We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but prefer helena park”
Review of Helena Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Helena Sands Hotel
Ranked #11 of 220 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ok but prefer helena park”
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Returned to bulgaria for a second time in three weeks but couldn't get in helena park as it was fully booked. So we decided to stay here instead.
Room was ok a little bit bigger than helena park with a good sea view and again was spotlessly cleaned everyday.
Staff although were very grumpy nobody hardly smiling at all. Some just did'nt seem to care about you. Food was ok but not as good as helena park and the restaurant staff did'nt like it if used a table which was supposed to be set out for the evening meal. They seemed to squash you in a such a small area that you were touching somebody elses elbows - which was a bit annoying when you are trying to eat.
Good to see the animation team again we feel as though that they are our friends now
Holiday rep was good again when we did see often enough she always came over to see us most times.
It was a lot quieterthus time as a lot more stalls and shops had closed for the season.only good point was beer was cheaper than before 29p a pint as we think they were just selling at this price just to get rid of it. Unfortunately we won't stay here but would recommend its sister hotel helena park as staff were a lot more friendly and we seemed to enjoy it more as we came home and booked there for next year.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Transf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    75
    30
    7
    3
See reviews for
105
154
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Returned on 27th September following 7 nights half board at the Helena Sands Hotel (not to be confused with the Helena Park Hotel) which is in the same resort. We found the hotel lived up to it`s 5* rating. A spotlessly clean hotel in every aspect from the reception, bedroom, dining room, bar area and swimming pool. We found all the staff to be professional. The food and dining room staff were both excellent. A wide variety of food was available and appeared to cover all the guests needs at breakfast and dinner. My wife took advantage of the spa facilities and enjoyed the pampering on offer saying it employed staff that clearly new what they were doing. I know the issue of the cold water swimming pool is well documented on this site but I feel I must add my own comment. It is a comment that many would consider minor. I am not a lover of swimming in the sea and one of the reasons for selecting this hotel, was for the wonderful looking outdoor swimming pool. The air temperatures for the week we stayed were fantastic and to have enjoyed a swim in the pool would have been great but you would not want to leap in after dipping one foot into it. However the hotel did have a small indoor pool and this did get used every day by us.

Room Tip: Request a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Budgie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Just arrived back from two weeks at Sunny Beach Bulgaria. We stayed at Helena Sands 5* the hotel was lovely the room we had was nice, we paid extra for sea view well not much of a view really. We went B/B the breakfast was buffet style and its ok if you like boiled eggs,fried,scrambled the bacon was not very nice and the rest was just catered for the rest of the other foreign people who were staying there. So we ate 3 times and that was enough. The resort is a bit run down but ok for bar's restaurant's the food in these places were lovely never had a bad meal. We visited Nessibar wow! fabulous so oldy worldy well worth a visit 1 Lev on the bus. The weather was ok for the first 9 days then omg it rained and rained gail force winds and to top it all the shops and bars close down for the end of season. Was not told that with the travel agent. The flights were very late at night going and coming back the same. Bulgaria Airport is horrible filthy and rude people. But that's their problem if they want to be un-friendly.....

Room Tip: ask for a sea view or pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ann g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Just got back from our x3rd stay and can't wait for next year we just love the hotel staff are lovely ,the bedrooms are a nice size we always go for a sea view,not going to say much more cos you all might want to go and I won't get booked in then cos it will be full

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank loftus-sharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Very nice hotel, very clean, good service. If you're all inclusive time your meals to avoid the queues. If you're attempting to make toast, don't bother, toasters are useless. Meals are generally of a high quality with lots of choice. Entertainment is very much Butlins/Pontins standard. Dangerous darts and air rifle shooting. Thompson's rep was very helpful and seemed to be always available. Don't shop at the supermarket opposite the entrance, it's a bit bare. Went on two excellent excursions - VIP catamaran and Khan's tent, both excellent. We're not sunbathers so no problems with sun loungers and we never went on the beach except for an early morning walk. Hated Sunny Beach as it is just Blackpool with warmth. No Bulgarian signs so we never felt as if we were in a foreign country. Nessebar is worth a visit, only 2 lev on the bus from outside the hotel front door. Lot's of touristy shops but mixed with a bit of history and ancient buildings. So generally, a good hotel in an awful resort. Good for younger people. We wouldn't return.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner suite to get loads of room and two balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StefanoRiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayr
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Just returned from a weeks holiday at Helena Sands Resort,,most of the staff were friendly enough,, some of them were a bit dour though, would be nice to see a smile in the morning,, we were B&B, which was fine as there are plenty of eateries round about,, there was plenty of choice as it was buffet style but most of it was luke warm,, the Fish Restaurant on site was excellent though,,
The outdoor pools are impressive but lets them down as they are freezing, that was disappointing, but indoor pool was fine,, not much for young toddlers to do either, a soft play area would have been good, rooms were spotless & towels changed everyday..would have liked a kettle in the room though.
agree with previous comments on beach being rather dirty with cigarette douts & rubbish, maybe as it was nearer end of season, the beaches are not cleaned as much.
would go back, but 1 week was long enough..

Room Tip: sea view rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenBAyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny Beach, Bulgaria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Just spent two weeks all inclusive at Helena Sands Resort. Staff were friendly, hotel was spotless, food was very good. The animation team made the holiday. They were fantastic. Coming back next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samantha_andrews1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
#1 of 220 in Sunny Beach
1,302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Helena Park Hotel
Helena Park Hotel
#7 of 220 in Sunny Beach
500 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 220 in Sunny Beach
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Galeon Residence & Spa
Galeon Residence & Spa
#20 of 220 in Sunny Beach
67 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dune Hotel
Dune Hotel
#19 of 220 in Sunny Beach
102 reviews
1.5 mi away
Iberostar Sunny Beach Resort
Iberostar Sunny Beach Resort
#3 of 220 in Sunny Beach
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helena Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helena Sands Hotel

Property: Helena Sands Hotel
Address: Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria (Formerly Riu Palace)
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sunny Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Helena Sands Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Sunny Beach resort area on the Black Sea. 3 to 7-story building and garden villas. Situated directly on the beach. Sun loungers and parasols on the beach (additional charge). In a 14,500 m2 garden together with the Riu Helena Park Hotel. 2.5 km from the centre of Sunny Beach. 28 km from Burgas airport. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LoveHolidays and Cancelon so you can book your Helena Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Helena Sands Hotel
Helena Sands Hotel Bulgaria/Sunny Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing