We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our " lady's nights and days" at the sea side”
Review of Green Fort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Green Fort
Ranked #57 of 220 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“our " lady's nights and days" at the sea side”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We were in the complex mid August and got an unexpected summer adventure. Actually we had doubts about staying in the centre of the Sunny Beach or its end ..but booked a big two bedroom apartment in the holiday complex "Green Fort" for a resonable cost, which is west end of the resort. And get lucky. Arrived tired at noon but soon relaxed on the beach. It was 5 min walking from the complex and is a nice sandy line with lounges and umbrellas... as well beach bars. And our 7 days vacation started...We had some days on the pool (well maintained, sunny by the way), some on the beach ..as well went to the Aqua Park. There is a bus stop next to the complex and we have travelled to the centre of Sunny Beach, old town Nessebar and back ..some times in the mornings:) And waking up..was nice to get a fresh, toast, then chips and cocktails of course in the restaurant, next to the pool. It seems we have been close to night entertaiments and at the same time stayed in a relaxing zone. We had great ..secret..memories from that trip and ..already organizing one even better for the 2014:)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anna t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We had to leave our package hotel Laguna Park with Thomas Cook as it was disgusting and very dirty. We came across this apartment complex and have been outstanded. Shame we had to move after one night but didn't see the point in not using our all inclusive hotel by Thomas Cook.

The apartment we were in had TV, Beautiful bathrooms, was clean and pools were warmer than any hotels. We wish we could have spent the rest of our holiday here but couldn't. Kids are safe, playgrounds around the resort, staff friendly and happy, security 24 hours to stop any unwanted and have already booked for end of this year. It was delightful and not manic like the 2 hotels we have stayed in.

Right at the end of the strip and again may need a taxi home as it is a walk from the centre but this is great for families as not busy or crowded. Taxi is only about £6 from centre which is about 3km.

Room Tip: Book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank big_bum_1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Returned to Green Fort again this year. Had a villa last year but did not like not being able to walk into Sunny Beach.
Had a great relaxing holiday at Green Fort. Once again the complex was very well kept and the pool was wonderful and well maintained. Food was quite good if you did not want to go out to sunny beach. A new road has been done outside the complex and has really upgrade the area. We shall be going back again next year as we had a great holiday at a reasonable cost. See my review from 2009 as all still applies.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ang59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

We travelled in large group 4 families (10 people incl 2 small children 2,5 and 3 years) in beginning of September 2009 (already low season). We reached this hotel at 5PM on Thursday. The hotel looked quiet and clean, not bad location, parking inside. We decided to stay here and found a manager - young girl. She said that they had available apartments (we needed two big apartments with 2 bedrooms each). The price was in line with our expectations. Everything was nice... but this girl-manager said suddenly that she didn't have time, her bus would come in 5 minuts. I supposed it was a joke, but she packed her bag and left office. I proposed her to pay for a taxi as the case was not usual. but she said very calm "sorry. come tomorrow". I asked her if she understood that we would not come tomorrow because we had small children and we would find the hotel today - we ccould not sleep on the beach. the reply: "sorry. my working day is over" (5:05 PM :) ). the proposal to pay in cash was the last we could offer this evening... finally we found another apart- hotel in few minuts by foot located on the beach with more mature management :))))

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank serg_sha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2009

We returned on 14th August 2009 from a two week stay at Green Fort. I would highly recommend the complex for couples and families.
When we first arrived we were shocked at how close this and much of the accommodation is situated on a very busy road. However after 24 hours acclimatising you soon realise that you are in a different country and things are different. You just need to take care when crossing the road, as with walking on the very uneven footpaths.

Green Fort was an excellent base. We rented a one bedroom apartment directly from the owner who also arranged transfers from Bourgas airport for 120 lev. The driver was waiting when we landed, took us to the apartment giving us useful information on our journey. He also gave us the key to the apartment which made access so easy.

The accomadation was of a very high standard. The room was cleaned on our arrival, fresh towels available. I would recommend taking a change of towels with you as they were not changed and we had to wash them through ourselves. Not a great problem. The complex was quiet which was great after the mayhem of the strip. The pool was large and suitable both for adults and children. The very best part of the holiday was you could always get a sunbed at a cost of 2 lev a sunbed and 2 lev for umberella. A lot of the apartments are owned by Bulgarians, so were not constantly being used. There were enough people there to create nice atmosphere but not overcrowed. We loved this aspect of the holiday. The pool is cleaned regularly and the gardens are well maintained. We never worried about security as the complex is completely fenced with a security guard at the gate. (Even though sometimes they take a nap whilst on duty.) The food was cheap enough and edible. The staff were very welcoming and sociable.

It takes a few minutes to walk to the beach and the beginning of the strip. There are some lovely beach bars at this end of the strip and luxurious hotels. The hotels are massive and on reflection we felt although very nice, getting a sunbed around the pool would be a nightmare!

We felt the charge of 7 lev for a sunbed and 7 lev for an umberella was quite expensive if you wanted to go on the beach everyday. There is a free zone at the back but some of the attendants don't like you putting up umerellas near the paying area. We did witness one attendant snatching a ladies umberella out of the ground, closing it and then throwing it on the floor. Although this was the only negative incident we witnessed during our stay. The beach is cleaned everyday, even though we were told it was not we saw it happening!

We ate out all the time. The standard of food was great where ever we ate. Whether this was just luck or standard over Sunny Beach I don't know. We went to the famous DJannys at lunchtime and had a great meal. We went back twice in the evening but the cues were massive so we went elsewhere.

Nessebar is a must to visit. We went during the day and enjoyed the old traditional feel of the place. We went again in the evening and had a lovely meal overlooking the sea. It was wonderful.

We also visited St Vlas. Was not impressed, very hilly and more expensive.

The weather was good but different to Cyprus and Turkey. Temp was around 30 degrees but there was some cloud cover. I prefer the lower temps but my husband likes it hot, hot, hot. Last year we were told it was in the 40s.

We had a great holiday and intend to return next year. The busy road was a shock, as were the buses. On goodness - they do not realsie when they are full. People keep cramming on and the journeys are often uncomfortable. There are some mini buses which charge two or four lev but this are often full. Experiencing a different culture is all part of the holiday. If you are going to Sunny Beach for the first time please read the threads on trip advisor but also go with an open mind. We went on 'high alert' which was good because it made us aware of what COULD happen. But I can honestly say we had a great time and were never concerned about our safety, we did not witness any negative incidents and security at our accomadation was reassuring. Go, have a great time use your common sense and you will have a great holiday at a reasonable cost. With the euro as it is we felt we had excellent value for money.

Sorry I have rambled a bit but I feel strongly people should not be put off this resort as it provides a good holiday.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ang59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2008

Hi, I've just returned from a week long stay in Sunny Beach with my boyfriend. We stayed in the Green Fort apartments and we had a lovely holiday. I'd recommend Green Fort for couples and for families (and for groups who want a relaxing holiday!). The location is great coz it's situated away from the craziness of the resort centre but it's still a short stroll away from the main strip, which gets livelier the further you walk along it.

The complex has a few play areas for kids and there's a tennis court. There was a nice atmosphere around the pool during the day and the bar is grand for a few drinks in the day time or at night if you're not in form for heading down to the strip. The food in the bar is quite good and it's cheap, like everywhere in Sunny Beach. I'd recommend the pizzas in the Star Inn restaurant which is located on the main strip but other than that I found the standard of food is good enough everywhere, and if you like pizzas you'll be in your element!

Our studio apartment was nice and worked out cheap between the two of us. It had a sofa bed though I wouldnt have been cramped with any more than 2 staying there. We rented directly from the owner which is probably the cheapest way, although I know that you can stay in Green fort on a package holiday too. Feel free to contact me if you'd like details of our appt.

happy holidays!

  • Liked — Pleasant atmosphere and comfiest bed I've ever slept in on a sun holiday!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wexchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2007

My girlfriend & I stayed in Green Fort Apartments last year and were highly impressed with the Accommodation. Green Fort is ideally suited for access to the Beach. It is located at the end of teh Sunny Beach strip and takes 5 minutes to walk into the centre along the beachfront. The advantage of its location is its proximity to teh central area however it is far enough away form teh Bars & clubs etc. If you want a nice relaxing holiday it is certainally attainable, but also teh nigtlife and resturants are easily accessible. The pool and Resturant at the complex are very clean and are definately worth a visit. Overall Green Fort is an ideal destination, newly built and the level of cleanlibess and maintenance there are second to none.

  • Liked — Cleanilness & Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank portcladach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
Julia Family Apartments
Julia Family Apartments
#54 of 220 in Sunny Beach
33 reviews
0.4 mi away
Family Hotel Romantic
Family Hotel Romantic
#39 of 220 in Sunny Beach
59 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atol
Hotel Atol
#50 of 220 in Sunny Beach
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Trakia Garden Hotel
Trakia Garden Hotel
#13 of 220 in Sunny Beach
253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel L&B
Hotel L&B
#19 of 220 in Sunny Beach
463 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nessebar Fort Club Apartments
Nessebar Fort Club Apartments
#10 of 162 in Sunny Beach
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Fort

Property: Green Fort
Address: Green Fort Complex, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Fort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday complex Green Fort is located in the exclusive northern end of Sunny Beach, close to the beach and pine forest. Due to the unique location of the hotel offers extremely rare combination of sea and mountain climate. Here you are only 5 minutes walk from the beach. You can take advantage of the proximity to the center of Sunny Beach, where you can enjoy the nightlife in the variety of different clubs, restaurants and bars. The complex offers separate swimming pools for adults and children, water slide and two playgrounds, tennis court / football field, outdoor fitness equipment, beach accessories shop, laundry service, restaurant pool garden with magnificent panoramic views of the bay and Sunny Beach. Free use of sun beds around the pool and the internet! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Green Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Fort Hotel Sunny Beach
Green Fort Sunny Beach
Green Fort Bulgaria/Sunny Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing