We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Hotel Kotva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Kotva
Ranked #75 of 222 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stay with family beginning Septemer. Water in the pools was very cold, like ice. The food was not very delicious. Always the same. Definitly not pay the full pensions.
The rooms are good the service is good enough.
Good hotel for a family with children.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katarina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

The main problem is restaurant ..,rotten fruits .food always cold and tasteless. Waiters is itselfs chapter ... they take plates and glasses without asking ,always without smile and always looking angry. Tables dirty after breakfast until dinner.
Pools - too cold water for children around 24 degrees ,cold for adult, sand in water and dirty poolside.
Sea also dirty and cold (plastik and cigaret in water)
BEACH - crowded, without shower and toilets (disaster) umbrela cost 4EUR one chair also 4EUR,

Room Tip: Do not eat in Hotel, In near old town Nessebar are better restaurants of cour more expensive than ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We always wanted to go to Bulgaria. I went with my boyfriend and his 11 years old daughter. We stayed at Hotel Kotva for seven days and I can honestly say that I would rather spend my vacation at home watching TV than prolong our stay for one single day. The hotel has four stars, but the services and food is not four stars quality at all. One would expect people in four stars hotels to speak at least some English and I found it really difficult to communicate with the staff, they were not very helpful. The hotel was full of arrogant russian and polish families who have no respect for good manners. The breakfasts were terrible, I ended up having oranges and coffee, the cereals were obviously over the best before, every day the same awful food and each day we had to fight for clean plates and forks.

The pool was quite nice but very cold. The rooms were clean and nice, but we had to beg the cleaning staff for clean towels and bed sheets after five days of our stay. But I am sure your kids would love the pool facilities for children.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MartinMatthewNovotny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Great hotel, perfect for families with the kids as there is an aquapark for kids, and also is very good for the couples, the location is superb! It takes 10 minutes on foot to get to the new town of Nesebar and about 30 to the old one. The personnel is really nice, they made our vacation perfect!

Room Tip: ask for the rooms that have a view on the pool!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Margaret_Zh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

The food is terrible, every day the same. Restaurant was completely full. For whole hotel (500 guests?) only 2 child chairs (family hotel?).

On the other hand there is a great pool with slides for all age children and close to the beach.

In general, we enjoy it and if you can overcome the breakfats it was fine.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mirek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

just back on the 24th august 2012 after 2 week stay, to be honest the hotel is lovely nice and clean but the food is awful, its not worth going half board as its so cheap to eat out anyway. We were the only british people there for the first 10 days as its full of arrogant german, russian and polish families who have no manners whatsoever. Rooms are cleaned everyday so no complaints there but its the same awful food everynight, no kids entertainment at all for kids apart from the slides in the pool these were really good fun. Wouldnt buy anything from the bar where the slides are either as the girl who wears the cap serving constantly picks her nose YUK.. and go with the kids when they go to buy an ice cream as the lad there constantly doesnt give them any change. Its a shame lovely hotel shame about food and disgusting staff definately better hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank lynne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Its supposed to be 4star hotel.I chose it for nice price and because of facilities of the pool for my 5years old son.BUT!It was the WORST hotel experience ever for me, and tho I`ve visited over 50 different hotels all over the world from 2star till 5+star hotel...the problem in this hotel was,there were many groups of young polish teenagers accommodated.They screamed all the night on their balcony, they moved the furniture in the rooms above ours and I had to call the reception 4times to make them stop it.It was 1 am!! We couldnt sleep, it was terrible!Its huge hotel, why the staff couldnt put us in another wing, far away from this groups??The pool was always full, the pool chairs were always full, lot of noise.The breakfast was terrible, every day the same, not variety,no free table to sit, terrible noise.and Its kinda far from the beach..The room service was very poor, they didnt change towels even if we wanted to, they didnt clean the sand on the floor at all..The SHOWER was terrible, when I settled the water temperature I wanted, it suddenly started to be BOILED and in a second FREEZING...Of course I read the comments before I chose this hotel, but SUCH inconvenience I didnt expect at all. It good for kids but I recommend to visit it in that time of year, when TEENAGERS are yet or already at school-May or September.All in all, it was the worst experience, its not 4star but 2 star hotel, although it might look new..am sorry I spent my hardly earned money there!

Room Tip: If u decide to go there, ask the hotel staff to put u somewhere in the highest floor and far from te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Mijana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Julia Family Apartments
Julia Family Apartments
#79 of 222 in Sunny Beach
36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Galeon Residence & Spa
Galeon Residence & Spa
#22 of 222 in Sunny Beach
101 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Andromeda
Hotel Andromeda
#94 of 222 in Sunny Beach
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Imperial Resort
Imperial Resort
#60 of 222 in Sunny Beach
329 reviews
2.3 mi away
Karlovo Hotel
Karlovo Hotel
#107 of 222 in Sunny Beach
54 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel L&B
Hotel L&B
#19 of 222 in Sunny Beach
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kotva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kotva

Address: Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 222 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Price Range: £20 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kotva 3.5*
Number of rooms: 480
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, LoveHolidays and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Kotva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kotva Bulgaria/Sunny Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing