We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (422)
Filter reviews
422 results
Traveller rating
260
109
39
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
260
109
39
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish restaurant sea view half board lovely hotel riu palace sister hotel beach bar beach loungers star hotel breakfast and dinner quiet end bed and breakfast free safe private beach hotel beach reception staff plenty of sunbeds
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 422 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2017

the hotel is nice the staff are not!! my mum fell in the hotel on the bridge due to a lip that was not visible, doctor came out and whisked her of in a wheelchair one bandage later and a bill for 300 lev!! I asked the manager for a copy of the accident report and he refused quit aggressively, when we returned to the UK my mum had an xray and was told she had broke her knee !! Thomas cook said to her, well you expect these things to happen!!!!....please be careful in hotel and around pool, very slippy, and also lots of pot holes around the area, if you go anywhere on the bus be careful of pic pockets at the bus stop and whilst getting on buss, they come in the form of children old people and young females, would I go back? no no no

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank traci888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for a week had really high expectations as it was a 5 star hotel. Our first impression was as we arrived yes we had chosen well. Reception staff seemed pleasant unfortunately we arrived just after lunch so our room wasn't ready but that was no problem it gave us time to explore the grounds of the hotel. We went to the hotel beach bar after looking round for a drink and waited. We went back to reception & received our room cards and went to our room, our cases where brought up later by the porter. On first impression very nice big room on the side of the building but we could see a bit of the sea if we leaned over the balcony. I did notice quite a big stain on the carpet just at the foot of the bed which I thought for a five star hotel shouldn't of been there. There was a mini bar a kettle cups spoons coffee no tea & no milk ( I asked at reception if we got tea or milk for the room but was told we would have to pay for it don't see the point of having a kettle in the room really if you can't use it & pay for it you might as well buy a drink out & have it made for you. Dining room was large and pleasant there where 2 sittings we went for the first one at 6.00 to 7.30pm. The food was lovely and plenty of choice, salads where lovely & the deserts where to die for unfortunately. There was entertainment in the hotels sister hotel but we didn't go we like to make our own entertainment so we went for a wander round the town. Slept well that night beds where comfy. Breakfast was nice plenty of choice crockery was chipped though another thing you shouldn't see in a five star hotel. We went to our hotel meeting with our Thomson rep and was asked not to reserve sunbeds as if it was left unattended for a length of time our things would be removed for someone else which is fair enough I think it's a stupid thing to do anyway but it seems it only implied to certain guests as we saw a lot of sunbeds with towels & books on & nobody came to lay on them all morning? All in all it was a lovely hotel but I think because it was nearly end of season they had let a few things go. We enjoyed our week in Bulgaria and would definitely go again and the little things in the hotel wouldn't put us off staying here again

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank GillyNorthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

On arrival the hotel seemed great, reception quick, friendly. We booked a 1 bedroom suite, well worth the extra. Food in restaurant was fine with plenty of choice. However within a day we realised the hotel was closing down due to it being end of season so no entertainment, I'm the spa the sauna, jacuzzi, and steam room were not working properly and staff were scarce. The fish restaurant was on a very limited menu. The hotel was in a quieter location of sunny beach with only a short walk along the front to shops and bars. The spa at nearby hotel Helios was fab.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank crate02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

We arrived back from Helena Sands on Monday afternoon this week and have to say all in all it was a thoroughly enjoyable break away. The location is towards the top end of Sunny Beach in a quieter resort location, but the centre is easily accessible on foot taking around 30 mins to walk.

When driving towards the hotel initially it presented as a more luxurious and intimate building compared to some of the neighbouring hotels. The conceirge service was swift with service provided within a matter of moments of this taxi arriving. Walking through the main entrance we were struck by the dark and somewhat gloomy reception area - lots of dark materials from wood panels to sofas and floor tiles. There is a slight elegance that exudes throughout the public areas but it feels out of keeping with the more modern exterior. Nonetheless it was clean, tidy and the reception check-in experience was efficient even if it was staffed by somewhat grumpy individuals, but that may simply be a Bulgarian customer service experience as it was replicated in other locations throughout the resort. Be sure to obtain individual WiFi codes on check-in for each device you plan to use during your stay.

We were accompanied to our room by a member of reception staff and given an introduction to the amenities. A nice touch, but felt it was forced on us in exchange for a tip.

First impressions of the room were really positive. It was large (the bed seemed to be two doubles joined together), fresh smelling and everywhere was clean. Yes, as some reviews state, it is dated, but in my opinion it has been well maintained thoughout. There were odd scuffs and marks on the upholstery and fittings, but nothing that impacted our use of the room or general enjoyment. We were in room 1334 which is on the third floor and has a sea view, but also an inward view of the other wing of the building as well as the pool area. The only British television channel was BBC World News, but again not an issue for us as watching TV isn’t a big part of being on holiday.

A little niggle was that the AC temperature was centrally controlled and set to 23 degrees. Admittedly it was towards the end of the season, but personal preference is for a cooler room to sleep in so feel individual control should be allowed to cater for this. Reception staff just shrugged their shoulders when this was raised.

The dining facilities were adequate, but they are very rigid with the allocation of a fixed table and seating time from the first night onwards. We were there on a HB basis and both the breakfast and dinner fare was average and in-line with expectations. Whilst carvery meats, soups etc were varied the format did become repetitive even during the Spanish and Bulgarian themed evenings. If we had stayed longer than 7 nights, then we would have certainly of been ready for an evening meal in a local restaurant. I would recommend checking the use by dates of any drinks that are ordered carefully as witnessed neighbouring tables being served out of date products and noted those we ordered had just a few weeks of shelf life remaining.

The pool area and allocated hotel beach areas were both relatively quiet through the day, so there was never a problem with securing a sun bed. I felt the beach cleanliness could be improved as there was a noticeable amount of litter and other debris.

Overall I would recommend the hotel as long as you obtain a competitive price. I genuinely don’t feel comfortable in supporting this as 5* hotel, but rather a good all round 4* that won’t disappoint.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Garry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

Sunny Beach was a bit more tacky than I expected but this hotel was a fair distance away from the 'Blackpool' side of town. It was very clean and a nice place to stay. Quiet and staff were very helpful. Went for bed and breakfast and found a decent amount of choice on the menu. Pool was a bit cold. I told receptionist this and she said no one had ever complained about that but several people did when I was in the pool (which I only did twice for that reason). Had a couple of meals in the hotel restaurant but they were expensive, considering how cheap Bulgaria was and they were nothing special. Everything else was spot on.

Room Tip: Some had better views than others.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ColinS2334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews