We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not cope”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Royal Beach
Ranked #17 of 222 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed bed and breakfast for two weeks end of May 2014. Rooms good size and well decorated but not the cleanest. Light fitting hanging from the ceiling for two. Weeks.light switches for bathroom doggy and mold around shower doors and tiles.No plug in the bathroom sink the staff had 3 try's but could not get one that fitted.
Breakfast. Food ok but shortage of essentials sugar.water for tea.jam and butter.
The hotel has more supervisors than staff. The table staff work very hard and were over worked while the supervisors stood back . Bearing in mind this was not high season.the toaster was just domestic and took for ages to toast 2 slices.so people gave up.If you took the bread knife out at night and were stopped you couldnt be arrested for carrying an offensive weapon. As you couldn't cut bread with it.
The reception staff were very friendly and polite.
The Thomas Cook Rep was very evasive and told us to complain to the reception with any problems. We tried this with the sink plug but it appeared they didn't understand and we didn't want to spend the rest of our holiday at reception.Surley these room should be inspected at least when the guests are changed.
This hotel was much better than the previous hotel we stayed in Bulgaria but is not great.
I suspect the Hotel will reply with a standard letter with no course of reply.

Room Tip: If you want water and sugar for tea in the morning get up early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank geoffrey p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo_Royal_Beach, Deputy General Manager at Barcelo Royal Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear geoffrey p,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your comments and recommendations, which really help us to improve the service to our guests.

We are deeply concerned about your unsatisfactory experience with us.

Since the hotel was opened just two weeks before your arrival there were still some weak points to be improved.

Many staff is renewed every season therefore company standards regarding cleanliness takes
a little to be implemented, please accept our apologies.

On the other hand and unfortunately the breakfast toaster broke (reason why we had to install the domestic one your refer to) and took ages to receive the spare parts to repair it, now it works as it was meant to be.

It could be very helpful for us if you could let us know about the unit number you stayed in, in order to check the failures (mold, plug and light fitting hanging) so we can avoid any discomfort with future guests in this unit.

If you so decide to give us further explanations, comments or recommendations, by email, we would be glad to hear about it (royalbeach@barcelo.com), also in case you decide to visit us again, so we can prepare a personalized stay, also to apply the better rates & offers available.

Thank you again and accept our apologies.

Warmest regards,

Daniel Bielsa Gibaja
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,076)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

496 - 502 of 1,076 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

We have just returned from the royal beach. The hotel is positioned right in the heart of sunny beach it has great amenities and the rooms are good size well equipped but...
We went all inclusive, the hotel provides self catering bed and breakfast also, at the pool bar this makes you feel you are in second class as the staff have clearly been instructed to give paying customers preferential treatment they were even rude at times saying to go to the other end of the bar where all inclusive is served. Some staff were friendly not all.
I am not one to write reviews as I usually research my choice well but the Royal beach is not a 5 star hotel. The rooms were shabby in places but tried on first experience to give that over all luxury feel. The maid we had was not efficient although I know others had excellent treatment.
The food in the retardant was well presented and a lot of choice but was only just warm !! By the time you sat down it was cold.
I have stayed at 3 hotels in sunny beach and this was the worst the others were 4 star all inclusive and the cleanliness food much better, the main thing the royal beach thrives of is its location, size and amenities not what I would say the things that make a 5 star luxury hotel .

Room Tip: Don't go all inclusive this spoilt the experience of the hotel for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank billyblueSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed here for the first two weeks in June,We stayed in a one bed apartment ,it had everything you need from ironing board dvd player to an oven if you do want to cook.The bedroom was a good size with plenty of hanging space. There were three pools all had plenty of sunbeds.We didn't eat in the hotel,but the drinks there were pricey compared to surrounding bars eg a small beer in the hotel bar was 3 lev 50 were as at a bar directly opposite the hotel a large beer and a shandy was only 1 lev 80 for both !!It is not worth going all inclusive in Bulgaria as it is so cheap to eat out.The bars and restaurants are all on your doorstep and the beach is a couple of minutes walk .We booked our apartment direct through the owner on trip advisor and got flights separate ,this is worth doing as talking to people there we got two weeks for what they had paid for just one .

Room Tip: book direct through private owners you save a fortune
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nevjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Just waiting to be picked up to leave Barcelo Royal Beach and leaving on real high! Hotel is spotless which is a big thing with OCD husband! Staff are amazing best service we have had and we have always stayed in top 4 & 5 star hotels! Food is really good as long as you enjoy good food lots of fish, chicken and all meats really! Still pizza and chips if you like that kind of thing! Pools are amazing and weather was fab hotel right on sunny beach but not to close so chilled! Best hotel in Sunny Beach! Promise you, service is top notch!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NRThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo_Royal_Beach, Manager at Barcelo Royal Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Thomas,

We would like to thank you for the kind comments and the great experiences you shared about your vacation in Barceló Royal Beach.

Our guests satisfaction is our priority and we are glad to hear you enjoyed very much the hotel facilities and professional services during your stay.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Barceló Royal Beach!

Best regards,

Barcelo Royal Beach Sales & Marketing department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel and the facilities and the rooms are great.. it's in a nice quiet location.. pool and indoor pool great, lots of restaurants and bars nearby.. the only thing letting it down is the really poor WiFi, its really unacceptable in a 5* hotel in 2014

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank themada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo_Royal_Beach, Manager at Barcelo Royal Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Barceló Royal Beach!
Your comments for the hotel facilities and services are highly appreciated.
Please rest assured that we offer very good free of charge Wi-Fi connection in the whole complex, supported by 14 Wi-Fi powerful antennas, more than 20 internal access points and local routers for guests’ comfort while internet surfing.
In some areas the Wi-Fi connection could be slower due to high demand. Furthermore, the complex is very big and not all guests have fast connection. If we are advised on time we make an immediate solution with our IT department.

We will be glad to welcome you again in our hotel on your next trip to Bulgaria!

Best regards,

Barceló Royal Beach Sales & Marketing department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Great room, great pools, great service combined with really good food and a nice romantic weekend made my stay at this hotel a memorable one! The prices at the pool bar/bistro were comparable with the rest of Sunny Beach Thank you Barcelo!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Serban D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

my son has just returned from this hotel and upto the last day apart from few minor dissapointments like level of entertainment during day and evenings he was happy with his first holiday abroad. but on the last day his opinion completely changed. His girlfriend and himself had breakfast at 8.30 and went to finish packing. they checked out at 12noon only to have their all inclusive bands cut off and told there would be no courtesy room available unless they paid £75 and if they wanted to eat at hotel whilst waiting for pick up at 2am next morning it would cost 15 euros. being a young couple they hadn't got this sort of money left so had to go without food and drink except water for over 24hrs as it was 9am the next morning when there plane landed due to 2hr delay at airport. I don't think this is acceptable for a 5* major chain hotel. My son did explain their circumstances to the reception staff who wouldn't help them and I went into travel agent at home who also contacted the hotel to be told there was nothing the hotel can do. ive stayed in numerous all inclusive hotels including the Barceló in los gigantees in Tenerife and have never been refused the use of restaurant and facilities on checkout day. the annoying part of all this is that my son didn't actualyl check in till 5am on the Saturday morning so really the Friday { checkout day } was their day 7 which they had paid for. 7 DAYS HOLIDAY>

Room Tip: save money for checkout day if your on late pick up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank WorcestershireRubies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo_Royal_Beach, General Manager at Barcelo Royal Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear WorcestershireRubies,

Thank you very much for your comments and explanation as it has helped to avoid similar incidents actually and for the future.

During this season we encountered many late Check In and late Check Out, that now we are notified in advance and we are avoiding any extra charges to our All In Guests, even if the checkout time is 12:00 o’clock.
Thanks to your review we have been able to prevent similar situations and also our Front Desk Staff has been instructed conveniently.

We apologize for the inconveniences at the departure day and specially that after a nice holidays experience of your son.

If you wish you can contact us to clarify this issue.

Best regards,

Paul Migueiz,
General Manager
Barcelo Royal Beach
Sunny Beach, Bulgaria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
1.4 mi away
Green Fort
Green Fort
#63 of 222 in Sunny Beach
33 reviews
0.8 mi away
Trakia Hotel
Trakia Hotel
#135 of 222 in Sunny Beach
37 reviews
1.9 mi away
Galeon Residence & Spa
Galeon Residence & Spa
#22 of 222 in Sunny Beach
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
#2 of 222 in Sunny Beach
1,437 reviews
2.0 mi away
Julia Family Apartments
Julia Family Apartments
#77 of 222 in Sunny Beach
36 reviews
0.6 mi away
Family Hotel Romantic
Family Hotel Romantic
#36 of 222 in Sunny Beach
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Royal Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Royal Beach

Address: Sunny Beach, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Sunny Beach
#8 Spa Hotel in Sunny Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Beach
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range: £52 - £543 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Barcelo Royal Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Splitty, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Barcelo Royal Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Royal Beach Hotel Sunny Beach
Barcelo Sunny Beach
Barcelo Hotel Sunny Beach
Barcelo Royal Beach Bulgaria/Sunny Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing