and cleaner than any hotel we have ever stayed in.
The beach is on the doorstep with Nesebar a beautiful Bulgarian village just a 10 minute bus ride away.
I stayed with my husband and 2 children and we made use of the pools NOT that cold a welcome relief to the hot sunshine.
the pool bar have a happ hour from 3pm everyday, buy a cocktail get one free! They are delicious!
The selection at breakfast and dinner is fantastic only very very fussy people who only like chips and burgers might complain.
Highly recommend this hotel, worth every penny.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Mccabe717264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

So we arrived home to Glasgow this morning. Party of 5 which included my parents 70+, myself and my 2 teenage sons.
Flight over was like a party bus with the young crew but hey it's a holiday. On arrival 1am at airport it took a while for bags but it's not a big airport. Found bus for transfer and please note even though it says as a platinum holiday we would be dropped first this is not the case. Approx 35 mins transfer to hotel through some areas that looked like Beirut! !

Nice frontage and fairly swift at reception with bell boys to bring luggage to rooms...


ROOMS:

Nice with balcony and sea view. 2 twin beds with a pull down chair for my youngest son. Large TV but only Mtv and history chanel in English. Big minus is that there are no kettles in rooms and previous hotels we always got a fresh bottle of water delivered but nothing here... In bathrooms fresh towels, wall mounted hairdryer which is fine unless you have long hair as handle got very hot. Shampoo and shower gel supplied.
DINING:
Not the best selection of food tbh and they cater
mainly for Russian,German etc as very few Brits which made us feel quite alone.

DO NOT TAKE YOUR OWN DRINKS IN DINING ROOM OR THE GESTAPO MARIA PAPUA or some name like that will cause as scene as your eating. Very rude lady but soon backed down when she was told to take a hike. Staff generally very nice though and especially the man at door to dining room.

Pools are freezing but kids don't care about that and beach and sea is lovely..

Generally very cheap for drinks and food outside hotel with pizza,chips, baked potatoes etc. Shops outside a tad on tacky side but it's a holiday destination. Bags, tops,sunglasses etc all genuine fake great prices unless you've been to turkey before as they buy from there so have to add on to make profit.

Nessebar lovely and def worth a visit. We went twice and don't let the con artist bus conductors overcharge it's 1 lev per person!!! Some will try to overcharge. ..
Overall a lovely place and clean but mind mosquitoes as after arriving back this morning I'm writing this from a hospital bed with a foot like an elephant!!

Hope this helps anyone thinking of going here but def 3* not 4*

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Helena Sands Hotel
Helena Sands Hotel
#10 of 220 in Sunny Beach
347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Helena Park Hotel
Helena Park Hotel
#3 of 220 in Sunny Beach
529 reviews
2.8 mi away
Galeon Residence & Spa
Galeon Residence & Spa
#25 of 220 in Sunny Beach
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Laguna Park Hotel
Laguna Park Hotel
#12 of 220 in Sunny Beach
1,402 reviews
0.9 mi away
Barcelo Royal Beach
Barcelo Royal Beach
#16 of 220 in Sunny Beach
1,009 reviews
1.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Sunny Beach Resort
IBEROSTAR Sunny Beach Resort
#6 of 220 in Sunny Beach
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DIT Majestic Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DIT Majestic Beach Resort

Property: DIT Majestic Beach Resort
Address: Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Sunny Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — DIT Majestic Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 734
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your DIT Majestic Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel And Residence
Majestic Hotel Sunny Beach
Majestic Hotel Residence
DIT Majestic Beach Resort Bulgaria/Sunny Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing