We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelo Royal Beach
Ranked #17 of 222 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Reviewed 12 June 2012

The hotel itself is lovely and definitely the best in Sunny beach. The Pool area is big enough to accommodate the hotels' capacity comfortably and the staff are friendly, but possibly a bit to lenient.

We did have a number of problems. Our apartment had a broken air conditioning system which resulted in the room being boiling, we spoke to reception who sent someone to look at it but ultimately nothing was achieved and we had no choice but to persevere for the rest of the week. We had a miscommunication about room service which resulted in a 4 seasons pizza being delivered with luncheon meat instead of prosciutto and sliced boiled egg presumably in place of artichoke. The food is by no means great but it is far superior to anything else in Sunny Beach, if you're picky about having fruit and veg with meals then you should probably avoid Sunny Beach altogether. If you do choose to venture outside the hotel 'Eagle' is quite nice but attention should be paid to the pictures of the food, at 'Colonels' a chicken burger consisted of slices of wafer slices of sandwich chicken covered in processed cheese...not nice!

The hotel definitely attracts a number of very rude and rowdy middle aged English people who are very unpleasant to other guests and staff. It is a shame that these people lowered the tone of a nice hotel, apparently they weren't aware that playing Eminem on their phone in a restaurant was antisocial behaviour.

I was quite happy about the security at the hotel, especially as I could be safely assured that no crazy Bulgarian parading a Python or Aligator was going to enter for photos. If you are afraid of Snakes or very large reptiles I suggest you avoid the beach altogether.

I would like to return to a Barcelo hotel but not Sunny Beach, it just wasn't for me.

Room Tip: The apartments are apparently not owned by the hotel so when we raised our issue with the broken air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,082)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

665 - 671 of 1,082 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2012

After reading all the positive reviews, we decided to book and looked forward to staying here. We stayed here for 2 nights in asuite room. As soon as we walked in the hotel, the first of some small annoying things crept up. There was no bell boy to help with luggage and the doorman just stood as we struggled in with our cases. We went to the unmarked reception on the right of the lobby, showed her the booking paper, only to be told we should be at the hotel reception not the apartments reception - OK great if they were marked as such.. It was obvious we had come of the transfers coach and could have immediately directed us to the correct reception instead of having us rifle through our papers looking for a booking form.. The hotel reception was ok but fairly poor english and poorly directed us to a set of lifts, which saw us come in a circle back to reception.
Having arrived to our room it was apparent the air conditioning was really slow and not pumping much cool air around. We asked for an engineer as it was really slow - he did appear quickly and told us it was not air cooling but conditioning which was set throughout the hotel at 23 degrees, which is a real pain to those of us looking for a bit of relief from the intense sun, and certainly not what you expect from a 5 star hotel. We actually spent the night on the couch as the living room was cooler than the bedroom.
Next after our return at 11.30pm from a great night in town we had a knock at the door and a bell boy with a confused look trying to deliver a cold meat platter and fruit to our room - we just looked at each other in a confused manner and he said did we check in today - maybe this was a welcome gift. He left the meat and cheese and shrugged his shoulders saying bye. Its the first time ive even been bothered with this some 10 hours after arriving - weird!!! Overall the hotel is a very pleasing sight on the eye but the people and food make it well short of a five star hotel.

We went to see other part of Bulgaria and came back to stay at 4 star MAJESTIC HOTEL and it was heaven. A/C was cold as soon as you switch on even the hotel set minumim at 22 C degree. We got a phoned call from reception to ask was everything when we got in the room!!!!!!!!!!! This is called quality of service. Bell boy came and help you immediately you walked to lobby. Much better hotel layout and much more professional. This is called 5 stars service. ------
In summary save your money and book with the Majestic or other 3 or 4 star in the area as they all have full air cooling in the rooms

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MaxiEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012 via mobile

Stayed half board, great location and staff were very helpful. The rooms are big spacious and clean, and serviced daily. If I was going back I would stay here again for the hotel.

My one negative would be the food. It was all a bit bland and lacking in any real imagination. Salads were given names like nicoise, tabbouleh but were extremely bland. The special dishes each night of beef stew, chicken curry, pork casserole, coq au vin all promise so much but tasted the same - a different meat in a different coloured sauce each night.

There was however every night freshly grilled beef, fish, chicken, and pork chops however the lack of culinary imagination for a 5 star hotel did leave it all feeling a bit like a canteen. The only dish that actually tasted like it should was a chilli con carne...

All in all a nice hotel however with year one catering student cuisine. But if you can live on grilled plain meat and green salad and chips each night then 'fill your boots' :-)

I personally would opt for the bed and breakfast option and eat local until the food matches the hotel 5 star rating.

PJ

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PJMCM1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Stayed here for 7 nights AI, from the 28Th May 2012....food, staff and facilities excellent, rooms very spacious, though finish is very poor in some areas, shower door had a massive gap, so water leaked out everywhere, Arrived early hrs so staff had placed a tray of cold food in room, which was very welcome. The hotel boasts it is within a shopping Mall of over 90 shops, they may be 90 but only about 20 trading, sun worshippers delight around the 4 outdoor pools, plenty of beds and for those with children, saw at least 2 lifeguards on duty at all times. Heated indoor pool with jacuzzi was also manned with Lifeguard,Pool bar well equipped, pizzas excellent ! Would stay again but only AI ( they do, do apartment only) as Sunny beach didn't appeal to me .

Room Tip: rooms on 1st floor have canopies on patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mancmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

very good !!!
food is excelent !! rooms are big
stuff are very nice
i will back next year to this hotel !!!
guy

Room Tip: standard rooms is big
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank guyorit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I'm recommending this hotel to everybody! The staff were very friendly and all of them speaks English.

Room Tip: Big room and very quiet and also with big terase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank radu_pojoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

its a wanderfull hotel exalent service and nice people iv been there six times and hope to be there again tomorrow !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

RONIT !!!

Room Tip: all rooms are ok !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RONIT G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Trakia Hotel
Trakia Hotel
#133 of 222 in Sunny Beach
37 reviews
0.9 mi away
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
#2 of 222 in Sunny Beach
1,442 reviews
0.6 mi away
Family Hotel Romantic
Family Hotel Romantic
#35 of 222 in Sunny Beach
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Green Fort
Green Fort
#65 of 222 in Sunny Beach
33 reviews
0.2 mi away
Karlovo Hotel
Karlovo Hotel
#88 of 222 in Sunny Beach
55 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel L&B
Hotel L&B
#20 of 222 in Sunny Beach
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Royal Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Royal Beach

Address: Sunny Beach, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Sunny Beach
#8 Spa Hotel in Sunny Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range: £48 - £542 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barcelo Royal Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 294
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Royal Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Royal Beach Hotel Sunny Beach
Barcelo Sunny Beach
Barcelo Hotel Sunny Beach
Barcelo Royal Beach Bulgaria/Sunny Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing