We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 222 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We have just returned from two weeks at the Majestic, for the 8th year running. The reason that we return is that the hotel is so clean, the food is beautifully prepared and presented and the staff are very helpful and courteous. I have food allergies and I can honestly say that I was never hungry; there was always a variety of things I could eat. If I eat something bad, I can be ill for a week, so it is very reassuring to find how good their restaurant is. There is a continuous cleaning going on in all public areas, even late at night. Everywhere is beautifully kept. The actual resort can be a bit noisy, but the Majestic is more towards the northern end of resort where there are nice hotels and bars etc. we have never seen any rowdy behaviour around the area of the hotel. Yes, things change a little every year, but not in a detrimental way. Always a tip-top holiday experience.
Nadine and Frank, Staffordshire.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor, sea view. The views across the bay are lovely, and you can usually see the swi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank Nadine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

656 - 662 of 1,438 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

Thought I'd write a detailed review as would have liked the same before I went, so enjoy!

Me and my partner (both 21 years old) stayed at this hotel from 20th June to 5th July 2014. We booked with Thomson and were picked up from the airport by coach - the journey only took 30 minutes so was ideal after travelling for over 6 hours. On arrival to the hotel we checked in at reception and were taken to our rooms - this was done quickly and our suitcases were carried by the bellboy which was nice. We booked a studio room which was really nice, we were given a park view rather than a sea view however this didn't bother us much as the view was still great and allowed for a bit of privacy. The bed was huge, the bathroom was clean and the balcony was basic but spacious. There were tea/coffee making facilities however no tea/coffee or milk supplied. There was also cutlery, pans and plates/bowls/cups/glasses supplied along with a fridge, kettle, toaster and microwave however as we booked half board we did not make full use of these.

In regards to the buffets at meal times, there was a large range of food to choose from including soups, salads, fruit, main meals, sushi, cheese and bread. As a vegetarian, I was glad to see a range of different vegetarian options however on some nights this was not the case however I never went hungry. There is a queue for the main meals however many guests, annoyingly, chose to ignore this therefore those that did queue up were made to wait whilst those who thought they didn't have to queue pushed in to fill their plate (this also annoyed many guests).

One element that hugely impacted our holiday was an incident with 4/5 of the restaurant staff - we went down to have our evening meal one night, sat down and ordered two drinks (the waiters issue a receipt after drinks have been ordered and this is then paid before leaving). A screaming child then came and sat next to us and as we both wanted a peaceful meal we decided to move to the nearest empty table, which happened to be on the other side of the room. We then enjoyed our dinner, paid the nearest waiter for our drinks and left. The next morning we went down to breakfast and before we could sit down the waiter who served our drinks approached us and accused us of not paying for our drinks the previous night. We were a bit taken aback by his bluntness however explained that we had paid another waiter after moving tables - we even pointed out the waiter we paid and he confirmed this. With no apology for the misunderstanding we then sat down and began eating only to be approached by the restaurant host, the first waiter, the second waiter and a waitress. They all crowded round our table and accused us of not paying for the two drinks the previous night, causing a scene so much so that other guests were watching to see what was going on. Confused, embarrassed and irritated by this point we calmly explained the whole situation again to which we were met with further accusations and after being clearly distressed by this we still received no apology from any of the staff. From then on for the rest of our holiday we were subjected to stares, pointing and whispers from the staff involved who were obviously informing their colleagues about our apparent 'stealing'. We were also made to pay for our drinks as soon as they arrived which no other guests had to do and this made us feel as though we were not trusted to pay - even though we had done nothing wrong in the first place. The whole situation made us feel very uncomfortable during each meal time and was very aggravating, the staff were so unprofessional and rude we couldn't believe what had happened. Understandably we then went to make a complaint with the hotel manager in a bid to sort the situation out so that we could eat in a comfortable environment. However although the manager appeared to agree with us and promised the situation would not occur again there was no change in how the staff treated us and we were still made to pay upfront. Therefore we will be making a formal complaint to both Thomson and Majestic Hotel as what happened and how it was dealt with was completely unacceptable.

The cleaners came to clean and tidy our room everyday and we were given fresh bedding every other day. The cleaner on our floor was wonderful and did a great job each day. She normally came around 12pm each day which suited our hangover recoveries greatly and was always friendly towards us. As were the rest of the cleaning staff around the hotel - there were many of them about and the whole resort was very clean, all of the time.

The facilities around the resort were good, both pools were clean however were quite cold but we got used to this after a while. Guests often reserved their sun beds at 7am which made it hard to find any at all however the lifeguard made up our sun beds whenever asked to do so. The pool bar (24hr) and the bartenders were excellent as they always had a laugh with us and were always friendly. The cocktails were really tasty and from 3pm were buy one get one free - a common offer around bars in Sunny Beach. Drink prices were reasonable but cheaper places can be found along the beachfront.

As we went out most nights we would of liked to go to the main strip however this was located about a 40 minute walk from the hotel, which wasn't ideal in heels or after a few drinks therefore we didn't venture there much. We mainly went to the bars within 15/20 minute walk from the hotel however most closed at 1/2am so we usually then went for drinks at the pool bar. Sunny Beach isn't as lively as we were told it would be however this wasn't really a problem - we weren't looking for a really lively place, just somewhere we could have a few drinks.

The beach was really nice and just across the road from the hotel. We were also given pool towels which could be exchanged for clean ones next to the pool during 4 and 5 each day. It states that the price for sun beds and parasols were 4 lev each (£1.60) however we were only asked to pay a few times during our two week stay which was good. There was the option of water sports including banana boats, parasailing and water scooters for reasonable prices however we didn't fancy it. Leaving your belongings on the sun beds whilst in the sea was also safe and we never had any issues with this.

We went on one excursion, opting to go with the local excursion company rather than with Thomson as it was much cheaper. We went on the yacht picnic which cost us about 57 lev each (£23) from 9:30 to 3:30 and included lunch (this wasn't really suited for vegetarians), a boat ride which stopped in order for people to swim and unlimited drinks. They played music, had a photographer and videographer (who you could buy photos and videos of the trip from afterwards) and arranged games which everyone got involved with.

Overall we had a really good holiday and enjoyed it throughly, however was spoilt by the restaurant situation. Would recommend the hotel to others just don't move tables...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Jade H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We have just spent 2 weeks in this hotel and it is the best hotel we have stayed in. It was spotless with friendly staff and a great food selection in the restaurant. The location is is ideal for beach lovers and far enough from the area where all the pub crawls happen.The only thing I would say is that if anyone is going and you like to have coffee or tea when you get up in the morning is to take a kettle with you as there is no tea or coffee making facilities in the room unless you are in a studio.

Room Tip: I would recommend getting a pool/sea view as the other rooms look onto other hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Tam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

It was a bit of a gamble going to Bulgaria for this year's holiday but it was cheaper than most holidays and the hotel looked pretty good. Tried to be fair writing a review as it rained for 6 days out of 11, floods, thunderstorms.They said it was unusually wet for the beginning of June. However, after the 3rd day i wanted to come home, i hated it all there!

This HUGE hotel, I don't think i liked the scale of it, too many people.

There were always a lot of staff cleaning around the hotel, even in the rain, hoovering/brushing up the water from the hotel entrance steps.

The rooms are average layouts, very clean and fresh towels/toilet rolls every day. Definitely worth paying the extra for a balcony with sea view!

No free wifi but you can pay for a card, a bit expensive than others i've been to.

It is a huge hotel so if you can't walk very well the entrance may be difficult, lots of steps.

There can be a bit of a language problem in the hotel and resort as they only know really basic English and even though i'm used to communicating in pigeon English/playing charades etc. to help, most people seemed not to want to bother to understand. Has to be the worst place for that!

I felt like English people didn't really belong in this resort/country really. We are so different. It seems very robotic, matter of fact, careless, rude. I tried to learn how to say please/thankyou etc. but it doesn't seem there are any nice gestures where you'd need it! I felt invisible!

The tv had a few American programmes and music but the other channels were Bulgarian. (I only say this as it rained most of our holiday so we did find ourselves watching tv).

The tennis court is good, payable of about £7. Crazy golf but cheaper down the road, not that i normally play but this resort has some sort of fixation on crazy golf, loads, every few yards. (In between numerous kebab/pizza stalls).

Very good, professional massages, in the hotel, by the pool or at the beach. They were however a bit expensive for me. Cheapest being about £25 for reflexology, going up to over £100.

The restaurant/buffet was very large with an amazing choice of foods, even for vegetarians. They labelled the vegetarian dishes but didn't put what was in them. The salad bar had everything you could think of plus every type of dressing, herbs, sprinkle things. The breakfast even had 5 types of scrambled eggs, although they weren't cooked as well as i'd of liked. There were even weird choices like Brussel sprouts and cauliflower, even Gateaux!..For breakfast! lol. Some people had plate loads! There were yoghurts, cereals, cooked breakfasts, cheeses, toasts, fruits. For evening meal, they had pizza, pasta, cannelloni, meat dishes, chips, potatoes, salads, fruits, cheeses etc. The desserts were really lovely, lots of choices! The bread all over is not very nice bread. Also, the cheeses are tasteless processed kinds. There are 2 other (bookable) restaurants in the hotel which are Italian and Bulgarian but to be honest, the charged more for the same sort of food they were serving in the main buffet hall. The buffet room is like a free for all scrum, dodging people, fending off the Dutch/Germans from shoving themselves right in front of you whilst you're trying to dish up your meal, after YOU'VE queued!

Lunch outside the hotel was a bit poor, only a few choices, crepes/salad/kebabs/pizza. Same across the road though, more kebabs than you can shake a stick at!

I have to say, there weren't many English tourists in this hotel or resort, it seemed mainly Dutch and Germans, who ruled the roost. I found that because of the massive scale of them i felt a very rude/ignorant/unfriendly atmosphere everywhere! Even the Bulgarians had nothing about them. I am 49 and have travelled a lot but this was by far the rudest place i've ever been to. All of the sunbeds (of which there are many) were "Reserved" by towels from as early as 5am! Then they don't appear til 6PM! If you have a larger party/family then you'll find it difficult to sit together without arguing with whoever's towel you'd removed! The pool was freezing when we arrived due to the bad weather but i'm sure it warms up.

There was some entertainment..Around the pool there was water aerobics, water polo, volleyball on the beach, games at pool side. Table tennis, tennis. Karaoke. The evenings seemed more for children and families, or traditional dancing (a bit like Austrian costumes), a bit naff for me. We did play our own games like "Spot the Mullet" (not the fish kind)!

Location..The hotel is at the best side of the resort (which stretches for 8km), it gets more like Benidorm or Blackpool the further down you go, quite rough and lots of really drunk young people. (If you like that sort of thing, you'll love it, it's so cheap)! The beach is just across the road, loads of sunbeds, water sports, massage, nice sand. The sea was freezing when we went (2/6/10), also loads and loads of harmless jellyfish which weren't very nice to swim with. An easy incline into the water. Nothing much to see snorkelling wise and not many boat trips as the borders are close so they can't go far. (This was awful for me as i like to do swimming/sunbathing boat trips normally). There's some nice mixed fruit that's sold by people walking up and down the beach.

Restaurants in resorts weren't much cop. There's no where really nice. Most serve the same processed food, pizza (which seemed to look the same at every place), frozen chips, burgers type meals. Not like a Mediterranean holiday with fresh food :( Very cheap though)!

Change your money when you get here, cheaper in the many "Crown" exchange places not far along.

Loads of cheap tat on the many many stalls along the resort. There is a large shopping mall in Burgas, an expensive 20 min taxi ride away, selling named branded clothing etc. but it's mostly Eurotrash type designs. I asked the taxi driver if there were any towns etc. and he said no.

There is not much else to go and visit here. We went to Nessebar on the bus (40p) but there wasn't much there, nor did it have anything appealing about it. Even people selling trips weren't that enthusiastic about them, seemed like they had to try and scrape up SOMETHING to see! There's no other villages/towns/resorts nearby really. Coming over on the plane i could see the landscape was bland, just hundreds of salt flats where they get salt from. Didn't see any wild flowers at all!

There isn't any wildlife here either really, apart from Seagulls. I saw one cat and one dog, who were looked after. Someone trying to get you to have your photo taken with a baby Alligator, tortoise, snake and parrot.

At the end of writing this i'm thinking "Why"? I'm never going to go back as it was probably the worst place i've ever been but i had to try and save you from a possibly bad holiday. The only smiles i saw the whole time were the people on the coach going back to the airport! Even if it hadn't rained it still would of been bad! So, hotel nice, resort awful! I didn't even take many photos which is unusual for me. To me it was a very nothingy place!

Eastern European Benidorm..(If you like Benidorm, kebabs, rubbish food, rudeness, dodgy weather, busy resorts, you'll love it here)!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view balcony. Plenty of lifts but you have to wait quite a while for them to ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank julietandcleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Yet another excellent week at the Majestic. Great location, beach across a small road. Food great, yes the dining room was a bit hectic at times but it is the height of the season. Choice of two sittings - the 8pm seems less busy. Fresh food and too many options to list but three or four different meat options plus fish and vegetarian option every night. Salads are incredible. Finished off with dessert of sweet cakes, icecream, fruit, cheese and biscuits. Only draw back of the hotel was the sunbeds (as everywhere) none left after 8.30am. Rooms very spacious, we had a park view which does overlook another close hotel but scenery in the long distance - didnt spend our holiday in the room/balcony so wasnt a problem and got the evening sunshine on this side. This is our second visit and will go again.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are excellent of course but if you dont want to pay the extra go for a front view on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We have only just landed at Manchester and making our way back to Scotland so while it's still fresh I'd thoroughly recommend this hotel. All the staff are lovely. I will be forever greatful to the Bulgarian only cleaner who looked after my hysterical daughter after she locked herself in the toilets by the pool! I don't know how th entertainment team keep up their energy, they are so on all the time. I'd recommend the aerobics, zumba, water gymnastics and the hotels own little gym. All of it makes you feel a bit less lazy on your holiday.

The breakfast and dinners were good. I don't eat the cooked breakfast but there was always plenty toast, bread, cereal, croissants and fruit. There were a couple of days where the dinner was manic, it just seemed over crowded and you were queueing ten minutes to put food on your plate. This wouldn't have been so bad but we were taking it in turns to go up so not to leave kids to mischief. But even on those couple of nights your options were still all available and topped up.

The rooms were immaculate and ours felt huge. The sea views if you get one are amazing. The hotel even provide pool towels if you need them (or want to save space in your case), these can be exchanged every day for new ones.

Enjoy your trip here, it's pretty much guaranteed x

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank Lori D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We have just spent a week at the Majestic Hotel in Sunny Beach. It was one of the cleanest hotels we have ever stayed in, from the room, the public areas, the toilets....everywhere was spotless.
We booked a sea view which was definitely worth it. The staff we're friendly and always happy to help.
Our restaurant experience was indeed a good one. There was a good selection of food at both breakfast and supper and it was of a high standard.
We felt that we had good value for money and would definitely stay here again and recommend :)

Room Tip: Definitely book sea view, worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Philip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Helena Sands Hotel
Helena Sands Hotel
#11 of 222 in Sunny Beach
370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Helena Park Hotel
Helena Park Hotel
#4 of 222 in Sunny Beach
562 reviews
1.5 mi away
Laguna Park Hotel
Laguna Park Hotel
#12 of 222 in Sunny Beach
1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Barcelo Royal Beach
Barcelo Royal Beach
#17 of 222 in Sunny Beach
1,077 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Fort Beach Hotel
Premier Fort Beach Hotel
#1 of 222 in Sunny Beach
284 reviews
1.4 mi away
Iberostar Sunny Beach Resort
Iberostar Sunny Beach Resort
#6 of 222 in Sunny Beach
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DIT Majestic Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DIT Majestic Beach Resort

Address: Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sunny Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range: £51 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DIT Majestic Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 734
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your DIT Majestic Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel And Residence
Majestic Hotel Sunny Beach
Majestic Hotel Residence
DIT Majestic Beach Resort Bulgaria/Sunny Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing