We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“July 2014” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Helena Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Helena Sands Hotel
Ranked #7 of 219 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“July 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

One of the best hotels we have stayed at. The rooms were spotless and spacious. There was plenty of choice with the food although some was a bit repetitive. We found the staff friendly and most spoke pretty good English, which helped as we had no Bulgarian. When we were there, there were many Russians, but again many of them spoke English which helped us get to know some nice people. The entertainment team were very friendly and worked hard, and if you took part it helped pass the time and helped get to know other holidaymakers. You are far enough away from the "tacky" part of Sunny Beach, which is really a place for the young, but close enough to take a 15 minute walk to get into the club life. The beach is great or just relax by the pool. Plenty of sun loungers on both. We would recommend the hotel to anyone. If you want an all inclusive holiday the adjoining Helena Park is the place to go.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HarryB800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    71
    27
    6
    2
See reviews for
102
148
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We booked this hotel from an agency from Bucharest. When we got there the room was nothing we expected. Instead of the garden view there was a roof view room 314, 3rd floor. So we asked for another one they gave us on the 4th floor 414 so we could see a bit of the see. The rooms are separated by interior doors so we could hear everything from the other room. The same each morning noises from behind the hotel. The pool was very beautiful and the beach also. The service very good, they cleaned our room every day and the FOOD excellent. The Fish restaurant and the food from the hotel was just melting in my mouth. so all in all we had a great time and the variety of food breath taking!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Third year in a row that we have been to Helena Sands hotel; only one word required - Fantastic.
From breakfast in the morning to late drinks at night the service is top notch.
Great location being on 30 minutes from the airport by coach.
Hop skip and long jump to the beach if that is preferable to sitting by the pool.
Definitely recommend that you visit Nessebar; one Lev on bus; station is a 5 minute walk. restaurants are great value; great food with a view across the Black sea to Turkey - just brilliant. Also use the fish restaurant in the hotel complex as it is very good value.
Enjoy - you will!

Room Tip: we have had 3 different rooms this year sea facing which provided fantastic views from 7th floor; al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Hi myself and my husband returned home on the 23june after an enjoyable week stay at the helena sands hotel sunny beach bulgeria.What a beatiful decorated and clean hotel with very friendly and helpfull staff and that alone deserves it,s 5 stars, nothing was to much trouble. Now for the food we did,nt like the food at all but enjoyed the deserts they were lovely!!! we were on a half board basis but ate out a lot as it was so cheap there. We booked a suite room with sea view which was lovely but the bed was huge but so hard, we asked at reception if they could supply us with a topper to make the matress softer it was in are room and on are bed within minutes fab service!! it made all the the difference to the comfort of the bed. We would definatley go back to helena sands hotel and recommend this hotel for a lovely relaxing holiday for older couples as it,s at the quieter end of sunny beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank denise t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is an all round excellent hotel.The staff are helpful and provide an excellent service.The food is varied and of a high standard.The location is close to the beach and far enough away from the centre of the resort to avoid the crowds and noise.As previous reviewers have commented the hotel and grounds are immaculately clean.All I can say is it was a joy to be there.I have also stayed at the Helena Park it's sister hotel next door and found it to be of equally high standard.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view over the bay .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CatherineAAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Helena Sands is simply the best hotel we have ever stayed in. Excellent location, superb in every way.
The whole hotel from the rooms to the gardens and pool were immaculate, cleaners worked from breakfast time to late evening to keep it spotlessly clean. The restaurant was excellent, every taste catered for & waiting staff were very efficient. We can't wait to go back (and it's soo cheap!)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ShirlzP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Was a very very nice hotel We were on bed and breakfast basis and the breakfast was superb with every food you could want. Waiting staff were a little stiff but the cleaning staff were smiley,
Only draw back for us when we arrived at 1am due to flight delay, they would not provide any refreshement as the kitchen was closed, we only wanted coffee. The mini bar was EXPENSIVE

Room Tip: The pool is freezing even on very hot days but worth a dip
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Chezzy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
#1 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Helena Park Hotel
Helena Park Hotel
#9 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
LION Hotel Sunny Beach
LION Hotel Sunny Beach
#13 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
1.3 mi away
Iberostar Sunny Beach Resort
Iberostar Sunny Beach Resort
#2 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
1.1 mi away
Barcelo Royal Beach
Barcelo Royal Beach
#12 of 219 in Sunny Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helena Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helena Sands Hotel

Property: Helena Sands Hotel
Address: Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria (Formerly Riu Palace)
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sunny Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Helena Sands Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Sunny Beach resort area on the Black Sea. 3 to 7-story building and garden villas. Situated directly on the beach. Sun loungers and parasols on the beach (additional charge). In a 14,500 m2 garden together with the Riu Helena Park Hotel. 2.5 km from the centre of Sunny Beach. 28 km from Burgas airport. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LoveHolidays and Agoda so you can book your Helena Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Helena Sands Hotel
Helena Sands Hotel Bulgaria/Sunny Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing